Lenovo Y480 vs Y580

astria
post Dec 8 2012, 10:39 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 08:32 PM)
Any brand or laptop, as long as AP US set, even though say international warranty, will not get any local warranty here at all. Dont believe what all the seller said

Means, out of the box ur laptop has no warranty. Good luck if it problem the first day. The only warranty it will have is original US mfg warranty (based on mfg date code). Lol you need to go US for service.

The reason is: you did not buy from authorized (brand) reseller in US, thus international warranty are not applicable to u
my experience said otherwise... my old Asus laptop bought from US and Transformer Prime bought in Hong Kong had no problem dealing with the svc center in Singapore and Australia...

reason is: Asus state explicitly that it is an international warranty, and they are obliged to fulfill their part of the service

if they (or any other laptop makers) don't, it's as good as shooting themselves in the leg, bad marketing is one of the last things they want...

remember, laptop is different from smartphones...

This post has been edited by astria: Dec 8 2012, 10:41 PM
astria
post Dec 8 2012, 11:17 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 10:59 PM)
I did not mean company will not honor the international warranty.

You are right. In your case you bought it in the respective country. So international warranty is applicable to your set.

I am just saying if we are buying US set(AP set) laptop HERE (lowyat or garage sales etc), you are actually not getting any international warranty (unless the seller provide you with proof of purchase from US authorized reseller). Because most probably when service center in Msia scan your S/N and know its not local set, they will ask for receipt. Upon seeing its receipt from lowyat/etc they will straightaway deny you services because its an AP set

Read the warranty terms and you will know.
well in that case i dun get it... so u re saying that a 2nd hand laptop that still falls under the warranty svc period will not be able to get it serviced?

and let's just say i claim that i ve lost my receipt when they ask for one, they can't prove that i did not purchase from an authorized seller, what can they do?
astria
post Dec 9 2012, 12:02 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(BAlm @ Dec 8 2012, 11:31 PM)

-Because in order to eligible for international warranty, your set have to be purchased from the united states and provide proof of purchase. Which you did not.
just trying to clear the doubts around, especially on this point...

the usual practice is that if the owner fails to produce proof of purchase and has not registered before, svc center will calculate the length of the warranty based on the date manufactured...

so put this back into the case that u re talking abt, if i got an oversea model from someone locally, and when i want to RMA it neither do i produce the receipt (even if the counter staff ask for one) or registered the unit before, so what's going to happen?

i think it's important to clear up since warranty is a pretty big part of a laptop as well...

0.0171sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:07 PM