It was my last symbian phone back in 2013. Great camera but low resolution and small screen.
Nokia pureview 808, Bye, nerd and antisocial life
Dec 8 2015, 01:36 AM
151 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
It was my last symbian phone back in 2013. Great camera but low resolution and small screen.
Dec 18 2015, 12:52 AM
136 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Just got it from ebay. Unable to update belle fp2 thus cannot flash delight 1.5. Its camera is very good, color is accurate. When i use it to take photo, it give me a feel as a proper camera but not a phone.
Dec 18 2015, 01:11 AM
4,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(zaxkong @ Dec 18 2015, 12:52 AM) Just got it from ebay. Unable to update belle fp2 thus cannot flash delight 1.5. Its camera is very good, color is accurate. When i use it to take photo, it give me a feel as a proper camera but not a phone. Missed this phone. Had it 2 years ago. The camera performance was well ahead of its time. If you notice, the lense bokeh is very smooth and has some slight vignetting! |
Dec 18 2015, 01:29 PM
Some photos by nokia 808. Unable to upload here, so use a dropbox instead. Chance of defocus is quite high in 34mp mode, color is accurate, not sharp and quite a lot of noise.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/z6nzn1f71czh4sn/...b9_qo4qmXa?dl=0 |
Dec 18 2015, 03:02 PM
490 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(zaxkong @ Dec 18 2015, 01:29 PM) Some photos by nokia 808. Unable to upload here, so use a dropbox instead. Chance of defocus is quite high in 34mp mode, color is accurate, not sharp and quite a lot of noise. When you uses full resolution either 34MP or 38MP, pixel binding a.k.a. super sampling (to reduce noise) is no longer at work. From your 808 photo, the photo tends to have slight red cast (which is normal for 808, by the way, Nokia was never good at white balance, i guess LOL) If you would like to have sharp image and less noise, use the default 5MP output, you can adjust the sharpness slider to suit your preferences at creative mode^^https://www.dropbox.com/sh/z6nzn1f71czh4sn/...b9_qo4qmXa?dl=0 Reason of less sharpness and more noise behind 34MP/38MP? we are looking a photo a size of a poster, try looking close to a printed poster, you will start seeing pixels. Almost 3 years the 808 is with me, even now i have the Lumia 930, i still find 808's image quality is one of the best i seen in mobile phone Lastly, hope you enjoy your 808, is a rare gem now |
Dec 18 2015, 05:08 PM
Do you still using 808 now? I found that its fw update, maps, dictionary all expired, no longer can update. Also I cannot flash delight 1.5. Need sifu on that.
Dec 19 2015, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(zaxkong @ Dec 18 2015, 05:08 PM) Do you still using 808 now? I found that its fw update, maps, dictionary all expired, no longer can update. Also I cannot flash delight 1.5. Need sifu on that. Sorry for late reply, for those updates (especially Maps) , you might need to get your OS to belle FP2 first, unfortunately I'm running on stock Belle FP2 and ain't a fan of custom roms.Hopefully other sifu can help you in this matter |
Dec 23 2015, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Dec 19 2015, 09:50 AM) Sorry for late reply, for those updates (especially Maps) , you might need to get your OS to belle FP2 first, unfortunately I'm running on stock Belle FP2 and ain't a fan of custom roms. I wish I could download maps also, now its maps is like useless and cannot uninstall. Anyway, added more photo into the dropbox link. 10MB is too big for lowyat.net, even use pc cannot upload.Hopefully other sifu can help you in this matter |
Dec 24 2015, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(zaxkong @ Dec 23 2015, 08:57 AM) I wish I could download maps also, now its maps is like useless and cannot uninstall. Anyway, added more photo into the dropbox link. 10MB is too big for lowyat.net, even use pc cannot upload. even if u can dump in the original resolution file, the file size are too big for us to open while we are on mobile (not all of us are always on PC, or fast internet connection), it is best that you create a flickr account, not just u can retain original file (for those interested then they will click and see) but also different resolution size of the photo for easy sharing (best shared using 800 or 1024 in lowyat forum)Are you using ur 808 as a primary phone? if not, better don't have high hopes on the 808's Nokia Map, although the map database has been updated this year (finally) but without monthly update basis, the road will no longer be accurate, if you are on android/IOS, HERE MAPS are better option for offline navigation (with regular bug fix and update) |
Dec 28 2015, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Dec 24 2015, 10:49 PM) even if u can dump in the original resolution file, the file size are too big for us to open while we are on mobile (not all of us are always on PC, or fast internet connection), it is best that you create a flickr account, not just u can retain original file (for those interested then they will click and see) but also different resolution size of the photo for easy sharing (best shared using 800 or 1024 in lowyat forum) I am using 808 as call and sms phone, android phablet for browsing, entertainment etc because of big screen. Just downloaded maps data through nokia suite, seem like the phone cannot update is because of software version. Will try to flash it to fp2 then to delight.Are you using ur 808 as a primary phone? if not, better don't have high hopes on the 808's Nokia Map, although the map database has been updated this year (finally) but without monthly update basis, the road will no longer be accurate, if you are on android/IOS, HERE MAPS are better option for offline navigation (with regular bug fix and update) I will also register a flickr account for photo sharing. Btw, your photo by 808 is nice. It is a good camera phone that easy to carry around. |
Dec 30 2015, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(zaxkong @ Dec 28 2015, 11:43 PM) I am using 808 as call and sms phone, android phablet for browsing, entertainment etc because of big screen. Just downloaded maps data through nokia suite, seem like the phone cannot update is because of software version. Will try to flash it to fp2 then to delight. Thanks^^ but due to the modern standard of mobilephotography, most of the time have to photoshop abit to balance out the overall dynamic range due to the 808's f /2.4 lens.I will also register a flickr account for photo sharing. Btw, your photo by 808 is nice. It is a good camera phone that easy to carry around. Just found out someone have just done custom firmware to his 808 dated Jun 22 2015, perhaps you can send your enquiries to him, good luck! https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=75017769 |
Feb 8 2016, 02:01 AM
Mar 4 2016, 10:37 AM
99 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Mar 4 2016, 11:42 AM
Mar 4 2016, 11:46 AM
Mar 4 2016, 12:42 PM
I am not really sure about the last ori update (i flash from stock to delight). But i think without delight, 808 don't even has torch light function and cannot view the information of a photo.
QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Mar 4 2016, 11:46 AM) |
Mar 4 2016, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(zaxkong @ Mar 4 2016, 12:42 PM) I am not really sure about the last ori update (i flash from stock to delight). But i think without delight, 808 don't even has torch light function and cannot view the information of a photo. Stock rom has torch light function, u need to add from widget.U can view photo info by pressing at the "5.3 MP" (depending on your photo size) at the center top of the photo. The latest firmware version is 113.010.1508 which released around end of 2012. |
Mar 5 2016, 07:39 AM
QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Mar 4 2016, 01:38 PM) Stock rom has torch light function, u need to add from widget. So far delight is smooth and ok to me. Just last time my friend call in two times and it jammed.U can view photo info by pressing at the "5.3 MP" (depending on your photo size) at the center top of the photo. The latest firmware version is 113.010.1508 which released around end of 2012. |
Mar 10 2016, 06:11 AM
Mar 10 2016, 09:13 AM