Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Feb 17 2013, 04:39 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 16 2013, 12:03 AM)
in theory, yes... it is up to who has the bigger balls to take in more banned substance and endanger themselves... but until the day that the sport itself find ways to effectively police the use of drugs short of invading one's privacy...no one will ever know if everyone is racing clean...

same situation as F1 years ago when they got fed up with teams hiding traction and launch control software within their ECU softwares... they could not tell or find who has it and who hasn't and the best they could do is "not to ban it" as it causes some teams to be furious when they suspect rival teams of having it while they have not (or have it but still wanted to complain) by analyzing off the grid launch videos and engine noises during corner entry and exits...only until recent years that they have found a brilliant way to standardized ECU units across all teams did they re-ban it again...

not an argument to say let riders dope as they like as that is not the very healthiest thing to do... but, there isn't much point to get unsatisfied (from a spectator's POV, unless i am andy riis) at who's who is suspected of doping because this is solely the reasons this guys exist in the first place...because of some humanly impossible feats we choose to believe in, or in other words feats that catches the our attention as we ourselves could not do it...

would i say over the years i have not cast doubts over alberto contador's 2009 verbier ascent? lance's comeback 2.0 at the age of 38? efforts of team astana controlling the 2009 tour peloton almost day in day out (which i think is a harder act than team sky in 2012 for the fact that other big threat teams exists and a more jagged parcours)? lance's attack on pantani at hautacam (with the shaking of the il pirata's bald head when he realizes he could not follow the accelerations) having drawn him into a crazy mano-a-mano combat over 100K's away from the finishing line (yes, proven to be drugs. but still made you question his performance during those days),  not to mention how le doper manage to ride everyone off his wheels after giving "the look" and many other le doper incidences, lemond (even) during his final TT against hinault to win his grand tour title by a measly few seconds (can an aerobar really prove that much difference?), "the cannibal" which we can't leave out come doping? winning many multiple races in the same year while winning the tour or even the triple crown of cycling of double grand tours in a single year (not once, but 3 times in his career... it must have come down to some magic potions)? almost unheard of nowadays when winning the giro-tour combo is admitted to be almost impossible...

yes, wiggins tone on the doping stance might have change from years back like kimmage states, but he has also came into the limelight since 2009 along with the increase of pressure as team captain... but i think to be fair, anyone is gonna get offended being asked the same question repeatedly year in year out... would anyone say mark doped because he too went berserk at some journos when they kept asking lance related or doping questions at press conferences...

if come 2013 team sky can repeat the same act with saxo and radioshack in the play, then it would arouse my curiosity...

having the media manipulating how the spectators think by throwing proven / unproven and facts/theories around and working yourself up is not the best way to enjoy the sport... if you are against wiggins because you were rooting for cadel in 2012... i would have understood a whole lot more the reasons behind it... but just because of some nut jobs trying to prove themselves right and show that they have been abused by armstrong publicly over years of tormented media life is just no reason to... which is why i treat it as an entertainment or else i would have flown to france, camp by the road side for days waiting for the peloton to pass which ends in mere minutes year after year...

having all the bikes at the same weight is also not really making every bike the same... one bike might have a lighter set of wheels with all the ceramic bearings and techno whistles and a chunky frame while the other might be saving watts with an aero shaped wheel at the expense of lightweight while still staying within the same weight limitations... the bikes have already grown to the point that it could be so light that mechanics have to start adding leads to their bikes or use heavier parts just to meet the UCI weight limits... it's a matter of throwing weight around nowadays...
Good reply. Conclusion is we have to treat this as entertainment. But is it acceptable if you cheered on for a rider, being in awe with his prowess winning stages and idolized him, only to be revealed later that the win is contributed from cheating / doping? We are in no way affected by their action but...it just doesn't sounds right to me wink.gif

And yes I agree with you until the day UCI can truly implement a mechanism to ensure the cleanliness of this sports, there will be few journalists or fans that will always questioning the riders.

To put it in a simple explanation, we have to take the sport as entertainment similar to WWE. You know the wrestlers are faking and putting all the drama according to scripts but heck we are still enjoying it. And if we were to take a serious sports such as cycling the same way as watching a WWE match for entertainment purposes, then let them dope all they want and enjoy the fun.

mrjgx
post Feb 18 2013, 04:00 PM

59 posts

woah.... rclxms.gif

Anyway, what if for the money i planned for an sworks frame, i buy the 404 FC and the 2013 Sram Red?

Souping up my Merida..worth it? I know it is up to me to yank my chain up but just wanna seek others opinion on it tongue.gif

Then after that changed the bars to carbon for weightweenie project.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 18 2013, 04:19 PM
mrjgx
post Feb 18 2013, 05:46 PM

59 posts

Thx or replying. Ok lah have to dismiss the weight weenie intention..my calculation is like this:

2013 Red and 404 FC (swapping brtween FR0 for climbing terrain)= rm13k

Use it up for few years as u suggested and get perhaps an SL 5.

Maybe 700grams is not that much when looking in numbers but perhaps noticeable when lifting up the bike. My current setup is around 8kg and when i put in 2 water bottle it feels heavy like 9kg plus.

Carbon cockpits could shave up few more grams, i guess hovering around 7kg-8kg is acceptable for my cheapo brand bike cos later when upgrade to sworks can easily dip below 7kg.

Hows that sound?

mrjgx
post Feb 19 2013, 01:58 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 18 2013, 06:19 PM)
me too... if money permits...

and change ceramic speed bearingsĀ  brows.gif
yeah... it's not much and you might not feel it except when putting it on scales... but you don't build your bike to lift and put on scales only do you?
if comparing with the tub 404... not sure how much difference the FR0 makes...it might be only marginal in the acceleration dept.
i guess it would be a solid plan unless you are finicky about hanging only and only new parts on new frame...
Ok. Finally decided! SL5 is the best and excellent option. in the meantime, A merida will suffice. Actually, the 404..I want it just for the looks brows.gif I know FR0 to 404 FC Clincher won't be a significant upgrade, perhaps a slight noticeable aero advantage. Desert sidewind is like a gale..even with my bladed FR0 my bike and myself was thrown sideways violently..no kidding. Headwind is when i think i may save a few watts..perhaps 6-9 watts? i dont have any powermeter btw.

Regarding the rotating mass for the 404...I doubt that a similar weight will provide any extra push or maintaining the speed better when you are freewheeling. Reviews say it does. Placebo effect? I had my placebo effect with the carbon hub and ceramic bearing of the FR0, reviews said it's like a tailwind helping you. But a creaking pedal will negate the impression of having a ceramic smoothness every time! I know that from my own experience.

In fact, I can just upgrade to a Red and full carbon cockpits just to be a WW guy, no need a 404 as I already have an FR0 which is similarly weighted. However aesthetically it will be different though. I found an example on the net as shown below . However it isn't slammed and the wheel isn't in Beyond Black colors. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 19 2013, 02:01 AM
mrjgx
post Feb 19 2013, 04:58 AM

59 posts

SL5 is due to come soon, so does the new garmin stuffs, the ps4 and Xbox 720. Better wait lah like dat..

Well, a quote I found in an article on the net. "Feel is important. We ride for enjoyment, and for many (myself included), part of that enjoyment comes from riding nice things". Sounds legit? I don't buy aero wheels to win some races, but to ride and feel good about it, which I guess applies to the majority of us blush.gif

Anyway, given a choice between my new plan groupset and a wheelset, which should comes first?

Ey le butthead...wut time do u sleep or u are a sleepless cycling bot? hmm.gif
mrjgx
post Feb 19 2013, 02:41 PM

59 posts

Replying on my mobile. Hard to quote. About the new garmin im talking about the new 810. still not to be seen in Dubai market. Anyway my next upgrade will be the the groupset. I have a very strong feeling that i wont feel that much difference if i were to get the zipp 404.

I do curb hopings with my FR0 on casual ride to coffee shop. No problem so far. Feels fun actually tongue.gif Scared to do that with new bling wheels.

Bike fitting? Here is famous with Retul fitting. I dont bother with fitting, but i need to slam the stem. The cane creek zero stack headset has arrived 1 month ago but i still dont have time to go to shop. Why the need to slam? Because that will be an added aero advantage similiar like having a new zipp 404 Fc wink.gif
mrjgx
post Feb 19 2013, 04:04 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 19 2013, 03:07 PM)
you people memang gatal...

retul fit is not cheap lar...
where is the science to back that claim up?
Around 1000 dirham per session here..approx 850 RM..u do bike fitting later got so many things to buy, shoes insole, bla bla bla. Adjust it to the comfort of yourself will do.

Slam = i go for the looks. tongue.gif

Anyway facing headwind i sometimes need to really bend my arms (if i ride on the hood) just to decrease the amount of headwind. Not so scientific lah but perhaps it work for me. Put the new hewdset first without cutting the steerer if ok then go potong.
mrjgx
post Feb 19 2013, 04:56 PM

59 posts

I know the bike fitters is specialist in what they do but dont u think all the info on bike adjustments or positioning knowledge can be gathered from the net?

We just have to apply it to ourselves base on our comfort. They dont do any aero analysis do they?

I might do it one day if i have any niggling issues with my body. Not for now. I read somewhere a guy paid for a couple of bike fitting only to readjust his new positioning to the old one as the seat height is too high for his comfort and liking.

Well to each his own smile.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 19 2013, 04:58 PM
mrjgx
post Feb 20 2013, 01:09 AM

59 posts

Hi, for a 7k budget can I get a decent MTB Hardtail? All I can think of is Merida..but not sure which series..any other brand suggestion? should I get a 26" or 29"?

I have completely no idea on MTb technology, grouppos and stuffs..etc. ok I know this is a thread for roadies but if you have any idea on MTB within that price range do let me know smile.gif
mrjgx
post Feb 20 2013, 02:20 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 20 2013, 01:34 AM)
7k is quite a lot for beginner... can ask the mtb thread for more in depth opinions

on merida, for sure can get an o nine model already and maybe even the lower spec'ed carbon one if you fancy it...or some better xt spec'ed aluminum one with a set of fancier hoops or some ck laced to ztr olympics

whether 26 or 29ner is up to you... if you ride lots of technical terrain where you need to flick you bike around lots... i guess 26 better

if you want a bike that rolls over the bumpy stuff easier then the 29ner suits better despite some lacking of upgrade parts now...

there is also 650b to consider now
Between 26 or 29..I just want a bike that can fit a normal bike case. Maybe 26..not going to ride a technical terrain I believe. More towards dessert riding..loose gravel and sands. For MTB is Carbon recommended? I mean it will be thrashed hardly right..afraid that carbon is a bit too fragile. hmm.gif And is weight as important as in the roadbike?

QUOTE(Ben@Jerry @ Feb 20 2013, 01:38 AM)
how about getting this ?..biggrin.gif
[attachmentid=3312670]
That is fat bike right? Can ride in the sand dunes I heard. Don't want that lah..
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 01:59 PM

59 posts

I couldnt quote your reply on the MTB thingy. Anyway perhaps will be getting the merida..perhaps tongue.gif

Wow the Ti bike is damn light! And expensive. Frameset alone is GBP2300 already. If it's the complete bike i take it for sure. Colors also cun.

I dont know maybe this is just my feeling but for a bike to look sweet it must be slammed and having a dark and deep wheelsets wink.gif and the seat post height should be generally higher than the stem.

I noticed that my bike looks fugly because the seat height is only a little bit higher than the stem, i tried to increase the height but it will make like me feel like my crotch is taking the whole bodyweight on it.

Lower it down for comfort and maximum power but the bike looks ugly. Im 173cm anyway..

If u look at contadors bike u can see how tall his seatpost is and his height is not much of a difference than me. Weird huh?
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 04:18 PM

59 posts

Smaller bike will make it twitchy isnt it? And Tarmac is famous for it twitchyness.

Twitchy as in one have to correct the line when descrnding many times compare to a less twitchy frame, say Venge. i never ridden both so cant comment but most rviews says that. What is your feedback miaopurr?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 21 2013, 04:20 PM
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 05:00 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Feb 21 2013, 04:34 PM)
Tarmac frame twitch? Heck no, its one of the stiffest I had ever used, confirmed by Bike Radar.
In fact compared to my Pina and Colnago, my SL3 is a dream to ride for long distances. Very pacy, stiff and lite enough to help me climb ok.
Not frame twitchy. I mean the handling is twitchy. Comes what may, i will visit ghs this march, and everything will be decided tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 05:11 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 21 2013, 05:02 PM)
put aside rm350, get a professional bike fit. smile.gif

unless u can persuade GH to include BGFit for free!

or u can get those GH guys to give a normal bike fit (free). they use proper tools too. good stuff!
Eyh rm350 only? That cheap? I thought hovering around rm1k mark.

How come this bike looks so sweet even without a deep cabon wheels?
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 05:41 PM

59 posts

Hahaha. Funny la all of u. Mattj has so many high end bikes? And specialized top em all?
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 05:53 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 21 2013, 05:47 PM)
"a guy i know prefer his tarmac over his dog ma"

of course i prefer the tarmac over a dog too...you can't ride a dog ma...

just the day for wrong choice of words  sweat.gif
Hahaha that was the troll of the year! You can ride a dog ma..provided it's a big dog tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Feb 21 2013, 06:28 PM

59 posts

And then you will be reincarnated as a pro cyclist who dope and cheat for years, also wrong.
mrjgx
post Feb 22 2013, 02:37 PM

59 posts

The thing i hate the most in cycling is...headwind!
mrjgx
post Feb 22 2013, 03:45 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Feb 22 2013, 02:58 PM)

NOOOOOO! HIANBOY POTONG STIM!! I KOM MEH!
Butthead dont have Strava? even Lance Armstrong have it now...that's the only way he can compete with other cyclists. He might be sniping other KOMs as well, and he'll take em all with EPO flex.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 22 2013, 03:46 PM
mrjgx
post Feb 23 2013, 06:12 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Feb 23 2013, 12:08 AM)
that secret to Terengganu Pro-Asia strength.
I know the saying, the wind is your friend, it'll make you stronger. But I just hate it wink.gif

Anyway for a 173cm guy, what sizes of bike frame I should be riding with? 52? Or should I get a smaller..say 49?

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:40 PM