EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2023, 12:40 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Feb 22 2023, 10:51 AM)
Benchmark is 5.5

Anything less means EPF failed to do their work?

More means good job done 👍

😎
5.5% when most other funds are double digit negative in 22 is very good.

Cubalagi
post Feb 22 2023, 11:03 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Feb 22 2023, 09:35 PM)
another question - why cant Shariah beat Conventional dividend payout? Why cant they just declare the same and get rid of Conventional or just invest in Shariah product. This country should be united and not divided, why even EPF they want to divide us? Can someone help to bring this topic to parliment and ask them why?
It is because the Shariah universe of investable assets is smaller than conventional. So there is lesser room to find outperformance.

Conventional can invest in shariah instruments. But shariah cant invest in non shariah instruments.For eg bank stocks are non shariah with the exception of Bank islam, which is a small bank.

If performance is the priority, get rid of shariah.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 22 2023, 11:05 PM
Cubalagi
post Feb 23 2023, 12:27 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 23 2023, 06:58 AM)
Bro, cannot change test condition lah.

Desire is not happy.

Let's rethink. Too much desire, makes a person less happy.
Money can avoid a lot of unhappiness tho..

Personal experience..

1) Jobless for 8 months in 2020
2) Dad suffered major stroke, requiring home nursing

Thankfully got emergency savings.

If no money, I might be in the video of EPF withdrawal protestors ..

Cubalagi
post Feb 23 2023, 03:08 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 23 2023, 01:30 PM)
Hope your dad is getting better now.
Thanks for the thoughts.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 23 2023, 03:12 PM
Cubalagi
post Feb 25 2023, 05:19 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Feb 25 2023, 04:31 PM)
I am B2 sad.gif so sad...

Thats income of household.

You only b2 if you are the sole breadiwinner of a household.

Cubalagi
post Feb 25 2023, 05:24 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Feb 25 2023, 05:22 PM)
Oh... Then cannot claim to be B2 already sad.gif
Yeah..welcome to M40 😆

Cubalagi
post Feb 25 2023, 06:20 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Feb 25 2023, 06:06 PM)
Mostly agreed. Let's say 5 years. I still cannot withdraw bah.. that's why i say nearing age of withdrawal only consider putting more money in lo. And i don't agree with one thing. They can still bulldoze certain stuff which happened before. I kena one act that they bull dozed before and implemented 3 months after approval before "we" (affected ppl) can react to it. So most of the time you are correct. But there are some times they do do things by bulldozing. And sometimes you have opposition not full force in Parliament and not enough to oppose. Which happens before as well. And sometimes you dunno what agenda they nego behind that the upper house suddenly agree as well. So since i experienced a bulldozed act amended before (only one act la.. This one is two).. i don't believe politicians. 😂 Still gonna maintain skeptical until it is no longer a possibility and nobody talks about it anymore.
Thats why, for me, I dont withdraw from epf coz knowing its good. But at the same time, I dont add more via self contribution, prefering to diversify my retirement portfolio.

Cubalagi
post Feb 25 2023, 08:20 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Wolves @ Feb 25 2023, 07:32 PM)
I suppork both of you. I actually wanted to do it last year but i withheld coz dunno what pmx will do and waiting to see if he dips his hands into this. Not very confident already. I might even consider pulling some out if the dividend is super disappointing.
How u pull out? 🤔
Cubalagi
post Feb 27 2023, 12:42 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 27 2023, 09:41 AM)
Reason we must diversify our investment portfolio to other currency denominated investments.
Epf is also diversified, about 37% of EPF AUM in overseas assets now.
Cubalagi
post Feb 27 2023, 01:41 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 27 2023, 01:08 PM)
But your money in EPF still RM, those foreign asset is for EPF, not to you. To diversify and hedge, you will need to directly put those assets in foreign currency and shares directly under your name and account.
If MYR depreciates, EPF will get better investment returns from its offshore holdings due to forex gains, and this will translate to higher dividends, other things being equal.

From 2014 to end 2021, EPF returns beat MYR devaluation vs USD or SGD over same period, handily.
Cubalagi
post Feb 27 2023, 02:34 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 27 2023, 02:09 PM)
Cannot compare with just forex changes.

SGD in 2008 was 2.3MYR. Now its 3.3. 
Plus the ROI on the investments.
2008, then have to compound EPF dividends since 2008.

ROI on investments, some ppl can be bad at it and get negative.

Cubalagi
post Feb 27 2023, 05:20 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 27 2023, 02:58 PM)
For a total of 3+2=5%? Epf average was >5%. Sorry can compare this way?
Say 10 years ago..

Contributor A scared MYR is doomed, withdraw EPF and change to SGD and put in SG FD.

Contributor B didnt do anything and stayed with EPF

I think, the end result would be quite similar? (Guess only, havent checked data).

Of course, there could be contributor C who withdrew and put in SG stocks. This one could be making a lot higher returns, but with higher volatility. Or he could even be losing money eg bought Singapore Airlines or Keppel Corp or Hyflux bonds.

Cubalagi
post Feb 27 2023, 07:00 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 27 2023, 06:43 PM)
Or could have invested in DBS or Ascendas REIT or Malpetree Ind Reit.  laugh.gif
There are always better ones.

Like withdraw EPF and go into BTC..in 2012 😆

Cubalagi
post Feb 27 2023, 07:10 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 27 2023, 07:04 PM)
BTC is SGD denominated?  tongue.gif
Proponents say it is a currency on its own..

N even last withdrawals they were people withdraw epf n went to cryptos.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 27 2023, 07:12 PM
Cubalagi
post Feb 28 2023, 10:26 AM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 28 2023, 07:59 AM)
To benefit from BTC, your timing must be HIGHLY accurate.

EPF does not need any timing advantage.

SG instruments needed lower timing advantages depending on the type of instrument.
There is timing and there is also discomfort when your investment is tanking.

Eg. The SG banks that Ramjade mentioned. Very good long term investments. But even they cut dividends and prices dropped 20+% in 2020. Back on 2008/09, they dropped 50%. Great time to buy more, but highly uncomfortable.

For Epf there is no such discomfort.

Back to the main reason we are talking about this..if the main worry is devaluation of the MYR, EPF has so far proven to be quite a decent instrument to protect against devaluation of MYR. Its dividends has so far make up for any devaluation.

If you want more than that, of course, there are many alternatives..at higher risk and volatility compared to EPF.

Cubalagi
post Feb 28 2023, 01:27 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Feb 28 2023, 11:59 AM)
i did some simple calculation,

20 years ago $1=RM 2.30, invest SGD 100k & RM 230k both in CPF and EPF, with CPF & interest rate of 4% and 6%

20 years later, you'll have SGD 222,258.21 & RM 761,347.03 , which convert with current exchange rates of $1=RM 3.30, the SGD equivalent is CPF RM 733,452.09 VS EPF RM 761,347.03

same scenario but change to 10 years ago where $1=RM2.50, invest SGD 100k & RM 250k both in CPF and EPF, with CPF & interest rate of 4% and 6%

10 years later, you'll have SGD 149083.27 & RM 454,849.18 , which convert with current exchange rates of $1=RM 3.30, the SGD equivalent is CPF RM 491,974.79 VS EPF RM 454,849.18
based on 20 years scenario, higher return indeed can cover against the MYR devaluation.

Based on 10 years scenario, higher return unable to cover the MYR devaluation.

Reason for the different because MYR devaluated faster in recent 10 years compared to recent 20 years. 20 years MYR had devaluate 43% (3.3/2.3), 10 years MYR devaluate 32% (3.3/2.5)

so if all the criteria remain the same, if you believe 10 years later MYR will devaluate another 32% becomes $1 = RM 4.35, then invest in SGD asset is better...
CPF is 4%? I thought its much less than that. Anyway, most Malaysians cant invest in CPF and EPF together.

The easier accessible and capital protected instrument will be SG FD. Past 10 years this has been between 1-2 percent only, with exception of more recent where you can get more.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Feb 28 2023, 01:27 PM
Cubalagi
post Feb 28 2023, 01:49 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 28 2023, 12:36 PM)
ITT ppl have near complete lack of risk awareness.

MYR slowly devaluing isnt scary, but MYR suddenly hyperinflating is something EPF fans in this tered seem to not consider.
You mean a massive devaluation of MYR?

I will expect high double digit dividends from EPF if that happens.

The big bond (mostly MGS) portion of portfolio (abt 50%) will suffer. The other 50% equities (a large portion of it offshore) will have huge gains.

Cubalagi
post Feb 28 2023, 03:32 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Feb 28 2023, 03:24 PM)
long term trend for MYR is always down vs major currencies.

EPF can hedge against devaluation but not inflation.
Your major currencies exclude JPY, GBP, EUR or AUD? MYR not doing too badly vs these currencies.

And Epf returns so far is a few % higher than the CPI.

Cubalagi
post Feb 28 2023, 03:47 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 28 2023, 03:18 PM)
Malaysia all sampah stock except Bank and some blue chip stock. Invest in US is pretty simple. Don't want headache just buy a few ETF for long term. BURSA is small and easy to be manipulated and not good liquidity. US stock, whole world buy liquidity no problem and near impossible to be manipulated for those big companies as volume is too huge.
US market is far more efficient than Bursa. However, this also mean its harder to outperform indices (ETF).

For individual stocks, I personally find its easier to get the big wins in bursa. However, overseas, i tend to just buy ETFs.

Must always be careful of the crowded trades, regardless of market. Take profits and cut loss.

Cubalagi
post Feb 28 2023, 03:51 PM

4,500 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 28 2023, 03:49 PM)
I did a comparison some years ago.

AUD vs MYR, neck to neck. Bros in arms? Bros in money lah.

SGD vs MYR, only 1 year where MYR did better over past 50 years.
GBP, EUR, JPY?

29 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:01 AM