32 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 03:55 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Mar 18 2013, 10:39 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: ASUS (don't mind other model recommendation as well)
2. Budget: RM2000-3000
3. Usage: Entertainment (gaming, anime, internet, etc...)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14'" and above

i'm currently using an Asus N43SL, so i'm looking for a good replacement for it

i don't mind other model's laptop if u think it can be a suitable replacement as well (since i heard ASUS has bad customer service), i mainly looking for those that are 'durable' and less susceptible to overheating
What game titiles you play?

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

If you are looking for most powerful spec within your budget, this Lenovo:
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

If you are looking for best bang for buck, this HP:
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Use your remaining budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM80), swap HDD with SSD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-), extend warranty (HP, 3 years ~ RM250+/-).
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 04:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(DaveForsaken @ Mar 18 2013, 11:17 AM)
1. Preferred Brand
    - Asus (or any other reliable brand)
2. Budget
    - RM1,400 to RM1,600
3. Usage
    - Web Development (Ruby on Rails, PHP, etc.)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
    - 14 inch

Going to leave current company soon, need to change a new laptop to attend training class for Ruby but lack of a laptop..
Have search a lot of information but it makes me feel dilemma to choose among the varieties...
Please kindly advice!! Deeply appreciate in advance!! >.<
Your usage requirement don't need powerful specs smile.gif Unfortunately, Asus is no longer a "cheap" brand, its offering at your price point is fitted with Pentium CPU tongue.gif

Consider these:

Dell
Inspiron 14 (3420), i3-3110M + Nvidia GT625M@RM1599[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, i3-2348M + Intel HD3000@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS; W8@RM1499
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use your remaining budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM80).
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 04:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(muaxs @ Mar 18 2013, 03:07 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Doesnt matter
2. Budget: RM1500-RM2000
3. Usage: surfing net
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: big screen (for my mom)

Pleae advise  notworthy.gif
Otherthan what raymondtong94 suggested, you can consider this 17" laugh.gif

Lenovo
Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2299[3.0kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm); W7HP
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 04:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Mar 18 2013, 03:46 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Asus Dell Toshiba
2. Budget: RM2.5k - RM3k
3. Usage: heavy web browsing, Office work, movie.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15"+

* Possible to fit in another ssd? like remove dvd-rom/ any better way?

*another special requirement: only Nvidia graphic card with above 640m..
Sorry for troublesome request...
The Asus and Lenovo suggested by raymondtong94 has GPU that is better than GT640M.
The AMD GPU in the Dell is about on par with (or slightly weaker than) GT640M.

Do you mean you want SSD, and want to keep the SATA HDD inside the laptop as well?
If the laptop has mSATA port (most 15" do), you could buy a mSATA SSD and put in the laptop and use it as primary drive (install OS and apps). mSATA SSD is more expensive than SATA SSD of the same capacity though biggrin.gif
If you don't want to go the mSATA route, then the only way is to remove the SATA HDD and put in a SATA SSD (15" laptop generally don't have 2 SATA bay). What you want to do with HDD is up to you (use it as external HDD, buy a caddy and put the HDD in caddy and swap it with the ODD ... )
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 04:17 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Mar 18 2013, 04:17 PM)
Oh, its ok, just personally prefer nvidia than ati.

for the SSD, will it be possible to remove dvd rom instead of hdd?
i prefer remain hdd inside, as hdd not so durable when take out from case...

for msata port, i can keep hdd and sdd both in the laptop?

or i still need to remove the hdd/cd rom?
Please read and understand what I posted previously smile.gif
If you go mSATA SSD route, of course you could keep the SATA HDD.

SSD is faster than HDD. You better check what is the SATA port the ODD is connected to (SATA II 3Gbits or SATA III 6Gbits). You don't want the fast SSD to get stuck with a slow SATA port.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 18 2013, 04:22 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 18 2013, 04:24 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Mar 18 2013, 04:06 PM)
I see...
Thanks for the reply..
Can i redefine the requirement  tongue.gif

1. Preferred Brand
    - Any
2. Budget
    - 3k - 4k
3. Usage
    - web browsing + office work
    - 15" With Full HD

5 - i7 processor + nvidia 640m and above

tell me if the requirement too hard to find or not available in malaysia... >.<
Other than what raymondtong94 suggested, this:
Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
GPU is basically a re-branded GT640M (weak a*s*s with DDR3), but the screen is IPS matte laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 18 2013, 04:26 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 06:35 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lightbringer @ Mar 18 2013, 08:04 PM)
mostly the older to recent games that do not require killer spec (i probably wont bother with the likes of Crysis 3 that requires high spec)

for now im interested on the Lenovo model you have recommended (learning about ASUS's horrible customer service really killed my interest on them, thank god my current laptop has no problem), are there no Dell alternatives that is on par with it?
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 06:42 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Mar 18 2013, 11:20 PM)
Hi there.I need a suggestion for buying a new laptop.
1. brand: any brand
2. Budget: Not more than Rm 2600
3. I use laptop mainly for work, presentation, surfing.
4. Prefer 13.3" screen.
5. Light weight (not more than 1.8kg)
6. Decent battery life
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 18 2013, 11:46 PM)
This one would be a great pick for your usage brows.gif
13"
Asus S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Comes with a 3-cell battery@1.83kg, so try not to expect too much in terms of battery life  tongue.gif
You're going to have to fork out more to get a light ultrabook with longer battery life I guess
Your budget restrict your choices of 13" models tongue.gif
Consider 14" ultrabook, still light weight, like this HP:

Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Price is RSP, negotiable.
Use remaining budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM80), swap HDD for SSD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-, help to lessen the weight as well laugh.gif and improve responsiveness a lot)
The thing about 13" is that they normally lack lots of port (VGA, full HDMI), so if you intend to connect to external projector for presentation, make sure you have the necessary adapters.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 19 2013, 09:55 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 06:55 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lala_cai @ Mar 18 2013, 11:21 PM)
Hi Sifus, need some recommendation on business laptops. light if possible to carry around

1. Preferred Brand
Dell, Lenovo, HP, Toshiba

2. Budget

3. Usage
Business usage. Need full connectivity like wifi 802.11agn.

13"-14"
Most laptop models now come with 802.11agn.
When you said full connectivity, do you mean you need ports such as VGA, HDMI, Displayport, LAN ... ?
Budget is a bit low for proper business class laptop, maybe can consider entry level business laptop?

Dell 13"
Vostro 3360, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM2009[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
14"
Vostro 3460, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1939[2.23kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Vostro 3460, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM2199[2.23kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

HP 13"
Pavilion dm3-1001TU (Folio 13), i5-2467M + Intel HD3000 + 128GB SSD@RM2999[1.49kg], W7HP
14"
ProBook 4440s, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM2549, 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7P, anti-glare

Lenovo 11.6"
ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.5kg],W7HP, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black
14"
ThinkPad Edge E430, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM2299[2.2kg], W7P, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), anti-glare
ThinkPad Edge E430, i5-3220M + Intel HD4000@RM2599[2.2kg], W7P/W8, 4GB, 750GB (5400rpm), anti-glare

Make sure you get 3 years warranty. Swap the HDD for SSD (256G ~ RM600+/-), improve responsiveness, improve battery performance, lessen weight, within your budget (will not void hardware warranty).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 19 2013, 05:22 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 06:22 PM

4,195 posts

^ Ya, the "era" of the legend wait of it ery Y580 is offically over in Malaysia. What joy it has given us smile.gif One of my younger cousin is eyeing mine, waiting for me to pass down to him laugh.gif
Still plenty of grey imports around laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 19 2013, 06:38 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 10:42 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 19 2013, 08:34 PM)
the problem with gray imports is the warranty support only. dont know what to do when the laptop has problem. icon_rolleyes.gif
Yup, yup, don't misunderstand what I said, not advisable to go for grey import units sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 10:53 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(DaveForsaken @ Mar 19 2013, 08:49 PM)
Yep I'm actually thinking about is it Asus' price went too high recently due to its reputation.
Now thinking whether want to get
Dell Inspirion 14 DOS(since W8 is built for touchscreen) for RM1,299
or
Acer Aspire V3 i3-2348M RM1,299
Is it Acer reliable nowadays? Previously I heard the quality is bad...
Both models with i3 (Sandy bridge or Ivy bridge) is good enough for your usage. Ivy bridge IGPU HD 4000 is better though.

Acer actually is quite ok in terms of reliability (just that users always complain that it look "cheap / plasticy", but every brands has lemon units, and that's why warranty support services is important. Unfortunately, at your price point, most models come with only 1 year warranty standard. Extend warranty (eg. Dell) to 3 years cost money (e.g. RM250+/-), maybe not worth it for you.
Acer warranty service in Malaysia now is handled by Highpoint, which is not too bad smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 19 2013, 11:07 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(netzsch @ Mar 19 2013, 10:51 PM)
thank you..
quite tight actually.. sweat.gif
btw.. its solidwork 3d design and cadmould simulation
Solidwork and Cadmould, these are really pro software.
For work or studies?
For optimal performance, need GPU with certified drivers (like those Quadro / Firepro), but laptop models with these GPU are way out of your budget.
If for work, maybe can ask boss to get a desktop with Quadro/Firepro GPU (cheaper than laptop).

Consumer GPU will still help (I'm not a pro in these software, but understand from engineering buddies, few of the features in these software may not be "totally functional" with consumer GPU. He did quote some examples, but I was totally lost laugh.gif )
nexus2238
post Mar 20 2013, 04:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Mayomythical @ Mar 20 2013, 03:09 PM)
smile.gif Thanks. Just gatal to consider my options now hehe.
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 20 2013, 03:55 PM)
haha, if we were to recommend you, then its definitely the Lenovo Y400 icon_rolleyes.gif
14"
Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

Not exactly very light and the battery life is only average, but its a real performer  icon_rolleyes.gif
Alternatively, this illegear 11.6" laugh.gif
www.illegear.com
R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]
nexus2238
post Mar 20 2013, 05:08 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Mayomythical @ Mar 20 2013, 04:58 PM)
drool.gif at that Illegear.. so small, yet so powderful... change HDD to SSD 256GB.  drool.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2654625
Read this thread for actual owner review and picture smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 20 2013, 10:57 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(nick7868 @ Mar 20 2013, 10:42 PM)
need help~
1. asus
2. 2000-3000~
3. medium gaming,office work~
4. i prefer asus n56vz but my area out of stock d~
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

Where is your area? Maybe can check with reputable resellers in LYN garage sales forum.
nexus2238
post Mar 21 2013, 09:33 AM

4,195 posts

sifus, I am stumped, help smile.gif

1. I said any, but my mum prefer Asus or Samsung
2. < RM1k, but my mum say < RM500 even better
3. 60 year old lady to use facebook, email
4. 7" tablet

She used ipad previously, but it just die, and she is very "sakit hati" to spend the money ("just 2 year only wo, already die, don't want to spend thousand to buy another 1 already") tongue.gif

Personally I will just get Nexus7 or GalaxyTab, but I think these are above her prefer budget sweat.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 21 2013, 10:05 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 21 2013, 09:44 AM)
The Asus MeMo Pad ?
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 21 2013, 09:59 AM)
+1~
You're in luck, there are a few budget tablets out there now brows.gif
7"
Acer Iconia B1-A71, 8317T + (1024x600;touch) + 8GB@RM399[0.32kg], 512MB, Android Jellybean

Asus MemoPad ME172V, VIA WM8950 + (1024x600;touch) + 8GB@RM499[0.37kg], 1GB, Android 4.1, 1 year
The MemoPad look pretty good on picture. Have pink colour rclxms.gif (the Iconia B1 look drab. How come Iconia W500/700 look so nice but this is like rolleyes.gif ) Will go and check out the screen. Don't supposed it's IPS, but need to be good enough for 60 years old tongue.gif

Look like I will finally buy a Asus product after such a long time laugh.gif (ok, RM500, close 1 eye). Relieve the pressure tongue.gif

Thanks sifus notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 21 2013, 10:09 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 21 2013, 10:19 AM

4,195 posts

^Have not seen it. My sis took it to a shop I think.
On leave today, will just go out and buy if the Asus is ok.
It's a wonder to me how a 60 years old could get "addicted" to facebook tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 21 2013, 11:06 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xiaols0817 @ Mar 21 2013, 11:27 AM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : below 2k
3. Usage : medium gaming, uni life
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : any~

*NOTE*
-provide good seervice
-got white colour
-ok spec
-high RAM
-long life battery
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 21 2013, 01:27 PM)
The white color part is a bit tricky laugh.gif
QUOTE(xiaols0817 @ Mar 21 2013, 01:39 PM)
@.@... but my friend only wan white colour...
or any white colour laptop around 2000-2500?

and need to fulfill all the request... thx~
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Mar 21 2013, 02:02 PM)
White colour then the Sony SVE14.
For the life of me, just couldn't understand why a uni student want a white laptop. White is the most difficult colour to maintain, and consider the kind of s*l*o*u*g*h uni students normally live in, that white will turn to some other colour pretty soon laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I think closest is this one:
Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)

Price is RSP, negotiable.
It's white. The GPU can handle most games in HD resolution. With 2 year warranty, Lenovo warranty service support is ok. You can increase the RAM if 4G is not sufficient (4G is ~ RM80).
The battery performance is not good though smile.gif

32 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0500sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:37 PM