Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V24, Official 4.1.2 is here

waveweaver
post Dec 15 2012, 11:25 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(zzerosz @ Dec 15 2012, 10:58 PM)
hey guys.. Is the CF Rooting still work? I clicked in and the creator said he is no longer support that version of CF-Root. But if I use ChainFire Auto Root I can't get the CWM...so what should I do now tongue.gif
You can still use CF-Root 6.4 to root your phone. You will get the CWM custom recovery but not the CWM app. So if you wanna go into recovery mode..you need to manually use the three buttons combo (vol up + home + power button)
waveweaver
post Dec 15 2012, 11:32 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Dec 15 2012, 11:16 PM)
both my s3 dun hav this red dot
both was first batch
1 set was recently send to warranty for dead mobo
just came back
re-root
no red dot on both s3
From the way I read at xda..it all coz of new bootloader.
If the phone have new bootloader and you flash anything unofficial then then red dot will appear. What we can do is flash old bootloader via PC Odin in PDA section.
waveweaver
post Dec 15 2012, 11:38 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Dec 15 2012, 11:35 PM)
no wonder my GF s3 after i root i saw the small red ! on top left..so how do i know which bootloader i should flash?will it effect the mobo after i flash the bootloader?
new bootloader normally arrive with new firmware especially via FOTA. Hold on..I upload an old bootloader into my Box first then I''ll put a link here
Below is old bootloader.
https://www.box.com/shared/09oiyk0j5o591ij7yxqr

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 15 2012, 11:42 PM
waveweaver
post Dec 15 2012, 11:47 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Dec 15 2012, 11:43 PM)
ok thanx alot  rclxms.gif so i just flash the bootloader using odin or i can use MOP to flash
I'm not really sure as my phone don't have that red dot.
You can try with MibileOdin first and see how it goes..if the red dot still there then use PC Odin and flash it under PDA.
Good luck thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 15 2012, 11:47 PM
waveweaver
post Dec 15 2012, 11:49 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 15 2012, 11:45 PM)
satugadgetdotcome or directd
yes is work
else use auto root, also same
refer to siyah thread FAQ there

just follow it, all of us also follow the instruction

btw, my bro don't know why his s3 charge slower compare with mine
any idea ?
using stock 4.1.1 malaysia jellybean @@
check in setting status and see whether it charge under usb or AC. .?

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 15 2012, 11:50 PM
waveweaver
post Dec 15 2012, 11:55 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Dec 15 2012, 11:52 PM)
ok i will try it out the first thing tmr when meeting my gf ahaha...thanx dude cheers.gif
Sure..no prob bro.
And Happy Dating to both of you....lolz
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 12:14 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Dec 15 2012, 11:58 PM)
checked is AC before you told
that weird, use my s3 charger charge my bro s3, also same =.=
you're on stock or custom rom..?
sometimes custom kernel have bugs that slowdown charging time. Or maybe it's an early symptom of unfamous mobo breakdown...lolz
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 12:24 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Dec 16 2012, 12:14 AM)
No idea then . Friend sent his cuz cant read his external sd . After came back , he root again n the red dot appears .

Added on December 16, 2012, 12:15 am
No wonder , dun flash bootloader then tongue.gif
Bootloader can comes inside new firmware. If Samsung keep on pushing new bootloader in every new firmware then there's nothing can be done except we keep on flashing old bootloader back...lolz
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 01:01 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Dec 16 2012, 12:48 AM)
since we now got wave old bootloader
save it inside phone n problem almost solved
just a few more steps lolz
huhh. .not my old bootloader bro..I got it from xda
Got any problem with that old bootloader then can go scold xda ya. .don't scold me..bwahaha

anyway..full blast surfing with my phone 100% till 15% batt and got 4hours screen on time..lolz

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 16 2012, 01:04 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 01:10 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 16 2012, 01:05 AM)
Here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2017884 or http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2011728 or http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1918667
Oh!...

Yalo, mine got red dot now after return from service center.
The red dot will appear once you root the phone. As Noobi3 said in latest batch, or once you send your 1st batch S3 for service (especially after SC replace the motherboard).
try flash the old bootloader from my previous post bro and see if the red dot goes away
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 08:38 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 16 2012, 02:00 AM)
Thanks for the old bootloader (I know is not yours, haha).

It working perfectly with Triangle away as well.

Now my S3 no more red dot as well flash counter reset to 0. biggrin.gif
So it really works..huhh. .? rclxms.gif
I think TS better add this into first page as it might help those who have these red dot on their top left screen. Credit goes to danieldmm from xda . Below is the actual link (post no #54)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1918667&page=6

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 16 2012, 08:41 AM
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 03:15 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

Okay..done rooting to one latest batch of new S3 (thanks to fallenangelz tongue.gif ). This new phone comes with Jellybean right out from the box instead of ICS. Root it the usual way with CF-root 6.4 that comes with custom CWM.
And the little red dot appear. TriangleAway and the red dot disappear but it will appear back once you use CWM.
So to avoid using TriangleAway on every time i'm using CWM i flash the old bootloader. And the little pesky red dot disappear permanently rclxm9.gif
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 04:38 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Dec 16 2012, 04:35 PM)
My s3 left for charging for after 1 hour came back to charger to check email. The phone was dead. Sent to samsung SC on friday afternoon, they checking now.

Service at the SC (PJ branch) really bad. Some of them were there waiting to collect their devices for 3 hours and still not attended. They have 12 counters only 3 got customer service attendees. Very bad for a MNC like Samsung.

Suspect my mobo kaput, status of phone currently under repairing they said by Monday or Tuesday only got news.
You're on stock or custom rom bro..?
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 08:00 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Dec 16 2012, 06:34 PM)
100% stock, not even rooted  cry.gif
Oo..man..that's really bad. shakehead.gif
It's bad enough when Mobo goes kaput because of flashing but to died on an untouch virgin phone.. doh.gif doh.gif
Really hope Samsung acknowledge this problems and do something bout it sad.gif
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 08:24 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Dec 16 2012, 08:13 PM)
Yalo, Samsung shall respond now, but no respond from them yet.

The faulty issue is increasing now, and happen to virgin (non root or custom ROM) phone.

I believe all 1st batch user will face this issue, it just timing only. 1st batch hardware probably had age limit within 160 to 190 days only.... !
Bwahaha..means my phone turn is coming up doh.gif
Better go crazy flashing while have a chance..rather than do nothing but still died oso.. laugh.gif

Added on December 16, 2012, 8:30 pmBtw..i find the phone latest batch do have better quality than my old batch. The buttons (power and volume) fits nicely and there's no creaking sound coming on the back cover when we press at it a bit hard.
Bad news is it got new bootlioader...lolz

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 16 2012, 08:31 PM
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 09:06 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Dec 16 2012, 08:49 PM)
anyone has any good nfc handsfree to recommend? lazy everytime want pair BT to use handsfree, rather i like nfc touch to pair fast
I thought once your pair up your bluetooth headset..the setting will be remembered till you unpair it manually..?
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 09:19 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Dec 16 2012, 09:15 PM)
Well i think the phone is very sensitive. As the competition is on the rise to make phones slimmer, more powerful etc. Components are being made smaller and more powerful. Just a single component gives way and that's it the whole phone is not being able to turn on.

Just keeping fingers crossed tomorrow I get some news from Samsung. Already 3 days without my S3, so missing it already.
Yeah..hope you get back your phone with a new full stamina engine..lolz
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 09:44 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Dec 16 2012, 09:40 PM)
I assume 2nd batch S3 is already out here. Anyone know how to check whether it's 1st or 2nd batch?
Nobody knew which phone from what batch. Roughly first month from release date is old batch..last month and this month can be considered new batch. ..lolz

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 16 2012, 09:44 PM
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 09:54 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Reis @ Dec 16 2012, 09:44 PM)
This phone is really...  Hopeless....

Lets see. While driving, it slipped from my leg and dropped to the car mat. Probably hitting the door on the way I don't know, but the screen cracked. FINE! It wasn't gorilla glass, my own neglect for assuming it is. I just ignored the crack and continue using.

Today, out of no apparent reason, it just died. DIED! Can't boot into recovery, can't boot, flashing from ODIN gives no PIT file error, PIT file given and it shows partition failed. Lol wut?

So my phone is now bricked, by doing nothing. I'm a little tired now to search through the thread for any solution, been doing that for the past couple hours. I did notice there are some people who faced this when doing a sudden death search.

Anyway, since there's no way to unroot the phone now, I'm gonna have to go get a new phone. Great! This is a very nice phone don't get me wrong. But dropping from my lap to the CAR MAT and cracked, and so many people around the world are complaining about this sudden death that happens for no apparent reason, and CANNOT be fixed, I really hope you guys who're considering this phone, to know what I went through.

Buy with risk, this is a fragile phone, VERY fragile phone. Buy with caution.
You put a lot of assumptions there.
First..the phone screen is not unbreakable. No matter it's Gorilla or Orang Utan glass. .it still break and scratch.

Second..regarding motherboard sudden death..not all the phone have it. Maybe your phone is on the unlucky list. Or maybe something inside mess up when you drop the phone.

Instead of buying new phone..why not you sent it to service centre. You only pay for the crack screen that cost around RM600 while the motherboard is covered by warranty. That if your phone is SME set la. .
waveweaver
post Dec 16 2012, 10:08 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

QUOTE(Reis @ Dec 16 2012, 09:59 PM)
Well, I did say maybe it did hit the door on the way down to the floor mat. My point is, it can break very easily. And if the fall had anything to do with the phone going dead all of a sudden, when there are so many cases online, then I'm really that unlucky.

Anyway man not trying to argue with you. I'll try to bring it to warranty. I don't care about the screen I just want my phone to work, and having noway to unroot this, looks like I won't even get my warranty :/
No need unroot..if it can't even power on and go into download mode then chances are..service centre also cannot check anything..lolz

This post has been edited by waveweaver: Dec 16 2012, 10:09 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:34 PM