73 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Apr 3 2023, 12:31 PM

3,688 posts

This is scary.... i hope this will not start a precedence where the funds in EPF is no longer 100% creditor proof.

-> looks like now they can force the member to withdraw at age 50 and 55 and must debit a particular account.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 3 2023, 12:34 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 3 2023, 12:29 PM)
Hopefully at 4%
4% is kinda tough... when special FDs is like 4.5%....

I guess more and more reasons why BNM cannot hike OPR at all...
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 12:46 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 5 2023, 12:33 PM)
u40 and crying for help. really deep shit this malaysia.
what is u40? u as in ultra sensitive? lol...

I still don't see how this collateralized debt using Epf as collateral really helps the poor/bottom half of B40.... the top B40 and bottom M40 sure...
It sure helps the banks to lend out more money...

it helps the upper M40 and T20 indirectly....
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 01:38 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Apr 5 2023, 01:00 PM)
for those who say they are not poor, they have money in epf but not now.
ok, understand now....

agree with you... it should not be limited by age... poor means poor... if one don't have enough money to buy decent groceries for one's family, why is gov only helping those above 40 and not say someone who is 30 with a baby to feed....

But we know why the age limit is above 40 right? in order for the collateral to work...

the finance minister really need to think harder... nothing to do with PMX... oh wait... ranting.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 02:40 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 5 2023, 01:46 PM)
EPF is not the solution for poverty.
It never was...

UBI is a solution.... not the only one, but far superior to whatever all MPs claim EPF is supposed to be.

My query is more about what FM claim EPF can do to help the poor... which I think all of us agree more or less that the current collateralized debt is not helping the poor, despite what FM claim.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 02:41 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Apr 5 2023, 02:20 PM)
Even wage low there are better alternatives like increasing employer contributions to 20% of wages instead then only the employers will feel the pain 🤦‍♀️
looks like you don't understand how costing works.... doh.gif
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 02:42 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Apr 5 2023, 01:55 PM)
Agreed which is why EPF should have bought an allocation at least 5% in their portfolio 🤦‍♀️
Because at 40 commitments are high with housing and car loans 🤦‍♀️

This is loan is supposed to inject cash flow for people to spend in the economy and bailout banks for loans default’s especially housing loan 🤦‍♀️
so those at 30 or 35 or 38 or 28 do not have high commitments?
as far as I know, I don't have much commitments after I turned 40. nod.gif
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 02:46 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 5 2023, 02:44 PM)
U no children?
got, but all taken care off. already earmarked and will never touch those funds.

unless i got another child (s) that I am not aware off.... Then real headache.... haha.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Apr 5 2023, 02:50 PM
Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 05:27 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(YH1234 @ Apr 5 2023, 04:13 PM)
i cant tell if anwar and unity govt is doing the right thing from a retirement fund pov, but i know even if they concede to a so called last 10k withdrawal, it would never be the final one. the flow of events after the first withdrawal already prove this.

and i think with collateral, its a decent business for the banks that involved.
This initiative is a fantastic biz for banks. Essentially removed all credit risk.. banks just have to manage interest rate risk and tenor mismatch.
It is even safer than home loan or HP.

headache for banks is just the work needed to be done depending on implementation. If no monthly payment and just match max tenor, this is basically back to back risk mitigation for banks.

Wedchar2912
post Apr 5 2023, 06:32 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(riceball24 @ Apr 5 2023, 06:25 PM)
Just call MBSB Bank, they told me Variable Rate, 4.5%
Wah.... the banks will be lagi happy.... don't even need to manage interest rate risk....

now, PMX/FM/ PH gov... please open it to everyone so that the banks can make more profit with minimum risk to manage. nice....
(conventional EPF being large holders of banking stocks in Malaysia.... looks like div moving forward has some upside)

drool.gif brows.gif

Is T20 and upper M40 being helped more or B40 and lower M40 being helped more????
Wedchar2912
post Apr 6 2023, 03:30 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(netcrawler @ Apr 6 2023, 03:01 PM)
If banks offer 4 % and EPF average 5%for next 10 years, worth it to borrow 50k and straight put into EPF?
let me ask a simple question.
50K with 1% diff (ignore for now what the actual interest rate formula is) is 500rm per year.

If it is risk free (for the applicants), sure, just waste a few hours or a day and get it done, net net pocket 500rm.
If it is not fully risk free, I would suggest no point bothering with it just for a 500rm per year extra.

Do remember that both the loan rate and div from EPF are floating, and they may not move in the same direction.
Can one just cancel the loan say 111 days into the year? etc other issues that we all may not know.

personally, I rather spend the brain capacity on something else.... (does not apply to those who really needed the liquidity)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Apr 6 2023, 03:36 PM
Wedchar2912
post Apr 6 2023, 06:12 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 6 2023, 05:12 PM)
I think this one is quite clear, you can terminate early. MBSB says there is a rebate for early settlement.
the devil is in the detail, unfortunately.

Nothing is clear anymore.... it used to be said death and taxes are certain, but we now know taxes do not apply to politicians and politician's kids.

Have to wait for fellow forumers who went to apply for the loan and then share the details... then we all can analyze...
The rebate for early settlement hopefully means what it means. Banks don't give free lunches.

Wedchar2912
post Apr 6 2023, 06:30 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Apr 6 2023, 05:25 PM)
https://www.fsa2mbsbbank.com/ > the web is online already ..

kwsp kelayakan check as well : https://fsa2.kwsp.gov.my/

some info provided:
tq for the info....

so SBR + 1.75% = 4.5% pa.
What's everyone's forecast of EPF div for 2023? 5.5% is fair?

So the risky arbitrage on a max RM 50K position is 1% on 50K = 500rm.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 6 2023, 07:32 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Apr 6 2023, 06:42 PM)
5.5% and higher if no global recession happens possible but low

Wait for next month Q1 results then you can start projecting but it will be downside for these 2 quarters at least
yeah.... and the risk of OPR rate hike is there as well....
that 1% arbi spread looks colder than water....
(then again, Malaysia pipe water can be quite warm... haha...)
Wedchar2912
post Apr 6 2023, 08:24 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 6 2023, 08:14 PM)
Seriously...

U guys want to gamble with taking up the loans & dump the $$$ into EPF??.

From my noobie knowledge....
Seriously not really worth.... Very minimal only...
like you said, I also don't think it is worth the hassle.

If they allow up to a few million ringgit loan, then maybe worth the hassle.... whistling.gif wink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Apr 7 2023, 10:03 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 7 2023, 08:37 PM)
True, Unker not finding fault with forumers. Just be careful, don't go deeper in debts n blow retirement funds.

Unker big mouth, told Auntie  n relatives I can easily beat kwsp returns. She intended to park FD.

Now private bet with Auntie, oledi 2 weeks....so clever, where to invest.

Remember, Unker must beat kwsp....so even Asnb, FD means lose bet.

To put in OCBC dividend 5.35%  with banks financial crisis...Sgp is very susceptible. So is MYR banks these few weeks, months..don't you think a financial crisis approaching?

So now, bite bullet n pray GFC hit faster...bad karma...just to save my waterface.

Unker betting 5% principal on Coinbase. Badly beaten stock.  Maybe, I convince buy a good car is better than kwsp dividend.
Unker.... what is plus savings acct? CASA account is it?

why leave such large amount in a CASA????
Wedchar2912
post Apr 8 2023, 04:55 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Apr 8 2023, 04:10 PM)
Instead of buying public bank better off buying the holding company of PBB which is LPI 🤦‍♀️

Btw both companies haven’t even regain their value since pre pandemic

The better off would be buying MBB, TNB and Telekom confirm better off than EPF dividends
bro.... no doubt both firms have similar shareholders, but PBB's holding firm is LPI?

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Apr 8 2023, 04:57 PM
Wedchar2912
post Apr 8 2023, 06:23 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 8 2023, 06:01 PM)
Not directly under Teh family private company @ trust???

20% of the total shares if not mistaken....

Some interesting facts

Next biggest is EPF 😁

If Teh family fighting... Or split... And some sell to EPF...
Then EPF become single  largest shareholders of Public Bank 💪
I cannot be certain about this, but I believe the holding company that contains Teh's main shareholding is another entity.... called Consolidated Teh Holdings.

furthermore, LPI business is mainly in insurance I believe.

Maybe the confusion is with regards to HL credit vs Hl Bank or even OSK vs RHB (in which OSK is not the holding firm of RHB).

Wedchar2912
post Apr 8 2023, 07:31 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 8 2023, 06:31 PM)
yeah...
that the entities name in the shareholder official listings  tongue.gif

whatever...

matter of time before it's get split into smaller pieces.... one cannot hold more than 10%....
Old man Teh is special case... because before the banking act came into effects... same with HLB & Ambank big boss @ owners...

and the next one who benefits is EPF & KWAP (Gomen Pension Fund)  brows.gif
because this 2 is the next biggest @ top in PB group  sweat.gif
Usually, I try not comment too "aggressively/firmly" or correct anything that doesn't really matter much. Unfortunately, the claim was LPI is the holding company of PBB, and the advice given was to buy LPI instead of PBB shares. This is a completely unsound advice, unless it was really true LPI is the holding company.

Whether split into smaller pieces or not is a separate matter. This is also something I am very keen to see how the shareholding will be split amongst the bene of Teh, and how they can (ie allowed by BNM) keep the shareholding intact when they are all related.

Wedchar2912
post Apr 8 2023, 07:33 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Apr 8 2023, 06:36 PM)
I have been invested in Maybank for many years now. Their dividend return is really good + gains from stock price.
maybank was the first share I ever bought (under my parent's trading account, but it is my CNY pocket money savings) ever.... 1000 shares at around 4rm... still kept it till now.... definitely free now... rclxm9.gif

73 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0460sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:37 AM