The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

TSchocobo7779
post Jun 19 2015, 02:13 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(choonyink @ Jun 19 2015, 11:18 AM)
My original plan was swap out the i3 with an used i7 sandy bridge but too bad out of my budget. So now focus on GPU first.

Thanks for the suggestion. How about HD7950? My psu can power it?
Shouldn't much of a problem - AMD recommends a high quality 500-550W unit for a HD7950.

My HD7950 is still going strong with a 550W PSU, though my PSU has a much higher quality than yours... tongue.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 19 2015, 02:30 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 19 2015, 02:20 PM)
For you, better get a GTX960. PSU requirement very low only. AMD R9 series all of them are power hungry but very fast. I myself is an R9 290 user.
Well depends on the card, of course. icon_idea.gif

The R9 300 series have their power consumption cut down by quite a margin (though it still leaves quite a gap):
http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/msi_r...c_review,8.html
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 2 2015, 07:30 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Jul 2 2015, 02:54 PM)
Hi all, sorry for double posting. Jus find out here is the right place to ask.
This is the cheapest Low end PSU I can find.
Thermotake Lite 450W
Using for office PC without dedicated graphic card.
PSU price abt rm135. 3 yrs warranty
Initially , I try find Antec VP400W but can't find in my area.

Is there Anymore cheaper alternative?
Thermaltake Lite.... sweat.gif

One of the worst branded PSUs in this range, and it's closest to generic branded (no-name) PSUs when it comes to quality. sweat.gif

Remember - do not skimp on the PSU. icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 2 2015, 10:08 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Jul 2 2015, 09:32 PM)
ic. So what do u recommend? care to share...
Antec VP/FSP Hexa... icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 12 2015, 12:19 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Kenneth twy @ Jul 12 2015, 03:29 AM)
Ya I'm consider to build new rig I'm consider the cooler master vs 650watt or 750watt to go? 650watt rm37x include gst and the 750 is rm450 include gst if I wana buy a psu which should I go In future ?
CM V700 anyone? brows.gif

It's a Seasonic-built unit, and Seasonic is widely regarded in the community as one of the best PSU manufacturers around... icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 27 2015, 10:10 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 27 2015, 12:10 AM)
wanna upgrade my PSU.
Seasonic X-650 and G-650, which one more stable, not much RMA problem?
how bout Leadex Gold 650W 80+ Full Modular?
You have to specify what hardware are you going to power first, otherwise you may end up overspending on the PSU.... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jul 27 2015, 10:10 AM
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 27 2015, 10:11 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jul 27 2015, 09:25 AM)
G-650 is one tier lower but cheaper. Both Seasonic X-650 and Super Flower Leadex 650W is top notch, comes at a price.
Not to mention the Seasonic X series comes with a hybrid fan setup which allows the fan to shut down completely when there is very little load on the PSU. icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 27 2015, 02:55 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 27 2015, 02:54 PM)
saw u are using X series, heard that X alot problem, dont know true or not.  sad.gif
What problems? I have the G series (which is a tier lower than the X series in the Seasonic lineup) and it has been running pretty smoothly for me. icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 27 2015, 03:17 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 27 2015, 03:04 PM)
wow, u are using G-550, how is it? look ur spec also high-end, can support HD7950?
Seasonic G-550 semi modular, right? saw jonnyguru having 9.2 score, so nice.  smile.gif
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story6&reid=373

My PC spec:
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230 v2
MB:Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 socket1155
RAM: Kingston DDR3 8GB 1600mhz KVR16N11/8 X 2 unit (16GB RAM)
SSD: Intel 120GB SSD 320 series
HHD: WD 1TB Blue Hardisk
DVD:Liteon DVDRW ROM
Sound: ASUS Xonar Essence STX PCIe Sound Card
VGA: Sapphire HD 6750 1GB DDR5

using 4-5 years old Acbel 510W PSU, already old model.
wanna upgrade my VGA card to R9 380 or GTX 970, and look for single +12V rail.  smile.gif
hmm.gif Even a 650W is pretty overkill for most single GPUs (with the notable exception that you are going to overclock 290/290X)... brows.gif

Anyway, the G-650 is aplenty for most single GPU setups. Heck even a quality 550W unit can power them up pretty easily with some room to spare. icon_idea.gif

The HD7950 is a pretty high-end card back then - now it's more or less a mid-range card... laugh.gif

My PSU is pretty much silent, with no issues such as coil whine. It's a fantastic unit, with high quality components. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jul 27 2015, 03:18 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Jul 29 2015, 10:44 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(ming0000 @ Jul 27 2015, 04:29 PM)
ur Seasonic G 550 80+ Gold are semi modular?  blink.gif
Erm... it is a semi modular unit. You can detach some of the cables, but not all of them. icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 22 2015, 12:03 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 22 2015, 11:39 AM)
Seasonic, sounds like a cheapo brand, but actually very decent. People are recommending it because of the 5 years warranty?
You might be confused by Sensonic... laugh.gif

Not quite - but Seasonic has a long running history of making high end and very high quality PSUs... Though the competition is now heating up...

Super Flower/CWT/Enhance anyone? brows.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 22 2015, 12:05 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Dec 20 2015, 03:57 PM)
Thinking of buying a superflower leadex platinum 750W, is it a good PSU?

I see that the PCIe cables are single cable with two 6+2 pin connectors.

Would it be safe to use only a single cable to power up a 980ti or need to have two cables and use one connector from each cables?
That's an excellent unit. TPU has the review for the 1KW variant:
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/SuperFl...r/SF-1000F14MP/

Very high quality components are used (pretty much all Japanese capacitors) and the performance is excellent and should last you for a very long time. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Dec 22 2015, 12:06 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Jan 20 2016, 07:35 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Akira425 @ Jan 20 2016, 05:56 PM)
Hi, how is the quality of superflower leadex silver 650w ?
any advice for this ?
Thx. ^.^
No idea - but considering it does not have Active PFC (note that the 80+ certification only applies on 240V) - you might just get a Seasonic S12II/M12II.

The Seasonic ones are much higher in quality (there are some actual reviews to such units) and they come with very high quality components too. icon_idea.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jan 29 2016, 02:21 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Christopher_LKL @ Jan 29 2016, 10:29 AM)
Hi all sifus like goldfries,

I have some confusion on power efficiency and power factor.

for the sake of example, if my PC is drawing 500Watts constantly, lets say my PSU is 80% efficiency, i will draw 600watts from AC then convert it into 500watts DC right. then if lets say my PSU power factor is only 0.5, then i will draw 1200 apparent power (in form of VA) from mains, though i will be only using 600watts as work done.

so in TNB point of view, TNB only charges for watts or work done, therefore only charge me the 600watts, and since residential rate doesnt have Power Factor surcharge, im done with that. but if im on commercial, the charging will be 600 watts + 3% surcharge (according to TNB, less than 0.85 PF will get 3% surcharge).

and in short, Power Efficiency is used for DC, while Power Factor is used for AC to gauge the efficiency

am i correct?

I'm no electrical engineer - perhaps lex could shed some light on this... hmm.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Mar 23 2016, 11:39 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(whiteflame66 @ Mar 23 2016, 11:00 PM)
Hi guys, what do you think of this.

PSU: Cooler Master v650
CPU: AMD FX6350
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
GPU: R9 Nano

And I'm planning on adding another Gigabyte GV-N980G1 GAMING-4GD. Do you think the PSU is able to support the addition?
Why would you want to put a GTX980 alongside with a R9 Nano? hmm.gif

Anyway, it should work - since a 980 won't consume much power... hmm.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Apr 21 2016, 11:20 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 21 2016, 03:11 AM)
That's the Leadex Gold, which has a proper 80+ Gold certification. It even has a review on the unit:

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/SuperFlower/SF-750F14MG/
TSchocobo7779
post Apr 21 2016, 07:04 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(waka14 @ Apr 21 2016, 05:08 PM)
Sorry on that, here it is, has active pfc

http://www.super-flower.com.tw/products_de...24&ID=124&lang=
Again, it only has a 230V (EU) 80+ Certification, not the full 80+ certification that you see on most PSUs. icon_idea.gif

TSchocobo7779
post Jun 12 2016, 02:07 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jun 12 2016, 01:15 AM)
hi guys,

planning to built SFF rig
here my spec:

CPU: i5 6500
Mobo: Asrock H110M-ITX
RAM: 8GB DDR4
No GPU (if want to upgrade in future maybe to nvidia gtx *50 or gtx *60)

i think this rig would not require too much power.
so can recommend me any good psu that can last long?
budget : below RM200 (lower is better)
What case first? hmm.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 12 2016, 12:09 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Jun 12 2016, 08:59 AM)
planning to use either themaltake core v1 or CM 110

or can u suggest smaller casing with around the price range?
What about Silverstone SG13? brows.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 12 2016, 09:25 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Jun 12 2016, 08:01 PM)
SST SFX PSU.
Mind telling which models? hmm.gif

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top