QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Sep 26 2007, 11:13 AM)
One of the main attractions got affected as we read from the news today. The underwater world has lost 600 of the fishes. So sad to hear about it.
ya.... i went there on 25sept 07, at night fortunately my gf on the tv and we heard the news underwater world's fish been poisoned... so i guess im bad luck for not going in... because we still discussing whether want to go inside or not once we reached from the airport.m it's fun trip. we start our day to langkawi on 25sept, reach there in the afternoon,walked to the tourism malaysia counter right in front of the luguage area and took the "free" map. rented kancil bargained at rm40( as other forumer said before),at first they dont want and said only can go down to rm45 from rm50 standard as they claimed. but we insist for rm40. they keep promote for kelisa and other car but we are not interested cause he said all cars are "manual"... the only auto car they have is the proton iswara(the outlook is super old)rm80/day... the kancil even though no radio, the air cond is super cold. filled in petrol 'cause they pass the car to us when the fuel meter is pointing at E.
then next stop is we go to find for our shelther.go thru pantai cenang, we visited a lot of chalet and of course we ask them to show us. malibest even though the forumer claim is the best place to stay in, but i experienced a very unwelcome sign from the malay girl at the counter. we left and go on... and finally found the "LANGKAPURI"... it looks old and very clean from outside, the malay aunty greet us when we reached, showed us the room and swept the floor after we walked inside the room because we walked in with our shoes on. asked for the room rate at first she said rm125, our eyes perhaps gaves her signals and she explain actually there are standard room at the price rm90 and rm70. rm90 actually jus facing the sea and rm70 jus behind the rm90 room. we told her we only stay for one night(just as if it's not nice to stay we will shift to other hotel)... she smile to us and said okay,pass us the key and said not the room that she showed us just now, she gave us the room even nearer to the beach. the thing i like the most is the toilet, bubble tiles...
we drive the little kancil to kuah town for food...we were hungry that time. followed the map, it's easy. the road there is so good compared to kl and we didn't lost there. it's not 50km as the airport girl said, from pantai cenang to kuah town only around 20km. we ate at chinese restaurant- i ate kuey tiaw, cause noon only left a few shop open. survey for gift and alcohol... we are so surprised that my lovely heineken is so cheap... hehehe... bought one can for night drink and we moves on to other shop because my gf actually want to find the little dog(bear bear)(size nearly of the human)... and finally found one at rm699, too expensive,we left. she saw it rm99 last time on last visit but her fren doesnt let her buy it.... and she couldnt find it anymore... ciggie we tried the BLACK DEVIL, taste similar to dunhill... and cheap too, rm3.60...
we couldnt see any fererro rochel(duno how to spell) which forumer tag it as the price of rm16.50, we saw it everyshop display at the price rm19.90 per box(30pcs), and the cheapest is at underwater world(the zon) rm19.50. the airport sell it at 24.90 per box and 3box rm60. then we are trying to find food to eat...and basically 99.99% shops are malay shop(maybe i cannot see any chinese shop), we ate our buffet dinner at the malay stall right in front of the hotel @rm15 / person. the people greet us when we reached at 6.45pm, and show us their food before we decide for the stay. their food is quite nice... simple and nice. at night, we go nowhere but sit near the beach... in front of our hotel room there's seat and table and we sat there enjoy the view... this is day 1
day 2 start with island hopping, which we booked it at night with sms. rm35 from the girl stand at the booth tourism malaysia. saw the signboard which display rm25 for island hopping we not dare to try. the lousy van arrive at 8.19am(his clock) and it's actually 8.29am(our clock)... it's okay, just need to prepare the stamina for walking up the hill to reach the other side of it... we play paddle boat...i think that's the name for it. it's like a lake, with three types of boat, one is motor boat,paddle boat(use leg),and another boat is use hand... motor boat at rm30 for 30minutes, others at rm15 for 30 minutes, that's the fun and romantic part, cause we ate biscuits on the boat and it's my bday. the monkey there must BEWARE, they LOVES plastic bagsssss...hehehehe... went for a few islands, saw the pregnant woman shape(which is bored) and eagle feeding by boatman... (bored if you dont have good cameras)...
then in the afternoon after transfer back to hotel, we went to kuah town AGAIN... bought the liquor from the shop JAYA something... forgot the name... bought mini bottle of vodka, jd, chivas... hehe ( 5% discount for more than 5 bottles) ... mini mini one... outside shop all tag at rm8, they tag it at rm6 with discount (for absolute)... gave us the CNY plate when we bought martell with discount rm2 only. some chocolates...
day 3 start with mangrove tour... two people of us going only at the price rm80/person... saw from the brochure when we take the leftlet from the airport and called mr. dino.girls at 50% discount. unexplainable... the food is super good....big prawn, big fish, fried rice(instead of white rice that i thought), 2 mineral water, one vege, fruits...
time is up....talk to u guys next time
Added on September 29, 2007, 12:22 pmokay, now i continue.
so, Mr Dino's phone is 0194804932 + 0124605932. the brochure consist many packages. i guess you guys can get it from the airport at tourism malaysia counter. the tourism malaysia sales girl only can gave us the price of rm140 for mangrove tour, the car rental guy can gives us the discount till rm120 and unfortunately after we back to the hotel room we saw this advertisement. we thought it must be kidding for ladies to get 50% discount. yes, it's true, we only paid rm160 for 2 girls trip.this must be book in advance,everyone said that. hehe, when we were having our dinner at the malay stall right in front of the hotel, mr dino came... we met and shakes our hand. back to hotel and asked the aunty where to get the hot water, she boiled for us and put in a flask. we told her we want to eat maggi. she said, the hot water is upon request and if it's not enough and take the flask to the counter for refill. asked, it's free. day2 end.
day3, we ate maggi for breakfast then wait at lobby for mangrove tour. first, they brought us to the jetty with a van(it's good,with air cond), then the boatman starts the journey! we were wondering at first whether he brought us to another side of the seaside to get more customer, and after we ask mr. AMIE, he said only two of us will be on his boat for whole journey! we are happy. we asked, why the other boat full with "guai lou" ( western people ) and our boat only got two person? is it cheaper for sharing? he told us actually is the same price they paid @ rm180 per person.
wow! me n my gf look at each other(smile)(we paid rm80/pax). he wanted to bring us to the crocodile cave, but that time the water already rise and covered half of the cave (rise tide i think they called it), so he keep moving his boat very near to the cave and explain to us actually if the water is not rise so high, we get in and inside the cave actually there are the shapes of crocodile on the top of the cave(top means above our head)... then went to bat cave(where the batmans are staying at)... he gaves us the torch light... hehehe, we(2 person) get one torchlight, tourists about 10people get one torch light... guess we are lucky or not? after that we went for eagle feeding, this time, a closer look cause he park his boat nearer to the place he put the feed. finally we knew that it's chicken flesh because he explain if he put fish the fish will sink and eagle may not be able to see. it's more fun compared to the island hopping-eagle feeding sessions. the old and tall eagles stand on top of trees not moving, like king and queen.
then he brought us his fren work in the fish feeding sessions, and then on the way he drive his boat, he suddenly face his boat to the paya-bakau-trees branches and stop there. told us want to get another friend of his. we mistaken his meaning, and asks where is your friend? we don't even see any shadows of it. hehehe, it's right beside you the braches there... (where? we asked)... just right beside you. we roll our eyes and finally after they laugh at us, we saw mini-mini thing again?? it's baby crocodile sleepin on the tree branch.
after that we head to the floating point. the fish i like the most, still the ...er... the big head with smiley mouth... pou yu... we have a bowl of fishie in our hand to feed them, saw different species of fish and finally we have our FOOD(it's the most delicious hours in langkawi). as i told in earlier post, the fish is big(too good to be true for 2 person), 4 big prawns covered the whole plate,fried rice, vege, mineral water(We ordered coke@rm2) then finally when we want to run away the waitress stop us and gave us the desert. 4 pieces of watermelon, 2 pieces of apples, and 2 pieces of oranges.we looked around, every tables with different meals so i guess it's different menu if we take the mangrove tour from different agents.
after we back from the mangrove tours, we directly head to the cable car. we are lucky to see the sign board display show mykad to get discount. we showed it and from rm28 we paid rm15 per person. of course, the hanging bridge is not available... i think it's falling down or something... the took the cable car and regret. the cable car journey is shorter than genting route, and finally we are landed above the mountain and see the langkawi's view... many people took photos... and we back down there again... rm15 gone. we wanted to go for elephant ride, it's not rm10 for 5 minutes as boatman told, it's rm40 for 5 minutes. we left, the waether is so hot. oriental village really got nothing to shop unless you are looking for batik clothing.
then we lost when on the way back to the hotel. head wrongly to kuah town because actually we should head to pantai cenang. fears of run our of petrol, we fill another rm5. finally we go to plaza langkawi i think... eagle square... then we ate our dinner at the hotel langkasuka... we ate buffet again, my gf took a few pieces of crab meat, the waitress aunty look like dislike it. we heard the sound of arrrrrrrrrrrrr..(the muslim prayer) and we start to eat, and found the people around us havent start to eat. we doesnt bother and after a few second we look around, surprise, everyone is eating. after back to hotel we walked around,cause it 's been many days we didnt eat pork. go found chinese restaurant - LUCKY, their menu is super expensive and we only order lamb chop n spegetti. waited for more than half an hour and finally beside our table another chinese family sit there. they also facing difficulty to order because small plate of taufu is rm14.90, small vege rm 14.9 also. we asked the waiter how long we shall wait and he said after the guai lou table is our turn, we reply, the guai lou table already got 6 dishes and how many more dishes we need to wait.(guai lou table is empty when we reach). the family beside us also ask the same question, the table beside us havent get their meal,when we will get our meal? we only give you 10 minutes. we laugh... seems like they are from kl as well. we paid with credit card and they do not know how to operate the credit card machine. they said usually jus put in the car in the machine and the paper (receipt) will come out, this time he ask whether we have other credit card,we surprised,cause the credit card is extra credit we put before we go langkawi. after we look at machine,the machine display the word "amount".. we teach him how to use. online outside our hotel @rm3 per house, guai lou price is rm3 half an hour. day3 almost end,we sleep at hotel room. start to pack everything in the bag.
day4, shower n brush teeth, pack everything in bag and make sure nothing is left behind. we paid the hotel with credit card.why? because we want to keep cash for other purpose. the aunty very nice, she didn't charge us extra for credit card. we drive around for breakfast. stop by a few stalls that display BREAKFAST. they said they have nothing to offer but western meal. a butter bread price at rm2.5, chic chop at rm15, set breakfast at rm11. we left. drive around and on the way saw some cows... lovely one... and finally when i make a U-turn near the cow, the cow keep moving his mouth,showing his teeth...shaking his ears... i guess he scare i may hit on him ( i have P license never drive since getting the license )... i drive away... after go thru the airport we reached a roundabout,turn left, then turn left... we finally saw a stall with yellow light bulb open! many people tah pau, and we get in... i picked 2 hotdogs, vege and egg with rice. my gf have the similar meal. included drinks rm10total. it's cheap & delicious. we regret we didn't come earlier. it's RESTORAN MEMPELAM ( if not mistaken ).after that i drive around and round because it's only 11+am and our flight at 2.15pm. (of course the petrol still a lot, and finally when the meter show at E, we stop at airport and pass the car back to the rental people. duno where they came from,seems like they knew it's we rent it. the car rental guy keep on sms us to drive for extra hour @rm10 per hour, @rm5 for half an hour. we didn't reply cause we already pass the car back to them.
in the airport i bought some chocolate, check in our bags ( each bag with one liquor ). then check in ourself, bringing 2 liquor and chocolates. saw the front people all paying tax, why?? they are airasia crew who stay there not more than 72hours. then go on... the alarm beep beep after my gf pass thru the gate, it's because she didn't take out the lighter! aww.. she hide two mini bottle of vodka and the police saw it, she took it out and say... kecil je... then move on... wait for airplane and reach kl.
still have many places haven't go... next time if i go to langkawi again sure i will go 7 days

4 days is not enough at all...
* corrections - the duty free shop is wira gaya for previous post.
* all banks located at kuah town, maybank atm is most common. petrol station is hopeless but it's okay, we dont need to pam our tyres. MOBIL is the oldest model so far, looks like 60an.
*everything shall buy with cash,credit card is hopeless. langkapuri chalet is good for us, cold water in fridge, hot water upon request, room service after we go for island hopping,they dont touch our thing, no extra charge. air cond jus a bit noisy.
*malay food is fine, chinese food is xtra2 price n no taste. only 2dogs found, all chinese shop with no pork policy.
*other than ciggie n liquor,everything else is expensive.langkawi t-shirt for kids is cheap @rm3.9 per piece.
*langkawi is anti-DIGI. cannot get reload card from there,full line.
*rent car after read the forumer post is good, we got kancil @ rm40/day. we do not buy insurans@rm10/day,very less car around that area,just dont hit the cow-cow.
*cable car is waste of money,same with genting one.
*hope next time the fish still alive, more than 600 fishie die after we reach there. bad luck. buy things b4 reach airport,their liquor is super expensive n chocolate is extra rm5+ per box.ciggie still @rm45.some chocs at kl is cheaper than langkawi,shops b4 u go.
This post has been edited by alexis_wll: Oct 9 2007, 09:24 PM