Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative
blacktubi
Mar 23 2017, 12:28 AM
-
QUOTE(ubeyou @ Mar 22 2017, 11:25 PM) I'm deciding whether to go for two AC68U or single AC88U for triple storey house. TM router after replacement still can't reach the next floor & the further the weaker speed. 2 AC68U for the best performance. Make sure the second one is configured as an access point and have a physical link to the main router.
blacktubi
Mar 23 2017, 12:32 AM
-
QUOTE(batman1172 @ Mar 22 2017, 06:26 PM) RT-AC56U Please tell me if it works for maxis broadband 10mbps ? I don't see any antenna or did I miss it - can it cover a double storey house ? QoS - can it cap clients by macaddress as I want to limit per device to 3mbps only. is this adaptive QoS? or should I go for RT-AC55UHP ? or RT-AC1200HP ? Yes it works. PCB internal antenna is as good or better than external antenna if done properly. This router is a different league with the AC55UHP/AC1200 series. There's a bandwidth limiter feature for per device QoS.
blacktubi
Mar 23 2017, 12:32 AM
-
QUOTE(batman1172 @ Mar 22 2017, 06:26 PM) RT-AC56U Please tell me if it works for maxis broadband 10mbps ? I don't see any antenna or did I miss it - can it cover a double storey house ? QoS - can it cap clients by macaddress as I want to limit per device to 3mbps only. is this adaptive QoS? or should I go for RT-AC55UHP ? or RT-AC1200HP ? Yes it works. PCB internal antenna is as good or better than external antenna if done properly. This router is a different league with the AC55UHP/AC1200 series. There's a bandwidth limiter feature for per device QoS.
blacktubi
Apr 2 2017, 10:05 AM
-
QUOTE(freshie80 @ Apr 2 2017, 01:52 AM) Is there any unifi setup guide for asus rt-n14uhp? Can't seem to find in the official website I made a guide here http://www.blacktubi.com/unifi/setup-asus-router-for-unifi/
blacktubi
Apr 3 2017, 09:58 PM
-
QUOTE(freshie80 @ Apr 3 2017, 05:31 PM) Btw this router rt-n14uhp supports HyppTV, am I right ? I read a separate thread stating it's not supported It is supported
blacktubi
Apr 7 2017, 11:50 AM
-
QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Apr 7 2017, 09:57 AM) I need help with my RT12U. I want to convert it as a WIFI AP only, without routing function. Default subnet mask is 255.255.255.0. But once I change to subnet mask to 255.255.255.255, I could not get in the router interface. Why ? If I use the built in function of WIFI AP, it works for a few hours, then cannot connect to internet forever. Please Help! Put it in wireless router mode. Set the IP address to the current range of your network. Disable DHCP and plug it to the LAN port instead of WAN.
blacktubi
Apr 7 2017, 07:52 PM
-
QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Apr 7 2017, 01:24 PM) Hi! This is what I did to all other WifiAP If DHCP off, subnet mask doesnt matter right ? Out of topic little bit, why is my unifi router subnet mask is 255.255.255.255, not 255.255.255.0 ? Make sure your router is on the normal mode. You do not need the VLAN for Wireless AP.
blacktubi
Apr 10 2017, 12:25 PM
-
QUOTE(skyfusion @ Apr 10 2017, 12:08 PM) Hi ASUSMy, I have yet to try resetting the router. But my old HDD can use any USB port without any problem. Only my new HDD got this Unmounted issue. Below is the message fro System Log "Apr 10 08:03:47 kernel: scsi 0:0:0:0: rejecting I/O to dead device" Thank you What it is formatted as?
blacktubi
Apr 17 2017, 09:20 AM
-
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Apr 16 2017, 08:20 PM) Hi ASUSmy Seems that aicloud app cannot upload videos? I can only upload photos but not videos from my iPhone Is it normal to get usb3 speed around 20MBps++ r/w? For the transfer speed part, it is totally normal for a router.
blacktubi
Apr 17 2017, 01:20 PM
-
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Apr 17 2017, 01:17 PM) Well a bit disappointed then. My Airport Extreme 5th gen can give me same speed. Thats usb2.0. Which model you having now? Maybe you can get a NAS, they are optimised for USB file transfer.
blacktubi
Apr 17 2017, 03:04 PM
-
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Apr 17 2017, 02:45 PM) Ac68u with latest Merlin. The purpose of usb3 were defeated.... :/ USB 3.0 will interfere with Wireless 2.4Ghz. Maybe you can disable the reducing USB 3.0 interference option at the wireless settings. Do not expect significant improvement.
blacktubi
Apr 23 2017, 05:56 PM
-
QUOTE(alexloon @ Apr 23 2017, 04:18 PM) I just bought a ASUS RT-AC55UHP for my Maxis Fiber (for condo), once i switched and start configure in Asus router interface follow the steps of Asus Malaysia provided video everything just can't connected, even i switch it back to Maxis own router. I follow exactly what shown in the video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBRbk1FSFj0Currently i can't login to Maxis Network with Maxis own router or Asus router, can't even ping Maxis. Basically network all shutdown. I wonder is it because of the Asus firmware (choice : Maxis fiber / TM modem+Maxis Router) or something else. Anyone can advice? Note: Network working in perfect condition few minutes before switching and configure on Asus router. Wrong port on the ONU? Use LAN 2 IINM .
blacktubi
Apr 23 2017, 06:48 PM
-
QUOTE(alexloon @ Apr 23 2017, 06:35 PM) Tried 2nd port too. Not working as well. Take a picture of your ONU and post it here.
blacktubi
Apr 23 2017, 10:15 PM
-
QUOTE(alexloon @ Apr 23 2017, 08:12 PM) Current setup And Modem INTERNET Green light blink twice after a while. [attachmentid=8760687] Maybe it is TM equipment issues. Wait for them to send their technician. In the mean time, try every LAN port on the ONU.
blacktubi
Apr 25 2017, 11:56 AM
-
Finally got my hands on the RT-AC1200G+, the affordable Wireless AC router from Asus. It offers a great value and performs decently. Definitely a good replacement for the stock TM router, DIR-850L. http://www.blacktubi.com/review/asus-rt-ac1200g-review/
blacktubi
Apr 25 2017, 03:01 PM
-
QUOTE(firdausbhari @ Apr 25 2017, 02:50 PM) Rm100 difference from ac55uhp right Yup. The differences are mainly feature.
blacktubi
Apr 25 2017, 09:26 PM
-
QUOTE(Sairenji @ Apr 25 2017, 05:34 PM) Is this router compatible with streamyx? I'm specifically an 8mbps streamyx user. So far i've only been using router modem combo. Since i probably will be stuck with streamyx forever due to no unifi infra at my place, might as well use better equipment to squeeze dry the best of 8mbps...probably. I use internet mainly for gaming, streaming & downloading. Yes, it is supported. Just configure your existing modem router to bridge mode.
blacktubi
May 1 2017, 12:56 AM
-
QUOTE(krofal @ Apr 29 2017, 11:46 PM) Hi ASUSmy, I have been using the AC55UHP for about 4-5 months without issue but since 2-3 days ago, i have encountered the issues out of nowhere : 1. PC says "Can't detect proxy settings" and disconnects itself from 5ghz network. Troubleshoot and network adapter reset would solve it for temporarily but yesterday onwards PC can't connect to the 5ghz anymore. It just says "Can't connect to network" but phones and tablets still can connect 2. Router if restarted, sometimes PC can connect then tablet/phone can't. Sometimes, the other way around where phone can connect to the wifi but PC and tablet can't. I dun think it's my PC's problem as I even reformat my PC and same problem still persist. Can you advise if this is a router issue ? What is the signal strength when you are connected to the 5Ghz band? You will face issues if the signal is too weak so it is best to use 2.4Ghz when you are far from the router. 2.4Ghz for range and 5Ghz for performance.
blacktubi
May 20 2017, 10:43 AM
-
QUOTE(birain @ May 20 2017, 10:00 AM) can you show me how to block ports for DSL-N12U_C1 *ports need blocking are : port 445 and port 139 (to prevent wannacry ransomware)  The port shouldn't be open unless you manually open it with port forwarding or UPNP. You are better off patching your system and disable SMBv1
blacktubi
May 21 2017, 02:58 AM
-
QUOTE(elgan @ May 20 2017, 09:47 PM) How do I set the IPTV port (LAN4) on the RT-AC66U to a regular port? Setup is for Unifi. Thanks for any advice. Use Unifi Biz profile