32 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Mar 14 2013, 10:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Mar 14 2013, 06:02 PM)
The problem is he is counting on us to teach him :s
Maybe try to scout in lowyat dell resellers for win7 as online dell I see all w8 already sad.gif
Old people like to watch video right? tongue.gif Those videos are really nice (just ignore those part about touch screen since your uncle is not getting models with touchscreen)
nexus2238
post Mar 14 2013, 10:46 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(skye @ Mar 14 2013, 06:12 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : NONE
2. Budget : 1500+-
3. Usage : Office work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size :14"

This laptop is for sales to carry arround, and use for working purpose.

Is I3 or Pentium enough to handle? smile.gif
"Office work" - as in only using MS Office (Word, Excel) ? If yes, then i3 is more than enough.
Ideally, for business, you should go for business laptop with good warranty support. But your budget is kind of limited.
If need to carry around, can also consider something smaller than 14".

Dell 13"
Vostro 3360, i3-2365M + Intel HD3000@RM1859[1.67kg], 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
S400, i3-2365M + AMD HD7450M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB
11.6"
ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.5kg],W7HP, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Mar 14 2013, 10:53 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Goodygod @ Mar 14 2013, 04:25 PM)
Pros please recommend.

1. Preferred Brand - DELL or OTHER GOOD SERVICE COMPANY
2. Budget - 2500 TO 3200
3. Usage - WORKING/MOVIE/NOT FOR GAMING
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15'' AND ABOVE

Don't really care about the weight.
Although not for gaming, I need it to be fast because I don't wait.

Working? what type of softwares? MS Office?
If you need dedicated numpad, go with 15R. Otherwise, 15R SE (which has nicer build, imo)
Want fast / responsive, upgrade the HDD to SSD. Do it aftermarket, will not void hardware warranty. 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-.

Inspiron 15R, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M + (1920x1980; anti-glare)@RM3299[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

nexus2238
post Mar 15 2013, 10:28 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(limweipin @ Mar 15 2013, 02:05 AM)
Hi sifu, i just wan to knw is HP customer services good>?
Pretty good. If you are in Klang Valley, bring your faulty hardware to its SC at Damansara Height.
http://h20431.www2.hp.com/support/contactu...vicecentre.html
Check the map here for full list of SC in Malaysia. (Don't send to collection centre, always bring it directly to SC)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 15 2013, 10:39 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 15 2013, 10:31 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(c0la @ Mar 15 2013, 03:25 AM)
Thank you for the recommendation. Seems like really one round of survey has to be done.

I was looking at Toshiba, i5, SSD, 4gb RAM. did thought of it because of the price range (~RM3.5k) and realllllly light weight! but cant remember which model..

Hmm.. Tablet convertible laptop, looks cool, one thing 2 usage. but hvnt really dig into it on the spec yet.
Toshiba with full SSD and very light? This one I think:
Portégé Z930-2002, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399[1.12kg], W7HP, 6GB, 3 years warranty; W8@RM3799
Do try out the keyboard first sweat.gif For someone coming from Lenovo, I think your fingers will have a hard time adjusting to this tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 15 2013, 12:39 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(c0la @ Mar 15 2013, 10:59 AM)
Exactly this is the one!

Do you know if they've got any i7?
Yes, they do. Very expensive tongue.gif
Portégé Z930-2005 i7-3667U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM4899[1.12kg], W7HP, 6GB, 3 years local on-site warranty, free notebook sleeves
nexus2238
post Mar 15 2013, 06:05 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(c0la @ Mar 15 2013, 03:43 PM)
wow~
really expensive.

Seems like this is the lightest weight laptop now?
If you mean 13" ultrabook, in Malaysia, yes, either that Toshiba or this Samsung:
9 series NP900X3C, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1600x900)@RM4999[1.16kg], 4GB, W8

In the world, it's the NEC LaVie Z, iinm, weight < 900g.

nexus2238
post Mar 16 2013, 06:21 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(akumaru @ Mar 15 2013, 08:55 PM)
Hey, pls suggest me a laptop or ultrabook based on below ref:

1. Preferred Brand-Dell ,Asus (suggest me others as well)
2. Budget - 2300
3. Usage - office works, multimedia,gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13"-15"
Stick to 14". 13" models generally don't have discrete GPU for gaming and are out of your budget anyway tongue.gif 15" unless you need FHD screen (which is more expensive) or need dedicated numpad for punching numbers laugh.gif

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

Use remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Asus, HP, 4G stick is ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell, HP, 3 years ~ RM250+/-).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 16 2013, 06:23 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 16 2013, 06:32 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(movanns @ Mar 15 2013, 07:09 PM)
Hi Sifu, pls suggest me base on below ref:

1. Preferred Brand- Lenovo,Asus (suggest me others as well)
2. Budget - 2700
3. Usage - office works, multimedia, light video editing, photo editing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14"
Your usage need relatively good CPU. Intel HD 4000 should be sufficient.
13" models (mostly ultrabook) are expensive smile.gif

Asus
UX32VD-R3001H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.45kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

HP
Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

Use your remaining budget to increase RAM (4G is ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell, HP, 3 years ~ RM250+/-), swap HDD for SSD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-).
nexus2238
post Mar 16 2013, 01:13 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(royalz @ Mar 16 2013, 12:23 PM)
Hello guys ..please suggest for me ..need a new laptop soon ..thanks

1. Preferred Brand - none (most important good build quality and okay after service)
2. Budget - 1.9k to 2.4k
3. Usage - For normal business student usage, presentation, microsoft office..no gaming
4. Preferred screen size - 14 inch only
5. Weight : Less than 2kg, will be taking to uni (girl user)-so can be an ultrabook
6. Windows : If got DOS even better (can save $$$) ..can install myself smile.gif

Thanks guys..cheers
Any of these 14" ultrabook is sufficient for your usage requirement.

Dell
Inspiron 14z, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000@RM1899[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, *no VGA port, OD

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199

Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (HP) (4G sticks is ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell, HP, 3 years ~ RM250+/-). Save a bit more, get a SSD to replace the HDD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-).
nexus2238
post Mar 16 2013, 01:22 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(beready5566 @ Mar 16 2013, 11:34 AM)
First time here...Please show me your wisdom, sifu !

1. Preferred Brand - none
2. Budget - Below 3k
3. Usage - For presentation using purpose
4. Must be very light weight, 11"-13", surfing internet, speedy

Thanks!
When you say presentation, do you need to connect laptop to external projector? If yes, most of the 11" and 13" has limited type of ports (may not have VGA, maybe only mHDMI, ... ), so you need to make sure you have the necessary adapter.
For speedy / responsiveness, you need model with full SSD. Those mSATA SSD + SATA HDD model will disappoint you.
Your budget is a bit low for ultrabook with full SSD.

HP
Pavilion dm3-1001TU (Folio 13), i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.49kg], W7HP
Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard

Sony
Vaio SVT13126CV, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3099[1.66kg], 4GB, W8; color: silver; Vaio carrying case

Btw, if you only use it to present presentation, don't need to use it to prepare presentation, you may consider those laptop / tablet that come with Intel Atom CPU, small capacity SSD (64G).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 16 2013, 01:23 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 17 2013, 08:28 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aominecchi @ Mar 16 2013, 09:15 PM)
Hi there.I need a suggestion for buying a new laptop.     
1. brand: any type except acer and asus.
2. Budget: Around rm1500 to rm2500.
3. I use laptop mainly for work and game such as the sims 3.
4. Prefer 15" screen with graphic card.

I was thinking to buy lenovo z500 but since it is a touchscreen laptop, I changed my mind.BTW is windows 8 a good OS?
Dell
Inspiron 15R, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1999[2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8SL
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell) (this is non-touch spec)

Use remaining budget to extend warranty (Dell, 3 years on site ~ RM250+/-), swap HDD for SSD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-).
nexus2238
post Mar 17 2013, 08:59 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ssxcool @ Mar 16 2013, 09:01 PM)
1. Preferred Brand- Lenovo (suggest me others as well)
2. Budget - <rm3500 or maybe can topup to rm4k
3. Usage - gaming mostly ( dota2, farcry3, simcity, tomb raider )
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14

need to decide between lenovo y400 or asus g46vw because SLI only works with compatible games  rclxub.gif
Asus G46VW [illegear], i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M@RM4999, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8, 1 year global warranty [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3940XM], HD+ screen upgradable
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

Are you in Malaysia? Asus Malaysia has not officially launch G46VW in Malaysia yet. Illegear carry it, but it actually way exceed your budget laugh.gif

If you want 14", in Malaysia, most powerful gaming laptops are the Y400 and Alienware:
Alienware M14x R2, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M (1GB) + (1600x900)@RM3999[2.92kg][Klipsch], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); [CPU Options: i7-3630QM - i7-3840QM], W8, 2 years warranty

GT650M and GTX660M is of the same chip, just different clock speed.
Nvidia website list all the game that support SLI. For games that don't support SLI, most probably single GT650M can handle them in 1366x768 resolution laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 17 2013, 08:59 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 17 2013, 09:04 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Akisuki94 @ Mar 16 2013, 05:41 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - any
2. Budget - 2k-2.5k
3. Usage - abit gaming , movie , and surf net
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - any
"a bit gaming" - what game titles you play?
Some 14" for your consideration:

Asus

Dell

HP

Lenovo

Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Asus, HP) (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell, HP, 3 years RM250+/-).
nexus2238
post Mar 17 2013, 09:09 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Mar 16 2013, 03:24 PM)
Is there any good ultrabooks with an i5 processor but with a 256gb SSD?
Also must have a FHD screen also. Touch not necessary.
Don't know what is "good" smile.gif But there are models that satisfy your criteria:

Asus
UX31A-R4003H, i7-3517U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM4599[1.3kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM4299[1.36kg], 8GB, W8, backlit

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 17 2013, 09:16 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 17 2013, 09:13 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(demondomon @ Mar 16 2013, 01:34 PM)
Hi guys!

1. Preferred Brand - dont want acer!
2. Budget - 1.5 - 1.7k
3. Usage - Fifa 13 & assignment & blogging
4. Preferred screen size - 14" good enough
FIFA 13 is not GPU demanding.

Asus
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14 (3420), i3-3110M + Nvidia GT625M@RM1599[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Mar 17 2013, 12:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Mar 17 2013, 11:45 AM)
Torn btw these 2 models. Which is a better choice? Seems like dell is better. The SSD on ux31a is also different from dell's SSD right? If I'm not mistaken it is non upgradable
SSD different? If you mean different brands of SSD ared used, then most probably yes.
But both models are using mSATA SSD (which is more expensive than SATA SSD of same capacity) and can be upgraded.
The RAM in both models, however, are soldered and cannot be upgraded.
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 09:38 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(royalz @ Mar 17 2013, 04:59 PM)
Thanks  smile.gif

Anyone know where good place to buy laptops in klang valley? particularly shop with honest seller and good price smile.gif please let me know ..thanks
You could start by looking through the garage sales thread in LYN forum right here. There are reputable re-sellers, some of them have proper shop (so you can visit), some of them do COD smile.gif
Disclaimer: I am not related to anyone of them, as far as I know smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 09:46 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(netzsch @ Mar 17 2013, 11:19 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - any established brand..acer,lenovo, asus etc
2. Budget - below 1700..
3. Usage - just for work and some 3d design and simulation software
4. Preferred laptop/screen size -
    - not atom/netbook
    - any screen size
    - i5 is good enough
    - ultrabook can be considered

thank you..
Tight budget for the usage and specs you have in mind tongue.gif
No ultrabook with i5 is within your budget smile.gif
Don't know what type of 3D design you do (since you did not mention any software titles ... ), but generally if you do 3D, it's better for you to get laptop with discrete GPU.

Acer
Aspire V3-471G-53212G75d, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.29kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 10:09 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(afiqaris @ Mar 18 2013, 12:19 AM)
hi sifu,
do we have HP Envy dv6t i7-3630QM in stock?

does it run in win7 or win8?

if win8, can windows 8 use virtual XP?

i need to use virtual XP for sum of my work.

or can u recommend me anythin else,besides sony,samsung,alienware.

need to get one laptop ASAP.

PLS Help,TQVM. thumbup.gif
This is not a sales thread smile.gif
It's not easy to find brand new laptop with W7 anymore.
Do you mean the "Win XP mode" in W7? This feature (and Windows Virtual PC) is removed from W8.
W8Pro has Hyper-V (only in W8Pro, not in W8).
If you need to run WinXP in W8, you can use VirtualBox or VMware (but need to get the XP yourself).

If you need recommendation on laptop, please read the 1st post of this thread and follow the format smile.gif

32 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:08 PM