32 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Feb 20 2013, 06:27 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 20 2013, 04:49 PM)
Hi I need some recommendations, don't have anything in mid yet but these are my preferences:

1. Preferred Brand
None, as long as it's not well known for something bad.

2. Budget
Less than 2k if possible but the lower the better.

3. Usage
MS Office, Watching movies, playing simple games eg those FB based ones.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
Smaller than 15" if possible.

Can I have a few brands & models for consideration?Thank you very much in advance for all your recommendations.
Errr ... every brands are well known for something bad laugh.gif (maybe not Apple tongue.gif, or I will get shot smile.gif )
Your usage requirement is not demanding at all. Anything with i3 & HD4000 is good enough smile.gif

Acer
V5-471PG-53334G50, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Asus
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1899[1.99kg], Win8SL, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell
HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black
Lenovo
G480, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Feb 20 2013, 06:33 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Feb 20 2013, 02:20 PM)
1. Preferred Brand:anything that is good and reliable even after sale service
2. Budget: maximum 1.5k. but if can have around 1.2k is better.
3. Usage:normal gaming as dota and microsoft usage(for uni student, not graphic intensive)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:none
Very tight budget to play Dota smile.gif Dota and Dota2 actually can be played in HD3000, if you set it to low setting laugh.gif Something with discrete GPU make life more fun though smile.gif
Good after sales service? Dell, Lenovo (send to IBM SC), HP ...

Dell
Inspiron 14 (3420), i3-3110M + Nvidia GT625M@RM1599[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 (see if you can still find this, as Dell is phasing it out with 3421)

Lenovo
G480, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

Prices are RSP, negotiable (a bit).
nexus2238
post Feb 20 2013, 06:41 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kaizenng90 @ Feb 20 2013, 01:36 AM)
1. Brand: Not important for me. smile.gif
2. Budget: RM3k+
3. Usage: Gaming, pictures and video editting, programming
4. Size: Min 14"

Please do advice. Thanks.
Care to tell us what game titles you play?
If you do pro-level pictures and video editing, could make use of i7 quad core. FHD screen is also nice, as you get more work space.

Acer 15"
V3-571G-73614G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2699[2.6kg], 4GB, 1TB, W7HP

Asus 14"
A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
15"
N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Dell 14"
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional
Alienware M14x R2, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M (1GB) + (1600x900)@RM3999[2.92kg][Klipsch], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); [CPU Options: i7-3630QM - i7-3840QM], W8, 2 years warranty
15"
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo 14"
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
15"
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)
Z500 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty (Stock limited)
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

nexus2238
post Feb 20 2013, 06:45 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(xowangzi @ Feb 19 2013, 09:30 PM)
Thanks 4 the information! They're almost similar specs but the price can be much different ~
Especially ASUS N56 compare to Dell Inspiron, HP and Lenovo Z500.
Is there big difference between brands ?
Have a look at the N56VZ in person, quite pretty smile.gif (part of price premium)

In terms of raw spec, all brands are more or less the same (CPU from Intel, GPU from Nvidia / AMD, ... )
So normally the differentiating factors are price/performance ratio (Asus & Lenovo .. ), aesthetic appeal (Asus, HP, ... subjective to personal taste), warranty support (Dell ... ) ...
nexus2238
post Feb 20 2013, 06:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(jh95 @ Feb 19 2013, 09:18 PM)
Model: Lenovo Y580 Full HD i7 Gamer Laptop Model Number:5934-2479Processor:Intel Core™ i7-3610QM Memory:8GB DDR3 1600 SDRAMHard Drive:1TB SATA Hard Disk DriveGraphics:Nvidia GTX660M 2GB DDR5 GraphicsCamera : 1.3MB HD CameraDisplay type:15.6" Full HD LED MonitorOptical Drive:BluRay DVD ComboConnectivity:Wireless Lan 802.11 b/g/n |Bluetooth|LAN RJ45Interface:3 x USB 3, mini-PCIe, 6-in 1 card reader,mic, headphone, HDMI, RJ45, 1 x USB/eSATA Combo, Battery:6-cells Li-ion batteryColor:Metallic BlackSpeaker:SRS+JBL Speakerkeyboard:Keyboard with BackLightOperation System:Window 7 Home Premium 64Weight: 2.5 kgBag:BackPackWarranty: 2 Year International Warranty By Lenovo   tis 1 price wnt how much
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty (Stock limited)
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3899[JBL], 8GB, 32GB mSATA + 1TB HDD, W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years warranty

These are the specs and RSP for local set, prices negotiable.
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 12:27 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(zhiyang @ Feb 21 2013, 11:42 AM)
http://www.lelong.com.my/hp-envy-4-1204tx-...7-01-Sale-I.htm  sifu why is it different than the one you mentioned? SSD is included and the graphics card and processor is slightly better.  Should I get this from the seller? By the way is it possible to install SSD into the laptop in the future?
GPU is the same. CPU is practically the same, just clock differently.
Yes, there is mSATA SSD. Please note it's factory set for caching only.
Yes, it is possible for you to swap out the HDD and replace it with SSD in the future. It usually won't void the warranty smile.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 12:37 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(NightHeart @ Feb 21 2013, 11:17 AM)
Thanks a lot for the recommendations! Very detailed indeed. Can I get something with i3 & intel HD4000 below RM1.5k?

I saw one of the Acer V5 series at the moment. Looks interesting. Btw are those new touch screen laptops any good?
i3, HD4000, < RM1.5k. Yes smile.gif

Dell
Inspiron 14 (3420), i3-3110M + Nvidia GT625M@RM1599[2.1kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
HP
Pavilion G4-2110TU, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1599, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Lenovo
G480, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS
Samsung
NP370R4E, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, W8

Personally, I find touch screen on conventional laptop is not ergonomic to use (hands get tired quickly poking across keyboard), and worry about the sturdiness of the hinge holding the screen to the keyboard base. Touch screen on those hybrid / convertible laptop is a lot of fun though laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 12:45 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 21 2013, 10:09 AM)
Hi Sifu here,
I'm survey on a mobile workstation laptop for office, which model /series I should go?

Requirement:
1) Enable display 3 displays individual at the same time with/without docking station.
(Monitor display itself + 2 external monitors)
2) mid-end GPU or high-end GPU with HDMI/DisplayPort out on laptop.
3) 15" monitor

Website link please if any.

If for DELL, as I know, Precision / Inspiron model come with docking, but i'm not sure which can support up to 3 monitors.

If Dell Alienware series which come with GTX GPU, can support 3 monitors? If can, must with docking? (If Alienware available for docking?)
Any laptop with Intel HD4000 IGPU can support 3 display, it's part of HD4000 functionality. The problem is how are you going to connect 3 displays to the laptop smile.gif
Laptop has 1 screen. If your laptop has a VGA port, and/or a (mini)HDMI port, and/or (mini)DisplayPort then may be you could. If not, you are out of luck.
And plug in / out VGA / HDMI / DisplayPort cable repeatedly get old reaaaaally fast laugh.gif

Get proper workstation (Thinkpad, Latitude / Precision, Elitebook) with docking, the user will thank you smile.gif These laptop also has better build quality, matte screen, better warranty support.

Alienware don't have dedicated docks from Dell, iinm. But you may try the Dell D3000 USB3.0 dock, or the Targus USB3.0 dock.

Since you did not specify what type of work it is for, can't tell what type of GPU you need.
Also let us know your budget please.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 21 2013, 01:07 PM
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 12:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Feb 20 2013, 06:47 PM)
yep. uni student oni. sad.gif tight budjet only. btw, any recommendation from acer?
and when will the haswel come out on laptop? if not long, maybe can wait
Acer (closest)
V5-551G-84552G1T, A8-4555 + AMD HD7650M@RM1599, 2GB, 1TB, W8 (be warned. The CPU is weaker than 1st gen Intel i3 sweat.gif But the graphic performance is OK)
Aspire V3-471G-53212G75d, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W8

Haswell most likely will only pop up in laptop in Malaysia around Sep/Oct13 (or even later). Unlike Ivy bridge where all CPU get the same IGPU HD4000, Haswell CPUs could get different IGPU, the top one looks pretty good around Nvidia GT620/630M level (but the top IGPU may only come in top CPU tongue.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 21 2013, 12:58 PM
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 01:15 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(zhiyang @ Feb 21 2013, 01:08 PM)
What does it mean by factory set for caching only? So would you advise me to get this?  And extend the warranty for 3 uears?
The mSATA SSD, you will not see it in file explorer for your to save files or install apps. It is set in BIOS for caching so that the files / apps that you frequently run will launch faster (but it is a hit / miss affair. Better than nothing though smile.gif ).
It's a good ultrabook, with good GPU.
Please remember to negotiate a bit from the RM2399 HP list price smile.gif
Yes, please extend warranty to 3 years if you could afford it smile.gif
Also get a cooling pad (~ RM80 will do. Or use table fan laugh.gif ) when you use ultrabook (especially powerful one like this). Heat (and dust) is enemy no.1 for laptop smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 21 2013, 01:15 PM
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 05:53 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(manypplwan @ Feb 21 2013, 04:21 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : Depends. Lower is always better
3. Usage : Gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15" if possible
5. Preferred graphic card : 7970M or equivalent

Illegear
www.illegear.com
Illegear RS-15, i5-3210M + AMD HD7970M + (1920x1080)@RM5299, 8GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3940XM][GPU options: GTX680M]

MSI
GX60, AMD A10-4600M + AMD XT HD7970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4799, W7HP, MSI backpack, gaming mouse, HDMI cable, 2 years warranty (The CPU is weak tongue.gif so you may run into games that capped by CPU performance)

nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 06:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(matt_att @ Feb 21 2013, 05:19 PM)
Dear Master, need advice on laptop purchase
1. Preferred Brand:
      Lenovo, Toshiba or Acer
2. Budget: not so concern
3. Usage: BUsiness, need W7 Pro 64 bits
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:none

others : lighter better, SSD 256 better ....

thanks in advance
Do you mean you need business class laptop, or you are just looking for laptop to use in your business? smile.gif
If you mean business class laptop, Lenovo has its Thinkpad in Malaysia. Toshiba and Acer does not really push their Tecra and Travelmate respectively in Malaysia (a few models here and there but difficult to find, and don't offer really good on site warranty support sweat.gif )
Since you prefer something light, then 14" or smaller.
SSD 256G is ~ RM600+/- off the shelf. Coming together as standard specs of laptop sometime could be a lot more expensive smile.gif

Lenovo 14"
Thinkpad X1 Carbon, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD (1600x900)@RM5399[1.36kg], 4GB, W7P, backlit keyboard, no ODD
Thinkpad X1 Carbon, i7-3667U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD (1600x900)@RM6599[1.36kg], 4GB, W7P, backlit keyboard, no ODD
ThinkPad T430U, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM3799, 4GB, W7P, 3 years on-site warranty
ThinkPad T430U, i7-3517U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB HDD@RM4399, 8GB, W7P, 3 years on-site warranty
12.5"
ThinkPad X230, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM4059, 4GB, 320GB(7200rpm), 3 years on-site warranty, external USB OD
ThinkPad X230, i7-3520M + Intel HD4000@RM4769, 4GB, 320GB(7200rpm), 3 years on-site warranty, external USB OD
nexus2238
post Feb 21 2013, 06:09 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Juni0r007 @ Feb 21 2013, 05:21 PM)
Hello, i need recommendation from sifu here. Buying a new laptop.

1. Preferred Brand : Anything good.
2. Budget : 2.5k
3. Usage : Gaming (Dota2, MW3, COD), Movies, Networking - Student
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14", 15" preferrable.
5. Preferred graphic card : NVIDIA
Asus
N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)

Use your remaining budget to upgrade RAM (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty to 3 years (Dell).
nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 10:10 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Feb 22 2013, 09:20 AM)
Thanks for your comments and guide...appreciate  notworthy.gif
so meaning that, only new CPU can work?
Is HD4000 only come with Ivy bridge?

Yes, will prefer use docking station to get 3 display or more displays.

Requirement:

Budget = RM5k (laptop only)
Mid-End GPU (use for 3D CAD Tools)
4GB RAM or 8GB
1TB SATA HDD + SSD (prefer if can fit both)
Yes, HD 4000 only come with Ivy bridge.
HD 3000 that come in Sandy bridge, iinm, can only support 2 displays. So if you get laptop with Sandy Bridge CPU, you will need a dedicated Nvidia / AMD GPU to support 3 displays.
4G RAM stick is ~ RM80 off the shelf, direct from laptop brands is more expensive smile.gif
For CAD, you will prefer i7 quad core (but don't need XM, waste of money tongue.gif ). For professional use, go for Firepro or Quadro GPU (with certified driver) for best performance, but consumer class GPU is workable also (but I understand some software like Solidwork may not run fully optimised with consumer class GPU)

Dell
Latitude E6430, i5-3320M + Intel HD4000@RM4300, backlit keyboard, 3 Years, W7P (32-bit); [CPU options: i5-3320M-i7-3720QM][GPU option: Nvidia NVS 5200M], HD+ screen upgradable
Latitude E6530, i5-3360M + Intel HD4000@RM4550, 4GB, 320GB(7200rpm), W7P (32-bit), 3 years on-site warranty; [CPU options: i5-3360M-i7-3720QM][GPU option: Nvidia NVS5200M], HD+ & FullHD screen upgradable
The NVS GPU is not optimised for CAD (you need to dig to find certified drivers tongue.gif ). Opt for HD+ or FHD screen.
Precison M4700, i7-3720M + Nvidia Quadro K1000M@RM5800, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W7P [Screen Upgrade: FHD, FHD IPS RGB] [CPU Upgrade: up to i7-3920XM] [GPU Upgrade: Quadro K2000M] [RAM up to 32GB] (Opt for FHD screen)

HP
EliteBook 8470w, i7-3520M + AMD FirePro M2000 (1600x900) @RM5099, 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7P, anti-glare, 3 years
EliteBook 8570w, i7-3520M + nVidia Quadro K1000M + (1920x1080 DreamColour )+Bluray@RM6199, W7P, 3 Years warranty include battery

Prices are RSP, negotiable (a lot). Don't be surprise that model listed at RM6k is within your budget after negotiation laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 22 2013, 10:23 AM
nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 10:13 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(matt_att @ Feb 22 2013, 08:36 AM)
Sincerely thanks for the recommandation, very useful information. Yes, i need a business class laptop for daily operationn use. i dont realize that Lenovo X1 carbon do has 256SSD.
Actually if you upgrade the HDD to SSD after market, it normally will not void the warranty of the laptop, so you actually could consider any models listed previously smile.gif (just that the SSD won't have warranty from laptop brand, but warranty from SSD brand).
nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 10:16 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 21 2013, 10:53 PM)
lolz.. he say alienware rm6k spec lousier than the asus rog one.. i think i better ask him buy tat asus, easy lol..
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Feb 21 2013, 10:58 PM)
Aiyo, if he has already decided then noneed to ask for recommendations liao  doh.gif
Suggest better performing, better looking, cheaper alternatives he also don't want, just get the Asus ba laugh.gif
And pray that nothing goes wrong with it, otherwise have to face with Asus Malaysia's "superb" warranty service  sweat.gif
Aiyo, want good look, but don't play game, best way to burn money is to buy MacBook laugh.gif

Apple
MacBookPro 15" (Retina Display), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M + 256GB SSD + (2880x1800)@RM6799[2.02kg], 8GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookPro 15" (Retina Display), i7-3720QM + Nvidia GT650M + 512GB SSD + (2880x1800)@RM8699[2.02kg], 8GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

Want to use Windows, bootcamp smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 22 2013, 10:16 AM
nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 10:21 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Xboxforsale @ Feb 21 2013, 09:42 PM)
Ok im not a computer wozarb but i need ur help!! I need a super cheap laptop just to play blackshot...its like sudden attack if u dont know...

Ill only play that game or browse internet so i need a very cheap latop..but i dont want it to be lagging

My budget is around 1.5 k please help me sifu sad.gif
Lenovo

Cheapest laptop with dedicated GPU that can give you smooooth game play in Blackshot smile.gif
Prices are RSP, negotiable (a bit).

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 22 2013, 10:50 AM
nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 10:34 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(fabulousbobs @ Feb 22 2013, 12:48 AM)
Bro need some help deciding which laptop to buy

1.lenovo , dell, asus
2.budget 3.5k max
3.uni life , gaming ,
4. 14 - 15.6
I want  a laptop that can withstand extreme condition like playing games for 8 hour+ because i like to leave my game open . So , y580 have caught my eyes recently because of their high performance with a good price  . But i have seen like heating issue and defected graphic card problem that come along with them . So are they a good choice for an 'extreme' guy like me ? Is there another better choice ? Good for next 2-3 years games ? icon_question.gif
Your choices:

Asus
G55VW-S1216H, i7-3630QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo 14"
15"
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter

Y580 run hot smile.gif Easy fix is to buy a caddy to swap the HDD to ODD (and leave the ODD as external drive). If you could find the RM2999 spec (resellers were selling at RM27xx, but good luck in finding that laugh.gif), you can use your remaining budget to buy 128G SSD (~RM300+/-) and put in the HDD bay (install OS and apps on the SSD), increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM80), upgrade warranty to 3 years on site (~ RM250), and still within your budget smile.gif
If you opt for Y580, strongly suggest you get a local set. Grey imports may be cheaper, but some users complain that they could not get warranty support from Lenovo Malaysia.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 22 2013, 10:51 AM
nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 10:48 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(paddyps @ Feb 22 2013, 10:16 AM)
hi all! would like some recommendations for a new laptop

1. Preferred Brand : (not acer)
2. Budget : 3k max, preferably less
3. Usage : usual + some photoshop, GIS mapping
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : ><14"

other specs:
Processor: preferably i7
RAM: preferably 8GB
HDD: 1TB

i saw some ppl selling Lenovo Y480 with specs i want in this forum
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2640946
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2395967/all

i wonder if it's ok to buy online? it seems like their price are cheaper than from shops...

thanks!
Y480 is EOL smile.gif Any new sets in Malaysia right now are likely to be grey imports. Some users complain they could not get warranty support from Lenovo Malaysia on their grey import Y4/580.

Yes, for photoshop and GIS mapping, i7 quad core is good (but i5 is servisable as well). You don't need very high end GPU smile.gif
RAM is cheap, 4G stick is ~ RM80.
1TB HDD is also cheap laugh.gif Price difference between 500G and 1TB HDD is < RM100.
You can easily upgrade RAM and HDD (negotiate with resellers), it normally will not void warranty of the laptop (just that the RAM and HDD has warranty from the component brand rather than laptop brand).

Consider these:
Asus
A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

HP
Envy Dv4-5202TX/5203TX, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2399[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8, black/red
Envy Dv4-5205TX, i7-3630M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2699[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8
Pavilion G4-2205/2206/2207TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2099[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(5400rpm), W8, colors: white/red/black
Pavilion G4-2111TX, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2499[2.19kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W7HP

Lenovo
Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty

You may want to consider 15" with FHD screen as well (give you more work space):
Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

nexus2238
post Feb 22 2013, 12:24 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Juni0r007 @ Feb 22 2013, 12:21 PM)
Sifus where can i get this ar?

HP [Ultrabook] Envy4-1204TX, i5-3317U + AMD HD8750M@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Errr ... when you are asking question like this, shouldn't you at least tell us where you are? smile.gif

32 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:17 PM