post May 14 2007, 04:34 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ May 14 2007, 04:27 PM)
Havent been Langkawi for a decade, and still no chance to go sweat.gif
Not for the meantime..

Anyway wanna ask, if i have my bro to help me buy some duty free liquors, can he get thru the kastam? Like maybe 2 bottle of whisky? Gonna stay there for like 3 nights..
I have been thru the 34pages here laugh.gif

and yup, there was a forumer brought back more than 2 bottles of hard-liquor, and he still get to pass thru it thumbup.gif

as long as you staying there for more than 72 hours (or 3D2N), yup, you are entitled.
Chrisky
post May 14 2007, 04:39 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

correction : 48 hours will do.
tU@n
post May 14 2007, 04:42 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 14 2007, 04:34 PM)
I have been thru the 34pages here laugh.gif

and yup, there was a forumer brought back more than 2 bottles of hard-liquor, and he still get to pass thru it  thumbup.gif

as long as you staying there for more than 72 hours (or 3D2N), yup, you are entitled.
dont forget u need some sort of proof staying 72 hours there..flight ticket, ferry ticket,cable car.. any printing one is nice..bye bye tax.. icon_rolleyes.gif
KTCY
post May 14 2007, 04:54 PM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

If ferry easier. The immigration not that strict. All you have to do is hide the bottle of liquor right bottom of your bag. As many as you can and wrap with newspaper. Then top of it, put lots of dirty shirts as well as 1 pair of shoes. I can assure they won't even touch the things.

Tested and passed thru safely biggrin.gif
panasonic88
post May 14 2007, 05:09 PM

37,028 posts

Anyway, I am planning my trip to Langkawi in early July biggrin.gif

Is July a good month for Langkawi? tongue.gif

Anyway, I did my homework
(Infos gathered thru the entire Langkawi thread)

CAR RENTAL/PER DAY

BIKE : RM25
KELISA : RM50
KANCIL : RM70
SENTRA : RM80
UNSER : RM80
ISWARA : RM100
WIRA : RM120
CITATION : RM180

(1) Langkasuka beach resort (neat airpost, RM105 nett)
REVIEW : 30 mins drive to kuah and 10 to chenang..... No recommended and the beach no wave punya

(2)Awana Porto Malai
REVIEW : Awana is pretty good but the rooms are a little small....no beach, but a pier for yatchs..

(3)Aseania
REVIEW : located at the end of pantai cenang and its a 2-4 mins walk to the beach..
RM 150 +/-
http://www.langkawi-resorts.com/aseaniaresort/rates.htm

(4)CD Chalets, just right next to Underwater World in Pantai Cenang, at RM65 per nite
by forumer vkeong
http://www.vkeong.com/index.php/2006/08/25...jung-rhu-beach/

(5) Hotel Helang

(6) Malibest Beach Resort
RM 80 - RM 100
http://www.journeymalaysia.com/islandlangkawisemarak.htm

(7) Bay view hotel

(8) Pantai Tengah (Better & quiet beach -Star rated hotels)

1) Frangipani Resort (Previously Langkawi Village)
2) Tropical Resort
3) Holiday Villa
4) Federal Villa
5) The lanai

(9) Pantai Cenang: (Noisy & happening beach wth dozens of budget resorts & restaurants

01) Pemagi Beach Resort (5 Star)
02) Casa Del Mar (Boutique)
03) Cenang Beach Resort (Budget)
04) MZ motel (Budget)
05) Melati Tanjung Motel (Budget)
06) Malibest Resort
07) Sandybeach resort & Hotel (Budget)
08) AB Motel & resort (budget)
09) Bestar Resort
10) Nadia Inn
11) Legenda Permai Chalet
12) Delta Motel - at the bck of Underwater world
13) Landcon Holiday Inn (Opp Underwater world)
14) CD Lodge
15) Tg Malie Resort
16) Sunset Beach Resort
17) Aseania (No beach - between Tengah & Cenabg junction)

PLACES OF INTEREST
==================
- Gunung Mat Cincang take cable car thre 2 the top
- Lake of pregnant maiden
- Mahsuri tomb
- Pulau lompatin such as dayang bunting etc
- Otherwise wanna chill out the beach rebak marina resort
- Telaga Tujuh, Tanjung Rhu, Bird Paradise, Underwater World
- Gelari Perdana, Dataran Lang, shopping
- Hanging bridge
- Play & Payment
- Bird park - rm10
- Crocodile farm - rm10
- Super high cable car - rm15
- Beaches - FOC food - estimated rm15 per meal
- Oriental village - free (ada hot spring)
- Mahsuri memorial - some sort of malay lagenda.. free
- Waterfall - free (telaga tujuh)
- Underword rm28 - to see penguine
- Cable car - rm15 if got mykad
- Eagle square
- Island Hopping - only RM35~40 per person.
- Gunung Raya the highest peak in Langkawi and to see Hornbill.
- Pulau Paya Marine Parkfor snorkeling

Anything else that I miss out?

Based on my rough calculation, the 3D2N Langkawi trip would cost around RM 850 - RM1,000 sweat.gif

Please help me to "cut cost" a bit sweat.gif

Air Asia (2 ways for 2 adult) - RM 350 +/-
Lodging (would choose chalet along the beach, for 2 nights) - RM 200 +/-
Food & Entertainment (for 2) - RM 200 +/-
Surveniors (beers/chocs, etc) - RM 200 +/-

Pretty much, isn't? sweat.gif

Chrisky
post May 14 2007, 05:21 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

i think the car rental price u quote there is way too expensive. 2 weeks ago i went there i got an Iswara 3d2n (around 50 hours) for rm140. n its during holiday period too.

n personally i would seriously advice u not to go to the Underwater World. utter waste of money. doh.gif

bearbear
post May 14 2007, 05:27 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

But my sis keep asking me to go see the penguine laugh.gif laugh.gif

panasonic88, i think AirAsia is doing promotion now and those package comes with air ticket+hotel package. You might wanna hv a look biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 14 2007, 05:28 PM
panasonic88
post May 14 2007, 05:33 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 14 2007, 05:21 PM)
i think the car rental price u quote there is way too expensive. 2 weeks ago i went there i got an Iswara 3d2n (around 50 hours) for rm140. n its during holiday period too.

n personally i would seriously advice u not to go to the Underwater World. utter waste of money.  doh.gif
The car rental price might varies from vendors, and also your bargain technique and numbers of days you rent it, i believe biggrin.gif

And yes, i read that someone said the Underwater World is even sucky than our KLCC Aquaria, lol! I think I would want to skip this as well rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 14 2007, 05:27 PM)
But my sis keep asking me to go see the penguine laugh.gif  laugh.gif

panasonic88, i think AirAsia is doing promotion now and those package comes with air ticket+hotel package. You might wanna hv a look biggrin.gif
bearbear, the promotion from AirAsia, is it this one?

I wanna stay in Chalet~~!!!
I get to stay in hotel everytime I travel, but Chalet is new to me wub.gif laugh.gif
bearbear
post May 14 2007, 06:17 PM

10,061 posts

Yes that wan, not cheap enough for you? biggrin.gif

I just love beach resorts, i feel like i'm not in holiday when i goes to those city hotel blush.gif tongue.gif
Chrisky
post May 14 2007, 06:37 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

well both Bella Vista n Awana are not beach resort. tongue.gif
bearbear
post May 14 2007, 06:50 PM

10,061 posts

Can choose others mah

i tried Federal Villa, Rm740 excluding tax.

I checked the hotel rate it's Rm190/night

So Rm360 for 2 adults 2 way ticket? sweat.gif sweat.gif
tU@n
post May 14 2007, 07:14 PM

175 posts

as a person who stay in langkawi for 2 years, be careful when u want to rent a car.. lots of them trying to cheat u..charge u super expensive but ..(air-con sux, car condition very bad,etc) hopefully u can find a nice car vendor..

usually for those who want to have fun:
-rent a bicycle..ha ha..foreigner usually did this.total length of langkawi road is roughly around 55km only..
-go langkawi by train.."katil" seat cost around rm 40..stop at perlis then fetch ferry..

p/s: if u have kids/cousins/wat ever relative in mrsm langkawi, use them properly!!
mrsm offer one full apartment 4 room 2 toilet with air-con at most rm50 per day..the teacher there also have rent car service which u can have sporty honda civic around rm50-rm70 per day..
panasonic88
post May 14 2007, 09:33 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 14 2007, 06:37 PM)
well both Bella Vista n Awana are not beach resort.  tongue.gif
yahloh, i wan beach resorts~!
read that charlet is pretty cheap
am aiming that one

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 14 2007, 06:50 PM)
Can choose others mah

i tried Federal Villa, Rm740 excluding tax.

I checked the hotel rate it's Rm190/night

So Rm360 for 2 adults 2 way ticket? sweat.gif  sweat.gif
yawww that's wayyy above my budget! sweat.gif

QUOTE(tU@n @ May 14 2007, 07:14 PM)
as a person who stay in langkawi for 2 years, be careful when u want to rent a car.. lots of them trying to cheat u..charge u super expensive but ..(air-con sux, car condition very bad,etc) hopefully u can find a nice car vendor..

usually for those who want to have fun:
-rent a bicycle..ha ha..foreigner usually did this.total length of langkawi road is roughly around 55km only..
-go langkawi by train.."katil" seat cost around rm 40..stop at perlis then fetch ferry..
p/s: if u have kids/cousins/wat ever relative in mrsm langkawi, use them properly!!
mrsm offer one full apartment 4 room 2 toilet with air-con at most rm50 per day..the teacher there also have rent car service which u can have sporty honda civic around rm50-rm70 per day..
i like the idea of cycling! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by panasonic88: May 14 2007, 09:38 PM
Ivy
post May 15 2007, 01:11 AM

37 posts

awana got seaside..I plan to get the room that face the seaside..anyone know wether there is bath tub in the toilet?
Yatch cove means?the room in awana is small?
stimix
post May 15 2007, 10:28 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(Ivy @ May 15 2007, 01:11 AM)
awana got seaside..I plan to get the room that face the seaside..anyone know wether there is bath tub in the toilet?
Yatch cove means?the room in awana is small?
Yes Awana & Beell Vista got seaside or seaside view but no beach-lah How to swim? Jump to the rocky cove & swim beside those yatch? biggrin.gif ..The worst no swimming pool too.....But lucky there is a free/cheap boat service to Island beach from Awana... biggrin.gif

Yatch cove means those luxury sail boat from all over the worls park their sailing boat beside the hotel-lah...so it is a jetty for them..no beach!
panasonic88
post May 15 2007, 12:29 PM

37,028 posts

Pantai Tengah:

1) Frangipani Resort
2) Tropical Resort
3) Holiday Villa
4) Federal Villa
5) The lanai

Pantai Cenang:

01) Pemagi Beach Resort (5 Star)
02) Casa Del Mar (Boutique)
03) Cenang Beach Resort (Budget)
04) MZ motel (Budget)
05) Melati Tanjung Motel (Budget)
06) Malibest Resort
07) Sandybeach resort & Hotel (Budget)
08) AB Motel & resort (budget)
09) Bestar Resort
10) Nadia Inn
11) Legenda Permai Chalet
12) Delta Motel - at the bck of Underwater world
13) Landcon Holiday Inn (Opp Underwater world)
14) CD Lodge
15) Tg Malie Resort
16) Sunset Beach Resort
17) Aseania

Please help me with the hotel selection.

My requirements :

rclxms.gif Near to the sea side ( just walk out from your room in the morning and the beach is in front of ya! )

rclxms.gif Price range : Below RM 150 per night

rclxms.gif Decent room.

Which one do you guys recommed?

This post has been edited by panasonic88: May 15 2007, 12:50 PM
bearbear
post May 15 2007, 12:55 PM

10,061 posts

Try google MaliBest, not those high class but once you walk out it's beach already biggrin.gif

Reccomended to me by Chrisky laugh.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 15 2007, 12:56 PM
panasonic88
post May 15 2007, 12:59 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 15 2007, 12:55 PM)
Try google MaliBest, not those high class but once you walk out it's beach already biggrin.gif

Reccomended to me by Chrisky laugh.gif
Yaya, Malibest is one of my consideration, too.

Someone recommended it in the Langkawi thread rolleyes.gif

EDIT : ohyah, the forumer name is Chrisky. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by panasonic88: May 15 2007, 01:01 PM
mandysu
post May 15 2007, 12:59 PM

38 posts

Well, just came back from langkawi last week.WEll, just review a bit of my trip:

We rented a proton iswara for RM 100 for 3 days. Overall, the car is good like air con is working fine and not too bad.

We stayed at Sunset Beach Resort for RM160/night (Sunset III type of room). Well, the resort is some sort like "greenery feeling" type of resort as there are lots of trees planted along the way to the rooms. The only bad thing was their breakfast (please dont expect much) as they would only provide white/wheatgrain bread, jam/butter, coffee/tea, mango juice, scrambled eggs, cereals and fruits. Well, the beach is near the place where you are going to have breakfast and it's quite nice smile.gif

Honestly, the underwater world is really a big NO NO!! Not many things to see and really wasting of money!!All the fishes soooooooooo small like those that we rear in our home and the most "interesting" thing to see is the penguins only. Even the 3D movie also not interesting at all!Better spend the time to go to the Oriental Village, more worth it.

Well, for those non-muslim, I highly recommended the Rootian Restaurant for your meal. They really serve very nice food with affordable price. They can be easily found at the kuah town near the bridge. For muslim, there are lots of malay restaurants easily accessible along the roadside.

As long as you have stayed in Langkawi for 48hours, then you can bring back unlimited chocolates and 1 litre of liquor back to mainland. The customs at the airport would ask for your air ticket and look at the number of liquors you would bring back to mainland.
bearbear
post May 15 2007, 01:03 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 15 2007, 12:59 PM)
Yaya, Malibest is one of my consideration, too.

Someone recommended it in the Langkawi thread  rolleyes.gif

EDIT : ohyah, the forumer name is Chrisky.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

i tot MaliBest is the best for you cos you said you wanted a chalet tongue.gif

mandysu, thanks for the review so i think i'll skip Under Water World after all the comments about it here.

What the attraction in Oriental Village?

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 15 2007, 01:04 PM

129 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:15 PM