53 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

LTE for iPhone 5 , 1800MHz band is supported in Malaysia!

nimrod323
post Apr 10 2013, 10:12 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

for my experience running LTE all night, with wifi off, the battery consumption is the same as the phone with wifi turned on. Most probably the areas im in (PJS 10 and Section 19,PJ) has strong LTE signals, hence why the antennas need not work hard to locate a stable connection
geek8585
post Apr 10 2013, 10:13 AM

923 posts

QUOTE(hovercraft97 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:10 AM)
yeap .. before this people complain about the phone swithcing to other data and some even complain the phone very hard to get 3G line... with this update, it might please some of the maxis user here..

however,, i am more on the average user... will only switch to 3G when want to reply iimportant mail , sending mail.. download huge attachments for working purposes or assignment and FB of coruse..

the rest, i will switch up to Edge.. for whatsapp..

it would be nice if we can toggle between 2G and 3G.. so that we can have an option to choose..  smile.gif
apple won't listen our request for this as only Malaysia users facing this problem... while other countries have brilliant LTE or at least 3G infrastructure...
Apple not likely will release another extra toggle for the 2G connection... u can pray for a jbtweak IMO hmm.gif
christcwl9
post Apr 10 2013, 10:26 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:08 AM)
something to share with you guys...

the situation is like this... my house area is with low 3G coverage (happy garden, kuchai lama) and previously i tend to toggle off 3G and Data toggle remain on. Yes, it saves battery...

but when the 3G toggle and Data toggle is ON, the network automatically switch back to Edge doesn't help you to save any battery because your phone will keep on searching for a 3G network (even 1bar like christcwl9 said)

to my conclusion, with the latest carrier update... u can't stop battery drainage already even thou it drops automatically from 3G to Edge... maybe there is a jbtweak that can force the phone permanently on Edge only? LOL...

by the way, no LTE connection around Happy Garden.. (although maxis claimed there is a coverage... zzz)
QUOTE(hovercraft97 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:10 AM)
yeap .. before this people complain about the phone swithcing to other data and some even complain the phone very hard to get 3G line... with this update, it might please some of the maxis user here..

however,, i am more on the average user... will only switch to 3G when want to reply iimportant mail , sending mail.. download huge attachments for working purposes or assignment and FB of coruse..

the rest, i will switch up to Edge.. for whatsapp..

it would be nice if we can toggle between 2G and 3G.. so that we can have an option to choose..  smile.gif
QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:13 AM)
apple won't listen our request for this as only Malaysia users facing this problem... while other countries have brilliant LTE or at least 3G infrastructure...
Apple not likely will release another extra toggle for the 2G connection... u can pray for a jbtweak IMO  hmm.gif
Guys, this is our Carrier issue. What we can do now is to email Maxis and have them listen to us. I have already sent Maxis an email regarding this in hope that they will change the toggle LTE button priority to both 3G and 4G, meaning that if you toggle on LTE, it means it will auto be in 3G when LTE is not widely available.

When the LTE toggle is off, Maxis will auto assign 2G network for our iphone just like the previous carrier setting does. I really hope Maxis customer service will reply me soon and im eager to know how they will react towards this issue.
Heero Yuy
post Apr 10 2013, 10:29 AM

505 posts

For people who wants to switch back to 2G, here's how (only can work if your device is jailbroken)
1. Download the Cydia tweak "NCSettings"
2. Go to Settings > NCSettings > Data and select 3G
3. Now go to Settings > General > Cellular and turn of LTE. Your phone will enter 3G mode now
4. Now slide down you notification center to reveal NCSettings. And tap on the 3G toggle to turn 3G off. Now you phone will enter 2G mode and you will see the "E" sign beside your Carrier logo.

This post has been edited by Heero Yuy: Apr 10 2013, 10:29 AM
kaspersky-fan
post Apr 10 2013, 10:31 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:26 AM)
Guys, this is our Carrier issue. What we can do now is to email Maxis and have them listen to us. I have already sent Maxis an email regarding this in hope that they will change the toggle LTE button priority to both 3G and 4G, meaning that if you toggle on LTE, it means it will auto be in 3G when LTE is not widely available.

When the LTE toggle is off, Maxis will auto assign 2G network for our iphone just like the previous carrier setting does. I really hope Maxis customer service will reply me soon and im eager to know how they will react towards this issue.
Hrm, what I would prefer is, if the user select OFF on the LTE toggle, another option appears which is toggle between 2G/3G... lol
christcwl9
post Apr 10 2013, 10:32 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(Heero Yuy @ Apr 10 2013, 10:29 AM)
For people who wants to switch back to 2G, here's how (only can work if your device is jailbroken)
1. Download the Cydia tweak "NCSettings"
2. Go to Settings > NCSettings > Data and select 3G
3. Now go to Settings > General > Cellular and turn of LTE. Your phone will enter 3G mode now
4. Now slide down you notification center to reveal NCSettings. And tap on the 3G toggle to turn 3G off. Now you phone will enter 2G mode and you will see the "E" sign beside your Carrier logo.
Bro, you got what i have in mind now. But i dont feel like to jailbreak my iphone if possible. ><

May i ask for those who have jailbroken their ipad to test this for me? I might jailbreak my iphone if this is really 100% work. Anyway, thanks for the suggestion @Heero Yuy notworthy.gif
christcwl9
post Apr 10 2013, 10:33 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Apr 10 2013, 10:31 AM)
Hrm, what I would prefer is, if the user select OFF on the LTE toggle, another option appears which is toggle between 2G/3G... lol
Haha ... Totally and fully support !! But i doubt that it is what Maxis can do == It sounds more like it is what only Apple can do doh.gif
geek8585
post Apr 10 2013, 10:46 AM

923 posts

christcwl9 do you mind to give me the maxis email?

from my understanding, the carrier setting is actually pushed by Apple and not Maxis... most likely Maxis can't do anything unless they do a revamp on their network which i don't know how ... LOL
christcwl9
post Apr 10 2013, 10:54 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(geek8585 @ Apr 10 2013, 10:46 AM)
christcwl9 do you mind to give me the maxis email?

from my understanding, the carrier setting is actually pushed by Apple and not Maxis... most likely Maxis can't do anything unless they do a revamp on their network which i don't know how ... LOL
Just go to Maxis Website and click Support. You will find a way there to lodge a complain or general enquiries. From what i read online, Maxis aka Carrier, is able to do setting on the phone, but limited to connectivity of the phone only. I am sure that Maxis can do something about the toggling of 2G and 3G, but im not sure whether can Maxis set a Toggle switch for 3G and a Toggle switch for LTE or not. Im sure Maxis can change the function of the Toggle LTE switch to both 3G and 4G only
kaspersky-fan
post Apr 10 2013, 10:58 AM

1,602 posts

Read this thread... funny but true:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/476568...tart=0&tstart=0
Zidanefish
post Apr 10 2013, 11:00 AM

169 posts

3G FTW !!! biggrin.gif
krayz_underground
post Apr 10 2013, 11:10 AM

373 posts

I can't believe you guys.

Maxis Edge suck to the max and now you're complaining there's no toogle for Edge only.

Oh god there is no pleasuring you guys.
christcwl9
post Apr 10 2013, 11:13 AM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

QUOTE(krayz_underground @ Apr 10 2013, 11:10 AM)
I can't believe you guys.

Maxis Edge suck to the max and now you're complaining there's no toogle for Edge only.

Oh god there is no pleasuring you guys.
Haha .. this prove that human beings are never satisfied !!! tongue.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
welwitchia
post Apr 10 2013, 11:17 AM

1,219 posts

Anyone from Desa ParkCity (included in the list of areas that are supposedly LTE covered) have any luck with getting LTE? All I get in my room is E and there's no data connection. I can't surf with it. It's really quite pathetic.
krayz_underground
post Apr 10 2013, 11:17 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 10 2013, 11:13 AM)
Haha .. this prove that human beings are never satisfied !!!  tongue.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Right?.. Previously crying for LTE..

Now Maxis enabled LTE on iPhone pun tak kena juga.. doh.gif
krayz_underground
post Apr 10 2013, 11:18 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 10 2013, 11:17 AM)
Anyone from Desa ParkCity (included in the list of areas that are supposedly LTE covered) have any luck with getting LTE? All I get in my room is E and there's no data connection. I can't surf with it. It's really quite pathetic.
The problem is with your room then whistling.gif
welwitchia
post Apr 10 2013, 11:20 AM

1,219 posts

Nah.. it's the entire area.
wei
post Apr 10 2013, 11:25 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Not bad~

This post has been edited by wei: Apr 10 2013, 11:25 AM
hovercraft97
post Apr 10 2013, 11:38 AM

396 posts

QUOTE(christcwl9 @ Apr 10 2013, 11:13 AM)
Haha .. this prove that human beings are never satisfied !!!  tongue.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
hahahahaha...somehow true looo..

at first.. user were complaining about the 3G issue... now with the 3G is being completely on.. now people wanna go back to Edge..

hahaha.. how irony.. however, we are talking about Iphone.. the functionality must be there to equip every people needs..

RazerSTFU
post Apr 10 2013, 11:56 AM

161 posts

Maxis 4G LTE

Please have a look this website has provided by Maxis. For any regarding please search it for more information.

This post has been edited by RazerSTFU: Apr 10 2013, 12:01 PM

53 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:20 AM