5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Sony XPERIA T/TX™ Official Thread V2, JellyBean 4.3 now!

TSbladegun
post Feb 26 2013, 01:00 AM

187 posts

I have updated the FAQ on Post #3 to include the info on TX's different screen technologies.
TSbladegun
post Feb 27 2013, 12:09 PM

187 posts

It is clear that the 'b' version OptiContrast has a better viewing angle.

Sony never wanted to admit this, fear that all the 'c' owners will complain to them.
TSbladegun
post Feb 27 2013, 12:47 PM

187 posts

It is actually hard to choose, even if you know about the SERVICE menu.
You cannot just go to into a shop, ask them to open every boxes just for you to check the SERVICE menu.

Unless you found a 'b' demo unit, and you insist you want that.
TSbladegun
post Feb 27 2013, 08:11 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(Anatawa @ Feb 27 2013, 07:39 PM)
Cannot tukar tukar already bro. I still love this sexy phone. Haha. How to do calibration?
This helped me:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2488729/+1536

This post has been edited by bladegun: Feb 27 2013, 08:14 PM
TSbladegun
post Feb 28 2013, 01:26 AM

187 posts

Xperia T got Ubuntu Touch support:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Touch/Devices#Sort_of_working

Sort of working...but when it's finally working, should be interesting.
TSbladegun
post Feb 28 2013, 11:04 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Feb 28 2013, 03:06 AM)
Which mean it can run pc games =x ?
Not yet. Ubuntu Touch just starting to take off. We will need to wait until Valve Software make Steam for Ubuntu mobile.

QUOTE(wildhawk @ Feb 28 2013, 10:46 AM)
hi all, what's the latest update for TX? I have not checked and whether anyone updated theirs? if possible, some guides to do it?

Latest available software: 7.0.A.3.212 ?

Release date: ???

[update] found these information:-
A 9.1.A.0.492 ECO Feb 21, 2013 
A 9.1.A.0.489 ECO Jan 31, 2013 
A 7.0.A.3.223 ECO Dec 13, 2012 
A 7.0.A.3.212 ECO Nov 9, 2012 

- should I update it to the latest 9.1.A.0.492 ? Without upgrading to JB, still using ICS.

thanks.
No update is available yet. Wait until March.
TSbladegun
post Feb 28 2013, 02:16 PM

187 posts

My TX with casing. Pictures taken with my old HP (5MP only sweat.gif ).
This is the same casing AmeiN is having. When it come to casing, TX don't have many choice. sad.gif

TSbladegun
post Mar 1 2013, 08:59 PM

187 posts

No Air Gap/OptiContrast both means the touchscreen is optically bonded to the LCD panel.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Optical_bonding

But it is obvious that the 'b' units has some improvement on this technology which gives better viewing angle.
TSbladegun
post Mar 1 2013, 10:02 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(wildhawk @ Mar 1 2013, 09:23 PM)
hi all tx gurus...

need help, my friends TX is having the sleep of death syndrome, any guide on how to fix this? I have yet to encounter it sweat.gif ...as I thought it only effects V and T. It has firmware of 7.0.A.3.212. Should I ask them to proceed to use the Sony Pc Companion to upgrade the firmware, not sure on the Jelly Bean though. Any help is appreciated.
Also, have tried removing SIM card, leaving on for few days also the same, off all Bluetooth, Wifi, battery save...etc still the same.

No point checking with PC Companion. New firmware not available yet.

How frequent is the SOD? Many times or just once?
TSbladegun
post Mar 1 2013, 10:57 PM

187 posts

T, TX & V were released at the same time. Besides the different hardware drivers, they all shares the same set of Sony firmware & software.

There must be some similarity between users who have experienced SOD across T, V & TX. Maybe they all installed a certain apps? Maybe they all use the phone in a certain pattern?

One way to find out is to list out all the installed apps in the phone. Those that does not come with the phone, was installed from Play Store or thru apk. Then do a comparison.
TSbladegun
post Mar 2 2013, 12:21 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(wildhawk @ Mar 1 2013, 11:12 PM)
I do know that one unit is clean, with no apps installed as my friend is getting ready to migrate to new TX, using it as phone only, the SOD happens on a "clean" unit also.
hmm.gif Then this is confirmed something in the Sony firmware.

Well, the SOD seems like gone with JB update for V users. So, I think the JB update for TX will also fix this.
Have to be patient a bit and wait for the update to come within March.

In the mean time, you can suggest to your friend to change a bit of his/her usage pattern. Changing usage pattern may avoid this SOD problem. Usage pattern means how an user interact with apps in the phone. Just some examples:

1. After using an app, some users always press the 'Back' button repeatedly until back to home screen,
While some other users like to just press the 'Home' button to go straight back to home screen (the iOS way).
(There is a difference in this, but it is technical. So I wont explain.)

2. Some users always like to go back to the Home screen before letting the phone sleep,
While some others just press the power button to put the phone to sleep after using an app.

3. Some users like to put a lot of icons on the home screen. Full of icons & widgets,
While some others want to keep the home screen clean, just a few icons + a few widgets.

4. Some users like to charge their phone whenever there is a power outlet nearby and they are not using their phone,
Some users like to charge their phone routinely at a fixed time everyday,
While some others will only charge when the battery dropped to a certain level.

A certain combination of these patterns may trigger the SOD inside the Sony firmware.

Sounds strange right? Just my thought. smile.gif
TSbladegun
post Mar 2 2013, 09:53 AM

187 posts

- can explain item 1, 2 & 4? interested to know or the "best" way to use android or the phone.
I do not know the exact cause of SOD, so I cannot tell you how to prevent it. I am only suspecting that some usage pattern + some phone settings will trigger it.

For me:
1. I always use the 'Back' button to return to home screen.
2. I always return to home screen before I let my phone sleep.
3. I only charge my phone when battery is at the 'red' level. Somewhere below 20% or when it prompts me to charge.
4. My display sleep time is 30 seconds of inactivity. Extended Standby Mode off. Only WIFI on at home. Using a pattern to unlock. All Developer options are off. Other settings are mostly untouched.

This is just my usage pattern. I did not follow it 100% all the time, just most of the time. Most importantly, you have to understand that this is not the 'best' way in using Android. Android is very flexible, it will work in whichever way you use it. It is just my suggestion to change the pattern a bit to see if it helps.

- you are a owner of TX? any SOD lately (touch wood), do give tips (really appreciate it) on how you "take care" of your usage to avoid these things. Or even install what apps is the best....I am a newbie, so unable to help anyone on android.
I owned a TX for 2 months and I never encounter any SOD so far. SOD rarely happen on TX.
I do not have any special app. Just normal apps like anyone else: App2SD, ASTRO File Manager, Whatsapp, Gmail, Facebook, Compass etc...

- or kill all app in memory before lock? how to do it or no need....I did see an app in a tablet that it kills all app in memory...applicable to phone?
What you have seen on a tablet is a 'task killer'. Since Android 2.2/2.3 onwards, it doesn't need a task killer anymore. Your friend's phone is a clean unit, there is nothing to 'kill'.

- ETA on the new firmware? is it ok to upgrade to JB also.
I dunno the exact date of when JB will be available. From all the info on the internet, we only know that it will come by March, but dunno which day of March.
TSbladegun
post Mar 2 2013, 10:30 AM

187 posts

QUOTE(wildhawk @ Mar 2 2013, 10:06 AM)
- I have seen others upgrade the T model to latest firmware and JB, should we do it for TX? U planning to do it if it's out? All will be handled by the PC companion right? which is installed firmware + JB itself? I read that if gor other apps, it will remove it, but will Sony's own app remain? any idea?
- will need to monitor on the method u mentioned.
- what's the reason for u not suign the Extended Standby mode? not useful?

- many thanks for you help.
I will definitely upgrade if JB is available. The PC Companion will download and install for you. All the apps and data should remain there after the upgrade. As a precaution, you should always do a full backup before updating any firmware, just in case.

I didn't turn on the Extended Standby mode because I want to receive Whatsapp message and Gmail notification when my phone is in standby.
TSbladegun
post Mar 4 2013, 11:00 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(wildhawk @ Mar 4 2013, 03:37 PM)
hi, appreciate if anyone can recommend the best "all in one" calculator + reliable remote desktop (support xp, 2000, 2003 etc etc)  software for tx...thanks.
Can try TeamViewer. Easy to use and works across firewall.
TSbladegun
post Mar 19 2013, 12:35 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 19 2013, 11:50 AM)
yesterday did a 4.2.2 upgrade for a galaxy nexus.

aaaaand we probably wont even be seeing 4.2 doh.gif
Of course lah, that is a Nexus. There is a reason why Nexus series are the first to get latest firmware. Because they are using the vanilla Android, without any customization. Everything are there, they just build from the source code.

For Sony, they need to take the JB source code, add in their own drivers, customization and extra apps. They need to do more testing than Google. That is why every manufacturers are slow in delivering the new Android firmware.
TSbladegun
post Mar 19 2013, 12:50 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(monocle @ Mar 19 2013, 12:38 PM)
This is where custom ROM comes to the rescue..
Yeah, custom ROMs are here.
But, some people don't want to unlock the bootloader yet. sad.gif
TSbladegun
post Mar 19 2013, 01:08 PM

187 posts

The FreeXperia (FXP) developers do not have a TX unit for their own dev and testing. They have to rely on testing and feedback by other TX owners. That is why not much development on TX.
TSbladegun
post Mar 20 2013, 11:31 AM

187 posts

Better GPU is good for gaming. If you don't play game, its just the same.
TSbladegun
post Mar 27 2013, 03:20 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Mar 27 2013, 12:24 PM)
Hello,
I just got a TX and looking at flashing it to CM.

I look around FreeXperia site and i see the supported device list LT29i Xperia TX but at the download page, there is alway a model name tag to the ROM (i.e. FXP212-cm-10.1-20130322-UNOFFICIAL-mint.zip)

I am new to this Sony ROM.  I know T and TX are very similiar but can i use the mint ROM on my Hayabusa?

or anyone have any 4.2.1 or 4.2.2 ROM to recommend.

As far as I know, there is no one using TX custom ROM in this forum. Everyone is waiting for the Sony Jelly Bean update.

And I suggest you don't flash T ROM on your TX. It won't work.

CM (FreeXperia) and AOKP (KangXperia) are 2 of the well known ROMs out there. Others (like MIUI) don't support Sony phones. sad.gif
TSbladegun
post Mar 28 2013, 10:43 PM

187 posts

Just week 13.
I am backing up now... Will update soon.

Status report anyone? Anyone stuck at update?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0480sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:00 PM