Lenovo Y480 vs Y580

TSdead_love86
post Dec 8 2012, 04:27 PM, updated 13y ago

y480. (RM2399)
Processor:3rd Generation Intel Core i7-3630QM Processor(2.40GHz 6MB)
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600mhz SDRAM 
Hard Drive:1TB SATA + 32GB SSD, Hard Disk Drive (Special Spec)
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT650M GDDR5 2GB
Camera : Integrated 2.0M
Display type:14.0" HD Glare with integrated camera 1366x768
Optical Drive: Bluray DVDRW Superdrive
Connectivity:Wireless Lan 802.11 b/g/n |Bluetooth|LAN RJ45
Interface:1 x USB 2.0 , 3 x USB 3.0 , 6-in 1 card reader, mic, headphone,
VGA Port, HDMI Port , RJ45 , JBL Speaker
Battery:6-cells Li-ion battery
System:GENUINE WIN7 HOME PREMIUM 
Weight: 2.2 kg
Warranty: 1 Year International Warranty By Lenovo

Y580 (RM2490)
Processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM Ivy Bridge Processor 2.4GHZ TURBO UP TO 3.4GHZ
Memory: 8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
Hard Drive: 1TB SATA Hard Disk Drive
Graphics: Nvidia GTX660M 2GB DDR5
Camera : Integrated 2.0M
Display type: 15.6" HD Glare 1366x768 with integrated camera
Optical Drive: DVDRW superdrive
Connectivity: Wireless Lan 802.11 b/g/n |Bluetooth|LAN RJ45
Interface: 1 x USB 2.0 , 3 x USB 3.0 , 6-in 1 card reader , mic, headphone,
VGA Port, HDMI Port , RJ45 , JBL Speaker
Battery: 6-cells Li-ion battery
Operation System: GENUINE WINDOW 7 HOME PREMIUM
Weight: 2.6 kg
Warranty: 1 Year International Warranty By Lenovo

Which is more worth getting???
lee_what2004
post Dec 8 2012, 04:59 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Y480, since it include SSD as well.
Unless you prefer 15'' screen.

Those are imported set?
raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 07:28 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 8 2012, 04:59 PM)

Those are imported set?
+1 for this. not only because it has SSD, it has BD-R/DVD-RW ROM and the GT650M GDDR5 performance is same as GTX660M. if you prefer a numpad keyboard + 15", go for y580.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Dec 8 2012, 07:28 PM
BAlm
post Dec 8 2012, 07:36 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Dec 8 2012, 04:59 PM)

Those are imported set?
This question is extremely important. Because if its import set, there is no manufacturer warranty at all.. Think of it as AP phone.

anyway think y480 as better
tennytyy
post Dec 8 2012, 08:11 PM

1,915 posts

I think these two models are imported sets, have to check carefully regarding the warranty
raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 08:12 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

dont know if labelled international warranty, they will still help u or not.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Dec 8 2012, 08:13 PM
ytlay
post Dec 8 2012, 08:31 PM

1,087 posts

Though the imported( AP set) Y580/Y480 come with attractive pricing, buyers needs to iron out the warranty coverage/extention and quality(refurnish) issues. hmm.gif
BAlm
post Dec 8 2012, 08:32 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:12 PM)
dont know if labelled international warranty, they will still help u or not.
Any brand or laptop, as long as AP US set, even though say international warranty, will not get any local warranty here at all. Dont believe what all the seller said

Means, out of the box ur laptop has no warranty. Good luck if it problem the first day. The only warranty it will have is original US mfg warranty (based on mfg date code). Lol you need to go US for service.

The reason is: you did not buy from authorized (brand) reseller in US, thus international warranty are not applicable to u

This post has been edited by BAlm: Dec 8 2012, 08:34 PM
raymondtong94
post Dec 8 2012, 09:39 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 08:32 PM)
Any brand or laptop, as long as AP US set, even though say international warranty, will not get any local warranty here at all. Dont believe what all the seller said

Means, out of the box ur laptop has no warranty. Good luck if it problem the first day. The only warranty it will have is original US mfg warranty (based on mfg date code). Lol you need to go US for service.

The reason is: you did not buy from authorized (brand) reseller in US, thus international warranty are not applicable to u
means janji kosong? then im moving to buy online, as sellers are pain in the neck nowadays.
astria
post Dec 8 2012, 10:39 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 08:32 PM)

my experience said otherwise... my old Asus laptop bought from US and Transformer Prime bought in Hong Kong had no problem dealing with the svc center in Singapore and Australia...

reason is: Asus state explicitly that it is an international warranty, and they are obliged to fulfill their part of the service

if they (or any other laptop makers) don't, it's as good as shooting themselves in the leg, bad marketing is one of the last things they want...

remember, laptop is different from smartphones...

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 8 2012, 10:41 PM
BAlm
post Dec 8 2012, 10:59 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 8 2012, 10:39 PM)
my experience said otherwise... my old Asus laptop bought from US and Transformer Prime bought in Hong Kong had no problem dealing with the svc center in Singapore and Australia...

reason is: Asus state explicitly that it is an international warranty, and they are obliged to fulfill their part of the service

if they (or any other laptop makers) don't, it's as good as shooting themselves in the leg, bad marketing is one of the last things they want...

remember, laptop is different from smartphones...
I did not mean company will not honor the international warranty.

You are right. In your case you bought it in the respective country. So international warranty is applicable to your set.

I am just saying if we are buying US set(AP set) laptop HERE (lowyat or garage sales etc), you are actually not getting any international warranty (unless the seller provide you with proof of purchase from US authorized reseller). Because most probably when service center in Msia scan your S/N and know its not local set, they will ask for receipt. Upon seeing its receipt from lowyat/etc they will straightaway deny you services because its an AP set

Read the warranty terms and you will know.

astria
post Dec 8 2012, 11:17 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 10:59 PM)
I did not mean company will not honor the international warranty.

You are right. In your case you bought it in the respective country. So international warranty is applicable to your set.

I am just saying if we are buying US set(AP set) laptop HERE (lowyat or garage sales etc), you are actually not getting any international warranty (unless the seller provide you with proof of purchase from US authorized reseller). Because most probably when service center in Msia scan your S/N and know its not local set, they will ask for receipt. Upon seeing its receipt from lowyat/etc they will straightaway deny you services because its an AP set

Read the warranty terms and you will know.
well in that case i dun get it... so u re saying that a 2nd hand laptop that still falls under the warranty svc period will not be able to get it serviced?

and let's just say i claim that i ve lost my receipt when they ask for one, they can't prove that i did not purchase from an authorized seller, what can they do?
BAlm
post Dec 8 2012, 11:31 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 8 2012, 11:17 PM)
well in that case i dun get it... so u re saying that a 2nd hand laptop that still falls under the warranty svc period will not be able to get it serviced?

and let's just say i claim that i ve lost my receipt when they ask for one, they can't prove that i did not purchase from an authorized seller, what can they do?
anyway what i want to say is just:

-if buying new Y480 or Y580 (per topic), CHECK the laptop if its Msia set.

-If it is not, there is a high chance you are getting no warranty services from Lenovo Malaysia

-You will NOT get services/warranty in Malaysia eventhough the set mention there is international warranty and you can register the warranty in the website.

-Because in order to eligible for international warranty, your set have to be purchased from the united states and provide proof of purchase. Which you did not.
TSdead_love86
post Dec 9 2012, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 8 2012, 07:28 PM)
+1 for this. not only because it has SSD, it has BD-R/DVD-RW ROM and the GT650M GDDR5 performance is same as GTX660M. if you prefer a numpad keyboard + 15", go for y580.
If the Resolution for the Y580 is HD version, 1920 x 1080, also got Bluray. 2nd Hand. Price is RM2500.
All the specs similar to the above. Which would you recommend?
astria
post Dec 9 2012, 12:02 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 11:31 PM)

-Because in order to eligible for international warranty, your set have to be purchased from the united states and provide proof of purchase. Which you did not.
just trying to clear the doubts around, especially on this point...

the usual practice is that if the owner fails to produce proof of purchase and has not registered before, svc center will calculate the length of the warranty based on the date manufactured...

so put this back into the case that u re talking abt, if i got an oversea model from someone locally, and when i want to RMA it neither do i produce the receipt (even if the counter staff ask for one) or registered the unit before, so what's going to happen?

i think it's important to clear up since warranty is a pretty big part of a laptop as well...
BAlm
post Dec 9 2012, 12:08 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Dec 9 2012, 12:02 AM)
just trying to clear the doubts around, especially on this point...

the usual practice is that if the owner fails to produce proof of purchase and has not registered before, svc center will calculate the length of the warranty based on the date manufactured...

so put this back into the case that u re talking abt, if i got an oversea model from someone locally, and when i want to RMA it neither do i produce the receipt (even if the counter staff ask for one) or registered the unit before, so what's going to happen?

i think it's important to clear up since warranty is a pretty big part of a laptop as well...
yes there is a mfg datecode for all laptop, so they will based on that date to start counting warranty.

Since you could not provide the proof of purchase, you will most probably be denied services. Cant blame them as this is the SOP. You think they going to repair a grey import set which they (local company) earns nothing from it?

Good news is, bring back to US and you have a good chance to get service there (because the set is local to US)
raymondtong94
post Dec 9 2012, 04:28 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(dead_love86 @ Dec 9 2012, 12:00 AM)
If the Resolution for the Y580 is HD version, 1920 x 1080, also got Bluray. 2nd Hand. Price is RM2500.
All the specs similar to the above. Which would you recommend?
CORRECTION : HD and Full HD is different. the resolution is not the same.

i will choose Y580. since y480's HD only support up to 1366x768.
ajul
post Dec 28 2012, 03:09 PM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 11:31 PM)
anyway what i want to say is just:

-if buying new Y480 or Y580 (per topic), CHECK the laptop if its Msia set.

-If it is not, there is a high chance you are getting no warranty services from Lenovo Malaysia

-You will NOT get services/warranty in Malaysia eventhough the set mention there is international warranty and you can register the warranty in the website.

r u sure with ur statement? i already sold more than 100set of US set lenovo model...nothing problem for warranty claim here...u can pm my buyer as well to ask...dont talk like chicken if u dont know nothing...learn from experience is more better from u just learn from talking only...
click my successfull tradelist for record...almost my stock from US...

Added on December 28, 2012, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 9 2012, 12:08 AM)
yes there is a mfg datecode for all laptop, so they will based on that date to start counting warranty.

Since you could not provide the proof of purchase, you will most probably be denied services. Cant blame them as this is the SOP. You think they going to repair a grey import set which they (local company) earns nothing from it?

Good news is, bring back to US and you have a good chance to get service there (because the set is local to US)
and the funny thing..if malaysia distributor set come from china...izzit they need to show proof of purchase from china? haha...u dont know nothing bout how business work... i think but u try to give false statement...proof of purchase mean just receipt...if u buy here just show receipt from company here...nothing problem if that set from US, China, Singapore or what...if warranty available mean warranty is available and can claimable here...if u buy from ebay just show ebay receipt...what is the problem? nothing problem at all...for Apple product...even proof of purchase also no need for claim warranty....

This post has been edited by ajul: Dec 28 2012, 03:15 PM
nexus2238
post Dec 28 2012, 03:58 PM

4,193 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Dec 28 2012, 03:09 PM)
r u sure with ur statement? i already sold more than 100set of US set lenovo model...nothing problem for warranty claim here...u can pm my buyer as well to ask...dont talk like chicken if u dont know nothing...learn from experience is more better from u just learn from talking only...

and the funny thing..if malaysia distributor set come from china...izzit they need to show proof of purchase from china? haha...u dont know nothing bout how business work... i think but u try to give false statement...proof of purchase mean just receipt...if u buy here just show receipt from company here...nothing problem if that set from US, China, Singapore or what...if warranty available mean warranty is available and can claimable here...if u buy from ebay just show ebay receipt...what is the problem? nothing problem at all...for Apple product...even proof of purchase also no need for claim warranty....
Ajul, how is Lenovo Malaysia handling International Warranty from grey import units? Share with us your clients experience. TQ smile.gif thumbup.gif

Checking on Lenovo site:
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/research/h...?DocID=HT074528
"Below documentations are required prior to performing IWS service,
– Proof of purchase.
– Proof of Travel e.g. Passport with valid visa to or passport from country where product is purchased, other travel document (Hong Kong/Macau home return Permit) in lieu of passport.
"
Also here:
http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.pag...ocID=MIGR-58926
"Customers requiring International Warranty Service in any of the ASEAN countries may be asked to provide one of the following in order to obtain IWS warranty repair service; proof of company identification (company letter, email, business card, company badge with photo ID), proof of purchase (purchase receipt, official order, delivery note, sales memo, or invoice), and/or proof of travel (passport with valid Visa to or from country where product was purchased, or other travel documents"

Also see here:
http://blog.lenovo.com/products/lenovo-int...-facts-and-tips
"There are certain countries that may require a proof of purchase or proof of proper importation before you can receive an IWS service and there may be fees or restrictions that apply when and if you need IWS.
• Indonesia
• Malaysia
• Phillippines
• Singapore
• Thailand
• Vietnam
• China
• Argentina
"
BAlm
post Dec 28 2012, 08:30 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Dec 28 2012, 03:09 PM)

yo bro, why take offence?

You should learn how to read the warranty terms.

Also, if Lenovo Malaysia can claim the warranty, then thats good news for everyone (you and ur customer who got cheap laptop). BUT the thing is they have the right to deny you service if they want because it is against the warranty terms. That is what i want to point out.

You need to learn more instead.

Grey import is grey import. Funny how u try to convince people buying your laptop.

0.0194sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:08 PM