Singapore University, hard to get in?

theodore_kh
post Apr 19 2006, 10:22 PM

It's me again !
1,297 posts

QUOTE(Jennyng @ Apr 19 2006, 06:06 PM)
I'm a biology student and i got E&E for NTU. Is it really that hard since i didn't take physics during STPM. I think im consider lucky although my result is not that good.
Why did you go for E&E since you are a biology student?

You got accepted this year only? or long time ago?
Futurisco
post Apr 20 2006, 12:50 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(theodore_kh @ Apr 18 2006, 06:28 PM)
If you get rejected by both NTU or NUS, you could try and apply for their polytechic, when you finish at singapore poly, you might be able to try and apply for NTU/NUS again.

Anyway, even if you failed to enter their UNI, apply any poly and get their offer letter.
With that offer letter, you get to make a passport at half price ..
This is a good idea..easier to get in from poly. And Poly student no need do first year. A lot malaysian used this way.

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 18 2006, 09:23 PM)
wow.. seem very hard to get in... so must do very well in a-level? And can provide me any course which is easier to get in a NTU or NUS? But i still prefer chemcial engineering..
If u talk about chemical engineering..make sure no B in ur result. It is very competitive inside here. One of the easiest course to get from NUS is Science as they accept large intake. U can get with SAM forecast result or 1 A in STPM. Very good course offered by NUS if u dun like engineering.

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 18 2006, 09:32 PM)
btw, if wan apply for sg uni, i should apply before i take a level or after i got my a level result? or if i go polytechnic 1st and get my diploma, is it easier to get in compare to getting a level only?
Definetely A-Level from some reputable college. NUS very fussy about the qualification. Must be recognized and they strict in the quality of the result u holding. Diploma...really depends how they view the quality of the diploma.
Jennyng
post Apr 20 2006, 10:40 AM

QUOTE(theodore_kh @ Apr 19 2006, 10:22 PM)
Why did you go for E&E since you are a biology student?

You got accepted this year only? or long time ago?
Actually im not that hate physics but i like biology more than physics. But i do like robotics and electrical stuff so i just try to apply and see whether i will get it. By the way I just got the admission this year. wink.gif
TSben3003
post Apr 20 2006, 06:29 PM

10,859 posts

then i wanted to go for institut sinaran a-level at kk, is it qualified? I got fren got into sg uni with it. Or is the polytech there exp? how is the fee? I know that can use tuition grant to aid financial prob, but if i use tuition grnat at polytech then i can take tuition grant when i go in their uni? Polytech easier to get in?
yagmai
post Apr 20 2006, 10:22 PM

57 posts

Ur university results has nothing to do with the hostel application.
Both are mutually exclusive.
All freshmen are guaranteed a room in their first yr.
From second yrs onwards, it's based on balloting.
yagmai
post Apr 20 2006, 10:28 PM

57 posts

Singapore students usually take these routes to university

1) Primary->Secondary->Junior College (A Level 2 yrs) -> University
2) Primary->Secondary->Polytechnic (3 yrs) -> University

If a singapore student do badly for Alevel, he can either
retake A level or join polytechnic to pursue a diploma.

It's not easy to enter uni with diploma as sg uni mostly allocated their vacancies for JC students and sg unis rather offered scholarships for China and Indian students. That's why a lot of poly students in Singapore are complaining lack of vacancies for them, resulting them going for further studies overseas.

AS long you get Top 5% for diploma, it's 90% guaranteed u are able to enter sg uni.
yagmai
post Apr 20 2006, 10:29 PM

57 posts

I have a question

Is SPTM easier or difficult than Singapore A Level?

This post has been edited by yagmai: Apr 20 2006, 10:30 PM
Futurisco
post Apr 20 2006, 11:29 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(yagmai @ Apr 20 2006, 10:22 PM)
Ur university results has nothing to do with the hostel application.
Both are mutually exclusive.
All freshmen are guaranteed a room in their first yr.
From second yrs onwards, it's based on balloting.
International students hav room for first 2 years for sure.

QUOTE(yagmai @ Apr 20 2006, 10:28 PM)
Singapore students usually take these routes to university

1) Primary->Secondary->Junior College (A Level 2 yrs) -> University
2) Primary->Secondary->Polytechnic (3 yrs) -> University

If a singapore student do badly for Alevel, he can either
retake A level or join polytechnic to pursue a diploma.

It's not easy to enter uni with diploma as sg uni mostly allocated their vacancies for JC students and sg unis rather offered scholarships for China and Indian students. That's why a lot of poly students in Singapore are complaining lack of vacancies for them, resulting them going for further studies overseas.

AS long you get Top 5% for diploma, it's 90% guaranteed u are able to enter sg uni.
Yeah that
QUOTE(yagmai @ Apr 20 2006, 10:29 PM)
I have a question

Is SPTM easier or difficult  than Singapore A Level?
I think almost the same. Singapore A-level not easy as far as I know
theodore_kh
post Apr 21 2006, 09:58 PM

It's me again !
1,297 posts

QUOTE(Futurisco @ Apr 20 2006, 11:29 PM)
International students hav room for first 2 years for sure.
Yeah that
I think almost the same. Singapore A-level not easy as far as I know
Which hostel are you referring to? Is it NTU?

Not bad for 2 years, my sister is staying in NUS, they only secure your accomodation for the first year, the following year is based on your performance.
Futurisco
post Apr 22 2006, 09:32 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(theodore_kh @ Apr 21 2006, 09:58 PM)
Which hostel are you referring to? Is it NTU?

Not bad for 2 years, my sister is staying in NUS, they only secure your accomodation for the first year, the following year is based on your performance.
Yep NUS..eh..thats strange. NUS gives international students 2 years of guranteed place to stay in campus. I am a first year so maybe it's a new policy.
TSben3003
post Apr 26 2006, 08:58 PM

10,859 posts

i need to know anyone from institut sinaran at sabah get into sg uni? becos i might study there for a-level, going to west msia is likely a killing to me(expenses)..
avantgardeo
post Apr 26 2006, 09:34 PM

188 posts

Seems like it's pretty easy to get into NTU nowadays.... big group of Malaysian students over there. NUS, however, is another story.
TSben3003
post Apr 27 2006, 08:51 PM

10,859 posts

is it? hope it is true..

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0177sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:27 PM