fruitie
post May 15 2013, 12:30 PM

Rise and Shine
72,840 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ May 15 2013, 11:44 AM)
What modem you use.

I also have the similar speed BUT i live in Seremban.

The weird thing is when download using IDM, i got transfer rate ~2xxkbps and streaming also have no problem.

I guess, we can't 100% rely on speedtest, right?

By the way, i'm using Huawei E173 modem.

Just ordered E398 from blacktubi. Can't wait. biggrin.gif

Really jealous with digilife speed. drool.gif

My sister's house in Rasah Kemayan, near to Sri Carcosa Seremban can easily get 8Mbps and above but somehow the speed seems to have deteriorated over the months.
digilife
post May 15 2013, 01:31 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 15 2013, 11:23 AM)
my speed last night using laptop directly just right outside my house:

but after manage to flash ROOter to MR3040 and connect using the router in my house( which is not even 3 meters away from the place i get the previous speed ) I only get roughly 6-10Mbps, and 10Mbps being rather rare..

is it possibly because my router provides lower power to the modem hence not that strong signal?
Can i knoe your location ?

From what i see, you are using a LTE modem and a direct plug in gives you maximum speed based on your cell capability.

When you use the modem on a router , the slower speed could be due to the router's FW which have QoS restriction.

I was told certain fw use PPP protocol to dial in and it restricts your connection to a max of 25Mbps only.

Another reason is that signal interference from the router's component affect the modem's performance and power source is another factor which will affect the speed too........

QUOTE(splee8868 @ May 15 2013, 12:06 PM)
which rooter FW u guy using for 1043ND? mind to shared the link?
ROOter fw

Read carefully the instructions b4 doing any flashing and download your correct FW version only.

1043ND on Huntsman 2013-05-12b rocks mama thumbup.gif

BBXiong
post May 15 2013, 02:09 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 15 2013, 01:31 PM)
Can i knoe your location ?

From what i see, you are using a LTE modem and a direct plug in gives you maximum speed based on your cell capability.

When you use the modem on a router , the slower speed could be due to the router's FW which have QoS restriction.

I was told certain fw use PPP protocol  to dial in and it restricts your connection to a max of 25Mbps only.

Another reason is that signal interference from the router's component affect the modem's performance and power source is another factor which will affect the speed too........
ROOter fw

Read carefully the instructions b4 doing any flashing and download your correct FW version only.

1043ND on Huntsman 2013-05-12b rocks mama  thumbup.gif
I'm at Sunway, specifically nearby taylors college lakeside. Do u know if they have a tower there? if they have, I can very much face my modem there to get higher signal. Averagely indoor i'm getting 50% signal.

I've tested now in my office, Bandar Utama, direct plug in I'm getting 17Mbps, with router I'm just getting around 12Mbps, I can pretty much suspect it's the router.

I'm using TP-Link MR3040, flashed to OpenWRT ROOter firmware, that seems to have build specifically to unleash the full power of LTE modems instead of having the 25Mbps cap. Is is possible also due to the lower power being supplied into my modem when I plug into the router? Or is there somewhere in the QoS setting that I can adjust to improve that?
apersaje
post May 15 2013, 02:09 PM

116 posts

xphr3ak I used an E398 connected to my PC directly.
digilife
post May 15 2013, 02:37 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 15 2013, 02:09 PM)
I'm at Sunway, specifically nearby taylors college lakeside. Do u know if they have a tower there? if they have, I can very much face my modem there to get higher signal. Averagely indoor i'm getting 50% signal.

I've tested now in my office, Bandar Utama, direct plug in I'm getting 17Mbps, with router I'm just getting around 12Mbps, I can pretty much suspect it's the router.

I'm using TP-Link MR3040, flashed to OpenWRT ROOter firmware, that seems to have build specifically to unleash the full power of LTE modems instead of having the 25Mbps cap. Is is possible also due to the lower power being supplied into my modem when I plug into the router?  Or is there somewhere in the QoS setting that I can adjust to improve that?
What modem are you using ?

You are on LTE now rite ?

If i were you, buy a 1043ND, flash it to Huntsman 12b, you would be amazed
BBXiong
post May 15 2013, 03:26 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 15 2013, 02:37 PM)
What modem are you using ?

You are on LTE now rite ?

If i were you, buy a 1043ND, flash it to Huntsman 12b, you would be amazed
E398 right now, and yeap, using LTE, the thing is dunno how to get better signal with it, I already supercharged it but still just getting constant ~50% signal strength.. tonight need to find feng shui spot in my house liao biggrin.gif

I'm using MR3040 and right now using Huntsman 12b also wor, haha

This post has been edited by BBXiong: May 15 2013, 03:27 PM
xphr3ak
post May 15 2013, 04:10 PM

1,797 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 15 2013, 12:30 PM)
My sister's house in Rasah Kemayan, near to Sri Carcosa Seremban can easily get 8Mbps and above but somehow the speed seems to have deteriorated over the months.
Same lar...
Before i can get ~4-6mbps constantly.
Now, cry.gif

Hopefully, E398 will give some improvement.

This post has been edited by xphr3ak: May 15 2013, 04:11 PM
fruitie
post May 15 2013, 04:51 PM

Rise and Shine
72,840 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ May 15 2013, 04:10 PM)
Same lar...
Before i can get ~4-6mbps constantly.
Now,  cry.gif

Hopefully, E398 will give some improvement.
But mine is still 8Mbps, last time can get around 10Mbps.
malaysianbest
post May 15 2013, 04:57 PM

114 posts

Miss Fruitie, How fast is your Maxis LTE now ?
fruitie
post May 15 2013, 05:25 PM

Rise and Shine
72,840 posts

QUOTE(malaysianbest @ May 15 2013, 04:57 PM)
Miss Fruitie, How fast is your Maxis LTE now ?
I have two connections with LTE. tongue.gif
One is still at the normal 40-50Mbps.
The other one is capped at 22Mbps because I think exceeded the cap. tongue.gif
I'm now waiting for 17th, my bill will be refreshed on that day. laugh.gif
BBXiong
post May 15 2013, 05:29 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 15 2013, 05:25 PM)
I have two connections with LTE. tongue.gif
One is still at the normal 40-50Mbps.
The other one is capped at 22Mbps because I think exceeded the cap. tongue.gif
I'm now waiting for 17th, my bill will be refreshed on that day. laugh.gif
Ms Fruitie lives at which area, speed so nice one? I hope to get that speed in my area too drool.gif
STEVE75
post May 15 2013, 05:30 PM

440 posts

the 1st one is for what plan?

the 2nd one is for what plan?
fruitie
post May 15 2013, 05:32 PM

Rise and Shine
72,840 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 15 2013, 05:29 PM)
Ms Fruitie lives at which area, speed so nice one? I hope to get that speed in my area too  drool.gif
Seapark, PJ. smile.gif
digilife
post May 15 2013, 05:38 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 15 2013, 03:26 PM)
E398 right now, and yeap, using LTE, the thing is dunno how to get better signal with it, I already supercharged it but still just getting constant ~50% signal strength.. tonight need to find feng shui spot in my house liao biggrin.gif

I'm using MR3040 and right now using Huntsman 12b also wor, haha
Are you a fan of Fear Factor, if yes ~

Get a 1043ND and flash it to HM12b

Use a 2.A power adaptor if you dare

Connect via Cat6E Lan cable only, disable WiFi on router .

Tell us the result

brows.gif

This post has been edited by digilife: May 15 2013, 05:39 PM
BBXiong
post May 15 2013, 05:46 PM

CFX
6,317 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 15 2013, 05:38 PM)
Are you a fan of Fear Factor, if yes ~

Get a 1043ND and flash it to HM12b

Use a 2.A power adaptor if you dare

Connect via Cat6E Lan cable only, disable WiFi on router .

Tell us the result

brows.gif
2.0A? just so nice that I have one at home biggrin.gif

actually, based on my knowledge on power, as long as it stays 5V, it's save, higher A only provides higher current flow, for phone batteries, it charges faster, for routers, I'm not sure what's the effect, but I think it should be safe.

Imma try it tonight la, if successful getting stable speed with nice signal, I can dump unifi with no regret ( yet ) liao
digilife
post May 15 2013, 06:08 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ May 15 2013, 05:46 PM)
2.0A? just so nice that I have one at home biggrin.gif

actually, based on my knowledge on power, as long as it stays 5V, it's save, higher A only provides higher current flow, for phone batteries, it charges faster, for routers, I'm not sure what's the effect, but I think it should be safe.

Imma try it tonight la, if successful getting stable speed with nice signal, I can dump unifi with no regret ( yet ) liao
I guess you are rite

I have a Dlink adaptor and it read like this Output +5V ~ 2.5A

TSblacktubi
post May 15 2013, 06:21 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 15 2013, 06:08 PM)
I guess you are rite

I have a Dlink adaptor and it read like this Output +5V ~ 2.5A
Your D-Link router run on 5V only? sweat.gif

MR3420 is 12V so not compatible tongue.gif
digilife
post May 15 2013, 06:42 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 15 2013, 06:21 PM)
Your D-Link router run on 5V only? sweat.gif

MR3420 is 12V so not compatible tongue.gif
bro, 12V is DC la............

this 5V thingy is 5V AC wor icon_idea.gif
TSblacktubi
post May 15 2013, 07:04 PM

-
8,415 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ May 15 2013, 06:42 PM)
bro, 12V is DC la............