QUOTE(Pugbunny @ Mar 28 2013, 08:41 AM)
No la,if the spare key is not immobilizer coded,then you will not be able to start your car.Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion
Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion
Mar 28 2013, 09:47 AM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Mar 28 2013, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Mar 28 2013, 10:01 AM) i can confirm my case (NA) is no remote for the sapre key but immobilizer-coded ? not sure, don't look it Very simple,start your car with spare key. If can start,it is coded. If cannot start,it is not coded. The whole purpose of immobilizer is to allow only specific keys for ignition. This way one can copy your key and start the car to steal it. |
Mar 28 2013, 03:14 PM
Mar 28 2013, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(ahui @ Mar 28 2013, 03:15 PM) kuhan83, i no pay any thing, all in foc Good to hear your Lion is running well. Another feather on Peugeot Blue box's cap for a job well done! Appreciate the improved customer service. skyblu3, he told me for my case can be manufacturing defect, and this is first time they change the intake on 408, never happened before. luckily got stock for it, else dun know how long i need to wait. |
Mar 29 2013, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 28 2013, 06:28 PM) You should ask yourself how likely are you to even keep this car for more than 5 years? Think about it only if you're likely to keep it for more than 5 years, otherwise, why bother? That was a wrong question. People who buy Pugs buy with the intent of keeping it for a long while. We all bought this car for what it is and not bothered about RV. We all know RV on Pugs are poor and is also the reason we'll keep for some time. I can't see myself ever driving a Jap box. Sure it's great RV,but boring overpriced,underspec and underpowered!I too am looking at keeping this car beyond 5 years. By which time we would have sourced for independent specialist workshops and getting spares at better prices than from SCs. Take for example 6spd AT fluid. Right now this item is costly mainly due to it being shipped from Japan to France to Malaysia. Cost can certainly drop if direct shipped to Malaysia. This just one example,I'm sure there's a lot more. As we see more and more Pugs, I'm sure we'll see more workshops. This gives the owners a better choice and the intention to hold on to our beloved Pug longer. So this time my friend,you got it completely wrong! |
Mar 29 2013, 11:54 AM
Mar 29 2013, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(NumpXP @ Mar 29 2013, 12:25 PM) Before booking,I had a good sitin at both the cars at the showroom. I too felt the same,but 508 has a luxury feel and was very tempting! |
Mar 29 2013, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Mar 29 2013, 01:16 PM) Been heard alot that 508 is underpowered. I never tested drive that, cant comment much. I'm certain it's not underpowered. That Prince churns out 240nm/156hp on a similar kerb weight frame. It may not be the best sprinter,but has enough juice on tap!Since both 408 & 508 having the similar weight. How can it be? Any comment? This post has been edited by SKYjack: Mar 29 2013, 04:15 PM |
Mar 29 2013, 06:22 PM
Mar 29 2013, 06:37 PM
Mar 30 2013, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(Pug7980 @ Mar 30 2013, 07:20 AM) Hi guys. Thank you for sharing your experience. I just got my loan approved 2 days ago and will be settling dp next week. I can see mostly are good experience and some got problems, but i believe can be solved and mostly its already been solved. To be honest it really worries me knowing ahui's and matsu's ordeal. This is my first conti makes (although manuf in china assemble in gurun) being a loyal toyota & nissan user, i must keep in mind that this is the cost of owning contis. Looking forward getting my pug. My sa said it takes 2 weeks for the car to be ready. Is it true? So long la. cannot tahan la wei. Hehhe. Sorry for the long post. Have a nice weekend guys. Cheers! Congrats on your NA and welcome. Although ahui & matsu had problems,we must appreciate these problems were successfully solved by Peugeot Blue Box. This is very important if the 5 year warranty is of any value! Sometimes it has taken a little longer than one would have liked. But the end story is successful. This is what we as customers want! |
Mar 30 2013, 05:57 PM
Mar 31 2013, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(Termibait @ Mar 30 2013, 10:23 PM) Hi all 408t owners. Bro, IMO it is not an ECU problem. It is probably one or more sensor malfunction. The malfunction appears intermittent,which is a signal for an impending failure. It can fail anytime anywhere,and the ECU may stop functioning. Which means your engine shuts down and you'll probably not be able to start it. I have experienced yet another sudden loss of power while driving at 60-80kph near subang parade this afternoon. This incident is the 3rd time in 2months (if I remember correctly). Its only a split second before it resumes power. I am a little worried as tomorrow morning I will be driving to muar for "qingming". Hope my car wont halt hafl way or in the middle of nowhere in muar. I would like to inform peugeor carcare but I m not sure how should I relay this problem/incident correctly to them. Anybody could provude useful advice will be very much appreciated. Now clocking at 16k km. Checked my rear rotor disc plate and found a deep line in the middle. Gonna highlight to peugeot and hope to get a replacement for free. I beliwve this has nothing to do with my driving pattern. Hehe. I would rather have it fixed before a long journey. If you want to take the chance,you can always call up Peugeot careline. Only trouble is, alot of inconvenience. Day travel would be better! |
Apr 1 2013, 05:08 PM
Alignment, balancing, tire rotation are non warranty items. It is actually better to get any non warranty item work done outside. It's cheaper and better quality of work!
Apr 1 2013, 05:29 PM
Apr 1 2013, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(OrangBiasa @ Apr 1 2013, 07:09 PM) Like many of us here, this is my first conti car. So, I tend to follow 'wholeheartedly' recommendations from SC that I should only send to peugeot SC for any service, out of fear that normal workshop might not familiar with unique issues of this particular model. Will explore normal workshop next time for alignment n balancing This is very true and 5 year warranty is too much to loose. When in doubt,better to play it safe. I hope you have a pleasant experience with this conti. For me after many contis I don't think I'll ever buy a Jap box! This post has been edited by SKYjack: Apr 1 2013, 07:55 PM |
Apr 2 2013, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(sctang408T @ Apr 2 2013, 06:18 AM) Previously on my Honda City, my colleague said I drove like uncle but now on my 408T, they said I drive like youngster and scare to sit in my car. Hahaha. The 408T has change me and make me younger. Ture,ture. This Lion is so addictive that it easy to get carried away. |
Apr 4 2013, 07:26 PM
There appears to be some concern among our bros over the 408 manufactured in China. Nothing to worry as it is manufactured as per spec laid and controlled by principle. Even Ipad is manufactured in China,it's a runaway success!
I'm from the Aviation sector. Boeing and Airbus,the two mega giants in aviation are having parts manufactured in China. I can tell you,there are no failures from any China made parts which are fitted to these planes. So relax,it's a matter of outsourcing! |
Apr 5 2013, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Apr 5 2013, 07:49 AM) I really don't understand, this early morning a car blocking the fast lane of highway. Well, the speed limit is 90kph, it was driving at 110kph, but I was at 130kph. I beam beam beam yet it still don't wanna give way, I got the chance to overtake from the left lane, cut back to the right after overtaking. It highbeam me back? What the hell is the driver thinking? Hehehe..............he's upset with you for beaming and not following speed limit,but not realizing he himself is over speed limit! |
Apr 5 2013, 01:21 PM
Tremibait,on turbo loss,was there any message at the MFD.
| Change to: | 0.0621sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:11 AM |