EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
dwRK
Apr 3 2023, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 3 2023, 01:04 PM) Haha Unker senang Kay poh. My thoughts. If your own investments (outside kwsp forced savings) has consistently demonstrated dividends return > kwsp. Then it suggests, you have good investment skills/instincts. Otherwise, I think it's pure gamble and/or false hope....poor judgement to execute the kwsp loan. Open question...there's another category of forumers, to pay off loans first, or invest with the kwsp $$$. Unker oso not very bright, young days swimming has resulted in dark complexion. depends on rate... dump back into epf maybe ok... lol...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 01:22 PM
haiyah not qualify...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 4 2023, 09:44 AM) Unker very confused, wouldn't upon a member birthday age #55 akaun 1 & 2 be automatically converted to akaun 55? Or, the conversion to akaun 55, only happens at 1 Jan following year? on birthday
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 3 2023, 07:48 PM) For those FIRE n age b4 50 can actually use this 50k to pay for car purchase cos HP rate is like 3.75% (effective 7%). FIRE liao cannot get loan... cc application also reject... anyways FIRE liao ppl buy car pay cash...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 4 2023, 01:55 PM) just your poster... dun meet a few conditions... lol... This post has been edited by dwRK: Apr 4 2023, 02:50 PM
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 4 2023, 02:15 PM) So basically BSN & MBSB need to cough out $$$ for the loan and collect the principal + interest after the person turns 50/55. me thinks you need to pay them monthly... once settle inform epf...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 4 2023, 03:29 PM) Thanks. let's say you borrow 50k and then put straight back into EPF and gain the 5% dividend and you are only paying say, 4% of interest p.a. Pay lumpsum directly at the age of 50 or 55. you earn the interest free, arbitrage, no reason not to go for it? Only risk is when the dividend is actually lower than the interest rate. thoughts anyone? already doing differently... max out housing loan... epf div > morgate rate  i assume can settle early with the bank... so drop in div is non-issue... otherwise bleeding... but lumpsum settle dun make sense for the banker even at 5% flat rate... 50K loan, 10 years later payback 75k... breakeven npv is 4.14%... this not only is charity, but hit their cashflow...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Wolves @ Apr 4 2023, 04:41 PM) It makes perfect sense coz they have guranteed 4-5% interest. It's just 10 years and they will get everything even if a default happens. It's one of the best deal so far with 0 risk. They have no cash flow issue but lack of places to put thier cash to earn title at this current market. Where can you put to earn you 5% a year confirmed and 0 risk of losing money? Think about it. They got no risk at all. banks giving fd 4.2-4.5%... it means they can earn more elsewhere taking on whatever risk... this epf plan they only earn 4.14%... more or less zero sum game... des why i say dun make sense... anyways... lets see the final package... maybe they skin you somewhere else or get compensated by gov...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(Wolves @ Apr 4 2023, 07:01 PM) FD is your money and not bank money. And FD rates are going down. FD means every 12 months to 18 months you will lose it. It's not thiers. Mass withdrawal (bank run) = death of bank. In Malaysia it's low probability.. But it's not zero. This loan you cannot run. Lock in period is there and you are guranteed to get your money back. So it's very very profitable. Let's imagine next year FD rates 3% which happened before and can easily happen again. Your kwsp loan still 4.14% (your number up there). What risk is there? If you loan 10 years they are getting FD from you next 10 years. Easy money. Still don't see the picture? if its so lucrative all the top major banks would have already jumped on it... who doesn't want a big piece of pie, 1st mover advantage? my numbers mearly suggests its not "very very profitable" to the banks as you see it... secure? yes... profitable? yes... but this would probably be bottom tier venture imho
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Apr 4 2023, 07:58 PM) I dont mind giving out loans with such a rock solid guarantee. Compound interest for non payment of schedule payments will be enough for me. Better than buying bonds... sure... but no such thing as compound interest for non payment... because plan is already 10yr no need payment
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 4 2023, 08:07 PM) Maybe initial open only to gomen related first... So naturally BSN first... MBSB is private right??? dunno... ideally you wanna be transparent and dun wanna be accused of favoritism... so its more efficient to call a big meeting with all the bankers present and lay down the proposal... then see who's in who's out... and thrash out any issues before go live...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(magika @ Apr 4 2023, 09:10 PM) Nobody said no need payment, and nobody said no compound interest. The devil is in the details. you are correct... stated only regular payment or pay at 50/55... i jump the gun here...
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 4 2023, 09:07 PM) This was just announced like 2 weeks ago. Probably major banks will.need more time to go through all their bureaucracy. maybe... anyways.... imho this plan is to distract/stop noisy ppl demanded another 10k withdrawal because they say need emergency funds... now they have it... and epf dividend offsets loan interests... and epf dun need emergency liquidation of any investments that will hurt future income... win win for everyone
dwRK
Apr 4 2023, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 4 2023, 09:57 PM) Probably need more time?? Whatever... EPF did mention later more banks would also offer it.. So probably for below 40yo groups ☺️ dunno lah... anyways i not qualify... will stop here lah...
dwRK
Apr 5 2023, 08:17 AM
QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Apr 5 2023, 04:37 AM) Most major banks wouldn’t wanna go through low profit and high expense venture 🤦♀️ In fact if they wanna do it EC should be there as well 🤦♀️ It is more rush through job while catering certain ppl 🤦♀️ most lucrative for banks... credit cards 15-21%... then personal n car loans... on commercial side... i know this local company with $150 mil usd loan, 4.84% sofr... other banks may still join for optics or fold from pressures... the way i see it... if bad for banks... then is probably good for the ppl... lol... anyways lets wait the details lah...
dwRK
Apr 6 2023, 10:14 PM
taking 50k loan and dumping into epf... net gain about 1.5k after 10 years... lol assumption epf 5% div and loan 4.5% reducing a la mortgate comparison is with regular monthly savings into epf... amount same as loan repayment... so if one is set on saving at least RM 520 per month into epf... this scheme gives you 1.5k extra... money is money...  but savings you can stop... repayment cannot... if you have secure job and excess funds... probably can risk it...
dwRK
Apr 7 2023, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(Zeroxhunter @ Apr 7 2023, 08:33 AM) Variable rate applied to all banks or certain banks? pls be patience... banks not yet open...  today 7th liao surely some bros here lining up for info & applications...
dwRK
Apr 7 2023, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(Zeroxhunter @ Apr 7 2023, 09:00 AM) at least you got hope... i no hope liao... hahaha btw you actually want reducing balance type... variable rate only good if you expect blr to go down, conversely fixed rate good if you got it low and expects blr to go up... actually if got property the best is refinance for about 3.7-3.8%... This post has been edited by dwRK: Apr 7 2023, 09:27 AM
dwRK
Apr 7 2023, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 7 2023, 11:21 AM) https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ancial-adviser/Nothing surprising.... Banks sure profit from this loans thingy why des ppl dun come out say free 10k withdrawal last time bad for retirements... lol... say take loan will jeopardize future cash flow... but des ppl already cash flow problem now des why need loan... no otak one these ppl... lol...
dwRK
Apr 7 2023, 11:43 AM
that mbsb info graphic also misstep... 'no i-account... go apply'...
like apply liao i-account with zero value can get loan... lol...