Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V28, Excitement Embodied
asuk
Mar 5 2013, 11:36 AM

here's an extra tip about topcoat sprays: be extra careful when your spray can is nearly empty. the output is not consistent anymore and may come out in sputters, like a diarrhea
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 5 2013, 11:30 AM) 1st experience wif top coat was disaster. make sure weather is ok, and u 'defrost' ur top coat to at least room temp. then spray for a distance, not too near. spray one layer then stop. even if u cant see effect immediately, is ok. when it dries up, will b nice. i din see the effect last time and i sprayed again, too near. so frosting occurred and my kit ruined. my beloved IJ  I read from somewhere before spray must soak the whole can in a warm water and when spray hold the can upside down. Do you guys really follow this?
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(asuk @ Mar 5 2013, 11:36 AM) here's an extra tip about topcoat sprays: be extra careful when your spray can is nearly empty. the output is not consistent anymore and may come out in sputters, like a diarrhea Thx bro, but how do we knw whether it's near empty? A can can last for how many MG kits normally?
limfreelance
Mar 5 2013, 11:43 AM
tamiya & mr hobby 100ml compare to industril 400ml.
so, This depand on the kit size & layer effect u wan, but for MG maximun 1 unit only.
gaiachronicler
Mar 5 2013, 12:42 PM

this is CUTE! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « but i wonder what the straight build will look like  (must be hell of a paintjob again)
madmoz
Mar 5 2013, 12:51 PM
actually this one should be easy enough to AB. Not that many parts appear to need much masking, and the clear parts, well at most a gloss topcoat will do?
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Mar 5 2013, 11:43 AM) tamiya & mr hobby 100ml compare to industril 400ml. so, This depand on the kit size & layer effect u wan, but for MG maximun 1 unit only. If max 1 MG unit per can and it'll cost a bomb...!
limfreelance
Mar 5 2013, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(SniperUnit @ Mar 5 2013, 02:06 PM) If max 1 MG unit per can and it'll cost a bomb...!  Yup. That y most ppl will buy a 10ml little bottle (need mix with leveling thinner) of finishing as top coat. It can be topcoat for 2 MG. normal tamiya or mr hobby 100ml cost 45-50. That y u may need the help of AB. Honest, the color paint already can cost u a big big bomb. This post has been edited by limfreelance: Mar 5 2013, 02:14 PM
madmoz
Mar 5 2013, 02:40 PM
eh i remember colour being quite cheap also la. About 10-12 ringgits per bottle (but lama tak beli d, re: backlog  ). topcoat i don't mind airbrushing, but basecoat i prefer to use spray cans cause i personally find it too time consuming to clean the damned gun after using with mr surfacer.
rihuhs
Mar 5 2013, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(SniperUnit @ Mar 5 2013, 02:06 PM) If max 1 MG unit per can and it'll cost a bomb...!  this hobby is not that cheap to begin with
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 03:13 PM

Newbie question for today, how many of u use primer before spray with paint? Can skip primer or not?
rihuhs
Mar 5 2013, 03:22 PM

QUOTE(SniperUnit @ Mar 5 2013, 03:13 PM) Newbie question for today, how many of u use primer before spray with paint? Can skip primer or not? as far as I know, primer are meant for parts that you sanded (like eliminating seam lines) to smooth out the surface or when you're spraying with different colour other than it's original, as an example blue parts painted with red. if the colour is the same/similiar then I guess you can skip the primer
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(rihuhs @ Mar 5 2013, 03:22 PM) as far as I know, primer are meant for parts that you sanded (like eliminating seam lines) to smooth out the surface or when you're spraying with different colour other than it's original, as an example blue parts painted with red. if the colour is the same/similiar then I guess you can skip the primer What about spray black on grey parts? I think no need primer right since black can cover the grey....
rthm93
Mar 5 2013, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(SniperUnit @ Mar 5 2013, 03:13 PM) Newbie question for today, how many of u use primer before spray with paint? Can skip primer or not? Newbie here oso... from my experience, i only did the top coat and done nothing else. though i messed up during the coating part and it looks horrible now but for me i think the top coat is enough already
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 03:34 PM

QUOTE(rthm93 @ Mar 5 2013, 03:26 PM) Newbie here oso... from my experience, i only did the top coat and done nothing else. though i messed up during the coating part and it looks horrible now but for me i think the top coat is enough already How did u mess up bro? Too thick u spray or what? I learn from youtube, must spray at least 30cm away and must in front and back motion when spraying.... Weather factor must be considered too. Better to spray in sunny day.
limfreelance
Mar 5 2013, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(SniperUnit @ Mar 5 2013, 03:34 PM) How did u mess up bro? Too thick u spray or what? I learn from youtube, must spray at least 30cm away and must in front and back motion when spraying.... Weather factor must be considered too. Better to spray in sunny day.  it better for u to discuss here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1397850OK, for plamo, yup it consume time, space, money, & efford. But, if u enjoy it, why not.
mf_yamato
Mar 5 2013, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(sekngucing @ Mar 5 2013, 04:41 PM) if want cheap hobby, go fishing laa lol fishing also not cheap wooo orang cakap 'masa itu emas', so way much expensive...
SUSSniperUnit
Mar 5 2013, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Mar 5 2013, 04:41 PM) if want cheap hobby, go fishing laa lol Fishing ain't cheap yo, sewa boat and etc....
acestoro
Mar 5 2013, 05:17 PM
i don't see a prob there.. i know a fellow hobbyist who is young and he only play with sd kit use cheap paint to hand paint his kit and he is enjoying his hobby.. a fellow who are rich can buy all the equipment but he don use it and give up because he got no spare time for it fail to enjoy the hobby. The key is not how much money u spend on your hobby but its how much time u can or willing to invest on this hobby.. money cannot buy u skill but u need time to practice to perfect the skill. Definately time is not on my side for the moment.. but i will have more spare time once i complete my study.