7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Bodybuilding Thread V12, Bodybuilding Q&A

alien9
post Aug 18 2013, 02:53 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(chayjeong @ Aug 18 2013, 11:37 AM)
Guys, I read an article from bodybuilding.com saying that ectomorph should keep their workout duration at 45min to 60 min. Is it true? I found out that my weight are stagnate for quite sometime but the weight i lifting are increase lil by lil. Normally i workout for around one hr thirty min. Will it affect too much as they said that if ectomorph workout too long end up consuming their muscle due to high metabolism. advice please.
Where's the source?

alien9
post Aug 19 2013, 02:52 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Steven_aka_G @ Aug 19 2013, 10:38 AM)
To the guys who do pyramid sets, how much exactly do you increase per set? Generally, I'd add like 2kg for chest and arms while for legs and back, I generally add 10kg each set. Are there some calculations involved? Some would say to increase by percentage according to your 1RM, some say just go by feel?
IMHO, if those technique such as pyramid sets, giant sets, force reps, those fancy words are much better being used on more advance lifter rather than a newer one. Focus on being strong then later you start incorporating those advance reps scheme into your workout.

Just to answer your question thou, if I'm doing leg press, I love to use pyramid sets. A jump between 45lbs for reps scheme of 20, 15, 10, 6, 4.
alien9
post Aug 19 2013, 10:33 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(chayjeong @ Aug 19 2013, 05:19 PM)
guys should go watch unbeatable to motivate yourself ~~~
My testosterone level went >9000 by just watching this short clip

alien9
post Aug 21 2013, 01:14 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(garbanicus @ Aug 20 2013, 11:22 PM)
Sorry if this has been asked before.
Guys, which are the best exercises to build shoulder muscles?

I have naturally very under-developed shoulders. Even my friends (girls included) who never workout have better shoulders than I do.
I understand it is partly due to genetics or my body shape.
Been regularly doing shoulder press and military press. But my shoulders never seem to improve. May I know what type of exercises I should add in?

I'm not looking to get real big, just want to look better in clothing.
Or at the least, not have people look at my shoulders then assume like I don't really exercise. =|
This would be a good article for shoulder development
alien9
post Aug 21 2013, 03:27 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Aug 21 2013, 12:08 AM)
try egonutrition. But imho not worth getting the 2lbs since 5lbs would be cheaper. smile.gif
since we're on the topic of bb vids,

Just watched the full movie via brows.gif

That movie was far from showing anything good about fitness. More like three bodybuilders who are on roids and come up with some very stupid plans (showing that muscleheads are stupid) but managed to f***ed them up because of roid rage doh.gif
alien9
post Aug 21 2013, 04:19 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(van_takawa @ Aug 21 2013, 03:09 PM)
Hey guys who love to working out, just wish to share some thoughts I've from workout recently. If u ain't interested, just move on to next post. Clicks spoiler for the whole long story.

What the trainer change is rest time between interval, some grip changes, or posture changes but it made such a big impact on both my poundage and "muscle feelings".

I could never say the theories and concepts where we find easily online are all wrong, but most of the time I believe the beginners are never as close as they think they are to busy searching and figuring on details of what rest time between set is best, how increase poundage, what super awesome supplement to take and what super efficient workout routine can boost the performance. 

For those of you like me who was once lost and keep thinking " I workout so hard and so long, YET I LOOK SUX", maybe sit back and think did you just wasted an hour in gym doing what others do for 20 mins.

Lastly, not all trainers are noob and not everything you watched in YouTube means you mastered it especially exercises' grip, the body posture and the anatomy of whole movements.

From A Noobie Trainee
It was your "Hell, I can do better than that at home" that makes you unable to improve / stagnant. People who strive for knowledge will never say 'I am better than him or anyone" because what he knows you'll might not know it and what you knows might not be entirely true.

2nd, you dissed the people who uses the Marc Fitness Machine in your uni gym and looked down on them because you are the only one who deadlift, squat and bench press. Bad attitude to have IMO.

3rd, when you just started to be trained by the ghetto gym trainner, the 'BINGO' there tells that you somehow have the I know them all already. How could you learn and improve yourself when you have that kind of mentality.

No one here saying that fitness trainers are stupid. That's bad generalization. What defines good or bad trainers are their ability to work with the client accordingly to his/her needs by using the best technique /exercises available. But if a trainer ask you to do a squat on a bosu ball in order to train you core for balancing, that's straight ape shit method.

p/s: What I've written might not be the response that you want, Heck I don't know what you want by posting this thoughts of yours. My conclusion would be, If you are self learn, try to eliminate the egoastic attitude to others because in the iron game, the results that speak the most. Having a lot of knowledge without putting it work on your body or fail to do so meaning that your knowledge comes without any proves.
alien9
post Oct 9 2013, 01:50 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 9 2013, 01:09 AM)
Would like to ask a question. In. A cutting phase, why increase fat intake( good fats) during cutting phase? Isn't t better to have minimal fat intake during that time?

How would increasing the intake help with fat loss
Fat intake on diet =/= fat on body, if you doesn't know that.
alien9
post Oct 11 2013, 10:29 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Phc @ Oct 11 2013, 06:35 PM)
Hernia is one of the bodybuidling common injury, not a big deal . It wont make you die, just painful and need surgery if it get worse.
Still, celebrating ones 'possible' injury isn't something morally good.
alien9
post Oct 12 2013, 12:04 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Phc @ Oct 12 2013, 11:58 AM)
If you ever come to singapore NUH, maybe you can find me inside department of Orthopaedic surgery,  shoulder & elbow surgery division,  just tell the nurse you finding Dr Tan. Most of my patient are bodybuilder, and I guess I understand all types of bodybuilding injuries then you. You should understand this, once your body recovered from a serious surgery , your body will become stronger. As your brain are telling your body to react differently next time you lift a single plate of weight,. So , you are likely to be able to lift more heavy then ever. 90% of people who suffer from hernia are result of deadlifting & squatting with improper form or hitting over 350 lbs of weight.  If you are a steroid or HGH user, you chance of getting hernia are higher then natural lifter, why ? Because of oversize guts and intenstines.
Terlajak Perahu boleh undur, terlajak kata-kata tak bole.

Whatever you are trying to say, that doesn't cover your happiness when someone got hernia (which clearly shows that you have little or none sympathy)
alien9
post Oct 12 2013, 12:26 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Phc @ Oct 12 2013, 12:22 PM)

So, IF let say a power lifter got a muscle tear, this would be your respond?

Congratulation, you might got MUSCLE TEAR rclxm9.gif

That would be your respond as medical personal right?

How about as a human?

I bet you'll be: Congratulation, you might got MUSCLE TEAR rclxm9.gif
alien9
post Oct 13 2013, 12:20 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(YakAttack @ Oct 13 2013, 10:58 AM)
Do those heat creams help with muscle soreness at all?
It will. BUT, it will hampered the effects of muscle growing. Muscle will grow via micro-tear that happens on the involved muscle. Sometime DOMS will happened for that reason. You can consumed ibuprofin or yoko-yoko to reduce the pain but the chemical inside it will make your muscle aren't growing.

Source: An article from tnation.com that I forgot to bookmarked doh.gif
alien9
post Oct 13 2013, 01:35 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Phc @ Oct 13 2013, 12:53 PM)
Heat cream WILL not have any negative effect on muscle growing. Instead, it will help you in your recovering process. Bro science is not REAL science. Professional athlete use ICE bath and Hot bath after their training, to improve recovery process and reduce rate of DOMS. Using heat cream or hot bath will help you to flush out all the lactic acid in your muscle. Best time to use, after workout before DOMS kicks in the next day. Using ibuprofin in cream or tablet form will just act as a painkiller, and please do not use ibuprofin if you have peptic ulcer or asthma history, or you will end up in the ER.
Two articles with good sources said otherwise about NSAID.

http://www.liftbigeatbig.com/2011/11/how-i...inder-your.html

http://www.directlyfitness.com/store/ibuprofen-workouts/

FYI, hot bath and ice bath have no chemical in it, except for H2O inside it. Comparing ice bath and hot bath with NSAID seems so wrong there although both have the same function of reducing DOMS.

Quote by Kelly Starrett (hopefully you know him): "Ibuprofen has no place in the life of the athlete obsessed with chasing performance".

Tell him that he's wrong and he's full with broscience please.
alien9
post Oct 18 2013, 10:48 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(bikerzfrenzy @ Oct 18 2013, 09:26 AM)
Sorry, I just started to set my workout. which is better, to work certain muscle per day or work all muscle with less load? example:

1. work bicep and tricep, 5 workout/day. Next day different muscle.

or

2. work all arm, shoulder etc, 1 workout per muscle. repeat every day.

sorry if my question is confusing. i have no better idea to explain it
There are two kinds of methods AFAIK.

1. Full Body Workout - Trained the whole body in a single training, 3 times a week.

2. Splits (3-day splits / 4 day splits etc) - Train one/two muscle group in a single training, repeat it again the next week.

You can do whichever you want but the most important thing is that you need to let the trained muscle group to have a rest, for at least 24 hours. During that period, your muscle will start to recover from the micro tear that you've put during the training provided you have proper diet.

This post has been edited by alien9: Oct 18 2013, 10:49 AM
alien9
post Oct 25 2013, 10:40 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(kubuk @ Oct 25 2013, 10:23 PM)
Pec deck is just another fly variation and it can be effective when used properly. I personally don't really like it because non of the pec decks in my gym has an equal tension lol.
QUOTE(degraw1993 @ Oct 25 2013, 10:25 PM)
Well tbh i don't like it either.
Me too. Seems like it put too much tension to my delts. Maybe it's due to my injured delts or just bad form.
alien9
post Oct 28 2013, 11:46 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Oct 28 2013, 11:32 AM)
Hi all sifu,  I recently started going to the gym, and sad to say im not really familiar with what kind of exercise to do and how many reps suits me as im a total beginner in this

However I would say i hav kind 25 to 30 percent body fat

Areas that I will like build
1 my abs as I hv a tummy
2 arms muscle
3 chest area as I hv a little man boobs

Would appreciate if sifus here can advise what kind of weightlifting program I can do and the reps/set

Basically just to look lean fit rather than bulky fit

Thanks all
4. leg
5. leg
6. back
7. delts

Try have a read on some of the stickies in this section.
alien9
post Oct 29 2013, 02:41 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 29 2013, 02:40 PM)
No doing light jog?
What can light jog do to your chest for warmup? Leg maybe but chest?
alien9
post Nov 15 2013, 10:01 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(dywx07045 @ Nov 14 2013, 11:54 PM)
Hi guys, got a question here, been doing many heavy compound lifts now, as long as I don't experience any pain, does that mean I'm doing it right (correct form) ?
The answer would be nope.

Form = doing an exercise with the correct way of actually doing it.

Not being in pain doesn't mean that your are in the correct form. A good example would be standard pullup. Try to google for proper pullup vs kipping pullup (made famous by crossfit). One is the correct way of doing pullup, one is the wrong one but both seems safe to do.
alien9
post Nov 25 2013, 11:47 AM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Al@n2rock @ Nov 25 2013, 10:13 AM)
Noob question here,

Any tips on how to place the bar on the neck when do squats?

pain like hell la
The bar shouldn't even be placed on the neck, but it is on the trap. Depending on your shoulder flexibility, you can place until your rear delt. If not, place at your top trap area would be good enough.

p/s: different bar placement would determine your squat stance, whether it is a high bar or low bar. There are differences but not that much.
alien9
post Nov 25 2013, 03:40 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Nov 25 2013, 03:26 PM)
all, quick ques

been going to the gym to lift weights for about 4-5x for the past 2 weeks

each time i go, i have sore muscle on area that im focusing and upon that i will take breaks and rest in between

however, everytime upon going to the gym, ill feel the pain

is it normal that for u ppl who lift weights 3x-4x a week, u guys live in pain and soreness everytime? cos i think u guys would lift weights out of ur comfort zone in order to built up.

tqvm
Can you tell me more about your workout split?
alien9
post Nov 25 2013, 03:53 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Nov 25 2013, 03:44 PM)
hey

since i dont have a gym partner, what i do at gyms are those workout machines

i typically do 12reps x 3sets each time per machine

day 1: chest/arms, thighs, tummy

day 2: biceps, tummy,

and i alternate those

weights chosen will be weights which i felt will be uncomfortable/sore towards the end of the 12 reps

will there be a better suggestion on how can i improve?
or perhaps an exercise regim will be appreciated
Have you tried reading this?

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/371250

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0651sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:25 PM