129 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Travel Langkawi, *~tax free heaven~* Updated info 1st pg

honkit
post Jun 11 2008, 12:17 AM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

Im planning to go with my groups of friends ( about 10 -14 ppl). Planning to go on flight. Problem is the accomodation . We wanted a beach side hotel which is budget. We tot of staying at Malibest,but after reading those feedback , we are now confuse still whether to go ahead of that.

Other than that place, we considered Bella Vista which they have 3 bedroom apartment. But not sure where is that place . Do they have beach there?
Tzlulu
post Jun 11 2008, 01:12 AM

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Jun 10 2008, 11:44 PM)
zzz... a check on tripadvisor.com found out that MaliBest receives a LOT (actually all of them) bad reviews from individuals. You check on the review here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews...kawi_Kedah.html

Any other good recommendation on hotel with beach?

I need to confirm the accommodation soon icon_question.gif
Vengeance_Mad
Any fast tips for me? Going there in Oct/Nov sweat.gif

I was in Langkawi last week. 4 days, 3 nights. Stayed at the Berjaya Langkawi Beach & Spa Resort. I highly recommend this hotel. The scenery and ambience of the place was simply amazing. I stayed in the Premier Chalet on Water. Rates are usually RM2k per night but they have a promo now so I got it for RM1k++ per night only. You have view of the rainforest & the sea. It's breathtaking, trust me smile.gif Also, for customers who stay in premier or suites, you get VIP service. VIP customers dine in the Beach cafe for breakfast & there's also a special buggy for you ( i like this as you get the cut the que tongue.gif )

The buggy takes you around the resort too and the superior chalets looked really nice as well; deep in the rainforests. I've stayed in The Andaman & The Datai which are both more expensive compared to this hotel but personally, Berjaya beats them all. They have excellent customer service too. Can't wait to go back again smile.gif

Buggy for VIP customers

Putraskyline
post Jun 11 2008, 02:07 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(honkit @ Jun 11 2008, 12:17 AM)
Im planning to go with my groups of friends ( about 10 -14 ppl). Planning to go on flight. Problem is the accomodation . We wanted a beach side hotel which is budget. We tot of staying at Malibest,but after reading those feedback , we are now confuse still whether to go ahead of that.

Other than that place, we considered Bella Vista which they have 3 bedroom apartment. But not sure where is that place . Do they have beach there?
Bella Vista is at Kuah area. No beach there. In my opinion, the rates and comment those in Tripadvisor was mostly from foreigner like England, Spore and so on. They prefer more on hotel that have great serviced and friendly staff though. As for budget hotel, Malibest will do great as compared to their price. You cant compare Malibest with The Datai/Tg Rhu/FourSeason tongue.gif

Added on June 11, 2008, 2:14 am
QUOTE(Tzlulu @ Jun 11 2008, 01:12 AM)

I was in Langkawi last week. 4 days, 3 nights. Stayed at the Berjaya Langkawi Beach & Spa Resort. I highly recommend this hotel. The scenery and ambience of the place was simply amazing. I stayed in the Premier Chalet on Water. Rates are usually RM2k per night but they have a promo now so I got it for RM1k++ per night only. You have view of the rainforest & the sea. It's breathtaking, trust me smile.gif Also, for customers who stay in premier or suites, you get VIP service. VIP customers dine in the Beach cafe for breakfast & there's also a special buggy for you ( i like this as you get the cut the que tongue.gif )

The buggy takes you around the resort too and the superior chalets looked really nice as well; deep in the rainforests. I've stayed in The Andaman & The Datai which are both more expensive compared to this hotel but personally, Berjaya beats them all. They have excellent customer service too. Can't wait to go back again smile.gif

Buggy for VIP customers
Berjaya beats The Datai/Andaman in term of what? I have been in Berjaya twice already. First time we stay at Premier on water and the 2nd one was only Superior room. My experienced there was too bad. We wait for the buggy exactly 30min for each trip. Also I dont like their facilities are far away from their room. About the staff also was not so friendly like what we have at Datai/Fourseason

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jun 11 2008, 02:14 AM
honkit
post Jun 11 2008, 03:30 AM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

any comments on langkasuka resort?

wanna ask is there any car rental fromt he airport? where to collect the car if rent from airport? rates around the same from the jetty? or is it more expensive?
rayfoo
post Jun 11 2008, 09:34 AM

2,564 posts

does the LAG policy affect domestic travel ie, KLIA to Langkawi?
Tzlulu
post Jun 11 2008, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jun 11 2008, 02:07 AM)

Added on June 11, 2008, 2:14 am
Berjaya beats The Datai/Andaman in term of what? I have been in Berjaya twice already. First time we stay at Premier on water and the 2nd one was only Superior room. My experienced there was too bad. We wait for the buggy exactly 30min for each trip. Also I dont like their facilities are far away from their room. About the staff also was not so friendly like what we have at Datai/Fourseason
During my stay, the shuttle service was efficient and prompt. The longest wait was just 10 minutes and this is justifiable as my chalet was pretty deep in the resort. Personally, I prefer the customer service rendered by the Berjaya staffs compared to The Datai/The Andaman. No doubt the latter resorts have friendly staffs, they did not give me the "WOW" factor unlike the Berjaya staffs. Not to mention some of the staffs in The Datai/Andaman have restricted English and have difficulty understanding the most basic things.

Both The Datai/Andaman have gorgeous settings as well but isolation of the area being far from town was not something I fancy very much. At the end of my stays, both The Datai & Andaman was just okay for me. Nothing to shout about. I would say that the Berjaya has a better value for money in that sense. Of course, everyone has a different point of view so I would recommend that interested parties should try the hotels out for themselves smile.gif

This post has been edited by Tzlulu: Jun 11 2008, 11:06 AM
Grengo01
post Jun 11 2008, 11:16 AM

7 star but no spesial tag...
4,669 posts

QUOTE(young_mane @ Jun 7 2008, 10:59 PM)
Will be going back to Langkawi this coming 21st till 25th.

One year since I returned there to see my parents. Hopefully at that time Langkawi will not have any big changes....lol
NOTHING CHANGED.... well maybe the price at the pump is not duty free.... smile.gif.

zzz... a check on tripadvisor.com found out that MaliBest receives a LOT (actually all of them) bad reviews from individuals. You check on the review here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews...kawi_Kedah.html

Vengeance_Mad
Why not you try Porto Malai 2 nights (no beach) or Pelangi (with beach) for 2 nights and 4 Seasons or Tg Rhu Resort 1 night.... that way, you would experience Pantai Cenang and Tg Rhu beaches....

Added on June 11, 2008, 11:17 am
QUOTE(honkit @ Jun 11 2008, 03:30 AM)
any comments on langkasuka resort?

wanna ask is there any car rental fromt he airport? where to collect the car if rent from airport? rates around the same from the jetty? or is it more expensive?
Langkasuka.... near to airport but far from everywhere else... hotel rated 4 star but... so so nia... lousy beach..

Car rental at airport plentiful... no nid to worry...

This post has been edited by Grengo01: Jun 11 2008, 11:17 AM
Vengeance_Mad
post Jun 11 2008, 06:07 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Vengeance_Mad
Umm, ok..
My tips are :
1) For car rental, I think it's best if you try to rent once you reach Langkawi instead of beforehand.
2) And if you're into scenic view, cable car hilltop is a MUST. The horizon is very beautiful but take note only to go if the weather is sunny bcoz they will not allow you to walk on the scenic bridge if the weather is cloudy. And if it's cloudy, I think there will be fog all around then you won't be able to have a great view. So go on a SUNNY day!
3) Stroll on Pantai Cenang in the evening for great sunset view and it's a tourist spot there. Can check out those hawt tourist sun-bathing, if ur lucky.. xP

I think that's the best tips I can give u for now as I have not explored many places too.
Maybe you can try island hopping or mangrove tour.
There are other packages like sunset dinner cruise on a yacht too, but it's abit pricey. Worth if you're going with a bunch of friends / families.

Putraskyline
post Jun 11 2008, 09:58 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jun 11 2008, 11:16 AM)
NOTHING CHANGED.... well maybe the price at the pump is not duty free.... smile.gif.
Why not you try Porto Malai 2 nights (no beach) or Pelangi (with beach) for 2 nights and 4 Seasons or Tg Rhu Resort 1 night.... that way, you would experience Pantai Cenang and Tg Rhu beaches....

Added on June 11, 2008, 11:17 am

Langkasuka.... near to airport but far from everywhere else... hotel rated 4 star but... so so nia... lousy beach..

Car rental at airport plentiful... no nid to worry...
Thats required 3-4k for accommodation only tongue.gif
dEviLs
post Jun 12 2008, 10:42 AM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

http://loctormayat.com/blogs/?p=1303
Another tour diary, quite recent just updated weeks ago
mugenz
post Jun 13 2008, 05:38 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

awana porto malai, hmm i stayed there b4, its so so only.. like others say.. no beach. but they have a nice walk way path which can see the beach. not really beach but a docking bay for the cruises.. really bad view..

langkasuka was really bad. i heard no good comments about it..
if can afford, i recommend sheraton resort, i tried the executive suit b4, very nice.. walk out is the beach d.. very quiet and relaxing place..

anyway. i m planning to go during this sept as well, this time my accomo will be "Sunset beach resort", anyone stay there b4? i think its a new resort, coz i went there for 4 times also never hear it b4... any comments on dat?
rayfoo
post Jun 14 2008, 08:02 PM

2,564 posts

what kind of room u say in porto malai? seaview?

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 13 2008, 05:38 PM)
awana porto malai, hmm i stayed there b4, its so so only.. like others say.. no beach. but they have a nice walk way path which can see the beach. not really beach but a docking bay for the cruises.. really bad view..

langkasuka was really bad. i heard no good comments about it..
if can afford, i recommend sheraton resort, i tried the executive suit b4, very nice.. walk out is the beach d.. very quiet and relaxing place..

anyway. i m planning to go during this sept as well, this time my accomo will be "Sunset beach resort", anyone stay there b4? i think its a new resort, coz i went there for 4 times also never hear it b4... any comments on dat?
mugenz
post Jun 15 2008, 03:29 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

its a normal standard room, facing the sea as well.. facing the dock le.. there got one stairway down to the wooden walk way path...
dwoon
post Jun 16 2008, 02:09 PM

Your feedback eases me somewhat as I've read horrendous reviews of Berjaya. Then again, maybe your stay was at the Water Chalet which is the higher end room.......

Hope my normal room situated amongst the trees isn't too shabby and service not too bad. blush.gif

Main concern now is still the car rental..... rates seem to vary by quite abit, based on the feedback by the numerous entries in this thread. unsure.gif

QUOTE(Tzlulu @ Jun 11 2008, 11:05 AM)
During my stay, the shuttle service was efficient and prompt. The longest wait was just 10 minutes and this is justifiable as my chalet was pretty deep in the resort. Personally, I prefer the customer service rendered by the Berjaya staffs compared to The Datai/The Andaman. No doubt the latter resorts have friendly staffs, they did not give me the "WOW" factor unlike the Berjaya staffs. Not to mention some of the staffs in The Datai/Andaman have restricted English and have difficulty understanding the most basic things.

Both The Datai/Andaman have gorgeous settings as well but isolation of the area being far from town was not something I fancy very much. At the end of my stays, both The Datai & Andaman was just okay for me. Nothing to shout about. I would say that the Berjaya has a better value for money in that sense. Of course, everyone has a different point of view so I would recommend that interested parties should try the hotels out for themselves smile.gif
kimhoong
post Jun 21 2008, 06:20 PM

5,154 posts

It's been a bit quiet in this thread.

As for my trip, I have no positive progress yet, especially on accommodation doh.gif

Open to any bright ideas. Budget trips for couples (2 couples). 4 days 3 nights stay. Preferably staying on beach.

mugenz
post Jun 23 2008, 07:25 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

budget trips.. hmm i dun think there is any water chalets budget enough

since i myself had planned for this sept, i booked Sunset Beach Resort, from wat i see is kinda nice. i assume its a new resort,

price is kinda reasonable, per night basis ranged frm rm160, rm190, rm220 (3 types of rooms), i was told there is a 10% discount for off-peak periods.

its located in pantai tengah, very near pantai cenang, wer all forumers say at nite its more happening there.

sad to say, they have no facilities at all... why do we actually need facilities, when we gonna go out sightseeing? biggrin.gif

woodflaming
post Jun 24 2008, 06:09 PM

52 posts

Hai, need some info from those familiar with Langkawi, cos i planning to go there next mth biggrin.gif

among all those budget hotel/resort at pt. chenang like;

1) Tg Malie Bearch resort
2) CD lodge,
3) Best star
4) Delta (Nearet to Underwater world)
5) AB Motel (Both Beach & across the road)
6) Sandy Beach (Both Beach & across the road)
7) Malibest
8) Melati Tanjung Motel
9) MZ motel
.....(or those across road)

which 1 better? any recommendation in terms of budget, facility, room condition... cos i'm planning to go with elderly n kids sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
thanks smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
wannajmi
post Jun 25 2008, 02:04 PM

Hi Guys,

I got 1 question here,

is there any age restriction for the cable car ride and island hopping...?
just wondering whether I am allowed to take my 2 years old boy for the cable car ride and island hopping

Many thanks..

stimix
post Jun 25 2008, 02:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

@Woodflaming,

Just read the past posting on the idea of budget resorts. I hv only stayed at Sandy Beach resort but that was >15yrs ago...no idea how is the condition right now. You can try those newer such as Beststar, Malibest MZ or Melati Tanjung.. biggrin.gif

@wannajmi,

Good question..dun think there is any limit although I'm not sure myself.... blush.gif ..I started bringing my daughter on Island hopping when she reached 5yr old..at a tender age of 2..not dare... blush.gif biggrin.gif Not sure also on cable car as my 1st ride is 2 yrs ago & my daughter oledi 8yr old.. blush.gif
rayfoo
post Jun 26 2008, 04:00 PM

2,564 posts

Langkawi tunnel tank is reopen, can go enjoy it guys!

129 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:36 AM