Hobbies Fishing thread v11, fish fish fish

TSinv
post Jan 29 2013, 03:33 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Jan 29 2013, 03:21 PM)
one of the chap's replies mentioned rm920 for the basic ... kinda pricey compared with a +USD200 Gopro
And the gopro has a chest mount. I don't see how to mount this ion on the chest...
TSinv
post Jan 29 2013, 06:05 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Shoulder? I call it parrotview!
TSinv
post Jan 31 2013, 04:49 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Jan 31 2013, 04:43 PM)
these are eging reels ... expensive, too ... might no longer be in production
had a friend who sold his for less than rm500 ... uwaaaaaa ... i had no $$$
extreme anglers had a 2nd hand unit on display ... not sure whether still there or not

fau,
it's more of letting your rod shake, bend, the bells ring, take up the rod and have fun smile.gif
many of us auto strike when we pick up the rod, in this case .. no need
because if we do, we're pulling the hook out of the fish's mouth
all we do is hang on, then pump and reel pump and reel ... no need to strike
I think I saw a dude handling the reek in EA two weeks ago. Don't know if he finally bought it.

TSinv
post Feb 2 2013, 10:30 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Feb 2 2013, 09:14 PM)
http://www.plat.co.jp/shop/catalog/product...gis-1003rh.html

for kakis who like shallow spool spinners that come in black/gray and red tongue.gif
i love the colourway. much better than the drab luvias.

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Feb 2 2013, 09:16 PM)
2013 certate ... spool looks garang a bit ... but side plate looks a bit subdued in a nice way ...
http://www.plat.co.jp/shop/catalog/product...rtate-1003.html
dun really like the new look. too much gold for my liking.

This post has been edited by inv: Feb 2 2013, 10:31 PM
TSinv
post Feb 4 2013, 10:36 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Feb 2 2013, 10:48 PM)
actually, bro ... i'd take the luvias look over aegis' any day
personal preference i guess ...
U r right. The new luvias looks a lot better. I was looking at the older boring version.

Hmm.. Certate, luvias or gekkabijin?
TSinv
post Feb 8 2013, 02:09 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Feb 8 2013, 09:52 AM)
Great!!

I was just hoping to share and show to fellow anglers how a rod is being built and of course with all the consideration in hand... smile.gif

Fellow anglers,
These are the questions that you may need to answer TO YOURSELF before building a rod smile.gif

1. What type of rod? Casting/jigging/surf/spinning
- Casting rod: Graphite construction, thin wall, light weighted, length, type of action, fast, slow, mid
- Jigging rod: what is the PE that is required, length, type of jigging performed, long stroke, short, speed, size of reel
etc...etc...etc...
2. What is your budget for the rod blank?
3. How much time can you spare for making this blank on daily basis.
4. Then the rest flow of step by step would be varied due to personal requirements

As for the accessories, it's not ex too.
EVA handle: RM25 1strip of 1.5ft as i recalled
Reel seat: RM25
Guides: Taiwan SIC RM100 Fuji SIC RM350 Fuji LowRider SIC RM450+
Wrapping thread: RM15~20 each color
Epoxy: RM75 but i reckon sharing as you dont use much of the epoxy

The prices above are for reference only.

Tools required:
1. Drill
2. Sand paper
3. Empty box
4. Dictionary/phone book
5.10cc Syringe x2

DISCLAIMER: This method is not the best method and it would be a spinning hand tired spinning the threads onto the guides. There are no automation parts here, except for the drill and drying motor. This is the most basic way of rod building. smile.gif
Mine would be finesse spinning rod, 3-10lbs, 6'6, Fuji skeleton reel seat, Fuji k-guides. Haih.. super pricy..
TSinv
post Feb 8 2013, 07:56 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Feb 8 2013, 06:42 PM)
land 1 big sucker ????  sweat.gif
Big sucker is the one who buys it. Haha..
TSinv
post Feb 9 2013, 04:56 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

me oso! lets go!!
TSinv
post Feb 12 2013, 10:39 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(RT712 @ Feb 12 2013, 08:01 PM)
Happy CNY and happy holidays everyone!
Btw, bro inv, may I know where is your shop for restringing tennis racket and roughly how long does it take ?

hey dude. happy cny to you too. I do stringing from home in subang jaya.

depending on the strings and string-pattern, usually around 40min-45min per string job, but i normally do overnight, means, u send in today, collect tomorrow, mostly due to security concerns and all that.

TSinv
post Feb 16 2013, 09:13 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Feb 16 2013, 05:59 PM)
just wondering do you guys have any prefer brand of FC line ???
1. Berkley vanish
2. Ygk galis shore leader.
TSinv
post Feb 21 2013, 06:59 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

any chance of the spinning setup coming in 6'6 or more?
TSinv
post Feb 21 2013, 09:47 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Feb 21 2013, 09:16 PM)
Hi guys, im new in this fishing hobby. Can anybody kind enough to point me to the right track like buying my first rod and reel? Thank you very much.
1) budget?

2) what's your idea of fishing? cast and wait for fish to bite? or are you going for the apex predators?
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 09:49 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Feb 21 2013, 11:14 PM)
bro i think quite common right that length, but maybe dun have your super light ating la...haha
My ul n l gear setups complete adi. Thinking of a 8-16 lbs spinning as backup gear in case having a bad day of cbh.
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 10:10 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Feb 22 2013, 09:55 AM)
budget around RM500 can make it?Any recommendation on equip?Is there any tackle shop in damansara area?

target fish dono yet, normally i only eat fish.

areas should be around pond/ lake or river if possible.

method/technique, from what u said above, luring, jigging and bottom fishing seems interesting.

Thanks guys.
RM500 for all necessity or rod, reel n line only?

Strongly recommend to start with spinning setup. With the advancement of braided line, spinning setup is relevant again.

There is a group in fb called gang niaga pancing 88. Selling second hand goods. Some items are more expensive than shops but there r good deals every now n then.
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 10:59 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Feb 22 2013, 10:53 AM)
Cheong, which gang to join?u mean the FB gang niaga pancing 88?don't even have rod how to join?just go there watch?

The RM500 budget for rod and reel only, other things i count as accessories, and i know accessories cannot finish buying.
If u don't mind forking out RM100 for a 4 hour fishing session, u can join us at rawang natural exotic pond tomorrow morning. I have spare gears which I can loan u.
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 11:24 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

Fishing is as expensive as you want it to be.

check out majorcraft rods, rod length 6'3 and above. shimano reels (size 2500 n below for freshwater game.)

This post has been edited by inv: Feb 22 2013, 11:27 AM
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 07:45 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(1dollar @ Feb 22 2013, 07:42 PM)
i totally understand you,.. will join your club soon next month onwards hahaa
But i think going to jpond or exotic once a month is OK geh.
Some also wont agree cos wild fishes fight stronger... that also i totally agree.
But work calls,.. we have to be on stand by most the time.
might i add that planning our schedule is easier too.

wild fish hunting can take up to 3/4 of a day... and with missus and/or kids in tow, who has that kind of luxury of time to go hunt... sad.gif
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 10:31 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Feb 22 2013, 10:00 PM)
Do you guys go to any forum or blog that have any article/ tutorials/ reviews on fishing? I might go back to home town to grab 1 of my cousin fishing rod, how to see which fishing rod should i take because he got a few of it. He wont be there to teach me about fishing stuff because he pass away last year, his parents ask me to take his fishing rod if im interested.
sorry to hear about your cousin.

just grab his gears, take a picture and post it here and we should be able to tell you roughly what game those setups are for.
TSinv
post Feb 22 2013, 11:00 PM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(Streetrat @ Feb 22 2013, 10:52 PM)
Thanks for the fast reply.

One more question, why don't people just use one thickest rod and reel to do all the fishing, whether small or big fish? why do people need so many setup for different size of fish ?
then it'll be like using a tennis racket to play badminton and squash and vice versa.
TSinv
post Feb 23 2013, 05:24 AM

LINsanity
1,218 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Feb 23 2013, 12:42 AM)
bro, I think 8-16 or 8-17 pretty common... as mentioned I really like the ryobi red and white colored rod, i saw in ss4 and cempaka (BU new village), i remember i saw one which is 6feet, not sure if got longer but rating still the same at 8-16..... freakin light wei.... Price about RM140+-

or your standard prefer higher end one.... can check out the majorcrafts lo... i remember slicer got 8-17lb 6.5ft, not sure if got spinning or not...

some Viper rods (full white and full yellow) i see pretty impressive also la... especially for the price (usually below RM100) drool.gif  drool.gif
8-16 rods memang berlambak.. rory say wanna custom ma... so i hand itchy oso wanna custom loh.. haha

actually, i'm quite spoilt with majorcraft rods adi. already have a few from their stables, namely the volkey, go-emotion, crosstage and skyroad series. sensitivity, quality and built is very impressive. but then again, you get what you pay for la..

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:22 PM