EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

prophetjul
post Dec 31 2019, 01:21 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 30 2019, 07:38 PM)
As I said earlier, EPF doesn't work like UT. UT can hv negative returns in one year. It's apples to oranges.

You can look at EPF published quarterly results. For first 3Q 2019, they are already behind the first 3Q of 2018. At the same time, we know their asset size continued to grow from contributions. For them to beat last year 6.15%, their 4Q will have to be extremely good. I admit it is a possibility, but right now I will stick to a lower dividend forecast of between 5.5%-6%. And I say maybe on the lower side, to give some face to their PNB bros..
I think for EPF, dividends is not directly proportionate to earnings for the past few yearly quarters.
I think EPF has retained earnings which can be used to smoothen the dividend in spite of the drop in earnings.
prophetjul
post Jan 13 2020, 04:03 PM

12,268 posts

5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4, 5.5, 5.6,5.7, 5.8, 5.9, 6.0

Take yer pick! laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Jan 15 2020, 09:52 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 15 2020, 09:46 AM)
If my memory is still ok, revenue for 2018 was the highest in EPF history (Q1-3 revenues were higher than 2017 year total!). One expected the dividend to reflect that. But it did not. Of course, it is not comparing apple with apple as the funds it collected were higher than previous years. Still think the dividend rate for 2018 should be at least 1% higher.

My 2 cents, when things are good, the dividend may be slightly higher or even lower! Maybe to save some money for the coming bad years? But when things are bad, one gets the lower number with comments like  "very tough economy, etc., etc. "

Cheerio.
I still suspect they do not distribute 100% of income.
They will retain some to smoothen the lesser years. Politics.
prophetjul
post Jan 15 2020, 01:28 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jan 15 2020, 12:19 PM)
Epf is not asnb or any other mutual fund. They are not required to distribute 100% of their income. As per law they are required to give a minimum of 2.5% dividend per annum as per section 27 of EPF Act 1991.
There proves my point.
But morally, they should distribute whatever income is earned. The funds belong to the shareholders.
If they do not distribute 100%, they must inform what they do with the excess.
prophetjul
post Jan 16 2020, 10:52 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 16 2020, 09:09 AM)
I think, many beliefs that it is not so direct as...."EPF dividends are a result of the income from the investments done externally and internally by the EPF itself, ".....
for there had been unconfirmed "hidden reserves" to smoothen the dividend payout returns trends.....
thus this hidden reserves "may" have the possibility to "pinjam" to the Govt for use.
Maybe to help out other funds too? sweat.gif
prophetjul
post Jan 20 2020, 11:05 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jan 19 2020, 01:48 PM)
Most of those you mentioned already GLC, cronyism and pretty much monopolies by them. There's practically no direct competition of those you mentioned.

Anyway, it's up to government if those mentioned will have new player.

So if EPF gonna have that slice of pie, meaning us, rakyat have to pay more, resulting higher cost of living.
It's only so much earning EPF can dig thru there and epf  notice that, hence they allocated 39% of the capital in overseas equities.
If not mistaken, started with 32% and as of Q2 2019, 39%

Be it profit flows to crony or EPF, I don't care much. As long as it does not directly or indirectly have significant effect raising cost of living and provided the interest given by EPF is good
Looks like you want to have the cake and eat it too! laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Jan 20 2020, 01:08 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jan 20 2020, 11:24 AM)
some people dont like the idea of epf revenue get ''slash'' due to government decision or profit flow to crony
just like my previous reply, i prefer epf bringing IN more RM(RM will strengthen) rather than depending on ''fishing in own pond.''

otherwise, epf will keep increasing holdings in malaysia rather than overseas holdings.
AS I do not used PLUS, I am all for EPF maximizing their PLUS profits!
As EPF is essentially a national fund, they have a national duty to support the local institutions first.

Its a good thing that they ventured outside of Malaysia as a diversification strategy.
Otherwise, we may be seeing 4% dividends already! The forex was a big plus.
prophetjul
post Jan 20 2020, 01:41 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Jan 20 2020, 01:25 PM)
Doubt it will be 6.15%.

That's for election year.
prophetjul
post Jan 20 2020, 01:50 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jan 20 2020, 01:45 PM)
I always thought EPF first and foremost is maximizing the return for its member. Did not know that our money will be used to prioritize supporting local institution.

Very much agree..
I remember around 2015 or so, EPF holding around 400 or 500+ Malaysia stock which most of it aren't performing.

After they sold out and left around 120, they able to give slightly higher yield.

Even my unit trust holdinga, which only just 1 year, ROI 15% and 9.5% both focus on overseas, mainly US and China.

Seriously thanks to whoever approve EPF invest overseas. Otherwise, even if keep milking from rakyat, I highly doubt the interest will more than 5%

Not so sure about Forex gain tho. Did not remember or recall EPF statement on that. Afaik, EPF started overseas exposure right before 2016 and even then, the return are great. According to forummer from fsm thread, the bull run for equities started since 2015 to late 2017.
Yeah

Its for nation building or whatever you call it, including bailouts. Remember MAS with Tjuddin? EPF had to bail him out buying expensive shares.

Investing outside of Malaysia has definitely enable EPF to gain from forex. MYR has always been on a downtrend vs many currencies, especially USD.
prophetjul
post Jan 20 2020, 02:05 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jan 20 2020, 01:57 PM)
EPF already mentioned there's basically no more interesting/profitable asset to invest in Malaysia

And fund managers also agrees with that.
https://www.asiaasset.com/post/14170-epfreact-gte-0219

Since 2016, exposure was around 30% and as of 2019 September, it since up to 39%
Not to sure if BNM is imposing restrictions on EPF portfolio selection since there's increase in % overseas holdings
EPF probably owns more than 10% of KLSE index stocks?
prophetjul
post Jan 20 2020, 02:17 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jan 20 2020, 02:15 PM)
I think EPF website got listing of its top 30 holdings in Brusa.
You may check it there.
Sorry.

I meant in terms of total value.
prophetjul
post Jan 29 2020, 11:07 AM

12,268 posts

If they cannot even beat FD rates, the management should resign en bloc. That's all I can say.
prophetjul
post Jan 31 2020, 02:08 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Azury36 @ Jan 31 2020, 01:40 PM)
Gov already immune with Rakyat big hoohaa.

It is fair to say 4.5% is quite high compared with current situation, with Najib 1MDB drag down us all
EPF investments has very little to do with 1MDB
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2020, 12:52 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Feb 3 2020, 03:54 AM)
Total income for first 3 quarters of 2018 : 39.88b
Total income for first 3 quarters of 2019 : 35.48b

Assume Q4 also same (it should be better since trade war is over. didn't pay attn to KLSE. did it go up a lot in Q4?)

Averaging Q4 with first 3 quarters, 35.48/39.88 x 6.15% = 5.47%

So it should be somewhere around 5.47%, depending on how Q4 performed.
In today's edge magazine it says

"EPF needs RM50 bil to pay 6% in 2020"

So they need RM15 bil in Q4 to make RM50 bil. Unlikely I think.
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2020, 03:04 PM

12,268 posts

According to the edge, the first 3 quarters investment income of RM35.48 should be able to deliver 4.2% dividend.
So we are looking at a floor of 4.2%.
prophetjul
post Feb 7 2020, 08:30 AM

12,268 posts

Some people here waiting for EPF dividend announcement is worse than waiting for the birth of the first born! laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Feb 11 2020, 09:22 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 11 2020, 09:08 AM)
I tested using android phone...
google KWSP.
the KWSP main page link ...seems to have page not available notice.
but just few links below ....got the 'overview"....I can access it and other pages thru that overview link
Suspense is getting Unbearable! Haha! laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Feb 12 2020, 01:29 PM

12,268 posts

https://www.dosm.gov.my/v1/index.php?r=colu...DZIbmk2aWRRQT09

GDP shrunk to 3.6% in 4QTR.
Overall 2019 GDP was 4.3% cf with 2018 of 4.7%

NOT looking good at all.
prophetjul
post Feb 15 2020, 02:30 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 15 2020, 11:59 AM)
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...nd-payout-poser

Result is out!

No lah. Have a read nonetheless.
As I suspected, EPF does not pay out all their earnings.

They retain some for whatever political reasons is required.

However, should it have kept some `reserves’ last year, taking into account the leaner accounting standards for provisioning of diminution in value of investments, the EPF may just be able to spring a surprise by declaring a higher rate than the mid-5% range.[/CODE]

What right have they got to do that?
prophetjul
post Feb 16 2020, 07:40 PM

12,268 posts

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/epf-...-bil-pay-6-2019

Put another way, the chances of the EPF’s beating last year’s 6.15% payout for Simpanan Konvensional (SK) and 5.9% dividend for Simpanan Shariah (SS) are slim.

72 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:24 PM