QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jan 15 2013, 10:01 AM)
^ haha I believe you should separate the design and anime standpoint. Not like whatever pilot who pilot whatever unit will appear in the model kit you built, not to mention many ppl will not even paint the figure if it is included, much less people display the kit with the cockpit open. Yes many UC fans now is adult with $$$, but they are getting older, and new generations nowadays mainly know UC series from Gundam Unicorn only, and might not be interested in older models if they are the kind of fan who only buy model kits of the mecha they like in the anime
yes design should be separated from the character since not every character is competent hence difference in achievement. Even in UC there r countless of useless ppl in zakus but ppl like char balance it out with his portrayal. Audience kno what it can do in the hands of competent ppl, most of us buys the kit not becuz of hu pilots it anyway (shin musha for instance nobody pilots it) but we kno its cool cuz its portrayal is cool. In the case of destiny if its just luna then its fine she sucks its not an indication of the suit capability, but virtually every single character whether competent or not (yzak n dearka is competent by virtual of their achievement from seed) does nothing in it. Looks cool but portrayal falls flat on its face.
we all agree that anime is for all intent and purposes 50 episodes of 30 minute elongated advertisement to sell kits but if that advertisement fail to show any memorable scene for a kit then that kit is bound to fail; in marketing a product how u present it is important. If its selling point is just its design (which i agree is not too bad looking) then its market will be very narrow from an already narrow fanbase, not many like destiny (many of destiny fans watch it when tey r young but now at this point in time most hav grown up n watch others n can giv a valid comparison hence its drop in popularity ranking, some of its characters r voted in to be the worse most annoying characters too which is inconceivable at the time of its airing) even among seed fans and i dun hav to mention UC fans; tey absolutely loathed it. The reason SF sold well cuz it look cool and it kick ass, the reason Destiny sold well cuz it look cool n put up a good fight, the reason IJ sold well is cuz it look cool and it kick ass. Same with Impulse, Legend and Providence thus i dun disagree with his list for both main antagonist, i dun disagree with the druggies as well i just disagree with its % or lack of its other brethren, however u cant apply the same argument for seed zakus. For this reason i gave it 0% chance.
As an indication just think about this, in every model kit box at the side will hav some action poses to emulate its anime portrayal, what r tey gonna do with seed zakus? showing them exploding??? showing them miss every single shot even though the enemy is just 10 feet away??? showing them get bailed out by gundams??? This is also the main reason why many grunt has not been MG-fied, their portrayal is just not compelling. GN-X is the only other non UC grunt but it put up a good fight, even manage to beat gundams at the end of 00 S1. By that virtue it earns itself among the cool grunts category.