EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post May 10 2023, 11:20 AM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 10 2023, 11:10 AM)
Personally...
I don't think EPF can fulfill the request so fast...
Gradually increase probably....
From the members new contribution....
Especially the additional 40k self contribution 😁

Only next year can achieve????

Anyway....
EPF seems very silent on this 70% thingy.....
No official announcement or update/comments....
It will take some time before a official statement will come from EPF. the draft has to clear many many people, as this is a response to the PM and will have consequences to EPF's independence and careers.

Wedchar2912
post May 11 2023, 07:23 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ May 11 2023, 05:46 PM)
I am more concerned about the 100k self contribution limit. This one been dragging for quite some time now.
but why concerned? it just take time...

even if they do not proceed with it, what extra risk will the original 60K limit contribute to your wellbeing?

If you are still working, just increase your personal deduction.
Wedchar2912
post May 12 2023, 12:26 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ May 12 2023, 11:51 AM)
Soon soon... We have self driving car and robotaxi already... Soon soon... Isn't that the aim of automation? 😂
either medical nanites or home automaton helper that will take care of the elderly...

please... before I become too old. lol

hopefully my EPF dividend is enough to pay for yearly subscription to such services.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: May 12 2023, 12:27 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jun 5 2023, 11:35 AM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 5 2023, 10:11 AM)
did the chap made a slight mistake in stating that the long term CAGR is 2.6%
i would have thought it was close to 6%.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 7 2023, 02:17 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jun 7 2023, 01:52 PM)
nope... it is like PM6 suddenly found extra 10K ringgit in his 1mdb account.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 7 2023, 02:24 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 7 2023, 02:20 PM)
Seems like UEM-Sunrise gotten cheap deal???

Such big freehold landbank in KJ area.......

EPF should sell at least 200m if not more 🙏
It does look like EPF is trying to get rid of their property portfolio....

just wondering if it is cos their view is negative on real estate, or they are hawkish on interest rate, or they forsee some demographic changes....
Wedchar2912
post Jun 7 2023, 02:47 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 7 2023, 02:35 PM)
Seems like it...

Probably need the $$$ for funding KWASA Damansara??
oh yeah, got that project.

but it is kinda weird that they needed to do such rejigging when EPF is a trillion ringgit fund.
a few billion ringgit to EPF is like shouting to everyone that one has sold a few thousand shares of Maybank (and the chap is worth 10 million).

then again, could be the media needed news to report.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 9 2023, 02:59 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 9 2023, 02:55 PM)
It's only 3% higher.  laugh.gif
yeah... 3% higher but total funds also up like 3 to 4%.... its a wash....
Wedchar2912
post Jun 15 2023, 10:56 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 15 2023, 09:05 PM)
i support early withdrawal... pay a penalty... get your money... smile.gif

epf exit tax... lol...
support this... for those with lesser than 1 million ringgit.... rclxms.gif

make the penalty to be 15% and contribute this into the dividend payout.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 15 2023, 11:00 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 15 2023, 09:59 PM)
National insurance scheme by EPF??
2% or 3% is contributed by members for using government health facilities?

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...-ahli-parlimen/

P/S: cannot find English version 😔 either me too noob or not yet pick up by those English media
what????

take 2% or 3% of what? dividend or total assets in EPF? per year?

so what we can look forward to is basically dividend yield of 3% max....
and now government hospital is paid for by hardworking citizens of Malaysia of private sector mainly. But government servants get to enjoy hospital care.... nice...
Wedchar2912
post Jun 15 2023, 11:28 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 15 2023, 11:13 PM)
Contribution....

Since some people die2 say must increase the percentage... So the increase percentage of contribution goes to National Healthcare Scheme??? To fund your expenses in government health facilities...  Something like that... If I understand correctly 😁
Bloody hell....

Just create a new tax called NHS or Medicare like what UK and/or US does....
(which I will support now that I have retired... lol. I can expect our gov hospital services will improve, right? )

EPF contribution is for retirement or pension, not for silly stuff like NHS.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 16 2023, 09:17 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jun 16 2023, 09:09 PM)
Agree. I plan to do that. Since it’s based on employment income not passive income or capital gain.
hehehe... bruce, don't lar go share share this top secret.... hehe tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jun 16 2023, 10:28 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jun 16 2023, 10:23 PM)
You mean disposable income doesn't include dividend from epf, ASMx & Sdn Bhd? Only based on LHDN income submission?
would think that is the only realistic way? all based on lhdn submission and deduction.

i know FD interest are no longer reported to lhdn in any form anymore for individuals. rental income already up to individuals if they wish to come clean. share dividends I don't really know because some firms still send me div vouchers, but always written 0 taxed.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 23 2023, 07:34 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(Berkshire Breakaway @ Jun 23 2023, 03:40 PM)
yeah better quickly root back to EPF after running away a bit
else, mod might move thread to kopitiam
habis then.
maybe EPF should start buying insurance coverage for all its members (of course it won't be free, but again this will be a case where everyone gets the same group insurance coverage) and reduce the burden of government hospital. Because it is a insurance, one can get treatment from private hospital too.

There, this idea is better than what DAP wanted EPF to do to pay for government hospital expenses.

Of course must have minimum conditions. To be entitled to this coverage, EPF balance must be minimum 60K rm.
Wedchar2912
post Jun 26 2023, 04:48 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(xiaoxiaoshen @ Jun 26 2023, 12:01 PM)
you can buy insurance under KWSP under i-lindung (deduct money for your KWSP acc). it has life insurance and critical illness upto 200k and the premium is affordable.

not sure this consider run topic  doh.gif
Definitely related to EPF, so it is on topic.

My fault... the insurance I mentioned is medical coverage insurance, as I was criticizing DAP's proposal of EPF paying some silly % to cover hospital cost, regardless of whether EPF members are using the hospital services or not.

I did see the i-lindung a while back, but imho, life insurance and critical illness are only useful for those from young family where the said person didn't have a chance to accumulate wealth yet.

Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 01:58 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jul 6 2023, 01:35 PM)
maybe they t20 people to be scared and take out immediately now so in in future pay less dividend to them. No need to implement tier-dividend.

also will implement basic income drawdown. how much a month?
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/673791

KUALA LUMPUR (July 6): Prime Minister Datuk Sri Anwar Ibrahim said any decision on the basic income drawdown plans for members' savings will be decided by the Employment Provident Fund (EPF).
Assuming 240K rm at start of 56 years old, EPF div rate stable at 5% pa, achieve 0 balance by age 76 (ie 20 years drawdown),
can spend 1.6K pm.

worth it?
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 02:11 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Jul 6 2023, 02:08 PM)
I think they gonna cap withdrawl at RM1k monthly from 56 since only 18% of members have enough money. And then later extend retirement age to say 65.
https://www.nst.com.my/business/2023/07/927...post-retirement
problem is if the starting amount is 240K rm, and cap withdrawal at 1K pm, it becomes a perpetual annuity...cos 5% div means 12K rm dividend already.

Then this will be even more draconian than SG's CPF version.... EPF want to keep our funeral and burial funds and more!!!!!!!
Any worse is everyone can only take out max 1K pm regardless of balance. haha

shocking.gif

EPF and gov really need to be better in communicating this to the public...
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 02:34 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jul 6 2023, 02:25 PM)
Sure. EPF is the one making the decision.

innocent.gif
This is a policy change... hence it is more the gov's move. Pointing at EPF is just a coward way out by PH gov.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 03:45 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 6 2023, 03:26 PM)
Have been saying it's not really your money.

That's why they are even encouraging you to self contribute.

So if now it's for 240k can you imagine 5 years later?

But gov has no ill intentions right?
This is crazy man.

What can you even do with 1k per month.

Have been saying even in kopitiam that this is going to happen

It's ok. Gov can never do this.
This is what you got by putting Anwar into power.
Haha... while I understand you are sore and trying to be cheeky for some reason, you must also be really naive to think that the majority of us trust 100% of the current and future politicians of Malaysia's gov? Today say A but tomorrow is a different gov made of different politicians but of same rubbish DNA.

So, if you think your funds in EPF is not yours, then take it all out then if you can. If you cannot, then think of a constructive way to alleviate the situation. If you admit there is nothing you can do, then I guess all you can do is complain....

If one has been planning properly one's retirement and didn't screw it up fully (or gotten so much bad luck that it just didn't work out), 240K being withheld by EPF is just a joke vs one's retirement eggnest. 240K just pretend you put into a FD issued by EPF which will pay better than FD rate by CIMB.
And any worry that EPF will raise the amount withheld sky high, say 1 million, is also silly to ponder.

The only catastrophic step EPF can take is everyone's amount regardless of notional is frozen and everyone can only take out 1K pm... Now this is the only scenario worth worrying. (ponder under what kind of economic situation will this happen).

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 6 2023, 03:51 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 6 2023, 07:25 PM

3,694 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 6 2023, 04:18 PM)
Well I will not be surprised it's not going to be just 240k when I reach 55. So you think in 10 years time, they cannot raise it to say 500k? At this point they are just seeing the reactions that's all.

Of course 10 years or even before that it's a long time and if they really try this, I can always plan ahead.

Still dunno why you are so upset with me.

But you really are not that smart to be honest if you think they cannot implement the same thing that Singapore does. Maybe you really are not.
Rather than worry about my smartness, you are better off thinking of ways to take your funds out of EPF if you have any and is really worried....
Don't just talk and no action... nod.gif

If really concern, be like me... took almost 150K rm out 3 months back to readjust my position...

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 6 2023, 07:25 PM

73 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:01 PM