Streamyx streamyx 8mbps club V1, double the speed double the fun

blacktubi
post Aug 21 2016, 03:44 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(thomas1983 @ Aug 21 2016, 11:50 AM)
Hi guys,
I am using Streamyx 8mbps with TM dlink 2730e or the riger that TM provided

But the connection will hang or drop On this two modem router...

Any suggestion for the best modem router for Streamyx 8mbps as I am tired with this kind of connection

Appreciate for the help wink.gif
Nowadays, modems are pretty much the same. You will have better luck by putting effort to fix the cable, connectors and terminals.
blacktubi
post Aug 21 2016, 06:21 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(thomas1983 @ Aug 21 2016, 05:12 PM)
Cables,connectors and terminals which means?
Sorry I am noob in this networking stuff
The telephone cable.
blacktubi
post Aug 26 2016, 08:56 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Aug 26 2016, 07:13 PM)
8mbps user reporting in...upgraded from 4mbps.

The Hypp TV STB died after a few day's light usage. TM replaced it promptly. After a delay because their system didn't have the new STB's MAC in it, iptv is working again.

Does anyone know if it's possible to attach a USB keyboard to the USB port of the EC6108V8 STB?
Yes, both are possible.

Are you still on contract? My HyppTV box is a bit wonky recently. I am still using the oldest generation one.
blacktubi
post Sep 10 2016, 01:57 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(arava @ Sep 9 2016, 11:24 PM)
I upgraded recently to 8MBps , however, I noticed the wireless connection is not stable and can be slow. I'm still using an old wireless modem router Linksys WAG200G , could this be an issue
You definitely should upgrade. sweat.gif
That router is like Wireless G only.
blacktubi
post Dec 1 2016, 08:18 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 1 2016, 02:10 PM)
hi guys

can you get consistent high speed (6 to 8 mbps) with 8mb package?
Full speed all the time
blacktubi
post Jan 12 2017, 11:36 AM

-
8,413 posts

Anyone already on the 15Mbps trial?

I used to be one of the earliest users on 8Mbps but I wasn't getting any invite this time.
blacktubi
post Jan 12 2017, 02:19 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(zeronehza @ Jan 12 2017, 02:04 PM)
how to get invite ?
It's selected randomly by TM. I not sure if they are having the same program this time.
blacktubi
post Jan 16 2017, 11:39 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Jan 16 2017, 10:47 AM)
I don't see any TM cabling upgrade in my kampung area. There were however about a year a go they laid black cable with yellow strip linking to the cabinet, but what I see it is more to state to state network but not servicing into local residents, apa lagi area kampung.

So unifi is more to nowhere here, vdsl or whatever related to it is still unclear.
Probably fibre to the cabinet and last mile is delivered via conventional copper.

They have been doing this for quite some time.
blacktubi
post Jan 16 2017, 01:52 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Jan 16 2017, 12:44 PM)
mat cangkul will destroy the fiber if laid in kampung housing area.

"pakcik nak tanam kangkung; mana tahu nak tercangkul wayar internet satu kampung."
In this case they probably utilise the conventional overhead telephone pole. No chance for Mat Cangkul. biggrin.gif
blacktubi
post Jan 25 2017, 09:50 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(GameSky @ Jan 25 2017, 02:22 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4024893

Do it guys, like how /k did it on maxis
TM is no Maxis. As if you have any other alternative to TM. laugh.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 2 2017, 09:49 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(PeinEVO @ Feb 2 2017, 01:46 PM)
Guys do u use the normal router given to installation or have bought a new router? Sometimes i cant even get youtube hd.. sometimes even medium is buffering.. gaming is no problem though for me.. located at gambang pahang.. and if u using different router what is a cheap recommendation?
The problem is on 8Mbps when there is something else using the internet then it slows down significantly unlike Unifi 30Mbps.
blacktubi
post Feb 7 2017, 06:40 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Feb 7 2017, 03:48 PM)
Found this stuck to my gate earlier today....looks like TM is offering SDSL in my area. Anyone used SDSL before? (upload speed = download speed).

It says Unifi and I assume your house is landed and the last mile should be via fibre. Could it be the long rumored VDSL vectoring? hmm.gif
blacktubi
post Feb 8 2017, 12:13 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Feb 7 2017, 06:51 PM)
Yes it's landed, and I really really have no idea how the last mile is done bro. The only fiber involved in my life is the kind which makes it easy and fast in the washroom biggrin.gif
Maybe apply and see. You could be one of the earliest users of VDSL2 for landed.
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2017, 01:44 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(rhytion @ Feb 11 2017, 10:36 AM)
I don't know what exactly happened, but after I connected my telephone line to my old Riger modem and then reconnect it to my current TP-Link Modem, the max rate and SNR margin went up quite a lot. Anyone has an idea on what's happening?

Loose connection. laugh.gif

Anyway you are running on Annex M which is not everyone able to enjoy.
blacktubi
post Feb 11 2017, 01:58 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Feb 11 2017, 12:13 PM)
From my observations...

Port speeds are set at:
1024 = 1280
2048 = 2560
4096 = 5120
8192 = 10240

It is based on 1.25 times.

The modem status page sometimes shows rates that are slightly less by 1 to 4 bits. For example:
5120 could be shown as 5119 - 5116.
10240 could be shown as 10239 - 10236.

Long time ago 1024 was set at 1024 which means you get about 0.8Mbps speedtest. Later port speeds were set higher to get about 1.0Mbps speedtest results to match package subscription speed.

Some 1024 were also set at 1536 (1.5 times) which results in about 1.2Mbps speeds.

For 512 uploads, the port is mostly set at 512 itself (511 - 508). This results in about 0.42Mbps speedtest. However, there are some cases where it is set at 640 (639 - 636) which again is 1.25 times. This results in about 0.52Mbps which is the more accurate setting for the subscribed 512 upload package.
ADSL efficiency is around 85%. This is why TM only guarantee 80% of the subscribed speed.

In fact, most ISP oversea cap their users at the advertised rate. It depends on your luck. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 6 2017, 10:19 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(alif1994 @ Mar 6 2017, 08:41 PM)
Hi guys, I'm using 8Mbps package and suddenly 2 days ago my speed never go above 4Mbps.

This is my stats. Am I being capped or something?

Poor connection. Check your telephone connection and your ADSL splitter.
blacktubi
post Mar 10 2017, 10:30 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(($) @ Mar 9 2017, 10:29 PM)
I would like to hear some feedback from you guys here. I was being told by a TM contractor who came to my house for service recently saying that the 8mbps plan offered by TM is actually another scam deal. Because he said there is no way we could really get that full 8mbps bandwidth with a copper line, even be within 5km of the supporting Streamyx TM exchange point. Is this true?
My connection is around 2KM to the nearest exchange.

Old high rise Unifi connections are actually run on copper as well and they support speed up to 100Mbps. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 10 2017, 02:37 PM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(zeronehza @ Mar 10 2017, 12:22 PM)
nice ping for streamyx.. envy you.. mine around 50+
Maybe it is due to I stay nearer to the cabinet. My ADSL stats are pretty nice too.

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Mar 10 2017, 12:46 PM)
No scam...but I have a crappy ping time today.

Not to say yr installer is totally wrong too. When streamyx 4mbps was first offered in my town, TM point staff told me that I couldn't upgrade from 1mbps to 4mbps because my address was over 5km between 2 exchanges. FML!

Fast forward a few years. A TM technician told me they were installing "boosters" to my area. I dunno what that "booster" is, but about 2 months later I could upgrade to 4mbps on the Blockbuster package and life was better.

Fast forward 4+ more years. TM installed new grey cabinets, changed wooden telephone poles to cement, replaced the copper wiring and I was offered 8mbps for RM160 nett (GST had yet to be introduced). I didn't bite. Fast forward a few more years, price dropped to RM140 + GST for 8mbps and I subscribed to 8mbps in Aug 2016. Then TM added those black and yellow cables to my area. I was offered 5mbps with free upgrade to 10mbps, and recently offered unifi 30mbps. Am not biting.
Almost the same case as me apart from the black and yellow cables. They somehow missed my row. The row next to me got offered Unifi. vmad.gif

Booster basically is another cabinet nearer to you. smile.gif

QUOTE(($) @ Mar 10 2017, 12:49 PM)
How to know how far is my actual connection between the nearest TM exchange point? confused.gif

Here's my SpeedTest result:

Just look around for a boxy cabinet labeled TM or ask the technician. smile.gif
blacktubi
post Mar 11 2017, 12:26 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Mar 10 2017, 11:47 PM)
bad vip10 unifi lite
i need fiber

sad my area no fiber i still use 4mbps max no support 8mbps
i need 100mbps imported
I actually contacted TM and they want RM5K to pull Fiber to my place.
blacktubi
post Mar 11 2017, 10:38 AM

-
8,413 posts

QUOTE(Eralus @ Mar 11 2017, 01:16 AM)
Willing to pay 10k if they can pull fiber to my house

I need 100mbps
Contact them, they are more than willing to do your business.

QUOTE(pakji @ Mar 11 2017, 03:42 AM)
i did ask tm they keep say not available my place
never ask about pay like rm5k you told to pull fiber to my area
Tell them you are willing to pay for a direct fiber installation.

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0523sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:12 AM