129 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

XeactorZ
post Jan 22 2013, 10:48 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(nabil123 @ Jan 22 2013, 06:13 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any brand

2. Budget: RM3k and below

3. Usage : General usage, gaming, some engineering software, entertainment (I'm flying off for my masters and I obviously need a decent laptop).

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15.6" preferably. I don't mind the extra weight.

*currently have my eyes set on Asus N56V, i like the classy design and the specs are not that bad. Any other recommendations?
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty (Stock limited)

overall is y580 better, but design I personally feel n56 is better (slimmer)
Leokid
post Jan 22 2013, 11:50 PM

34 posts

Dear all sifu,

Kindly suggest to me notebook/netbook which fulfills these preferences:

Preferred brand : anything, kinda interested in ASUS but open to suggestions
Budget : lesser than rm2000
Screen size : the smaller the better (as long as can play minecraft)
Preferably with dedicated gc, processor i3/5/7 (if possible)

Usage : typing, wordprocessing, powerpoint, browsing, skyping. Occasional movies. Not really into high-performance games. Just as long as can play minecraft smoothly =p

Feel free to ask for any additional info. Thank you in advance for your recommendations.

This post has been edited by Leokid: Jan 22 2013, 11:52 PM
eugenelimys
post Jan 23 2013, 12:53 AM

639 posts

Guys, just wanna ask for some suggestions for a good friend of mine.
She is using Dell Vostro 4300 (i3)
She is currently very low on budget.

Preferred brand: none
Budget: Unidentified (but very very low)
Screen size: 15.6 or lower
Usage: FB, movie, projects, skype, blogging.

EDIT: she laptop is quite slow (idk why), and her laptop gets overheat and the battery drains so fast..

This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Jan 23 2013, 12:54 AM
nabil123
post Jan 23 2013, 02:37 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 22 2013, 10:48 PM)
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty (Stock limited)

overall is y580 better, but design I personally feel n56 is better (slimmer)
Yes, exactly the way i feel. It's truly a battle of Form vs Function. I am currently torn between these two. Hence, i need the pros or cons i can put into consideration.
thecatz
post Jan 23 2013, 04:09 AM

Need recomandation with new laptop for daily use and have best performance without complain (especially heat issues) by other..

1. Any brand but trusted manufacturer with good service
2. Budget: around 3.5k if can include 3 year warranty is better.
3. For engineering student, catia, solidworks,autocad and photoshop, a little bit of gaming, watch movie, music and internet surfing..have better cooling..
4. 13" 14" 15" less weight if can..

This post has been edited by thecatz: Jan 23 2013, 04:18 AM
XeactorZ
post Jan 23 2013, 04:25 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(Leokid @ Jan 22 2013, 11:50 PM)
Dear all sifu,

Kindly suggest to me notebook/netbook which fulfills these preferences:

Preferred brand : anything, kinda interested in ASUS but open to suggestions
Budget : lesser than rm2000
Screen size : the smaller the better (as long as can play minecraft)
Preferably with dedicated gc, processor i3/5/7 (if possible)

Usage : typing, wordprocessing, powerpoint, browsing, skyping. Occasional movies. Not really into high-performance games. Just as long as can play minecraft smoothly =p

Feel free to ask for any additional info. Thank you in advance for your recommendations.
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

14 inch, core i5, got graphic card
XeactorZ
post Jan 23 2013, 04:26 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jan 23 2013, 12:53 AM)

EDIT: she laptop is quite slow (idk why), and her laptop gets overheat and the battery drains so fast..
either Asus A55VD-SX520/521/522H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT610M@RM2149[2.52kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: white/blue/red

or Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.65kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP/W8
XeactorZ
post Jan 23 2013, 04:30 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(nabil123 @ Jan 23 2013, 02:37 AM)
Yes, exactly the way i feel. It's truly a battle of Form vs Function. I am currently torn between these two. Hence, i need the pros or cons i can put into consideration.
sorry no idea about it

QUOTE(thecatz @ Jan 23 2013, 04:09 AM)
Need recomandation with new laptop for daily use and have best performance without complain (especially heat issues) by other..

3. For engineering student, catia, solidworks,autocad and photoshop, a little bit of gaming, watch movie, music and internet surfing..have better cooling..
get Toshiba Satellite P840-1004X, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8

or

Samsung NP530U4C, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB HDD@RM2999, 6GB, W7HP
NP700Z3C, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM3599[2.07kg], 6GB, 1TB, W7HP

else Inspiron 14z, i7-3517U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2749[1.87kg], 8GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD
nexus2238
post Jan 23 2013, 10:04 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jan 23 2013, 12:53 AM)

Vostro 4300 is running on 1st gen i3, should not be too bad for her usage.
The laptop has been with her for 3 years? Has she ever clean the laptop for dust? (air inlet / outlet, internal fan ... )
Dust clog up lead to CPU overheat, leads to under-throttle, leads to slowwwwwness.
If she don't know how to do, get her to bring the laptop to a friendly neighbourhood laptop technician to clean and re-apply thermal paste (labour cost should be cheap).

After that, maybe do a clean install of OS (go 64bit) and all the apps. Things should be better.
I remember the standard RAM come with Vostro 4300 was 2G (not really sure). If yes, then spend ~ RM80 to upgrade RAM.
Still have money to burn? Upgrade the HDD to SSD (128G ~ RM250+).

3 year old battery is about to die tongue.gif It's the law of nature laugh.gif Get a new battery.
nexus2238
post Jan 23 2013, 11:14 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(thecatz @ Jan 23 2013, 04:09 AM)

The type of softwares you run, for best performance, go for i7 CPU (can utilise quad core). Catia, Solidworks, for best performance, need GPU with certified driver (those Quadro, Firepro thingy), but can also utilise normal consumer GPU for 3D (but I understand you may lose some functionality).

I suggest you go for 15", with i7, discrete GPU, FHD (for workspace).
Sacrifice light weight for better performance. Powerful machine inadvertibly will get warm in laptop form factor, get good external cooling solution smile.gif

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3517U + AMD HD8730M + (1920x1980; anti-glare)@RM3199[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL (CPU is only duo core, GPU also weaker, but is lighter than the 15R SE)
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

Extend / upgrade warranty to 3 years on site (best warranty support you can get for laptop in Malaysia)
Price is RSP, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 23 2013, 11:15 AM
eugenelimys
post Jan 23 2013, 12:08 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 23 2013, 10:04 AM)
Vostro 4300 is running on 1st gen i3, should not be too bad for her usage.
The laptop has been with her for 3 years? Has she ever clean the laptop for dust? (air inlet / outlet, internal fan ... )
Dust clog up lead to CPU overheat, leads to under-throttle, leads to slowwwwwness.
If she don't know how to do, get her to bring the laptop to a friendly neighbourhood laptop technician to clean and re-apply thermal paste (labour cost should be cheap).

After that, maybe do a clean install of OS (go 64bit) and all the apps. Things should be better.
I remember the standard RAM come with Vostro 4300 was 2G (not really sure). If yes, then spend ~ RM80 to upgrade RAM.
Still have money to burn? Upgrade the HDD to SSD (128G ~ RM250+).

3 year old battery is about to die tongue.gif It's the law of nature  laugh.gif Get a new battery.
ok.. I guess its due to her the clog up and the thermal paste. Her battery.. yea... agreed.. any sellers to recommend? Dell dont sell them anymore.

I will ask her about the SSD and RAM.. smile.gif Thanks!! xD
nexus2238
post Jan 23 2013, 12:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(eugenelimys @ Jan 23 2013, 12:08 PM)
Dell dont sell them anymore.
You mean you could not find the battery for Vostro 4300 on Dell Malaysia website?
If you could not find it with retailers elsewhere, give Dell a call (the 1800 number). They may have stocks but don't listed it on the website.
eugenelimys
post Jan 23 2013, 12:45 PM

639 posts

Ok. smile.gif
thecatz
post Jan 23 2013, 01:14 PM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 23 2013, 11:14 AM)
The type of softwares you run, for best performance, go for i7 CPU (can utilise quad core). Catia, Solidworks, for best performance, need GPU with certified driver (those Quadro, Firepro thingy), but can also utilise normal consumer GPU for 3D (but I understand you may lose some functionality).

I suggest you go for 15", with i7, discrete GPU, FHD (for workspace).
Sacrifice light weight for better performance. Powerful machine inadvertibly will get warm in laptop form factor, get good external cooling solution smile.gif

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3517U + AMD HD8730M + (1920x1980; anti-glare)@RM3199[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL (CPU is only duo core, GPU also weaker, but is lighter than the 15R SE)
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

Extend / upgrade warranty to 3 years on site (best warranty support you can get for laptop in Malaysia)
Price is RSP, negotiable.
thank nexus but is there any laptop from hp, asus and toshiba that suitable..
i want to look for all the manufacturer..
And what is your suggestion for external cooling..
And how about if 14"..

This post has been edited by thecatz: Jan 23 2013, 01:27 PM
luqmansmarter
post Jan 23 2013, 01:16 PM

132 posts

hi all... want to ask, which laptop/notebook is better for gaming and have good storage memory under rm1500?my budget is tight. thanks.
wan_109
post Jan 23 2013, 01:23 PM

741 posts

1. Anything other than Acer
2. 3.5k max
3. Engineering students, great overall performance, must have optical disk drive, Windows 8
4. 14 or 15 inches
denver
post Jan 23 2013, 01:53 PM

336 posts

Can someone recommend me a good laptop:

1. Brand - prefer HP, Lenovo or other brands with good customer service
2. Budget - below RM2k
3. Use - mostly microsoft office, no gaming
4. Other requirements - slim body, 14" screen
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 23 2013, 02:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(wan_109 @ Jan 23 2013, 01:23 PM)
1. Anything other than Acer
2. 3.5k max
3. Engineering students, great overall performance, must have optical disk drive, Windows 8
4. 14 or 15 inches
Can consider these:
15.6"
Asus N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black

Dell
Vostro 3560, i7-3632QM + AMD HD7670M + 32GB SSD + 750GB(7200rpm) HDD + (1920x1080)@RM3209[2.57kg], 8GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

Lenovo
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty (Stock limited)

All are good laugh.gif
Just boils down to which one you like the most, and how good you want the warranty support to be nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 23 2013, 02:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(denver @ Jan 23 2013, 01:53 PM)
Can someone recommend me a good laptop:

1. Brand - prefer HP, Lenovo or other brands with good customer service
2. Budget - below RM2k
3. Use - mostly microsoft office, no gaming
4. Other requirements - slim body, 14" screen
You might want to consider these 14" ultrabooks icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Dell [Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i3-3217U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.87kg], 4GB, W7HB/W8, *no VGA port, OD

HP [Ultrabook] Envy4-1009TU/1019TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000 + 32GB mSATA+ 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1899[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W7HP

Lenovo [Ultrabook]S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199

The Lenovo is more decently spec-ed for the price though brows.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 23 2013, 05:07 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(thecatz @ Jan 23 2013, 01:14 PM)
thank nexus but is there any laptop from hp, asus and toshiba that suitable..
i want to look for all the manufacturer..
And what is your suggestion for external cooling..
And how about if 14"..
Well, you mentioned you want 3 year warranty, and I suppose you want good warranty support for what you pay smile.gif Dell, Lenovo fit that criteria.
Asus - you are riding your luck with the SC sweat.gif HP & Toshiba - you need to send to SC.

Anyway, 15"
Asus
N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
A55VJ-SX147H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT635M@RM3099[2.52kg], 6GB, 1TB, W8; color: black

HP
Pavillion M6-1110TX, i7-3632QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2999[Beats], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8
dv6-7014TX, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT630M + Bluray@RM3999[Beats], 8GB, 1TB (5400rpm)

Toshiba
Satellite P850-1006X, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT640M + Bluray@RM3999[2.6kg][harman/kardon], 4GB, 1TB, W7HP

14"
Asus
A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional
Vostro 3460, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA+ 750GB(7200rpm) HDD@RM3149[2.23kg], 8GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

HP
Pavilion G4-2111TX, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2499[2.19kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP
Envy Dv4-5205TX, i7-3630M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2699[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

Toshiba
Satellite M840-1009XG/XP/XQ, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2799[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP; colors: Gold/Pink/Blue

External cooling? Table fan laugh.gif (Not kidding) Or cooling pad smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1334052
Read here if you want to know all about it. Basically ~RM80 from reputable brands should be good enough.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 23 2013, 05:10 PM

129 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:19 AM