Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

58 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom
Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

WiLeKiyO
post Dec 23 2012, 07:07 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,743

Joined: Oct 2009
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Dec 22 2012, 06:22 PM)
Considering most Huntkey PSUs (V-Power and Green Star) actually exploded when loaded...  So yeah, Huntkey doesn't really make good PSUs...  However some of them are surprisingly good.  (especially the Jumper series)
*
How do I test my PSU ? Really out of budget to get a new PSU.

My rig currently is problematic, ramdom freeze, sometimes can't even turn on, I need to on and off the switch multiple times in order to get the PC on. hmm.gif

I am not sure problem with the mobo or the PSU.

How to test that my PSU is dying/problematic or still going strong ?

This post has been edited by WiLeKiyO: Dec 23 2012, 07:17 PM
chocobo7779
post Dec 23 2012, 08:30 PM

Power is nothing without control
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 9,192

Joined: Sep 2010
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 23 2012, 07:07 PM)
How do I test my PSU ? Really out of budget to get a new PSU.

My rig currently is problematic, ramdom freeze, sometimes can't even turn on, I need to on and off the switch multiple times in order to get the PC on. hmm.gif

I am not sure problem with the mobo or the PSU.

How to test that my PSU is dying/problematic or still going strong ?
*
You'd need a PSU load tester and an oscilloscope.... You can't really test the PSU straight away. Try getting another PSU to try it...
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 23 2012, 09:12 PM

Critical thinking
Group Icon
Hardware
Group: Elite
Posts: 9,950

Joined: Mar 2009
From: the future
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 23 2012, 07:07 PM)
How do I test my PSU ? Really out of budget to get a new PSU.

My rig currently is problematic, ramdom freeze, sometimes can't even turn on, I need to on and off the switch multiple times in order to get the PC on. hmm.gif

I am not sure problem with the mobo or the PSU.

How to test that my PSU is dying/problematic or still going strong ?
*
The simplest way is to get another power supply that is working properly and put it into your system.
rc2x
post Dec 23 2012, 09:18 PM

Ask me about my vore fettish
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,799

Joined: Jun 2008
From: The Grid


Check out this bad boy. PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 1200 W. Pretty good PSU for 1k watt.
TPU review
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/PC_Powe...K3_1200W/1.html

Tweaktown review
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/4978/pc_p...iew/index1.html


WiLeKiyO
post Dec 23 2012, 09:19 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,743

Joined: Oct 2009
QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Dec 23 2012, 09:12 PM)
The simplest way is to get another power supply that is working properly and put it into your system.
*
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2639779&hl=

Maybe you could help me out, I try the best option to save bucks.
TDUEnthusiast
post Dec 23 2012, 09:23 PM

Critical thinking
Group Icon
Hardware
Group: Elite
Posts: 9,950

Joined: Mar 2009
From: the future
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 23 2012, 09:19 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2639779&hl=

Maybe you could help me out, I try the best option to save bucks.
*
Your issue reminds me of the time when I had to deal with a motherboard that took 5 minutes to boot up. So it's possible that your motherboard is semi-faulty, considering that it was affected by lightning. Your best bet is to bring the system to a shop to test the motherboard and/or the power supply. It would be even better if you could get your friend to borrow you their parts since IT shops' diagnostic is sometimes false and is usually accompanied with new parts recommendations.

1qaz1qaz
post Dec 24 2012, 10:23 PM

What Are You Looking At???!
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,680

Joined: Jul 2011
From: Heaven in Hell

hey~ how to count the power bil (tnb) for my pc??
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 25 2012, 02:24 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,743

Joined: Oct 2009
QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Dec 24 2012, 10:23 PM)
hey~ how to count the power bil (tnb) for my pc??
*
http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/billing/...calculator.html

Totally regret did not learn how to calculate Watt during secondary school. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by WiLeKiyO: Dec 25 2012, 02:24 AM
1qaz1qaz
post Dec 25 2012, 05:47 AM

What Are You Looking At???!
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,680

Joined: Jul 2011
From: Heaven in Hell

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 25 2012, 02:24 AM)
http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/billing/...calculator.html

Totally regret did not learn how to calculate Watt during secondary school.  laugh.gif
*
does they teach that in school???

i mean only for my pc?
Hilmax
post Dec 25 2012, 12:21 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2011
From: Alor Gajah, Melaka


QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Dec 25 2012, 05:47 AM)
does they teach that in school???

i mean only for my pc?
*
Just use your PSU watts/PSU Efficiency X time X TNBrates. That should do the max amount of bill. Note: Not including speaker & monitor and others device such as printer/modem.
TristanX
post Dec 25 2012, 01:26 PM

Where is my stars?
Group Icon
Group: Elite
Posts: 16,943

Joined: Nov 2004
From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur


Please update your list. Coolermaster GX and GX Lite is crap. Only Coolermaster GX Bronze is decent.

Also, you have Flextronics, Enhance Electronics and Sirfa for the manufacturer.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Dec 25 2012, 01:29 PM
1qaz1qaz
post Dec 25 2012, 02:12 PM

What Are You Looking At???!
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,680

Joined: Jul 2011
From: Heaven in Hell

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Dec 25 2012, 12:21 PM)
Just use your PSU watts/PSU Efficiency X time X TNBrates. That should do the max amount of bill. Note: Not including speaker & monitor and others device such as printer/modem.
*
oic~
but can u gv me example??
btw how much is the TNBrates??
Hilmax
post Dec 25 2012, 03:21 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2011
From: Alor Gajah, Melaka


QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Dec 25 2012, 02:12 PM)
oic~
but can u gv me example??
btw how much is the TNBrates??
*
http://www.tnb.com.my/residential/pricing-...riff-rates.html

Example 500W/0.8 X 15Hour per day X 31 Days = 290625 watts = 290.625 kwh

Bills = 21.8 + 90.625 x 0.334 = 21.8 + 30.26 = RM 52 for max pow consumption

chocobo7779
post Dec 26 2012, 06:57 PM

Power is nothing without control
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 9,192

Joined: Sep 2010
QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 25 2012, 01:26 PM)
Please update your list. Coolermaster GX and GX Lite is crap. Only Coolermaster GX Bronze is decent.

Also, you have Flextronics, Enhance Electronics and Sirfa for the manufacturer.
*
I can't really recommend the GX Bronze due to those units suffer from quality issues... plus the price tag alone can give you a better, higher quality units...

For the OEM, I cannot state all of them before my whole post becomes wall of text already.. tongue.gif

torino
post Dec 27 2012, 08:03 AM

><
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 961

Joined: Jul 2010
From: Sitiawan, Perak


UPDATE: For those who seeking for Seasonic X-Series PSU, note that the new batch of X-650, X-750 etcc will have new features compare to the previous version (X-660, X-760 etc).

-New modular cables (IINM like corsair AX series, no more braided sleeve one)
-Hybrid configuration switch, the switch is at the PSU itself in which you can set your PSU configuration either in hybrid mode or normal mode.
justordinary
post Dec 29 2012, 02:41 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 224

Joined: Aug 2010


Is Xigmatek Go Green psus good?
Hilmax
post Dec 29 2012, 01:02 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2011
From: Alor Gajah, Melaka


QUOTE(justordinary @ Dec 29 2012, 02:41 AM)
Is Xigmatek Go Green psus good?
*
Have model code?
justordinary
post Dec 30 2012, 02:41 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 224

Joined: Aug 2010


QUOTE(Hilmax @ Dec 29 2012, 01:02 PM)
Have model code?
*
Here

http://www.xigmatek.com/product.php?productid=37
Hilmax
post Dec 30 2012, 10:16 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,010

Joined: Jan 2011
From: Alor Gajah, Melaka


QUOTE(justordinary @ Dec 30 2012, 02:41 AM)
Its not bad, can deliver full power but at this point the ripple are highest. http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story3&reid=158 What the price and your location. Maybe can recommend other better PSU.
justordinary
post Dec 30 2012, 05:12 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 224

Joined: Aug 2010


QUOTE(Hilmax @ Dec 30 2012, 10:16 AM)
Its not bad, can deliver full power but at this point the ripple are highest. http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story3&reid=158 What the price and your location. Maybe can recommend other better PSU.
*
Lets say in this scenario

FSP Hexa 500w @ Rm149

Xigmatek Go Green 600w @Rm149 (Brand new but no warranty)

Which will give perform better? I dont really mind about warranty cos i'll be sleeving it and i will have to open the insise since its non modular. And i will be voiding the wattanty anyway.

58 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top
Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0846sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th February 2018 - 03:45 AM