EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 04:27 PM

3,604 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 4 2025, 03:49 PM)
i always trust epf even till the point if they say have to convert to model similar to CPF
anyway this is for our own good as a lot of old ppl dont really know how to manage their financial
someone who is a teacher also will get scam can you believe it?
some doctors, some engineers - all also possible to get scam
those reported on news we know, those cases not on news we dont knw

so i am all for lock up a portion of our EPF money and slowly give it to us
Ah... A decent idea.

May I ask.

If EPF is to implement the pension cashflow feature, which below do you support or would agree?

A) make it mandatory and forced upon all members, starting say 1 Jan 2026.no exception and on all balances inside the members accounts?

B) same as A, just that it is on a portion... Say 70% of epf balance.

C) optional for members to decide to participate or not. Once decided, cannot change anymore.

or
D) only for new members to be registered sometime in the future?
romuluz777
post Nov 4 2025, 05:09 PM

2,210 posts

In my opinion, the locked up portion (or pension or whatever you call it) should be made optional to those who need and want it this way.

There should be no coercion in this sort of things. Not every EPF member needs or wants to be babysat.
jutamind
post Nov 4 2025, 08:45 PM

2,429 posts

This is just my guess on what's coming with EPF plans:

1. Mandatory retirement age will be revised to 62
2. Partial withdrawal will be revised to 55, and full withdrawal to 60, effective from those reaching age 55 in year xxxx.
3. Annuity like plan ala CPF Life will be implemented for those born after year yyyy automatically.
4. Contributor will need to select annuity like plan and the amount locked down should be following the amount specified in RIA framework.
5. Contributor can revise up the annuity like plan but not revise down.
6. Those that have EPF amount above RIA framework enhanced package can opt out of annuity like plan

Just simply tembak. Let's wait and see whether it turns out true in the near future

virtualgay
post Nov 4 2025, 09:34 PM

3,266 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 4 2025, 04:27 PM)
Ah... A decent idea.

May I ask.

If EPF is to implement the pension cashflow feature, which below do you support or would agree?

A) make it mandatory and forced upon all members, starting say 1 Jan 2026.no exception and on all balances inside the members accounts?

B) same as A, just that it is on a portion... Say 70% of epf balance.

C) optional for members to decide to participate or not. Once decided, cannot change anymore.

or
D) only for new members to be registered sometime in the future?
1. old members optional and if the opt in give them some benefits
2. not base on % but is base on RIA Framework and in the lasted RIA Framework the amount is 390k so lock this amount up and slowly pay you the next 20 years
3. if u die before the amount 390k is used up then it goes to your beneficiaries
4. if u survive after 20 years then gov will continue to pay you even your money is zero, which is very similar concept like CPF Life annuity plan

that is why i dont mind having 390k lock up as monthly i will get like 2.7k for the next 20 years and if so happen i die after 30 years i gain lo.. if i die in the first 5 years, my beneficiaries still have money to take back... and by opting to this option i can ensure that monthly i have 2.7k and the money is not possible to be scam by family members, uncle, sister, brother, cousin, good friend, stupid friend or anyone else

again this is purely my own personal opinion
gov is being really respectful since our gov already said if anything new introduce will only impact future contributors

Lim Hui Ying (Deputy Finance Minister) has clarified a key point: the reforms would only apply to new contributors/members, while existing contributors’ rights remain largely unchanged.

https://www.mof.gov.my/portal/en/news/press...ent-withdrawals

This post has been edited by virtualgay: Nov 4 2025, 09:35 PM
dwRK
post Nov 4 2025, 09:44 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Nov 4 2025, 05:09 PM)
In my opinion, the locked up portion (or pension or whatever you call it) should be made optional to those who need and want it this way.

There should be no coercion in this sort of things. Not every EPF member needs or wants to be babysat.
folks that need pencen plan the most are the folks that want lump sum withdrawal... wink.gif

Wedchar2912
post Nov 4 2025, 10:02 PM

3,604 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 4 2025, 09:34 PM)
2. not base on % but is base on RIA Framework and in the lasted RIA Framework the amount is 390k so lock this amount up and slowly pay you the next 20 years
3. if u die before the amount 390k is used up then it goes to your beneficiaries
4. if u survive after 20 years then gov will continue to pay you even your money is zero, which is very similar concept like CPF Life annuity plan

that is why i dont mind having 390k lock up as monthly i will get like 2.7k for the next 20 years and if so happen i die after 30 years i gain lo.. if i die in the first 5 years, my beneficiaries still have money to take back... and by opting to this option i can ensure that monthly i have 2.7k and the money is not possible to be scam by family members, uncle, sister, brother, cousin, good friend, stupid friend or anyone else

gov is being really respectful since our gov already said if anything new introduce will only impact future contributors
Lim Hui Ying (Deputy Finance Minister) has clarified a key point: the reforms would only apply to new contributors/members, while existing contributors’ rights remain largely unchanged.

oo... nice...

Basically, you are saying it should be optional for members, especially existing members, to decide whether they want to participate or not, right? (ie the C in my example)

And if it comes with features like what you described in points 3 and 4, I definitely wouldn't mind leaving a few extra ringgit in EPF for something like the CPF Life style annuity plan either.
This kind of "special" financial instrument can be extremely valuable as a complement to traditional retirement portfolio planning. thumbup.gif

guy3288
post Nov 4 2025, 10:40 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 4 2025, 09:34 PM)

wah bro you sure gomen can afford to pay like that?

unless it reduces the dividend
or take from the rich

i doubt gomen will take out from its own coffer to pay you like that

with RM390k at ?55, you want to withdraw monthly RM2700 for life???
gomen can tahan or not?
you die young your children come claim balance
you die late Gomen tanggung

head you win
tail gomen lose, saya pun mahu lo.

at the end insurance pay,
premium cut from EPF dividends ranting.gif

This post has been edited by guy3288: Nov 4 2025, 11:17 PM
virtualgay
post Nov 4 2025, 10:47 PM

3,266 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 4 2025, 10:02 PM)
oo... nice...

Basically, you are saying it should be optional for members, especially existing members, to decide whether they want to participate or not, right? (ie the C in my example)

And if it comes with features like what you described in points 3 and 4, I definitely wouldn't mind leaving a few extra ringgit in EPF for something like the CPF Life style annuity plan either.
This kind of "special" financial instrument can be extremely valuable as a complement to traditional retirement portfolio planning.  thumbup.gif
if this CPF Life model got 100% replicated over to Malaysia I will be the first to sign up as long as the sign up amount is reasonable like 390k base on ria framework for basic retirement...

Base on CPF model if someone did not reach the basic amount let us just assume in Malaysia is 390k they not qualified and they will not join the plan and epf will pay you monthly till you deplete or you top up to join the plan

If the amount is too little epf then will just let you fully withdraw since some member don't regularly contribute and let just say amount is just 50k then they will just let u withdraw all

Very soon epf reform will take place so just wait and see

romuluz777
post Nov 5 2025, 08:30 AM

2,210 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 4 2025, 10:44 PM)
folks that need pencen plan the most are the folks that want lump sum withdrawal...  wink.gif
Yes, and these are the folks with low balances <RM100K) and most likely be saddled with high hutang upon retirement.
virtualgay
post Nov 5 2025, 09:51 AM

3,266 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 4 2025, 10:40 PM)
wah bro you sure gomen can afford to pay like that?

unless it reduces the dividend
or take from the rich

i doubt gomen will take out from its own coffer to pay you like that

with RM390k at  ?55, you want to withdraw monthly RM2700 for life???
gomen can tahan or not?
you die young your  children come claim balance
you die late Gomen tanggung

head you win
tail gomen lose, saya pun mahu lo.

at the end insurance pay,
premium cut from  EPF dividends  ranting.gif
U ask chatgpt to explain how CPF Life works then you might have some idea. My understanding is monthly you take the money from your account and pay to CPF life until the money depleted and the money you have with CPF Life no longer earn dividend at all. Like in Singapore CPF life basic is 208k and once you reach 65 they will put this money into CPF Life and the money won't grow and will just reduce on a monthly basis and you will get 1250 until you die. So you die after 3 years then your family members still get back balance of 208k minus 1250x35 which give you 163k. How it works is since they got 208k as a lump sum they will earn interest from there and you do not earn any interest. So with 208k dividend by 1250 you will get 166 months which also around 14 years. If die at year 15 you earn lo... So CPF life in Singapore is 65 years old plus 14 means you will be 79 years old.

so how CPF Life generate money and sustain?
1. Interest from 208k goes back to the pool
2. Members who die early or not even reaching 14 years or 79 years meaning is profit for CPF life
3. Is all math and number game to manage this and the pool will grow almost daily from interest from new joiner

When CPF making loses and can they cover - it is when members survive beyond 79 years old and again for the last 14 years your 208k must have generated enough interest to cover your another few more years of life...

So the real winner here is CPF Life and the money won't finish and this is all math...

So let us see and hope and pray that if there is a similar CPF Life for EPF and it start at 55 great if start at 60 not too bad and if start at 65 then I won't join. If base on the current EPF withdrawal eligibility it tell us it will start at 55 that is why I say I will join because
1. I am hoping to live until 65 or 70
2. Safe guard my future
3. Lock money up so scammer can't touch
5. Hoping to live pass average life expectancy to gain something out

If you still don't get it try chatgpt
Hope this helps

guy3288
post Nov 5 2025, 11:08 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 5 2025, 09:51 AM)
U ask chatgpt to explain how CPF Life works then you might have some idea. My understanding is monthly you take the money from your account and pay to CPF life until the money depleted and the money you have with CPF Life no longer earn dividend at all. Like in Singapore CPF life basic is 208k and once you reach 65 they will put this money into CPF Life and the money won't grow and will just reduce on a monthly basis and you will get 1250 until you die. So you die after 3 years then your family members still get back balance of 208k minus 1250x35 which give you 163k. How it works is since they got 208k as a lump sum they will earn interest from there and you do not earn any interest. So with 208k dividend by 1250 you will get 166 months which also around 14 years. If die at year 15 you earn lo... So CPF life in Singapore is 65 years old plus 14 means you will be 79 years old.

so how CPF Life generate money and sustain?
1. Interest from 208k goes back to the pool
2. Members who die early or not even reaching 14 years or 79 years meaning is profit for CPF life
3. Is all math and number game to manage this and the pool will grow almost daily from interest from new joiner

When CPF making loses and can they cover - it is when members survive beyond 79 years old and again for the last 14 years your 208k must have generated enough interest to cover your another few more years of life...

So the real winner here is CPF Life and the money won't finish and this is all math...

So let us see and hope and pray that if there is a similar CPF Life for EPF and it start at 55 great if start at 60 not too bad and if start at 65 then I won't join. If base on the current EPF withdrawal eligibility it tell us it will start at 55 that is why I say I will join because
1. I am hoping to live until 65 or 70
2. Safe guard my future
3. Lock money up so scammer can't touch
5. Hoping to live pass average life expectancy to gain something out

If you still don't get it try chatgpt
Hope this helps
Yes we have to pay a 'premium' to get the benefits you mentioned, finished my retirement fund I still can continue to draw monthly till death ...that has to be paid by someone, Gomen unlikely, sure deduct from your own EPF money...

Now the issue is after deduction of 'insurance premium' if you die early, your beneficiary won't get exact amount you left, it will be lesser due to premiums deducted, from 10- 50% depending on how long you have been drawing the monthly $$

Next is if you have rm390k at 55, you think can draw rm2700 monthly till death? Very unlikely, rm2700 is too much for the scheme..

Finally this life EPF unlikely will start paying you from 55....follow Singapore CPF life you won't join I think. You got to wait till 65 baru boleh draw your monthly from the CPF life pool....

HolyCooler
post Nov 5 2025, 11:35 AM

434 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 4 2025, 12:07 PM)
Equality in outcome is always desirable, because inequality leads to violence. See... all of history.

As far as i get from your replies, if i am not mistaken, you are a supporter of communism?

LostAndFound
post Nov 5 2025, 02:14 PM

6,261 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Nov 5 2025, 11:35 AM)
As far as i get from your replies, if i am not mistaken, you are a supporter of communism?
*explains in detail why it is good actually for society as a whole to take care of all its people*

"Is this communism?"

Technically what I am talking about falls more under socialism. But anyone who would read all that and say 'communism', then I guess yes its the same thing for that level of discourse.
Ayambetul
post Nov 5 2025, 02:16 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Nov 4 2025, 12:07 PM)
Equality in outcome is always desirable, because inequality leads to violence. See... all of history.

Also because there is no equality in opportunity (primary predictor for economic success is still inherited wealth). Improving equality in outcome means equality in opportunity, and allows us to actually have people succeed due to their hardwork and ability rather than because they were privileged. We already do this through publicly funded education for example. But suddenly when it comes to EPF measures we complain when the government trying to adjust.

For me the complaint is that government should do their job and support/assist rather than 'help' people from their retirement savings. But it seems more of the complaints here is targetted at "why these people no money, they must be lazy/stupid".
Government using the "no money group" as "reason" to push through their idea which it is doesn't help to the "targeted group" for longterm, hence the complaints to that group pop up

It is no mean of anybody lookdown on them.
virtualgay
post Nov 5 2025, 02:46 PM

3,266 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 5 2025, 11:08 AM)
Yes we have to pay a 'premium' to get the benefits you mentioned, finished my retirement fund  I still can continue to draw monthly till death ...that has to be paid by someone, Gomen unlikely, sure deduct from your own EPF money...

Now the issue is after deduction of 'insurance premium' if you die early, your beneficiary won't get exact amount you left, it will be lesser due to premiums deducted, from 10- 50% depending on how long you have been drawing the monthly $$

Next is if you have rm390k at 55, you think can draw rm2700 monthly till death? Very unlikely, rm2700 is too much for the scheme..

Finally this life EPF unlikely will start paying you from 55....follow Singapore CPF life you won't join I think. You got to wait till 65 baru boleh draw your monthly from the CPF life pool....
Wait and see as long as we do the numbers we will be able to decide
Make smart decision
guy3288
post Nov 5 2025, 03:53 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Nov 5 2025, 02:46 PM)
Wait and see as long as we do the numbers we will be able to decide
Make smart decision
From the look of majority views here
I believe our EPF suits us better
more degrees of freedom
Paying dividends till 100 yrs old
All belong to us, and our children later

CPF life?
Willl keep your dividends from 55 to 65
For 10 long years...not accessible

Thereafter essentially no interest for you at all
Used for payout only

That so many years dividends from people like us
can easily push up the money in common pool
to pay for those running out of money but not breathe
The rich sponsoring the poor .. or
The short lived sponsoring the long lives payout...

This post has been edited by guy3288: Nov 5 2025, 04:23 PM
virtualgay
post Nov 6 2025, 12:17 AM

3,266 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 5 2025, 03:53 PM)
I believe  our EPF suits us better
more degrees of freedom
CPF life?

Used for payout only

Agree with the statement short life paying for longer life
Don't agree with rich sponsoring the poor as the buy in amount is fixed so u need xxx amount to buy into CPF life. If u don't reach that amount you are not qualified

Is reformation of epf so is a matter of time
It won't impact us but still this is a good discussion topic as everyone has a different approach when come to how epf manages their money

This post has been edited by virtualgay: Nov 6 2025, 12:20 AM
jasontoh
post Nov 6 2025, 10:55 AM

8,427 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Nov 5 2025, 03:53 PM)
I believe  our EPF suits us better
more degrees of freedom
CPF life?

Used for payout only

So bad?
guy3288
post Nov 6 2025, 12:04 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 6 2025, 10:55 AM)
So bad?
Bad for those who have more than enough for retirement yes ...

But good for those unsure if retirement fund can last till the end....
bombacat
post Nov 6 2025, 12:29 PM

24 posts

1305 Pages « < 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:19 AM