EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

batman1172
post Jul 8 2023, 09:20 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jul 7 2023, 11:40 PM)
Wait... the proposed mandatory withdrawal plan.. does that mean we cannot choose to withdraw all if we want to? Then i got a problem with that.. it is my money.. i won't even know how long i can live... i hope they give us a choice... mandatory withdrawal unless we take out more lump sum...
Guess so. Want to make it like CPF
batman1172
post Jul 8 2023, 09:55 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 8 2023, 09:36 AM)
Good illustration.
Many do not understand the power of yearly compounding.  The longer the better.
Lessons already given in form 5 math. Just that didn’t apply it to dividends.
batman1172
post Jul 8 2023, 01:14 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(commonsense @ Jul 8 2023, 11:38 AM)
if good policy, why not. and cpf is not locking all your saving, just the minimum right. balance is key for every policy
Yeah but make it simple. Lock up 240k maximum. That amount is not hard to reach at 55
batman1172
post Jul 9 2023, 04:31 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 9 2023, 01:33 AM)
i agree with you the quantum matters.

you worry only if your quantum is not big enough
must go find overseas investment
must go find 8-10% ROI
cannot  rely on lowly EPF ,FD , ASM
inflation will eat away your retirement....etc

simple maths here.

People with RM1million need 10% return on investment stocks world market etc..
Good year no problem  RM8,333 a month or more passive income
Bad year how?

Those with RM10million put in lowly FD 3% also cukup  already.
RM25,000 passive income a month!
no good year no bad year , fixed
what you see is what you get.

Imagine you have RM40million...
RM100,000 passive income a month is easy
takkan  worry inflation etc...
by that time  probably worry more about sickness
takut mati
but maths here is not meant to scare people
only meant to say people are all different
what suits him may not suit you

we live our own lives
we are not living for others to view
just be happy with ourselves.....cukur...
I like this reply. RM0.01m how?

batman1172
post Jul 10 2023, 03:29 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 10 2023, 12:43 PM)
waiting for someone to say that 10 million ringgit is not enough to retire.... waiting.....

depends on financial literacy. can be wiped out within a year or less if don't know how to manage or invest in say unlucky crypto like TFX.
batman1172
post Jul 13 2023, 09:14 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 12 2023, 05:39 PM)
Not to disappoint you...

Wrong place to ask...

Because many here have more than 10k in EPF...

Try asking at Cari or others Malay based socmed pages??? (Not to be racist but it's facts many have less 10k & still asking for withdrawals) 🙏
Clearly EPF isn't working for most people. people <0.01m want money out. people>1m do the opposite. I'm sure given time EPF or other entities will need to come up with social security schemes.

batman1172
post Jul 24 2023, 01:25 PM

1,362 posts

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...epf-withdrawal/

EPF dividend is 6%? I thought 5.3% only.
batman1172
post Aug 15 2023, 11:08 AM

1,362 posts

6% soon
https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/08/943...-income-1h-2023

batman1172
post Aug 16 2023, 12:36 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 16 2023, 10:10 AM)
This tier dividend thingy seriously I disagree....

Why punish those keep more $$$ in EPF by giving lower rate.... Actually need to give bonus.... More you kept... More bonus 😁 since EPF keep saying Malaysian savings is not enough for retirement....
Why not come with new law to disallow anyone to contribute if their account 1>m either from employment or voluntary ? after all anything >5% return is not that hard to get.
batman1172
post Aug 21 2023, 01:32 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Aug 21 2023, 11:39 AM)
China also full of bas news.. do our epf invest with China?
not sure but
malaysia's economy is closely linked China (same like australia) but don't know how much. so hope for the best and plan for the worse
batman1172
post Aug 24 2023, 02:27 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Aug 23 2023, 08:51 PM)
gov say might increase our retirement age to 65 as mandatory age this is crazy....
It should be made a choice not mandatory for companies to hand pick efficient workers, those with no medical conditions, those with drive to climb corporate ladder etc. We don't want companies to be stuck with an old guy which is hard to remove.

batman1172
post Aug 24 2023, 08:28 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Aug 24 2023, 06:52 PM)
Hahahah.... If you are only 30.years old and got 2 million in epf.how? Still retire.then rot.at home
Then you work because you want to not because you need to.
batman1172
post Aug 25 2023, 06:08 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 25 2023, 04:34 PM)
True...
From the information I saw... Average is 70+
So 80 is nice number target.... unless your family gene is very powerful.... All previous gen members over 100++ then probably u also could be over 90...
Based on my calculations. Inflation 4% and EPF dividend 5% my epf principal will be 0 at 100 year assuming I pull all my expenses here. After that have to sell stocks and house and condo to survive. Hard to forecast beyond 100.

Not sure my assumptions prudent or not. I don’t want to burden kids
batman1172
post Aug 26 2023, 11:41 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 26 2023, 08:16 AM)
I have 50% in cash. ALL in EPF.  laugh.gif

However, my investment portfolio is 25% cash 75% stocks.
Comes down to what’s a comfortable asset allocation depending on age and risk level.
I have similar 50% in retirement fund Epf and cpf but majority in properties and 10% stocks/cash and 1% with old friends doing high risk speculation and gambling.

batman1172
post Aug 31 2023, 02:06 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Aug 31 2023, 01:49 PM)
Cukai tanah tak ada kat tempat i.. but that might change though. Water bill i already included and no we don't use indah water. Lol. The only thing i missed was fire insurance for the house but that will disappear once i pay off loan before retirement. And i missed 1 to 3 of your list. Driving license rm30 per year and pay 10 years free 1 year.. road tax and insurance total around 400... Fire insurance for house 400 and getting less each year.. that's all..
Supplements and medicines less than 500 settled coz i direct cost price type.. life circumstances.. 😂 medical should be low and probably use gov hospital.. dental sounds be gov also.. but i rarely see them anyway.. adult diapers cost price so negligible.. that's why i put 1k for misc usage. Plentiful in my opinion.
Your cost breakdown is very detailed bro. Thanks for sharing. Very similar to mine.
Only comment I’d like to add is cost of replacement asset like house and car and appliances etc over 30 or 40 years. Also long term care which we may need. Who knows what will happen after we age above 80 or 90

batman1172
post Sep 14 2023, 03:46 PM

1,362 posts

yes I think new users require username to be IC number. but then I'm old
batman1172
post Sep 19 2023, 05:36 PM

1,362 posts

Suddenly i read above 1m is needed for retirement. I thought 240k. Why keep changing figure. Very confusing!
batman1172
post Sep 19 2023, 09:04 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Sep 19 2023, 07:27 PM)
1 million stashed away doesn’t matter where 🤦‍♀️ but if you can stashed away 1million in EPF at a low 4 to 5% over 20 years it is sustainable for comfortable retirement provided you don’t go indulge into luxuries
Not enough. Retire 60. 20 years only get you to 80. Might live till 95 or 100. So better have 2m to be safe.
batman1172
post Sep 20 2023, 02:32 PM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 20 2023, 01:54 PM)
If have 6mil, assuming 5% yearly returns, 3% reinvested, 2% for expenses@rm10k/month(120k/yr), can last many many years.
Should be enough to last from age 60 to 100 if take 2%. Don’t think many will go above 100 unless medical technology improve significantly.
batman1172
post Sep 21 2023, 04:18 PM

1,362 posts

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/679911
this one better. Ask minister to have EPF instead of Pension. then they will make different decisions

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0555sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:55 AM