Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion
SKYjack
Mar 7 2013, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(OrangBiasa @ Mar 7 2013, 10:54 PM) I also thot that my battery is in good condition. No indicators at all that it will be dead after 7 months of usage. I always try to follow all tips shared in this forum. Always let the engine idle for 1-2 minutes and wait untill the fan stop before I switch off the engine each time I reached my destination. So that the fan will not run on battery. But, sudah mau kena, what to do.. I try to accept this fact and justify it with the good points of this car especially its turbo power. It's good handling and the confidence when overtaking cars at Tangkak - Segamat stretch during my monthly trip to my hometown, compensate most of negative points of this car..  Every car has it's own issue,even Jap's with their high regard for reliability.Don't let this battery issue get you down. It's a small issue,I still think it's a fantastic car. It's already identified this French battery seems to have short life in our weather. Keep up the high spirits and enjoy your Lion on your trip home
SKYjack
Mar 8 2013, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(Rich_Lim @ Mar 8 2013, 11:05 AM) Read in previous post abt issue on steering rack, found out mine has got a very mild noise when reverse parking as well! Not sure it's normal, our steering is powered electronically or mechanically ya? NA is hydraulic, Turbo is elector-hydraulic!
SKYjack
Mar 9 2013, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(78Lions @ Mar 9 2013, 04:38 PM) Proceed ofc  ...these are not major problems and SC will replaced under warranty. And its nothing compare to the driving you gonna experience  Absolutely true,a little pain for so much pleasure!
SKYjack
Mar 9 2013, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(78Lions @ Mar 9 2013, 04:44 PM) I'm going next week for my 2.5k inspections. Any advise which SC is better ? Puchong or Pj 222? Bro what you mean by " car feels livelier with safe-mode removed " ? If you need to fix issues,don't go to PJ222!
SKYjack
Mar 9 2013, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(78Lions @ Mar 9 2013, 04:56 PM) Mmhhhh Tks bro..."touchwood" there is nothing to fix but then better go to puchong. How about CSL Sc? If you have no issues,then 222 is fine. For 1st inspection and regular service, they are OK. Have no idea about CSL or Puchong. Try Puchong and update us.
SKYjack
Mar 9 2013, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(roadrunnerPenang @ Mar 9 2013, 05:13 PM) You guys keep poison me... Anyway, i will go ahead for downpayment next week. Reason i pick P408 T is the driving feeling...while my wife love the spacious cabin There you go,that's the spirit. You kena poison kau kau already le!  When I test drove the turbo,kena poison till coming out of my ears already.Couldn't think or anything else,as if I was on drugs,just wanted to sign on the dotted line. This post has been edited by SKYjack: Mar 9 2013, 05:47 PM
SKYjack
Mar 10 2013, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(ahui @ Mar 10 2013, 10:21 AM) Just found a issue an rear windows. [attachmentid=3339018] Tks for your post,I'll check my car now.
SKYjack
Mar 11 2013, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(kejusan @ Mar 10 2013, 10:30 PM) Noob question. Jump start will not void the warranty? Will it destroy other electronics? This car is filled with so much electronics I can understand your concern. It is true sudden electrical surge does damage electronics. This condition is true in an excessive inflow of emf. IMO jump start does no harm. It is a flow from battery to battery. It is no different from exchanging battery from the other car or just relacing your own battery with a good one. I wouldn't jump start from a home generator!
SKYjack
Mar 16 2013, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Mar 16 2013, 12:02 PM) Today my pug engine dies off suddenly while travelling at 50km/p. The aircond and radio are still functioning. Luckily not on busy road. I thought it was the battery problem. After stopped at the roadside, I switched off the engine. I managed to switch on the engine after waited for few seconds. I tried it for few times and all attempts were successful. Was this a battery problem or fuel pump problem? Anyone has encountered this problem before? Not battery or fuel. It's an ECU electronic glitch. A glitch, meaning it is only a temperory malfunction. This could be due a loss of electrics for a second or two. EUC is the heart of the engine and commands entire engine operation according to to driver request,from startup to shutdown. Nothing to worry, especially since your car operation is normal now. Happy pugging! This post has been edited by SKYjack: Mar 17 2013, 12:12 PM
SKYjack
Mar 16 2013, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(icefox64 @ Mar 16 2013, 01:15 AM) New reporting!! Heheheee.... =) Glad see you finally made the exciting choice,instead of the good RV, boring,overpriced,underspec,underpowered Jap box!
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Mar 20 2013, 07:14 AM) I know our 408 doesn't come with the cover beneath the engine. Anyone tried this? This was the 1st shock I had after buying this car. Even my old Audi5E 15years ago had this protective shield! I'm very keen on this!
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(danishfx @ Mar 20 2013, 10:07 AM) Hehehe........you and Jess better brace yourselves for severe verbal dyeria!
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 10:51 AM) But we are equally helpless whe nit comes to invaders from 'other planet' Ooosh......you also sure kena la bro! My pop corn ready!
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 20 2013, 01:10 PM) Yeah I don't know for sure what is anyone's gender here, come to think of it, what is yours ? do you happen to be a lady? because if you are, me gentleman here will fight no lady.  U d man
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 20 2013, 04:51 PM) Engine died off on the move....not a big issue? nevermind, let's wait for pugbunny to provide us with the answer. Bro jfcheong is not saying engine dying is not a big issue. It is the cause of the engine dying,that is not a big issue. That very cause has disappeared. I put forward a possible explanation which pugbunny is happy about. Further more pugbuny's car started immediately and is till now running as smooth as ever. The car was not sent to the SC, I don't think you are going to hear any different. This has and can happen to any car! Don't let this small issue put you off buying the car.
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(ahui @ Mar 20 2013, 05:51 PM) i'm the second~~ engine died while slow down at traffic light today but able to start back immediately, then everything back to normal should i send the car to sc? this accident same as my previous wira..... always died while slow down the car edit: just done my 1st 10k service last monday Monitor it closely. If it does happen again,then it is a bit more serious,send it to SC. You may need a simple ECU reset.
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 20 2013, 05:39 PM) Bro, I have a few questions about the 5008. I was looking at the brochure and it says that the engine is EP6CDT and gearbox is the 6 speed AT. Q1. Is this the same engine as the 408? Complete with all the modifications to make it more stable Q2. does it utilize the same 6AT transmission as the 408THP? Appreciate your input Q1. EP6CDT is not the same as EP6CDTM. EP6CDT does not carry all 8 mods. However ECU has been remapped. This has increased the hp to 156. More important is the adjustment of ignition timing. We are all aware of premature carbon buildup at inlet valves of GDIs. I call it inlet valve carbon creep, as this happens at the fraction of seconds inlet valve is open during ignition. Remapped ECU on 5008 now commands ignition when inlet valve is fully closed. This has prevented the carbon creep. Q2. Yes it is the same Aisin 6spd AT Cheers.
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 20 2013, 06:25 PM) Thanks. So without the 8 mods. Is it the same engine as the 308THP pre-facelift? Does it carry the same baggage (problems) as that car or is the remapped ECU good enough that it can hold its own like the 408THP modified engine? What about the engine in the facelift version of the 308THP, is that the same model as the 5008 with the remapped ECU? You are welcome. 308T has 4 versions: Early 308t - 140bhp Remapped 308t - 156bhp Facelift - 156bhp Griffe - 156bhp 5008 shares the same 156bhp engine with most Pugs. 95% of the problems on the early Prince has been solved on this remapped ECU engine. 408T is the only recipient of the EP6CDTM on Pugs,so far! I think soon this will change and we'll see wider use of this engine cos of it's reliability. Citroen DS4 comes with EP6CDTM now.
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 20 2013, 07:22 PM) Okay, from what I understand from your statement, this means only the 408THP has the EP6CDTM while the rest of the PUGs including the 508/5008 uses the same remapped ECU engine? That's right. Why the deep interest on the 5008?
SKYjack
Mar 20 2013, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 20 2013, 07:55 PM) Looking at an MPV. The Japanese offerings are quite underwhelming, and the cross touran is too small. The only good option right now is the 5008 and so far my in the metal impressions were pretty positive so far. I really like the space and kit but unsure of the engine and transmission. Any input you can provide will be helpful  Sorry can't offer any more info. I did not take a serious look at the 5008. However, as you said space and kit are quite impressive!