Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread, Motion & Emotion

EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 4 2013, 03:42 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 4 2013, 03:15 PM)
You can draw your own conclusion. The best answer I can give you is that the criteria we use when it comes to buying cars is different.

In the end, VW is still outselling a lot of the other continental marques and giving them a good healthy profit margin. As a business, what more can you ask for?

Btw, all cars in Malaysia are overpriced sad.gif Hopefully the upcoming election will do something about that thumbup.gif
If I am VW, this is what I will say, VW is always at the forefront of introducing new and innovative/premium tech at more affordable price with our models, e.g. the 7 speed DSG, The TSI engine, etc...

While every efforts have been made to better control the quality and performance of these new technology while keeping it within reach of our owners, there are always constant resurfacing challenges in ensuring 100% reliability in view of rapid pace of such technology advancement.

How does that sounds? whistling.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 08:49 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 4 2013, 10:30 PM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AWTF-80_SC

there is a clutch and that's the jerk you're experiencing when slowing down and picking up speed
Yo bro how about the NA 4 speeder AT8, where can I find ANY write up?
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 08:54 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Mar 5 2013, 08:33 AM)
Hey, the Kia Picanto got a reliability index of 26%. Imagine that!  rclxm9.gif
I knew it. U 'll pop up sooner or later. Ya Kia as manufacturer is even one notch better than pug according to this source. But still behind the much loathed Toyota
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 11:35 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 5 2013, 11:14 AM)
Don't need to worry about this too much.

Since they take into account cost, of course more expensive cars will have a worse rating.
Cheaper smaller cars are likely to have a better rating.
Example, if you buy a Porsche you know maintenance is going to be higher than if you buy a KIA picanto.

A better comparison would be if they compared how much time was required to repair a car on average.
Time needed to repair (in days) is here too in the link , see http://www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer/AvgLabour

I have also sensed cheaper /smaller cars have better rating because having simpler/older or proven tech (manufactured at larger volume and automation/skills achieved to near perfection) sure more reliable.

But as a consumer, u can still compare the car by price level by selecting those cars in the same price range and click COMPARE.

Or by Size, either small compact to whatever size u fancy, just select the appropriate lists ,see http://www.reliabilityindex.com/ratings
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 01:32 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 5 2013, 01:22 PM)
he he he

anyway, the same gearbox is also install in newere volvo, ford and mazdas

not sure if we can borrow one and see if they behave the same too?
borrow? can I borrow ur 6 speeder and loan u my 4 speeder? drool.gif
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 01:57 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 5 2013, 01:38 PM)
Ah yes, that is much better. Toyota is quite bad.

Looking further into the data, there are more problems with it.
Average mileage and age of the cars can vary quite a bit.
For example, Daihatsu is best in time of the road but has the second lowest mileage at 34,041 km.
Highest mileage is Volvo with 59,218.
Yes, Warranty Direct admitted said that,

'Another thing to bear in mind when comparing vehicles is that a particular car's reliability score can be dependant on the average age and mileage of those particular cars we hold on file. Normally a newer model will have a lower Reliability Score than a 6 year old vehicle with 70,000 miles on the clock.'

So if u really want fair comparison, try looking at all thing with same aspects, not just price level, size but also age or mileage. That of course is harder to do because not all things are 100% similar, that is true even for prices.
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 02:23 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 5 2013, 02:21 PM)
maybe he's lying  icon_idea.gif
Fren lie to u, no fre-fren lor
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 04:14 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(danishfx @ Mar 5 2013, 04:12 PM)
bro 9.8k discount more than what i have..its superb!!
U guys are very lucky, when i bought my NA from CSL branch, all i was getting is the usual tinting discount voucher, a free smart tag, a tank full of petrol only.

That happened end Sep 2012
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 07:09 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(Rich_Lim @ Mar 5 2013, 05:37 PM)
I bought 308vti from the same SA so he earned me RM400 only he said  blush.gif

BTW, any of you guys interested in getting a customized shade for our car? Was told by the supplier if I can get up to 30 units, he will customize them for us, I'm lookin at price range of around 270-300 max; sample can be googled @ circus box  brows.gif

This is different from the supermart shade, front window is almost fully covered ( only left a small space for taking toll ticket if you're nt using smart tag) while the back is fully covered yet they are retrievable & best is JPJ LEGAL  icon_rolleyes.gif

Owning 408t for few days and I really need some shade eventhough window is tinted, every time hop in my car ill get my butt torch by the fine leather  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif
Count me in!

EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 07:10 PM

4,141 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Mar 5 2013, 07:22 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 07:10 PM

4,141 posts

Deleted for duplication

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Mar 5 2013, 07:12 PM
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 5 2013, 07:33 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 5 2013, 04:58 PM)
I got a keychain  vmad.gif

Had to pick this one as it had the highest trade in value.
I got the key chain after coming back for 2500 km inspection. Hahaha!

Trade in value for mine is disappointing though.
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 6 2013, 09:27 AM

4,141 posts

Hahaha. called Peugeot Assist n waiting for tow. Got down at Jln Imbi KL for b/fast parking next to Honda showroom and when came back to the car, when turn ignition, lights go blink blink, wipers go swings swings but car won't start. So called Pug Assist n waiting at the roadside for my lion to be towed away. The time now is 9:26 AM car broke down at around 8:50 AM. Tune in for more updates....the unexpected adventure has just begun....
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 6 2013, 09:38 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Mar 6 2013, 09:32 AM)
poor guy  rclxub.gif

any idea if the problem is related to battery or something else?  sweat.gif
Dunno, just did the first 10k km service last month 15th Feb. I hope it is JUST the battery....sincerely I do. Still waiting for tow truck....
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 6 2013, 09:46 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 6 2013, 09:42 AM)
I'm confused. Are you waiting on the tow truck for your car now or is someone else's car waiting for a tow truck?
My car lah my 408 NA lah, like that Alanis Morrisett's song, "Isn't it ironic?!"

EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 6 2013, 10:03 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Mar 6 2013, 09:49 AM)
Not a position I like to be in. Sincerely hope everything goes well for you. On the bright side, you can screw them nicely into giving you a discount voucher for the next service. And if it's serious, make sure they damn well give you a courtesy car for your troubles.
Like the bit that say on the brighter side...

EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 6 2013, 12:14 PM

4,141 posts

Chronological sequence of event

report breakdwon at careline at 8:50, the careline guy (Patrick), said he will check with nearest SC @CSL/Sg Besi to see if a technician can come to me and do the fixing there at the roadside and if none available, than towing service will be 'activated', he needs 10 minutes top to call me back

he called back in about 5 minutes saying unfortunately no technician is available to come to my aid at the roadside, so car needs to be towed, and he now will call tow service and saying it will needs at least 30 minutes to reach me.

Tow truck guy call me at 9:05 AM asking the precise location, landmark and saying he is on his way

Careline call me and ask if tow truck guy cintacted me, I said yes, (the same Patrick), Patrick said he will call him agin and follow up and let me know estimated time of reaching me

I call tow truck guy, asking where he is at 10 AM, he said stuck at Jln Tun Razak.

10:30 tow truck reach me, and car towed away.

Reach office at about 10:55 , Careline called at 11:10 AM asking has my car been towed away.

I call the SC to ask if car already arrived and the service advisor said yes, so described the problem , and he said blink blink and wiper snail pace swings swings is most likely battery problem.

They will take out the battery and check the health (mentioned 2-3 hour charging as a SOP/Std Operation Procedure) and promised to call me back this afternoon from 2 to 3 PM . He assured me they will replace the battery if the battery health is gone, and that will be under warranty.

So now just wait

(side story: just as i was waiting near the Honda Showroom, my peugeot Sales Agent greeted me Hello, I was surpised and more surpised that now e wears Honda Uniform, He told me he just left CSL Peugeot and joined Honda Jln Imbi since 1st March, much a freaking small world,

I asked him why he left Peugeot, he said he has disagreement with the sales commission/incentive that changes often. AND , confess Peugeot/Nasim is not agressive enought in giving goodies,etc.

He asked me to wait at Honda showroom, and i took his invite while checking out the new CRV with him telling a bit more a bout it with brochure handed to me.

When tow truck came, he even offer to drive away his colleague car to make the tow truck able to load up my car.

He then offered to give me give me a lift back to my office since he is heading to a roadshow.

I took his offer. so here I am back in the office

EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 6 2013, 06:27 PM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(akimzz @ Mar 6 2013, 05:31 PM)
Any news from EnergyAnalyst?
Car needed to spend a night at the SC, SA said need to test further to ensure no failure, will mostly only able to get the car back tomorrow
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 7 2013, 11:06 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 7 2013, 10:18 AM)
The other day my car couldn't start.

Immediately suspected battery, there was not even enough power left to lock the car. At some point I did manage to unlock the booth.
Lucky it happened at home.

Anyway, car got towed to nearest service centre, battery was replaced within a day.
Hi Prody,

Mind sharing what is the mileage /time length of owneship when that happened? first time bat need change?

I was told my 2.0 NA is ready to be collected, with bat changed and installed, all system tested. Nego with the service manager who promise me to give RM50 discount for labour service for next 20k km service (but no black n white voucher, just recorded somewhere ,in their sytem perhaps?

Ground for asking:

Car bought end Sep 2012 (just over 5 months), mileage just over 10,000 km (service 10k km just 3 weeks back), so how can they missed it in the 1ok km service if the bat health was weak.

Need to take cab to collect car (no complimentary pick up from office to SC)

Yours also NA, I would not expect this to happen to NA, as battery drainage /lifespan should hold better compare to Turbo

The Serv Manager said, what is replaced is a newer version better battery, I will see it to believe it when I am there to collect my car after lunch
EnergyAnalyst
post Mar 7 2013, 11:26 AM

4,141 posts

QUOTE(net_mave @ Mar 7 2013, 11:21 AM)
According to the technician, it was due to the batch of battery used in our car (Yokohama). They have changed it to Delco battery where they claimed much better and no complain so far.
Great stuff!, I will later check if 'Move over Yoko, here comes Delco' is the same method applied in my case

17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:08 PM