EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Dec 5 2023, 11:06 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(WIS9000 @ Dec 5 2023, 10:48 PM)
Hi all.

I am making plans to draw out some funds from account 2 for a property purchase.

Given that it is now December, is it advantageous to hold on the withdrawal past 31-Dec so that my funds would be eligible for 2023's dividend? Or the actual closing for the year happens on March/April where the MOF announces the dividend rate then?
EPF will pay you the dividend of your funds until the day of your withdrawal... so, there is no need to time withdrawal in that sense.
Deposit in is a different matter.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 16 2023, 04:23 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Dec 16 2023, 03:43 PM)
how powerful ??

by hook or by crook

even via creative accounting

to be 6 pct above

something for the rakyat to talk about throughout 2024

after all Amir was in kwsp and now as FM 2 !
then lets pray for ringgit to weaken to 5.... tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 18 2023, 09:23 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Dec 18 2023, 08:42 PM)
I fas fas took out calculator and key in 6.25 pct

Wa lao aye I love the number which popped out

My eyes also popped out lohhhhh

Wakakakaaakaaaaaaa

alas for now its just wishfool thinking .....
oo... oo.... let me try...

o0.... 00..... drool.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 22 2023, 09:59 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Dec 22 2023, 03:56 PM)
Come think of it, one is at this level, or i might think it this way. I can also get elsewhere say 1-2% lower than EPF's rate which I can forgo, in return of being locked in for the next 20+ years (if putting in for their children whom are in their 20s or 30s). Also bearing in mind, the EPF policy might change one day, mana tau, later they said you cannot withdraw one lump sum upon reaching 55 but by % only
to be fair, you should plan for such an eventuality... ie be prepared that say upon reaching official retirement age, they only allow amounts above a certain threshold, such as 360K rm, to be withdrawn.
The 360K rm is only accessible via monthly withdrawals of say 3K rm?

just saying...
Wedchar2912
post Dec 23 2023, 03:26 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(leanman @ Dec 23 2023, 02:43 PM)
Just worry that one might need to access the lump sum at one go but unable to. It’s not about wanting it a lump sum or not, just circumstances making you in need of it. That’s my concern cause they are many out there, this is their only life savings and nothing more.
well, certain things are not fully within our control. If the change in law/rule happens, it happens. Just need to be cognizant, and if possible, minimize the risk.

Not just epf, but gov (around the world) can even freeze your cash in banks (happened to greece) and only allow a certain amount to be taken out per day.

No other way around it, except diversify into as many banks and keep a significant portion of your wealth overseas if can.

Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 02:28 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Dec 26 2023, 12:01 PM)
It can't be every time also helping m40 and b40 only. People like me who helping myself and contributed so much tax to the government never get anything from the government, except this time they increased the contribution amount to 100k. And this increment actually is benefited both sides, government /country get benefits also, not just me.
It should not be every time and everything are only for the B40 and some of the M40.

But sometimes the benefits come in different forms.... I dare say all the silly small small amounts of 100 rm etc given to B40 and M40 is really small financial benefits... while the limit increase of 40K rm for epf is "worth" more to those who can afford to increase their contribution.

the funny part the gov should try to improve the implementation a bit more....
i am such an example: I am classified as B40 and I still can contribute the extra 40K rm into EPF. and i get all the small small rm 100 benefit too... (even though i donated all of them to charities, including the i-saraan)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 26 2023, 02:28 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 05:25 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Dec 26 2023, 02:55 PM)
Agreed they should improve the implementation. I like the part that my parent couldn't get the free money when the government people told my parent "your son salary is high so you guys not qualified to get the free money". The gov knows they weren't qualified due to i deducted some of my tax by putting their IC / names into the tax form. But most people don't pay tax, and a lot of these people are rich, gov unable to track them.

As for the "worth" more part, i think could be right or wrong. Lots of us pay lots of tax each year, the extra 40k we put in, let's say the yearly dividen is 6%, rm 2.4k dividen per year,  for most of us we didn't even get back 2-3% of what we paid to the government each year.
I am definitely not siding the gov (due to many reasons... but won't go into it here).

but technically by claiming ur parental relief, implicitly you are saying that your parents are supported by you. hence if you are rich, so are your parents and all your dependents. (in general sense of course). Ie, the gov is expected you to cover all your parents need....
(ok, don't ask me why rosmah can still get BRIM when her hubby is who he is... )

I really doubt many of us who belonged to the 1 million cohort who paid taxes could get back more than what we paid in term of taxes. The only ones who can get more back would be policitians and friends, and maybe some bizmen.

Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 05:27 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Dec 26 2023, 04:36 PM)
The bigger EPF is, the better they are. I believe size give advantage negotiation premiums and discounts. Same reason when we have 100k to invest, we’re limited but once we hit the millions mark, we get free lunch from diversification and we can talk balancing portfolio, risk management, timeframe. Etc.
EPF could chase away t20 investors, limit 1m or tier dividends, but they won’t knowing people with millions have alternatives and with a little risk, do even better than EPF.
but but but... so many so called professionals and economists and Ktards here claimed that EPF is too big... hence cannot get good returns....

now which is which? tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 05:28 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2023, 05:27 PM)
Actually speaking many contribute less than the 100k

Including me... For this year 😁
ah... the real question is:

do you prefer the limit to be set back to 60K rm or set it even higher at 250K rm?
ur pick...
Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 05:40 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2023, 05:32 PM)
Don't care actually because even the old 60k limit... I didn't fill up... Now with 100k more cannot reach & fill up 😔
Different persons feel differently but rationally, the higher the limit the better. Because if the limit really doesn't matter, then you won't feel anything if EPF changed it down to 5K rm.

more degree of freedom is almost always better.

Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 06:29 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 26 2023, 06:08 PM)
Too big.

But it depends how you define good. If approx 5%-6% annual returns in MYR is considered good, then yeah its ok. But kwsp wont be able to achieve much higher than that.

I personally think kwsp Is pretty decent for my financial needs, myself being close to retirement. But I dont contribute more except to max tax relief. Prefer to diversify away.
i'm actually more of the other side... our EPF is relatively small in global scale. China's and Norway's and many arab state's funds are way bigger.

but all in all, it depends on what EPF is allowed to do and if we do put our best minds in managing the funds. still restrictions like 80% must be in Malaysia kinda makes our EPF way too big. Not because it is too big, but our Malaysia market is way too small.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 07:43 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Dec 26 2023, 07:19 PM)
But son has high salary is not a valid condition lor...what if son is Char Siew?? Just saying the scenario...not saying you are Char Siew. 😅
got a worse scenario.... what if got 10 kids, and all 10 kids claim the parents...

but all 10 kids never even once see the parents for years, let alone support the parents....

lhdn should figure out something.... dry.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 26 2023, 09:37 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Dec 26 2023, 08:41 PM)
Wah....SUPER CHAR SIEWS!!!!  doh.gif
I just made up the story about claiming parental relief in tax filing, but there was a news similar to the story of a parent being abandoned by 12 of her own kids...
(quoted below)

QUOTE(premier239 @ Aug 24 2023, 09:00 PM)

PETALING JAYA – Ibarat kata pepatah, seorang ibu mampu menjaga 10 orang anak, namun seorang anak belum tentu boleh menjaga seorang ibu.

Itulah perumpamaan tepat yang boleh digambarkan terhadap kisah seorang wanita yang diabaikan 12 orang anak sendiri.

Wedchar2912
post Dec 27 2023, 12:55 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Dec 27 2023, 11:41 AM)
The system got a restriction. If more than 1 person claim it, it must be divided by X amount of people. It was only rm 1500 to be claimed, so 10 kinds claim it, each kid can only claim 150 max.

Side note : if they never seen the parent for years, high chance they don't have their parent's ID number also, so they can't claim.
yeah, it is divided by number of kids claiming... but has that ever stopped everyone from trying to claim the full amount? a few of my ex-colleagues had argument with their siblings cos everyone wishes to claim while parents living with the ex-colleagues (their version of the story).

its been a while since I filed anything except 0 in my tax filing, but I think it is using IC of the parents (even that also i cannot really remember). IC should be relatively easy to get.....
Wedchar2912
post Dec 27 2023, 10:18 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 27 2023, 09:57 PM)
Recipe for disaster to drag all and everyone into audit. A simple DB query search by LHDN can pull out records of any parent that has more than 100% claimed by linked children (pun intended) records. It's just when LHDN staff wants to run those query.

I have similiar friend who feign ignorant that other siblings are not claiming. In the end, all haul up for audit and fine + penalty.

Whether siblings are on talking terms or not, do not play with two things in life: death and taxes.
icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah, i think something similar happened to my ex-colleague. kena called in with his siblings... at end, kena penalty... blink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 29 2023, 01:17 PM

3,692 posts

alamak... why lar on last day of the year our Ringgit appreciated to 4.59 lvl...

how to mark the books for better dividend leh?
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2024, 12:01 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 2 2024, 11:24 AM)
10 Feb 2018: EPF declares 6.9% (Conventional) and 6.4% (Shariah) dividend for 2017.
6.9% if repeat would be very very very nice indeed.... i promise I will take out the 0.9% and spent it all within 2 months to help spur the economy.... haha...
(while taking the 6% and transfer it elsewhere... haha)
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2024, 12:08 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Jan 2 2024, 12:03 PM)
2026 dividend maybe can breach 7%.historical high brows.gif
lol.... so far away.... and it may not be him anymore in charge... hahaha
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2024, 12:55 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 2 2024, 12:13 PM)
I'll put it back to EPF wait for 7.9% next year.  laugh.gif
haha.... such rate were never seen since 1990s I think. 8% type sure everyone will throw everything into epf and liquidate all ringgit bonds
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2024, 12:56 PM

3,692 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 2 2024, 12:23 PM)
Really need to see this upcoming Shariah EPF rate....

Already some not satisfied with the lower rate.....
rationally, this is after zakat responsibility rite? as in this is clean for certain people to spend and still feel good. no?

73 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:44 AM