Nokia pureview 808, Bye, nerd and antisocial life

zaxkong
post Dec 18 2015, 12:52 AM

136 posts

Just got it from ebay. Unable to update belle fp2 thus cannot flash delight 1.5. Its camera is very good, color is accurate. When i use it to take photo, it give me a feel as a proper camera but not a phone.
zaxkong
post Dec 18 2015, 01:29 PM

136 posts

Some photos by nokia 808. Unable to upload here, so use a dropbox instead. Chance of defocus is quite high in 34mp mode, color is accurate, not sharp and quite a lot of noise.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/z6nzn1f71czh4sn/...b9_qo4qmXa?dl=0
zaxkong
post Dec 18 2015, 05:08 PM

136 posts

Do you still using 808 now? I found that its fw update, maps, dictionary all expired, no longer can update. Also I cannot flash delight 1.5. Need sifu on that.
zaxkong
post Dec 23 2015, 08:57 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Dec 19 2015, 09:50 AM)
Sorry for late reply, for those updates (especially Maps) , you might need to get your OS to belle FP2 first, unfortunately I'm running on stock Belle FP2 and ain't a fan of custom roms.

Hopefully other sifu can help you in this matter  icon_question.gif
I wish I could download maps also, now its maps is like useless and cannot uninstall. Anyway, added more photo into the dropbox link. 10MB is too big for lowyat.net, even use pc cannot upload.
zaxkong
post Dec 28 2015, 11:43 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Dec 24 2015, 10:49 PM)
even if u can dump in the original resolution file, the file size are too big for us to open while we are on mobile (not all of us are always on PC, or fast internet connection), it is best that you create a flickr account, not just u can retain original file (for those interested then they will click and see) but also different resolution size of the photo for easy sharing (best shared using 800 or 1024 in lowyat forum)

Are you using ur 808 as a primary phone? if not, better don't have high hopes on the 808's Nokia Map, although the map database has been updated this year (finally) but without monthly update basis, the road will no longer be accurate, if you are on android/IOS, HERE MAPS are better option for offline navigation (with regular bug fix and update)
I am using 808 as call and sms phone, android phablet for browsing, entertainment etc because of big screen. Just downloaded maps data through nokia suite, seem like the phone cannot update is because of software version. Will try to flash it to fp2 then to delight.

I will also register a flickr account for photo sharing. tongue.gif
Btw, your photo by 808 is nice. It is a good camera phone that easy to carry around.
zaxkong
post Feb 8 2016, 02:01 AM

136 posts

Happy chinese new year. biggrin.gif

zaxkong
post Mar 4 2016, 11:42 AM

136 posts

Hi, thanks for the help but I had successfully flash it to delight and updated the apps. Do you think ori rom better?

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Mar 4 2016, 10:37 AM)
I've flash my 808 to Delight and back to ori SEA rom. Do you still need the guide?
zaxkong
post Mar 4 2016, 12:42 PM

136 posts

I am not really sure about the last ori update (i flash from stock to delight). But i think without delight, 808 don't even has torch light function and cannot view the information of a photo.

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Mar 4 2016, 11:46 AM)
Yes, ori rom more stable, i prefer stability. So, do you like delight rom?
zaxkong
post Mar 5 2016, 07:39 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(allanlee89 @ Mar 4 2016, 01:38 PM)
Stock rom has torch light function, u need to add from widget.
U can view photo info by pressing at the "5.3 MP" (depending on your photo size) at the center top of the photo.
The latest firmware version is 113.010.1508 which released around end of 2012.
So far delight is smooth and ok to me. Just last time my friend call in two times and it jammed.
zaxkong
post Mar 10 2016, 06:11 AM

136 posts

Random spam

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
zaxkong
post Mar 10 2016, 01:10 PM

136 posts

Yes, all taken with 808 and no post editing. 808 is not so good in close up shot, it need a minimum of 20cm so that the object will be in focus (get more close with loseless zoom, but limited to max 8mp).

When it compare to lastest smartphone, smartphone now can have really short distance macro shot. So in term of bokeh, short distance (of smartphone) and big sensor (of 808) yield quite similar bokeh. But I will still say the winner is 808 because not all object we will get close to it, like moving child and some small animal (lipas, cicak). And last point is 808 is good at its natural color, samsung one is not bad but when compare to 808 will find it is a bit cold.

QUOTE(H A Z A R D 7 7 @ Mar 10 2016, 09:13 AM)
Use phone to capture? Nice leh

zaxkong
post Mar 16 2016, 09:57 AM

136 posts

Wow, the dragonfly one is nice. How you measure its distance? Or just shoot from far away (as insect will fly away)? For stationary object like flower i measure 20cm with a "rock" hand sign (thumb to small finger around 20cm).

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Mar 15 2016, 02:12 PM)
It is true that 808 was never meant for close macro shot, but the image details and quality from 808 remains a gold standard to all smartphones until now(others usually over processed the image, saturated and sharpens alot)

no edit

A sample of what can you do with 34MP/38MP for macro:
Default distance, no edit

Cropped from the above image to FULLHD format

Hopefully those who still owns the 808 will continues to enjoy quality clicks from it^^
zaxkong
post Mar 16 2016, 10:55 AM

136 posts

Korean doll

zaxkong
post Mar 16 2016, 11:58 AM

136 posts

New skill get. v(happy.gif) Thanks
QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Mar 16 2016, 11:29 AM)
This might take a while to master,  but i try to make it simple, by now u should know the autofcus for 808 is not that great,  so,  for dragonfly scene,  i prefocused to my hand,  then, using ur phone's screen (808 stil the king of under sunlight since 2012 lol) correct ur distance (move forward or backwards) until u feel ur image is sharp on ur screen, then click it. Its not 100% successful rate, but when u nailed the shot, u will have the same results as mine≧∇≦ have fun ~
zaxkong
post Mar 22 2016, 06:52 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(Jokersson @ Mar 21 2016, 10:22 PM)
Since the 808 is pretty much dead as a smartphone, wondering whether the camera and picture quality can rival any point and shoot for the same price (RM800).
Actually I am quite new to nokia 808, I only owned it since Nov 2015 (brought from ebay at a price of $119.99, converted and include shipping 600+). So i compare it to camera ranged rm600+-.

For a p&s camera at rm600 wont has a chance to set the shutter speed and iso etc, so in camera function and feature, I still support 808. I believe that the image quality of nokia 808 can easily beat out those 1/2.3" compact cam, with default 26/28mm focal length. And even in video I also believe 808 is better as it has led light for video.

The image quality of 808 can be compare with a rx100 (rm1k+-) and won't lose much in every aspect. And the main reason I choose 808 is for its portability, which has a compact camera (rx100 also a compact cam) image quality in your pocket. If you can find a used or new one at 500+-, just go for it. It will not fail you, I strongly suggest it as I also start from p&s -> rx100 -> mirrorless -> 808.

Ps: The photos I attached is by 808 during CNY, handheld (no tripod), no post editing.

This post has been edited by zaxkong: Mar 22 2016, 06:55 PM

zaxkong
post Mar 24 2016, 01:04 PM

136 posts

Yerp, 1/8s, but for a smartphone to capture a firework I think is pretty amazing. And the photo I attach is taken from sunway Uni, handheld 2.7s. 808 lack an ois, which is very hard to get a steady 2.7s shot (I wont say impossible later got ppl can do it tongue.gif)

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Mar 24 2016, 12:14 PM)
handshaked detected, but understandable^^ try to lean on something to steady your shots ( if u are not using a tripod, and i assume the shutter speed is around 1sec?)

below are 2 examples of handheld 2.7sec max long shutter for 808, if you are able to find place to rest ur hand:

slightly handshake at this one though lol

No edit, stock.

zaxkong
post Apr 7 2016, 01:59 PM

136 posts

Grasshopper

zaxkong
post Apr 12 2016, 12:09 PM

136 posts

From nokia 808 without edit

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

0.0317sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:05 AM