post Aug 29 2013, 12:30 PM

braid mainline direct to hook seldom use .... gets bitten through easily
usually braid mainline fg-ed to FC leader to hook or to snaplock to hook

works for me whether baiting or luring
kakasnow
post Aug 29 2013, 01:20 PM

33 posts

oh... how many ld leader u using or what is suits my 30lb braided???

TSinv
post Aug 29 2013, 03:09 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(kakasnow @ Aug 29 2013, 01:20 PM)
oh... how many ld leader u using or what is suits my 30lb braided???
I'm using 40lbs nylon as leader on both my 30lbs setup.
katsumoto2011
post Aug 29 2013, 09:53 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Aug 29 2013, 02:04 AM)
fuhh that is close, 8.84!!
it already in the ranking , i just need someone kick me down 1 more level

SneakyLeaky
post Aug 29 2013, 10:25 PM

150 posts

Revealed: Fish DO have a good memory and can even be sneaky - Dailymail.co.uk
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/art...ite-sneaky.html

hmm never took this seriously after all these time fishing. i guess people do really mean it when they say fish learns and gets smarter over time. i suppose that is why i am not getting any fish at all from the catch and release pond at Paradigm mall. Below are some quotes from the article.

'And carp that have been caught by fishers avoid hooks for at least a year. That fish have only a three second memory is just rubbish.'

'Some behavioural traits that we think are very human, such as deception, fish have as well,' he said.

'Fish can recognise other individuals and modify their own behaviour after observing interactions between other individuals.

Dr Warburton added: 'But what's fascinating is that they co-operate more with clients when they are being observed by other potential clients.
'This improves their 'image' and their chances of attracting clients.

i guess i need to hide my line, swivel and even my sinker. since i am using baitcasting i guess i won't need them, just put on a heavier bait and try. any thoughts on this people?

TSinv
post Aug 30 2013, 06:10 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Aug 29 2013, 10:25 PM)
Revealed: Fish DO have a good memory and can even be sneaky - Dailymail.co.uk
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/art...ite-sneaky.html

hmm never took this seriously after all these time fishing. i guess people do really mean it when they say fish learns and gets smarter over time. i suppose that is why i am not getting any fish at all from the catch and release pond at Paradigm mall. Below are some quotes from the article.
'And carp that have been caught by fishers avoid hooks for at least a year. That fish have only a three second memory is just rubbish.' 

'Some behavioural traits that we think are very human, such as deception, fish have as well,' he said.

'Fish can recognise other individuals and modify their own behaviour after observing interactions between other individuals.

Dr Warburton added: 'But what's fascinating is that they co-operate more with clients when they are being observed by other potential clients.
'This improves their 'image' and their chances of attracting clients.
i guess i need to hide my line, swivel and even my sinker. since i am using baitcasting i guess i won't need them, just put on a heavier bait and try. any thoughts on this people?
what line are you using? brand? model? lbs?

any leader? fc? nylon? brand? model? lbs?
SneakyLeaky
post Aug 30 2013, 12:00 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Aug 30 2013, 06:10 AM)
what line are you using? brand? model? lbs?

any leader? fc? nylon? brand? model? lbs?
the line i am using is some cheap braided line brand RM20+ from Kepong Tackle. 150m
the lbs is 20. i don't use nylon leader line, usually i use my 30lbs braided as my leader.
trowachin
post Aug 30 2013, 01:56 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(SneakyLeaky @ Aug 30 2013, 12:00 PM)
the line i am using is some cheap braided line brand RM20+ from Kepong Tackle. 150m
the lbs is 20. i don't use nylon leader line, usually i use my 30lbs braided as my leader.
regardless what you fish, always a good practice is to have a Fluorocarbon Shock leader / Nylon Shock leader in front before you connect your snap to your bait.

FC will make the end part of your bait looks "line-less", similar to Nylon. according to your article that you posted above, you will have to fool the fish by not letting the fish seeing your last part of the line. FC is good, Nylon is as good, braided will definitely show out the line and spool fishes. not forgetting a black color hook / silver color hook / gold color hook makes whole lot different in making the fish bite.

bottom feeders that tend to suck baits up from the ground will appreciate if you use something soft like braided as leader. FC and Nylon proved to be stiff. by the time they suck up your chicken liver they would've spit out the bait leaving you no chance to set your hook >D

i personally won't buy rm20 lines unless i know that :
1) the place where i'm going to have fishes that have not seen lines before.
2) the place where i'm going to fish is prone to lose line easily
3) use the rm20 for things like line backing / or to make leaders for specific fishes.

who knows you might develop a theory of yours when you go fishing, that's the fun part of it aight?
SneakyLeaky
post Aug 30 2013, 03:58 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(trowachin @ Aug 30 2013, 01:56 PM)
regardless what you fish, always a good practice is to have a Fluorocarbon Shock leader / Nylon Shock leader in front before you connect your snap to your bait.

FC will make the end part of your bait looks "line-less", similar to Nylon. according to your article that you posted above, you will have to fool the fish by not letting the fish seeing your last part of the line. FC is good, Nylon is as good, braided will definitely show out the line and spool fishes. not forgetting a black color hook / silver color hook / gold color hook makes whole lot different in making the fish bite.

bottom feeders that tend to suck baits up from the ground will appreciate if you use something soft like braided as leader. FC and Nylon proved to be stiff. by the time they suck up your chicken liver they would've spit out the bait leaving you no chance to set your hook >D

i personally won't buy rm20 lines unless i know that :
1) the place where i'm going to have fishes that have not seen lines before.
2) the place where i'm going to fish is prone to lose line easily
3) use the rm20 for things like line backing / or to make leaders for specific fishes.

who knows you might develop a theory of yours when you go fishing, that's the fun part of it aight?
hmm thanks a lot for this info. ive seen those flurocarbon shock leader lines in stores, they are so expensive!! actually i sort of tested this 'fish-line' theory before. i was feeding minnows corn bits back at taman danau desa lake, when i gave them the corn bits like feeding koi fishes, they gulped them in without second thought. then, i used a line and a hook, placed the corn in the small hook and placed it right infront of them, what happened was that all the fish ignored it and moved away...
kakasnow
post Aug 30 2013, 04:25 PM

33 posts

is it ok if my 30lb braided main line connect to a 40lb mono as a leader???
need some basic info... or i can put a swivel in between of the braided and the mono....which is high recommended???
trowachin
post Aug 30 2013, 04:34 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kakasnow @ Aug 30 2013, 04:25 PM)
is it ok if my 30lb braided main line connect to a 40lb mono as a leader???
need some basic info... or i can put a swivel in between of the braided and the mono....which is high recommended???
if you are talking about monofilament line it won't be as tough as FC or Nylon. it will also stretch a lot more compared to the them.

swivel between main line. if you are still fishing the 1990's style, i used to do that! (cuz joining thin mono line to thick mono line is troublesome or for convenience)
kakasnow
post Aug 30 2013, 04:40 PM

33 posts

so what u are referring is braided to FC or Nylon to form a leader without the swivel right?

alright... will try to have some FC or nylon....thx for the info...
trowachin
post Aug 30 2013, 05:16 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(kakasnow @ Aug 30 2013, 04:40 PM)
so what u are referring is braided to FC or Nylon to form a leader without the swivel right?

alright... will try to have some FC or nylon....thx for the info...
yup. there are knots to do that. FG knot is a good strong one. Albright knot also good.

you will have to choose the right knot for the right kind of line. too slippery of a braid / superline / fiber will require different kind of clinching methods to form the knot between a slippery leader / stiff leader.
katsumoto2011
post Aug 30 2013, 09:25 PM

219 posts

i need a head count on how many people going for shah alam seksyen 24
tomorrow

so that i can start prepare for bait tonight

things to bring

1) ROD HOLDER (the most important !)
2) float
3) bait basket AKA spring
4) Fluorescent Light Float Glow Sticks
5) extra set of fishing rod / reel

LordCZ
post Aug 30 2013, 09:57 PM

46 posts

any good places for fishing that the fishes can be brought back? or at least within a limited condition?
if nt mistaken, like sek24,under 2kg can bring back right?
katsumoto2011
post Aug 30 2013, 10:19 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(LordCZ @ Aug 30 2013, 09:57 PM)
any good places for fishing that the fishes can be brought back? or at least within a limited condition?
if nt mistaken, like sek24,under 2kg can bring back right?
correct below 2 kg can bring back
LordCZ
post Aug 30 2013, 10:22 PM

46 posts

but i see pics and review that d fishes thr mostly bigger than 2kg...so hard to bring back oso la...haha...
any other places to recommend ya sifu-sifu sekalian?
kakasnow
post Aug 31 2013, 02:50 AM

33 posts

tomorrow im going....
1.30pm right?
see u there....

i'm a newbie...so what i have is
one set fishing gear 30lm braided...
Float...
bait basket x2...
and im trying a new flavour of bait...
rod holder....

faujc99
post Aug 31 2013, 03:48 AM

153 posts

wont it be a little too crowded 2molo and going at 1:30pm?
katsumoto2011
post Aug 31 2013, 08:28 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(kakasnow @ Aug 31 2013, 02:50 AM)
tomorrow im going....
1.30pm right?
see u there....

i'm a newbie...so what i have is
one set fishing gear 30lm braided...
Float...
bait basket x2...
and im trying a new flavour of bait...
rod holder....
QUOTE(faujc99 @ Aug 31 2013, 03:48 AM)
wont it be a little too crowded 2molo and going at 1:30pm?
actually what time you go also crowded since is a public holiday

128 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:16 AM