EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

ShinG3e
post Jan 22 2014, 09:58 PM

o0o
1,550 posts

QUOTE(Clareen @ Jan 22 2014, 05:57 PM)
Should be announce around these few day right?
in 2 weeks time i guess. just after CNY.
Showtime747
post Jan 22 2014, 10:08 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(felixwang @ Jan 17 2014, 06:12 PM)
EPF has hinted dividend may be lower for 2013 in June, 2013.

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/744767
......as such, everybody should withdraw from EPF and invest in mutual funds......

tongue.gif tongue.gif
felixwang
post Jan 22 2014, 11:51 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 22 2014, 10:08 PM)
......as such, everybody should withdraw from EPF and invest in mutual funds......

tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Unit trust investment is not needed if EPF has been doing their job in the first place. What people should do is to think wisely prior to making their decision in the next general election.

This post has been edited by felixwang: Jan 22 2014, 11:53 PM
xuzen
post Jan 22 2014, 11:54 PM

4,436 posts

tongue.gif  tongue.gif
>50% of EPF moneys are forced savings errr... I mean invested in Govt Bonds. How to give you double digit rate of return?

Xuzen
max_cavalera
post Jan 23 2014, 12:19 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

hard to say oso...if they invest majority high risk high return portfolio malaysians cant even sleep tightly at night worrying bout their money....hope they announce a good or acceptable amount of 'ang pow' for us after CNY....come on you gotta compensate for all the tariff hike and reduce fuel n goods subsidization biggrin.gif
felixwang
post Jan 23 2014, 01:50 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 22 2014, 11:54 PM)
>50% of EPF moneys are forced savings errr... I mean invested in Govt Bonds. How to give you double digit rate of return?

Xuzen
I agree with you, Xuzen. In actual facts, more than 70% of EPF is invested in the debt-market as to guarantee a minimum return of 2.5%pa. Despite a good dividend declaration at an average of 5.5%pa for a period of the past 10 years, it is just not good enough to supports the ever increasing living cost in Malaysia.

EPF should consider investing a larger portion of their bond dominated fund in the equity market or risked defeating its purpose of failing to provide sufficient savings to see their members through retirement. Based on their own statistic that is published in the Star newspaper, more than 75% of EPF members who turn 54 years old in 2013 has RM 50K or less in their EPF savings account.

They should follow the move by Indian Government by allowing their National Pension System (NPS) to invest up to 50% of their fund in the equity market. As a result, NPS is generating a total return of between 9% and 10%pa in the past 5 years. An additional return of 4%pa can be easily translated to 119% in 20 years time.

Some may disagree with the strategy employed by NPS but desperate times need desperate measures. Personally, I feel that medium income earning Malaysian can no longer afford to have a conservative investment scheme.
xuzen
post Jan 23 2014, 10:06 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 23 2014, 12:19 AM)
hard to say oso...if they invest majority high risk high return portfolio malaysians cant even sleep tightly at night worrying bout their money....hope they announce a good or acceptable amount of 'ang pow' for us after CNY....come on you gotta compensate for all the tariff hike and reduce fuel  n goods subsidization biggrin.gif
Max,

Whatever ang-pow cum distribution they announce makes no difference to me... the money can see but cannot touch.

Xuzen
plumberly
post Jan 23 2014, 12:21 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(felixwang @ Jan 17 2014, 06:12 PM)
EPF has hinted dividend may be lower for 2013 in June, 2013.

http://www.thesundaily.my/news/744767
That was announced in June 2013, maybe reflecting on the poor return for Q1 2013. However, Q2 and Q3 2013 have the highest respective Q earnings to date! Hoping that Q4 2103 will also be another record. Then I expect 6.20 - 6.28% for 2013. Keep my fingers crossed. Ha.
wil-i-am
post Jan 23 2014, 04:34 PM

10,001 posts

tongue.gif  tongue.gif
R u a UT consultant?
smartinvestor01
post Jan 23 2014, 05:02 PM

Saving and Investing for Retirement (The SIR Concept)
1,423 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 23 2014, 10:06 AM)
Max,

Whatever ang-pow cum distribution they announce makes no difference to me... the money can see but cannot touch.

Xuzen
very much agreed..

i never involved kwsp into my net worth calculation as well because the money in there cannot be touched..

smartinvestor01
post Jan 23 2014, 05:05 PM

1,423 posts

tongue.gif  tongue.gif
better think twice when investing your money...

EPF Holders Lost Money in Unit Trusts

just because many people think that kwsp is not their money, they ended up making more lost when they invested at the wrong or non-performing unit trusts..

Showtime747
post Jan 23 2014, 05:14 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 23 2014, 04:34 PM)
R u a UT consultant?
Looks like my English is really bad. Look at the avatar and signature of the person I am replying to. I am being sarcastic there but it ended up I was promoting UT tongue.gif

High risk high return. Low risk low return. How can we compare EPF with UT. But there are UT agents trying to sell their products by comparing them. Utterly unprofessional doh.gif
Showtime747
post Jan 23 2014, 05:15 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Jan 23 2014, 05:05 PM)

just because many people think that kwsp is not their money, they ended up making more lost when they invested at the wrong or non-performing unit trusts..
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
wil-i-am
post Jan 23 2014, 05:46 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jan 23 2014, 05:14 PM)
Looks like my English is really bad. Look at the avatar and signature of the person I am replying to. I am being sarcastic there but it ended up I was promoting UT  tongue.gif

High risk high return. Low risk low return. How can we compare EPF with UT. But there are UT agents trying to sell their products by comparing them. Utterly unprofessional  doh.gif
Oic...
Anyway, support yo stand on integrity
davinz18
post Jan 23 2014, 05:56 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Jan 23 2014, 05:05 PM)

Agreed. We need to do some "research" first before investing. No matter if it's EPF or own money into UT, commodities or Shares investments nod.gif
smartinvestor01
post Jan 24 2014, 08:31 AM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Jan 23 2014, 05:56 PM)
Agreed. We need to do some "research" first before investing. No matter if it's EPF or own money into UT, commodities or Shares investments nod.gif
yape, those are common mistakes especially when their research are solely based on the unit trusts consultant..

well, i have a few friends caught up.. just because wanting to know more from the consultant, ended up buying the unit trusts without sufficient research..

always remember that KWSP is still our money.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by smartinvestor01: Jan 24 2014, 08:32 AM
dionharper
post Jan 24 2014, 04:49 PM

17 posts

Just sharing - sourced from EPF's annual report

Dividends by Years

1952-1959 2.50
1960-1962 4.00
1963 5.00
1964 5.25
1965-1967 5.50
1968-1970 5.75
1971 5.80
1972-1973 5.85
1974-1975 6.60
1976-1978 7.00
1979 7.25
1980-1982 8.00
1983-1987 8.50
1988-1994 8.00
1995 7.50
1996 7.70
1997-1998 6.70
1999 6.84
2000 6.00
2001 5.00
2002 4.25
2003 4.50
2004 4.75
2005 5.00
2006 5.15
2007 5.80
2008 4.50
2009 5.65
2010 5.80
2011 6.00
2012 6.15
2013 ???
wil-i-am
post Jan 25 2014, 12:39 AM

10,001 posts

Can an employee contribute > 11%?
Kaka23
post Jan 25 2014, 12:41 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 25 2014, 01:39 AM)
yes
smartinvestor01
post Jan 25 2014, 08:40 AM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 25 2014, 12:39 AM)
you can always contribute voluntarily through the maybank or public bank online banking..

sometimes when i have extra, i will contribute extra too...

1302 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:21 PM