Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes
mrjgx
Apr 21 2013, 01:52 PM

Aah..yeah afteral Carbon is better. Seems like the stiffness and fatigue is the main factor for carbon to win.
So now im in dilemma. Should i sell my Merida? There's an interested buyer already. Or should i keep it and upgrade it bit by bit? My allez is way lighter than my Merida now..
Sell or not????
mrjgx
Apr 21 2013, 10:45 PM

Sold! To a new owner who will take care of my Merida in a much better way..tsk tsk
mrjgx
Apr 22 2013, 02:01 PM

For the past 1 year i use HR for my training..it's constantly unreliable if you want to measure your performance.
Seriously, but riding a bike without knowong your speed, distance, and HR is totally a no-no for me.
I have take off the cadence unit from my bike to shave off the weight and i found myself not needing it at all.
mrjgx
Apr 22 2013, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Apr 22 2013, 06:13 PM) Sigma is quite interesting with the many features, altimeter is a plus. What do you say about the watch type, be it any good brand that you can recommend? My sigma 2209 mhr ultimeter is a piece of crap. Perhaps using a GPS based altimeter (those Garmin can even show the route elevation profile) is much more accurate. But, my sigma looks more sleek and neat, like those cateyes small2 computer on the stem, compare to others here who the majority have the big garmin sticking out their handlebar. The thing about people here is that they have too much money to spend on a gps computer only to ride in a closed circular cycling path which to me is pointless. I stop my intention of getting the 810, but definitely will buy it once i'm back in KL for good which is rather useful as we ride on the open road, exploring new territory
mrjgx
Apr 23 2013, 01:18 AM

Oh no..still couldnt find suitable seatpost. I guess if i go for the looks that i want i will not shave much weight but then the ride will be more comfy because of the carbon materials.
Will it be ok to use carbon seat post with an alu bike?
mrjgx
Apr 23 2013, 02:00 AM

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 23 2013, 01:48 AM) it's like asking if it is ok to use alu post on carbon frame? why not??? carbon cockpit doesn't save much weight because they can't cut down on material due to safety reasons...and carbon posts usually don't come built with any form of compliancy at all... they are as stiff as they can be... A gram reduced here and there can accumulates to a KG if you are serious about it 500-600grams reduction is already half a kilo..and that's big. I can't have the ultimate weight saving bike as I am running on Force groupset not the lightest Red. I read that a carbon cockpit absorbs and provide more comfort on the road (irony that I chose an alu frame now) Safety wise I always have the feeling that carbon handelbar MAY break anytime when I am descending at 70kmh...lol..freak me out everytime just to think about it! Now gatal2 to have another pair of wheelset..404 fc comes into mind but the need to change the brakepad and adjustment on the brakes seems to put me off. What else is there that is hassle free but would be a significant upgrade over FR0?