Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

wongmunkeong
post Jan 20 2015, 07:57 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Jan 20 2015, 07:27 PM)
Anybody have invest in unit trust for a long time? Around more than 2 years already? PM me please. I need some testimonial from you as I want to start invest in it also
seriously?
your results may vary due to many variables, ESPECIALLY yourself (way U invest, in what, why, plan/no plan, etc.)

sounds like asking biz people to PM U coz U want to start biz - logical?
wongmunkeong
post Feb 14 2015, 12:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just to share: Dollar Cost Averaging VS Value Averaging VS Rebalancing

http://www.valueaveraging.ca/docs/Monte_%2...Rebalancing.pdf

Bottom line of this study (which is in line with previous stats shared way earlier:
4. Summary and Conclusion
This study examines the performances of the three most popular strategies in financial planning literature and press, i.e., dollar-cost-averaging, a feasible value-averaging, and proportional rebalancing.

Monte Carlo simulations show that value averaging at a monthly growth rate higher than 0.7% generates a higher terminal value for the retirement account than dollar-cost-averaging or proportional rebalancing. Further, the terminal value has a lower
standard deviation under value averaging than under dollar-cost-averaging when a monthly growth rate lower than 1% is used in executing value averaging.

On the other hand, value averaging does have a higher downside risk than the other two strategies. However, the equity exposure under value averaging is not as high as feared. The modified Shape ratio clearly favors value averaging in terms of a higher compensation of reward for bearing the risk. In addition, value averaging has a 55% chance of generating a higher terminal value over dollar-cost-averaging and a 52% chance over proportional re-balancing.

Based on the empirical results, we conclude:
1. Both value averaging and proportional rebalancing have a higher positive smoothing effect in reducing total risk than dollar-cost-averaging.

2. Value averaging is the most preferred strategy over dollar-cost-averaging and proportional rebalancing in the framework of investing for retirement via 401(k) plans.

3. A monthly growth rate higher than 0.7% but lower than 1% for the stocks account is optimal in executing value averaging.

BTW, Bogglehead's own comparisons http://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Value_averaging

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 14 2015, 01:01 PM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 17 2015, 11:54 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Feb 17 2015, 11:12 AM)
anyone holding cimb principal balanced fund and cimb global titan fund here?
Global Tit Fund held - y ar?
wongmunkeong
post Feb 17 2015, 03:33 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Feb 17 2015, 02:23 PM)
wanna ask your expert advise on the performance, should i switch?  tongue.gif
First rule in investing - no one knows better or can watch your $ better than YOU brows.gif

Thus, i ain't no expert
and all the supposed experts are just "predicting" - they can't see the future, just like U & i.

Having said so, my personal approach is:
1. Buy value & sit on it till it's "ridiculous".
Note - "ridiculous" to me is when my net profits for that individual transaction hits more than DOUBLE my expected long term CAGR % (and i held more than 1 year)
OR making more than 66% net in less than 1 year.

2. Buy in programmatically every period (4 mths or quarter or bi annually, etc.) with value averaging
and when my value held is more than double my expected total returns % pa, i take some profits
OR when my value held is more than my expected BUT less than double, i just don't pump in the cash.

Simpleton approach - sorry if U expected rocket science notworthy.gif laugh.gif

er.. FYI - i did take some profits off-the-table based on (2.) for Global Tit Fund late last month
for easier comparisons (for your own judgement call):
Based on 13th Feb NAV:
33.37% net ROI
IRR/CAGR 19.02%

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 17 2015, 03:43 PM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 17 2015, 04:08 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Feb 17 2015, 04:01 PM)
whoa, need some time for my brain to digest this haha. but thks anyway. how long you have hold this fund if you don''t mind?  hmm.gif
since first-half 2013
wongmunkeong
post Feb 17 2015, 04:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2015, 04:29 PM)
IRR 19% only? Mine >30% laugh.gif
U one or two shots in last 3 months or so ago izzit?
mine was continuously every 4 mths since early 2013 thus ups also bought it but less lar tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Feb 17 2015, 05:08 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 17 2015, 04:52 PM)
Yeah, invested for less than 6 months laugh.gif

Value averaging up icon_idea.gif
hehe - like that U shd see my CIMBC50.. shocking.. 80.58% IRR la BUT less than 4 mths that particular transaction laugh.gif ROI only 22.81% tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 18 2015, 09:43 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(imbibug @ Mar 18 2015, 09:34 PM)
Not just EPF funds but all UT sold in banks.
er.. bro.. U sure?
even EPF approved mutual funds - up to 30% overseas ok-ed after backlash for "Malaysia equities only" rule.
cash investments being controlled such way? maybe - during martial law gua.. sweat.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 30 2015, 07:48 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

How Frequently Should You Rebalance?
Just to share on an item i read on the above

http://www.theresoluteinvestor.com/how-fre...-you-rebalance/

Snippet summary:
Conclusions
1. Rebalancing definitely works! It improves the performance and, more importantly, decreases the risk.
2. It takes some time in order to start seeing the benefits of rebalancing, usually 3-4 years.
3. There is no one-size-fits-all solution. Generally, less frequent rebalancing provides better results. However, rebalancing frequency significantly depends on both market timing abilities and market trendiness.
4. During volatile and sideway markets more frequent rebalancing works better. During trend market, no matter what direction of the trend is, you are better off by rebalancing less frequently.
5. Rebalancing does not depend on the proportion of stocks or bonds in your portfolio. It adds value whether you have an aggressive or too conservative portfolio.

Can You Do Rebalancing on Your Own?
As you can see, time-based rebalancing requires a disciplined approach. You need to choose your preferred frequency and then stick to it. Besides that, you need to take into account transaction costs, taxes (if applicable) and it may be very time-consuming. Despite all that, you absolutely can do rebalancing on your own and, probably, the best approach for individual investors is to do it annually.

You may wonder what method I prefer? Depending on multiple factors, I have found that “combo” is the best approach for my clients and me. However, I do it with one modification. Instead of waiting for the end of each period, I can rebalance the portfolio when the proportion of each asset class or individual stock(s) exceeds a predetermined threshold at any time, not only at the end of specific interval, which is usually semi-annually.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 30 2015, 07:49 AM
wongmunkeong
post Apr 5 2015, 04:16 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 5 2015, 01:16 PM)
thanks.. what if we are holding the suspended funds in epf? will need to force sell?
Based on my experiences with 100% foreign funds via EPF (yes yes, EPF allowed before), nothing happens to existing invested funds. NEW invesments tak masuk je.
<still holding those funds currently tongue.gif >
wongmunkeong
post Apr 11 2015, 09:27 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(eternity4life @ Apr 11 2015, 02:34 AM)
I agree, portfolio rebalancing is great but certain funds have switching fee to transfer between funds of the same fund houses while rebalancing between different fund houses would incur sales charge.

I'm wondering does the same problem happens under Fundsupermart?

So far the best way I know to do portfolio rebalancing is through a WRAP account as the switching between funds are free and usually have lower sales charge. Wondering if there is any other alternative? I'm open to any ideas....
Personally, i don't get to "Force Rebalance" often due to my approach of value averaging programmatically + opportunistic value investing in a diverse basket. Thus, those WRAP accounts that i saw before (not all seen yet) doesn't match my approach - the mgt fees & minimums are the killers for me.

Alternatives?
Well if U don't rebalance often (like once in 2 to 3 years MAX), i'd go with ETFs and FSM (or better when alternatives appear). I'm slowly moving towards ETFs where i can. Those that i can't easily move (due to withholding taxes, estate taxes when i kaput, etc.), i'm currently using FSM MY.

If U have any other ideas to explore, share share yar notworthy.gif
Continuous improvement is the only way tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Apr 13 2015, 11:16 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Off-topic BUT related:
1. Received a call from my "fund manager" on my EPF-->self-directed investments in KLSE counters.
2. Was told "EPF's guidelines do not allow already."
3. When i asked whether their fund managers' directed funds do ASEAN & CHINA ETFs, was told ".. by default, no, due to guidelines"

urgh.. the writing's on the wall? doh.gif
do your own extrapolation / thinking

Any other self-directed fund houses ALLOWS to continue, please PM me yar blush.gif ?
Just hoping.. dang.. need to replan a kaka-load of stuff.. i HATE this...
wongmunkeong
post Jul 16 2015, 04:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 16 2015, 04:22 PM)
Money market fund...u time apa??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
dont lar, there are ppl also "timing" / hunting for even 0.1%pa variance for FD leh
to each his own (especially "mutual fund traders" as opposed to investors/asset allocators tongue.gif )
notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 14 2015, 02:07 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

1. How long generally people invest in unit trust funds?
Logically, responses to your question would be due each investors' own circumstances and why right?
eg my own response would be:
a. some - less than 3 years as those were situational investments
b. some - more than 5 years, sold/switched other funds as i changed / revised my portfolio
b. some - held more than 10 years

2. What's your definition of "bring more value"?
i expect only 6%pa-8%pa CAGR on my mutual fund investments.
Thus do U mean whether i expect MORE than that if i held 50 years?

The quality of the question elicits the usefulness of the responses/answer tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 18 2015, 12:24 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

I'd advise very differently from the other 2 forumers.
Since TS doesn't seem to know what the heck TS got into, i'd suggest a retreat, research, rethink/replan and then execute plan.

Good lord - what if KLCI drops all the way to 1200? or even 1400?
Lagi cry harder TS - coz no plans / blur.

Please forgive me if i mis-assumed about TS' understanding of mutual funds/unit trusts & investment planning. If i have, please treat the above ramblings of a baka tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Apr 1 2016, 09:16 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Apr 1 2016, 08:24 AM)
If you are selling insurance, please dont mask it as an investment product. Very unethical.

Also... yes... epf do invest overseas, that really doesn't correlate with why epf can consistently pay 6%+
new "flower sellers" haven't been bamboo-ed kau kau yet mar
i wonder if can forward supersound thumbsup.gif - these are the "flower sellers" he keeps assuming everyone from that industry is like laugh.gif
wongmunkeong
post Dec 1 2016, 09:56 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(CoolMan39 @ Dec 1 2016, 09:02 PM)
If you are looking for Extra Income, please PM me.
http://www.mas.gov.sg/IAL.aspx?sc_p=J
JJPTR? If so, check out SG's MAS Investor Alert List above
wongmunkeong
post Jul 15 2017, 06:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

It really is different this time for high-flying stock market
Published: July 14, 2017 2:10 p.m. ET

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/it-really...rket-2017-07-14

Just sharing - for the old hands, deja-vu? smile.gif
wongmunkeong
post Nov 2 2017, 07:27 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 2 2017, 06:31 PM)
Not if you live like me. Live way way way below your means and you will find you have excess cash every month.
Good luck with that. You will find it hard as all agents are commission based. Go hang out in FSM thread.  They will teach you anything about UT.  Keep in mind they don't like people talking bad about FSM. They like it if you bash amanah saham and public mutual.
Ramjade - U getting into painting everyone the same?
"don't like people talking bad about FSM. They like it if you bash amanah saham and public mutual."

Should i paint U as a typical "GenY kid" like some?
wongmunkeong
post Feb 19 2018, 02:39 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

I'm no expert, just trying to understand & structure the Qs/Goals ya, coz the best answer to the "not so good" questions are near useless tongue.gif

1. Since one is looking to diversify out of properties (in particular MY properties?), FD, etc., maybe the biggest Q should be revolving around:
a. "Asset Allocation", asset categories (eg. Fixed Income, Equities, Alternates), sub-asset categories (eg. Developed Market Equities, Emerging Market Equities, REITs, etc.)

b. and its related stuff like "what allocation % fits my needs/risk appetite", "when to re-balance", "how to re-balance", "how to build.."

2. With (1.) in mind, one can then visualize one's total assets/investments as a holistic team, eg. a soccer team with forwards/strikers to score, midfielders to move the ball forward & help defenders as well, defenders to minimize goals against us + final defence, the goal keeper.

Thus, then perhaps one should then look for appropriate investment vehicles like stocks, mutual funds, etc. that fits the role to fill?

3. The above is just me trying to clarify & structure ya. Again, i may be wrong & U already know about all these. If so, perhaps this may help: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0643sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:34 AM