Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V6, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

tygoh
post Jan 16 2016, 09:24 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(Balitong @ Jan 4 2016, 05:25 PM)
Hi all sifus,
I have two red ear sliders that I raised at my home currently. Both of them i suspect is infected with shell rot but i'm not sure how to decide.  Both of them are eating fine and very active.  The condition has been showing for over a month now (for the older one, over 2 months).  And I bought medicine to apply but so far no effect. Should i be concern?  One of the younger one initially has very nice shell with no spots on the shell when I first bought it, after I bring it home and put in the same aquarium as the older turtle, it started to show the same symptoms as the old one. which is showing patches of grey on the shell. 

Attach the photos of the turtle. 

Older turtle (female).  Got this during school's carnival sale. 
[attachmentid=5695678]

Younger turtle (male).  Initially when i first bought it the shell is really green with no grey spots around the edges or on the shell.
[attachmentid=5695677]

Medicine.  I bring both out to a smaller dry aquarium to put on the medicine. After one or two hours, I put both back into water.
[attachmentid=5695679]
My setup:
1. Water filter (water change every week)
2. Basking area (for some reason, turtle don't like this)
3. UV light (on during the day)
4. Basking light. (not on most of the time)

Water temperature is around 31 degree everyday.  Is the water too high?  The turtles doesn't like to come to the basking area.
Any ideas?

Thank you.
Looks like growth lines.
Balitong
post Jan 17 2016, 09:27 AM

47 posts

Thanks tygoh. So there's no problem with it? My turtles doesn't like to bask. Is that Ok if they stay in water long time?
tany
post Jan 29 2016, 09:32 AM

608 posts

What turtle is this ? What does it eat? Found it beside roadside

SAMPERTH
post Jan 29 2016, 07:37 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(tany @ Jan 29 2016, 10:32 AM)
What turtle is this ? What does it eat? Found it beside roadside
Malayan Box

Most likely Malayan Box turtle - a pic of the underside picture can 100% identify it .

SnoopyDevil
post Jan 30 2016, 12:32 PM

383 posts

My fat yogurt (that's her name) is running out of space, any recommendation on getting a bigger and affordable tank? Pj/ttdi area preferable

digilife
post Jan 30 2016, 01:00 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jan 30 2016, 12:32 PM)
My fat yogurt (that's her name) is running out of space, any recommendation on getting a bigger and affordable tank? Pj/ttdi area preferable
That tank is just way tooooo small for her, you need atleast a 4ft x 2ft tank, else Ms Fat-Yogurt wont grow > 20year old, FYI mine Ninja is already >20year old, & now he live on land [ my cemented backyard ]

icon_idea.gif
SnoopyDevil
post Jan 31 2016, 10:15 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 30 2016, 01:00 PM)
That tank is just way tooooo small for her, you need atleast a 4ft x 2ft tank, else Ms Fat-Yogurt wont grow > 20year old, FYI mine Ninja is already >20year old, & now he live on land [ my cemented backyard ] 

icon_idea.gif
haha thanks. i am trying to imagine how huge it is! i thought RES requires certain amount of water to live at?

any recommendation where to get a bigger tank for yogurt? glass or plastic or it doesn't matter? i would prefer to be able to see it from the side though. what will be the expected price for each?
gailkun
post Feb 4 2016, 11:15 AM

Hi guys, i'm looking for a male common musk turtle, anyone selling?
gailkun
post Feb 5 2016, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jan 31 2016, 10:15 AM)
haha thanks. i am trying to imagine how huge it is! i thought RES requires certain amount of water to live at?

any recommendation where to get a bigger tank for yogurt? glass or plastic or it doesn't matter? i would prefer to be able to see it from the side though. what will be the expected price for each?
I think a tub will do best, but if u prefer to view from side then u need to custom make a tank. I made one size: 4ft x 2.5ft x 1ft for juvenile turts. Price was about rm 200-300
digilife
post Feb 5 2016, 09:33 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(SnoopyDevil @ Jan 31 2016, 10:15 AM)

There are many sellers of used glass tank in garage sale, get a 4ft x 2ft x1.5ft should be fine, DIY your filteration system to make his water clean

turbogogo
post Feb 15 2016, 07:15 PM

95 posts

My turtle has stop eating for a few weeks. Is it normal? What can i do to make it start eating?
digilife
post Feb 16 2016, 12:14 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(turbogogo @ Feb 15 2016, 07:15 PM)
My turtle has stop eating for a few weeks. Is it normal? What can i do to make it start eating?
what do you usually feed him/her ?

how big is his "pond" ?
turbogogo
post Feb 17 2016, 12:32 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Feb 16 2016, 12:14 AM)
what do you usually feed him/her ?

how big is his "pond" ?
Fish or shrimp. It usually prefers to stay on land but when i feed it, i put it in water
H.O.P.E
post Feb 27 2016, 08:21 AM

52 posts

hi, just to share my little monster tongue.gif tongue.gif . Counted from the date i purchase for the 2 RES and road side pickup 1 Malayan Box, they should be 6 months old.
Food is just turtle pallet.

Malayan Box

RES No. 1

RES No. 2

Their Nest

hmm.gif hmm.gif
i think the tank is getting small for 3 of them.
whats your opinion?
1. Vase (big oval shape for plant) i have it at home. Now my mom keeping few guppys
2. Aquarium - i have to purchase it
digilife
post Feb 27 2016, 09:19 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(H.O.P.E @ Feb 27 2016, 08:21 AM)
hi, just to share my little monster  tongue.gif  tongue.gif . Counted from the date i purchase for the 2 RES and road side pickup 1 Malayan Box, they should be 6 months old. 
Food is just turtle pallet.

Malayan Box

RES No. 1

RES No. 2

Their Nest

hmm.gif  hmm.gif
i think the tank is getting small for 3 of them. 
whats your opinion?
1. Vase (big oval shape for plant) i have it at home. Now my mom keeping few guppys
2. Aquarium - i have to purchase it
The tank is really too small for them, get a 4ft x 2ft tank, fiber or glass tank
Zootopia1985
post Mar 20 2016, 10:24 PM

My two weeks old baby RES not eating since came home. What should I do?
digilife
post Mar 20 2016, 11:51 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Zootopia1985 @ Mar 20 2016, 10:24 PM)
My two weeks old baby RES not eating since came home. What should I do?
Care to elaborate how is the living enviroment ?
slackerz
post Apr 6 2016, 04:41 PM

107 posts

Just wanna say hi guys.how's your TTT'.hope they all doing well
H.O.P.E
post Apr 6 2016, 05:12 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(slackerz @ Apr 6 2016, 04:41 PM)
Just wanna say hi guys.how's your TTT'.hope they all doing well
errr.............2 res 1 malayan box.......going to set free.............. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
SupermanLick
post Apr 6 2016, 11:03 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,459 posts

哈喽turtle breeders ,long time no see
how is yrs turtles going on?
1+years before I was bought 2little RES tortues ,unfortunately both has dEAD .
And bought another 2little RES ,1dead 1left

gladly this RES live until today ,is a male ,having long claws grin.gif about 5inc shell now 。kept in 2ft. glass tank with water filtration
Eat NUTRAFIN pellets everyday ,2times a day .Some lucky day ,I caught cockroach for him to eat .Sometime give some fried chicken meat

57 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:50 PM