EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

prophetjul
post Mar 6 2022, 09:29 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Mar 5 2022, 11:27 PM)
The biggest differnce apart from the obvious political interference is EPF's big portion of local bond investment. Bershire H does not do bonds.

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 6 2022, 09:23 AM)
What EPF did right was that they started to aggressively invest overseas, in particular developed markets starting from, circa 2012. They were then able to profit from the US bull market n MYR devaluation.

Tbh I think it will be very hard in the future for EPF to repeat past 10 years return
Yeah. That was a master stroke as far as EPF is concerned. Compre now with ASB, which is essentially local Bursa. Diminishing returns on a dying market and currency.
We should thank the CEO at the time. Who was it?
prophetjul
post Mar 6 2022, 10:53 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Micky78 @ Mar 6 2022, 10:50 AM)
wonder which types of property is helping those REIT making money.. majority shopping malls are not making money since MCO started in the year 2020.
i have not bought any SG mall REITs since then. However, i have Chinese mall REITs. Doing reasonably well.
The logistics REITs are doing very well.
European and US office REITs are doing very well too.
prophetjul
post Mar 6 2022, 03:37 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 6 2022, 03:35 PM)
Did you purchase them in SG (ie using a SG brokerage firm) and/or different accounts for the EU and US reits?

if don't mind, can share which brokerage you use?
I use Malaysian brokerage. Kenanga investment bank.
They will set up different currency trust accounts. I use MYR.
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 09:34 AM

12,287 posts

On self contribution, is there a limit to total contribution for the year?

ie if i am already contributing 200k by way of normal employer/employee contribution, can i still top up another 60k?
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 11:38 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 7 2022, 11:26 AM)
Can we voluntarily ask our employer to deduct more of our monthly salary to go into EPF? e.g. say, 30% instead of statutory 12%?

Then on top of that, we voluntarily put in another 60k.
i should think there is ceiling to mandatory contributions.
Otherwise for this year, i will ask my employer to deduct 50% of my salary for EPF! laugh.gif

Had a fast look at the EPF guideline.
IMO anything above the mandatory 9% employee contribution is voluntary. And the voluntary is maxed at 60k.
So if i am already contributing say 100k, then i am not eligible to top up any more.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 7 2022, 11:48 AM
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 12:12 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 7 2022, 12:08 PM)
Previously max employeR contibution is 19%
So i can ask my employer to max out their contribution and deduct from my salary? laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 01:30 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst3 @ Mar 7 2022, 01:00 PM)
Im not sure abt this regulation but I contribute 20% (employee) and on top of that I do the 60k self contribution and so issues so far.  Still get my 6.1% in full.

In the epf statement, it will show the 20% as monthly contribution and the self contribution as self contribution.
Does that mean there is no limit to the employee's contribution? hmm.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 03:16 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 7 2022, 02:44 PM)
from EPF -Self Contribution thread...

updated: see Cute-boboi's post below....
100%????????????? rclxub.gif

So this year, i can ask my employer to contribute all my post tax salary to EPF. laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 03:23 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Mar 7 2022, 03:21 PM)
I did 80% at one point, no issues. Any govt naturally wants more to save for retirement and this also does not affect the employer.
That is good to know. With FD so low. This is surely another investment avenue. Even for short term since i am already 60.
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 03:34 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Mar 7 2022, 03:30 PM)
Yes, as long as the institution remains free from political interference. I think it is a smart way to promote retirement savings among population, we have the same scheme where I am living now.
Since i am already 60, i can treat the EPF like a bank. laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 03:39 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 7 2022, 03:35 PM)
Technically you can 100% of your nett salary. However, realistically not making sense. Of course there are those with own business or other income, etc.

But this may attract LHDN to audit your OTHER income, otherwise their question is, how you sustain without expenses ?
Expenses can supported by dividends from other investments. Right now with FD at such lows, EPF can be used as a temporary shelter.
Nothing to hide form LHDN.
prophetjul
post Mar 7 2022, 09:22 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 7 2022, 07:33 PM)
hope the below post can cleared that query...
thumbsup.gif  notworthy.gif
thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 8 2022, 11:56 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 8 2022, 11:50 AM)
I want 10% dividend for Senior account.... tongue.gif
Me TOO! thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 8 2022, 12:07 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(c64 @ Mar 8 2022, 12:02 PM)
Yeah, i also don't understand.
Why the manual withdrawal? Means with manual withdrawal, then you will need to do all the fingerprint scanning and ic checking? After manual withdraw can immediately online withdraw?

Minta pencerahan from magika

I will be going there in a couple of years to fight with EPF.
Yes. First withdrawal online, you are required to visit EPF to verify your account and person after you put your request online.
After that, easy peasy. Just deal online. I have done that test. thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 9 2022, 09:23 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Mar 9 2022, 08:55 AM)

Wah Unker like to read diverse opinions n grounded logic. Syabas to the forumers.

Let us all pray n hope Kwsp n our country as a whole steer back to path of good governance, rule of law n moderation.

Unker now jump to gold, Asnb n crypto thread liao. Also, my other takeaway, teach my 2 cats not to mix n get cheated by feral tabby cats that goes to neighbour house.
Enjoy your gold unker. laugh.gif
i have been since 2002. Smell it. Taste it. Kiss it.
prophetjul
post Mar 13 2022, 07:10 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 7 2022, 02:56 PM)
from memory:
the limit is 100% of net salary (after tax/PCB) - checked with my HR a year or two back before COVID-19.
ie. pay into salary a/c $0, pay into EPF as Employee's deduction = all
this is from "employee's employment", apparently differs from self-contribution $60K

was thinking to balance back my EPF to cash investments coz $60K pa is going to be long to rebalance - thus asked max amount or % to my HR XD
Yup, U can - either get your HR to guide U or if they lazy, get the form, fill & get your HR to submit/execute.
From next month, I will request my company to contribute 90% of my post tax salary into EPF since I do not need the money and do not know where to place the money at least for the short term. laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Mar 14 2022, 09:57 AM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(shamino_00 @ Mar 14 2022, 07:38 AM)
Where to get money to be "sucked" out for the development bandar malaysia or hsr....if not coming from EPF f.und

Your hard earn retirement money savings to fund government projects to be directly involved into contractors, pumping in money and assume all the "risks" of project failure. Basically wants the EPF to bailout the project, while contracts given to the cronies earning.

Mind you, these are big projects and not spare change money, hundreds of billions and potential failure is high and risk is high. EPF will assume many risks. It's not few billions and goes against the EPF SAA allocation strategies.

I'm not sure which crony contractors and rent seekers are whispering this proposals to his ears....hey, EPF have a lot of money, why don't we dig some of it from there after digging Tabung Haji, Felda and many big failures already. Where to look for Capital where we don't have risk and EPF members assume all the risks. Jho Low, Najib TIA investment scheme part 2.0
Easy peasy.
Issue Rm100 HSR billion bonds repaid over 100 years at coupon 4% rate. Fully guaranteed by the government of Malaysia.
EPF swallows the whole hook.
Contractors make off with 100billion over 5 years and government pays EPF over 100 years.

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Mar 14 2022, 09:58 AM
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2022, 01:48 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 15 2022, 01:42 PM)
Do it... you will thank EPF every year when you realize that for every 50K rm you put into EPF, vs leaving it in FD, means you get a pick up of at least 3% pa.
50K rm x 3% pa = 1.5K rm... yes, that is 1500 rm.
That is a nice amount to have for a very nice dinner for the family. real nice dinner (no alcohol pls, as I do not believe in spending money on alcohol in a restaurant... lol).

Sound consideration for
a) anyone who is old enough; OR
b) close or above 1 million in EPF

AND

has cash left in FD earning some silly stepup high interest rate like 2.5%.
50K rm  ==>  1.5K rm extra to spend on nice dinner
100K rm ==>  3K    rm extra to spend on nice dinner and a affordable laptop for kids to play
500K rm ==>  15K  rm extra. Dinner and lodging at Pangkor laut resort for a few days and a nice laptop
10 mio rm ==> 300K rm extra. Donate to poorer people. Don't eat so much....
(always wondered what those 248 persons do with their dividends)

rclxm9.gif
Yeah. Next month i am going to contribute 90% of my post tax income into EPF. I am treating EPF as my bank account.
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2022, 01:58 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 15 2022, 01:55 PM)
nice....

and then every few days go login online to do 1K rm withdrawals or as much spending money as you need from EPF into your bank accounts. (assuming done pushing spare cash into EPF... else deploy the cash in CASA/FD first).
I don't need FD as i will be 60. EPF is better than FD.
I wont need the cash from salary as i will be receiving a gratuity from my company.
prophetjul
post Mar 15 2022, 01:59 PM

12,287 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Mar 15 2022, 01:55 PM)
nice....

and then every few days go login online to do 1K rm withdrawals or as much spending money as you need from EPF into your bank accounts. (assuming done pushing spare cash into EPF... else deploy the cash in CASA/FD first).
I don't need FD as i will be 60. EPF is better than FD.
I wont need the cash from salary as i will be receiving a gratuity from my company. Plus dividends generated from stocks to keep me going for some time.

72 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0604sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:07 AM