32 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Mar 24 2013, 08:28 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dikara10 @ Mar 24 2013, 07:23 AM)
Hi guys. I am planning to buy a new laptop for my sister
1. Brand - Dell or Lenovo
2. Budget - Below 2k
3. Usage -Movie, web surfing. 
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14

Any suggestion for 14 inch laptop with intel HD4000, intel i5, and come with windows 8.I am looking for laptop that has most value for money. Thanks
If your sister usage is only movie and web surfing, don't need i5 smile.gif i3 with HD 4000 is more than enough smile.gif

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 14z, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000@RM1899[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, *no VGA port, OD

Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 09:50 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Mar 24 2013, 11:37 PM)
Hi every sifu,

I am looking for Asus Zenbook UX32VD ultrabook because it is light enough and do to have a graphic card. I need to use it for autocad and photoshop. But the seller told me that the asus ultrabook cant take care of the photoshop CS6 well (it can work smooth and sometime it will feel lag) even it has a graphic card...I would like to know is it the truth?

And he recommended me to get Asus K46CM (if I would like to stick with Asus brand). I need everyone clarification before I buy it and regret.

Thank you.
UX32VD-R3001H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.45kg], 4GB, W8
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

When you said you "need to use it for autocad and photoshop", do you mean this laptop has to be the primary machine that you use to use some heavy lifting autocad and photoshop work, or this laptop is to open some autocad and photoshop files and do some light amendment / touch up?

Since you are thinking UX32VD, I supposed your budget is around RM3k?

Do you really have to have ultrabook?

The fact:
Autocad and photoshop make use of CPU, quadcore i7 is nice for heavy work. i5 M(obile) is also better than i5 U(LV).
Unless you go into 3D (or some fancy effect), the GPU don't have large impact on autocad and photoshop performance smile.gif

So the conclusion is like this:
If you don't do 3D (or fancy effect) in autocad or photoshop, UX32VD and K46CM perform more or less the same, since both use the same CPU.
If you do 3D, K46CM is slightly better.
Nevertheless, if you need to do heavy lifting work in autocad and photoshop, preferably look past ultrabook, and get a laptop with i7 laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

If you can live with a 11.6" screen, consider this one biggrin.gif Combination of power and mobility thumbup.gif
www.illegear.com
R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 25 2013, 09:52 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 10:06 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(klnoobie @ Mar 24 2013, 03:52 PM)
Does anyone know where I can still buy the Portégé R930-2001?  I called most of the Toshiba authorized resellers at LYP and PJ14 Digital Mall but was told this model is no longer available.

Thanks in advance, any information will be much appreciated.
Portégé R930-2001 come with W7, not easy to find smile.gif (unless some re-sellers have old stock, but Toshiba is not exactly a very popular laptop brand sweat.gif )
Try Portégé R930-2028B, exact same spec, just come with W8 smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 02:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Mar 25 2013, 12:35 PM)
Thank you for your reply and appreciate it. I will be using the autocad and photoshop for light work, editing some photos and do some graphical design. I will not need to use the autocad for 3D modelling. I will use sketchup for 3D modelling but I believe that skecthup is not consider a very heavy software (base on how big scale is the 3D model, normally I only do small scale).

Thank you for your recommendation but I prefer at least 13.3 inches screen (sometimes I will use external monitor).

So your meaning is if I would like to get UX32VD is better to go with R-11 since the price is around there. If I would like to get K36CM, then it should be ok to stick with?
If your 3D modelling is small scale (but our definition of "small scale" may differ smile.gif ), even HD4000 can handle laugh.gif

What I mean:
If you need something powerful and portable, R-11 is good choice.
If your usage of autocad / photoshop is not heavy, UX32VD and K46CM (there is no K36CM smile.gif ) will perform more or less the same, since both has the same CPU. (So if 1 work for you, the other should be as well; but if 1 suck, the other most likely will suck laugh.gif )
The difference for you then is the weight and price. UX32VD is more expensive (you can find it ~ RM27xx) and lighter. K46CM is near 2kg (without adapter).
nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 02:37 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Mar 25 2013, 10:58 AM)
1. No preference
2. <4500
3. Mostly work(CAD and MATLAB), mild gaming(Dota 2, FiFA etc), but would be nice to be able to play the latest games
4. 15.6 inches

I'm currently looking at the Lenovo Y500, but does anyone know when the new generation of Intel Processors are going to be released? I can delay my purchase until September if the new processors are coming out by then.
I'm also looking to buy an ultrabook. Most ultrabooks seem to have similar specs but vastly differ in price range. Can anyone suggest a few for me with the following criteria?
1. Preferred Brand - none
2. Budget - <4000
3. Usage - word processing and watching movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13.3 - 14 inches
If you can wait till Sep13, definitely wait for it. Haswell should be out by then.
You won't find much difference in term of CPU performance. IGPU will be better but not relevant to you.
The most benefit is it is newer (laugh.gif) and more power efficient.

There are 13" ultrabook, which is really slim and light (< 1.5kg) and more expensive (usually come with full SSD), and there are 14" ultrabook which are cheaper smile.gif
For word processing or watching movie, you don't need powerful CPU. If you watch FHD movie, you need FHD screen, which could only be found in 13".
You have good budget, can go for the best smile.gif

Acer
Aspire S7-391-53314G12, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3799, 4GB, W8

Apple
MacBookAir 13", i5-3427U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3699[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

Asus
UX31A-R4005H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM3499[1.3kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit
XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD + (1920x1080)@RM4299[1.36kg], 8GB, W8, backlit

HP
Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard

Lenovo
IdeaPad Yoga 13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399, 4GB, 2 years; colors: grey/orange

nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 03:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(blinkblink88 @ Mar 25 2013, 03:25 PM)
How about Dell Inspiron 14z 5423-51851G. The spec look not bad but overall machine design wise does not look. The most important is that I need it to run my software smoothly and lightweight. Price is better not to exit RM2600.
With your budget, it's not easy to find 13" with i5.
Asus
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Dell
Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
HP
ProBook 4341s, i5-3210M + AMD HD7570M@RM2699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7P, anti-glare
Samsung
NP530U3C, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2699[1.52kg], 4GB, W8

If you look for 14" ultrabook:
Asus
Dell
Inspiron 14z, i5-3337U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2549[1.87kg], 4GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD
Inspiron 14z, i7-3517U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2749[1.87kg], 8GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD (i7 ULV is still duo core, but faster than i5 ULV)
HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Lenovo
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199
Toshiba
Satellite U940-1001X, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA + 640GB HDD@RM2699[1.7kg], 4GB, W8, backlit keyboard

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 25 2013, 03:48 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 10:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Mar 25 2013, 10:40 PM)
Thanks for your suggestions! You mentioned Haswell will be out by Sept 13, does that mean laptops equipped with Haswell will be out very close to that date? I have to purchase the laptop by Sept 20 though :/

Do you think the increase in performance in Haswell compared to Ivy Bridge is worth the wait, or should I get the Y500?
In that case your deadline is pretty tight smile.gif Haswell is expected to be launched by 3Q13, but brands normally take a bit of time to launch new models, and for those models to reach Malaysia, could take a couple more months sweat.gif

As I said, if you are looking for gaming laptop, Haswell CPU performance won't beat Ivy Bridge by much (may be 5% clock for clock for what I read so far). The major improvement is going to be on the IGPU, but that is not relevant for gaming laptop unless you are looking for very light gaming with IGPU. The other benefit is the better power consumption profile.

If you like Y500, then go for it. But for your budget, top up a bit you could get something really awesome smile.gif
www.illegear.com
RS-15, i5-3210M + AMD HD7970M + (1920x1080)@RM5299, 8GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3940XM][GPU options: GTX680M]
nexus2238
post Mar 25 2013, 11:08 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(L_Kuan @ Mar 25 2013, 10:47 PM)
Have some doubts on some models in the catalog
Some of them do not have SSD but labelled as 'Ultrabook'

'Qualified' to be?
Since you ask the question, do you know what is the definition of "ultrabook"? (Just in case you are wondering, ultrabook is an Intel trademark, so basically if Intel said a model is an ultrabook, it is an ultrabook laugh.gif )
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ult...er-devices.html
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 12:31 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 25 2013, 11:25 PM)
Like what nexus2238 sifu has mentioned, there are specific criteria to be met before a notebook can be considered as an ultrabook nod.gif
But I have to admit these criteria are a bit too loose and its pretty hard to actually know whether certain notebooks are actually ultrabooks or not (for instance the new ULV Inspiron 14); unless we go and check the criteria one-by-one laugh.gif
Headache  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
TJ, I am too lazy. Normally I just look at the display model and see if the ultrabook sticker in on or not laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 12:40 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(L_Kuan @ Mar 25 2013, 11:10 PM)
For instance,

[Ultrabook] Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

There's no SSD and this is called "Sleekbook" in HP website
Actually, I love this model precisely because it don't have a stock SSD from HP laugh.gif
Most 14" ultrabook come with a mSATA SSD + SATA HDD combination. Not ideal in term of responsiveness.
This baby just give us the HDD, save cost by omitting the mSATA SSD.

Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W8
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

If you look at these two models, the 1238TX save RM300 by omitting the mSATA SSD (more or less). But RM300 can actually get us a 128G SATA SSD rclxms.gif So owner could buy a full SATA SSD, swap with the HDD (keep it as external or trade in), and get a much more responsive, lighter, longer battery performance, cooler running ultrabook thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 26 2013, 12:40 AM
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 09:46 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(zackho @ Mar 26 2013, 09:37 AM)
hi im looking for a laptop ,budget below 3k .my usage will more in adobe premiere pro,photoshop(hope can have a better lcd) because my old cq40 color really big different to other lcd screen.hope sifus here can help me..and is it lenovo y580 still available in malaysia??i also have play games like heroes of newerth
Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Very nice screen. i7 quad core for all the adobe premier pro and photoshop work. GPU can handle HoN.
Price is RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 09:53 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(noric @ Mar 26 2013, 12:34 AM)
Hello everyone, would like to ask for recommendation on "Asus" and "Lenovo" Only brand lappie to buy.

It's for gaming and work purposes (plenty of M.office and adobe software usage). My budget will be below MYR3,000.00

Would like to thanks everyone for the kind suggestion beforehand, greatly appreciated it.
Screen size preferred? Since you did not mention, assume 14".

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

Use your remaining budget to increase RAM (Asus) (4G stick ~ RM80), swap HDD with SSD (256G ~ RM600+/-, 128G ~ RM300+/-).
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 10:01 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Psychosis @ Mar 26 2013, 12:18 AM)
1. Preferred Brand : anything but acer
2. Budget : 3k
3. Usage gaming / assignment
4. Preferred laptop/screen size at least 13 "

Possible to get laptop with  SSD for my  budget?
full SSD come standard in models by brands is expensive smile.gif
SSD 128G ~ RM300+/-, 256G ~ RM600+/-. You can buy after market and swap with the HDD, normally will not void laptop hardware warranty.

Gaming - what game titles do you play? Anyway 13" models are mostly ultrabook, and 13" ultrabook normally come with Intel HD4000 IGPU. Come play some games, but not satisfactory for lots of GPU demanding titles.

Consider 14".

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

HP

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 02:25 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 26 2013, 01:50 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: anything as long as quality not too bad
2. Budget: 2~3k
3. Usage: light gaming(sometimes play GTA 4), multitasking(web browsing, movies, edit photos, assignments)

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 12"~14"
5. Additional: preferably as light as possible (<=2kg), thin if possible, touch screen window 8.

I have read through some model, was interested in UD32X, but then i realised it has no touchscreen sad.gif
then i saw some models like
microsoft surface pro,
lenovo yoga 11s
lenovo ideapad u410 touch
Lenovo Ideapad U310 Touch
toshiba Satellite U845t

these cant be purchased yet? should I wait for them to be available? since the specs are quite ok with an affordable price.
If you want to play GTA4 reasonably, you need good CPU and good GPU. Intel HD 4000 will not cut it for GTA4 (unless you like to play in 800x600 at lowest preset laugh.gif ).
So you can pretty much rule out laugh.gif
Surface Pro
Yoga 11s
U410
U310
U845T
blah blah blah blah ... icon_rolleyes.gif

If you really reallly need touch screen, and want to be able to play GTA4 as well:

Acer
M5-481PTG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 10-point touch, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 26 2013, 02:30 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 02:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(GG_AT3 @ Mar 26 2013, 02:16 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Brand known for less problem.
2. Budget: 2.0-2.5k
3. Usage: For gaming (FM, DOTA, and any light games)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14"-15"

any recommendation?  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Price is RSP, negotiable.
Use remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years. Any hardware problem, call Dell, Dell technician come to you to fix the laptop smile.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 03:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 26 2013, 02:32 PM)
im using a lenovo pentium dual core, with nvidia g105m, which is so noob, and i am able to play GTA 4 with low resolution, maybe not so smooth. I hope intel hd4000 is better. my lappy now is 3gb ram
As I said, GTA 4, Intel HD4000, playable if you stick with 800x600 or 1024x768, lowest preset. If you are thinking at native resolution (HD or FHD) (some of the models you have in mind have FHD screen laugh.gif), it just crawl.
If you are happy with that, by all means icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 26 2013, 05:33 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 26 2013, 04:20 PM)
Actually I can ditch playing GTA 4, so any more recommendations? or should I wait a little longer for more models to be available in Msia?
When Haswell launch, all ultrabook must have touchscreen (in order to qualify for the ultrabook sticker laugh.gif ) So you definitely will have more touchscreen laptop choices compared to now.
But Haswell laptops probably will only appear in 4Q13 in Malaysia, could you wait that long? tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:10 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(eJiM @ Mar 27 2013, 04:33 PM)
I found Lenovo Y480 i7 + Gt650m RM2599..should i grab this? Is this a good bargain?Actually i plan to buy dell 14r i5 + gt730m. Should i still consider dell or just grab the y480? Reply ASAP
Is the Y480 a local set? If it is a grey import, not advisable to buy, may have problem claiming warranty from Lenovo Malaysia later.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 27 2013, 05:11 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:21 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(krezlinc @ Mar 27 2013, 11:18 AM)
1. Preferred Brand
Lenovo/Acer/HP
2. Budget
2-3K
3. Usage
Movies, light work stuff e.g. powerpoint, words... Using almost as a desktop replacement. Need good battery
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"-15"

Really appreciate any advices. Thx!
Errr ... if you are using it mostly as desktop replacement, meant that you will plug in AC power most of the time, then why are you concern with good battery performance? laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Your usage don't need powerful CPU or GPU, i3 & HD 4000 is more than enough.

Acer 14"
V5-471G-33214G50, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT620M@RM1799[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7HP
V5-471PG-53334G50, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
M5-481PTG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 10-point touch, W8
15"
V5-571G-53314G50, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7HP
M3-581TG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2699[2.25kg], 6GB

HP 14"
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion G4-2205/2206/2207TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2099[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(5400rpm), W8, colors: white/red/black

Lenovo 14"
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
15"
Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty
Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell) (battery performance not good)

Use your remaining budget to extend warranty (HP, 3 years), swap HDD with SSD (SSD 256G ~ RM600+/-, 128G ~ RM300+/-)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Mar 27 2013, 05:22 PM
nexus2238
post Mar 27 2013, 05:26 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(eJiM @ Mar 27 2013, 05:13 PM)
So u suggest me to buy the local set? How should i notice the different? Just by asking the sales agent?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2392413
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914
Read the 1st post of these thread to know how to identify Lenovo local set, and links to thread whereby users complain about Lenovo Malaysia warranty support of grey imports.

32 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0596sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:31 AM