Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

wongmunkeong
post Mar 13 2014, 07:56 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(brien1193 @ Mar 13 2014, 12:05 AM)
1. Diversification usually means getting an average return  for less risk, as shares moving up would cancel out losses of shares moving down. Unit trust try to achieve a higher return by adjusting the diversified portfolio for roughly the same amount of systematic risk, so a good measure is to see whether they outperform a diversified benchmark like the klse or emas index.

2. If an equity fund is chosen, usually the risk of the fund is the same as the market, meaning roughly equal systematic risk. The idea is think whether the fund can get you higher returns for the same risk.

3. Liquidity is one of the main attractions of unit trust. No need to pay penalties for withdrawal like fixed deposits, or worry about whether your sell orders on the stock exchange will actually be taken up.

4. Comparing the service charges for any higher risk investment (gold, property, stocks, etc) for an average investment of rm1000 per transaction,  most have transaction charges of between 3-6%, so unit trusts are about equal on affordability to other investment.

5. Unit trust is an alternative to savings. It exposes funds to higher risk in order to get a higher return.

The above is assuming equity based funds.

An appropriate strategy would be to follow some golden rules;

1. If you have no idea what you're doing, do ringgit cost averaging

2. Do not invest so much that it cramps your lifestyle or you can't sleep at night

3. Aim for long term, over a period of more than 5 years, unit trusts are the best performing asset class.

If you have further questions I'd be happy to reply. smile.gif
er.. generally i agree with your thoughts, though.. on items like:
3. Liquidity is one of the main attractions of unit trust. No need to pay penalties for withdrawal like fixed deposits, or worry about whether your sell orders on the stock exchange will actually be taken up.

How can U compare to FD ar?
As compared with ETFs and stocks ok lar - however, good ETFs and stocks are also highly liquid & can be easily sold (low bid/ask spread) due to their daily volume.

4. Comparing the service charges for any higher risk investment (gold, property, stocks, etc) for an average investment of rm1000 per transaction, most have transaction charges of between 3-6%, so unit trusts are about equal on affordability to other investment.

U sure on this?
For RM1K transaction, it cost me approximately 1.2% for stocks. In fact, can get even lower if "cash transaction", just like mutual funds where U put in cash first. My 1.2% is via t+3 days to settle the payment.
VS
mutual funds' / unit trusts' 2% to 6% entry cost no matter how much?

BTW, as investors, as we grow our means, does that mean we should still keep doing mutual funds / unit trusts and pay the exorbitant entry costs if we can move $1K, $3K, etc per quarter or month?

1. If you have no idea what you're doing, do ringgit cost averaging
er.. if one has no idea, then DONT even touch until more is known and understood lar.
Dollar averaging into kaka is still kaka right?

3. Aim for long term, over a period of more than 5 years, unit trusts are the best performing asset class.
U sure on this? based on what statistics?
Heck, if true, would ETFs and direct stocks in good businesses be even better?
ie without the 2% to 6% service charges upfront where i lose $ right off
+losing 1.5% to 2.x% EVERY YEAR for management fees +"other costs"
VS compared to just buying-in good value into good businesses' stocks or ETFs?

Again, i'm not against mutual funds / unit trusts yar, just something glaring that i thought looks not too right.
Just thinking & bringing up discussion / clarification points notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 13 2014, 08:06 AM
wongmunkeong
post Mar 13 2014, 01:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(brien1193 @ Mar 13 2014, 01:14 PM)
This is a great discussion. smile.gif

Those are definitely valid points.

I've invested in both stocks and unit trusts over about 8 years, and so far my ut outperform my stocks. Maybe because I treat them the same way (minimal management, small monthly purchases).

So perhaps stocks need more active management from the investor?

So in the end it's still the investors decision to invest I guess.

Could give example of a "kaka" UT investment that we can keep an eye out for it?

anyways happy investing!
hehe - kaka is like PCSF (Public China Select Fund) laugh.gif
wongmunkeong
post Mar 13 2014, 03:15 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(brien1193 @ Mar 13 2014, 03:04 PM)
Holy sh*t I remember that one...haha yeah it was screwed up. Does it still exist?
Yup and btw, there were a few kaka ones from Southern Bank that was absorbed / incorporated into CWA funds as well tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Apr 14 2014, 04:33 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(infinityplayaz @ Apr 14 2014, 03:36 PM)
Hi fellas,

For those looking for 1 year investment with high ROI can take a look at this CIMB-principal small cap fund. If you guys want to know more info can pm me for appointment.
Almost 14% YTD ROI
Almost 54% 1 year ROI

rclxm9.gif
3 & 5 yrs return 2x.xx% neh..
U sure U ain't over emphasizing only on the "good" year and not the so-so YEARS ar?
and
i'm assuming (sorry if i'm mistaken ya)
a. that service charges weren't factored into the calculations (ie. based on NAV to NAV).
b. it's a simple calculation, not CAGR basis

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Apr 14 2014, 04:35 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 2 2014, 06:52 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ May 2 2014, 06:50 PM)
everybody knows...but takes time.. doh.gif
same fler that's selling BS earlier - cherry picking data
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2601692/+1248
wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 03:26 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ May 12 2014, 02:53 PM)
Hey guys,

I've finished reading "The Coffeehouse Investor" and am now going through "Bogleheads' Guide to Investing". Both of these books talk about the passive way of investing through low cost, unmanaged index funds as opposed to actively trying to beat the stock market through active trading. Any advice on how I can achieve this sort of investing around here?

I've done a tiny bit of research and a lot of people talk about unit trusts. But from what I've seen they have front loading fees and high annual fees (compared to unmanaged ones). Some also say that the indexing the whole market doesn't work around here because the market is less matured (not really sure how that affects it though). Thanks for any advice.
IMHO:
1. for emerging markets, especially MY - do mutual funds via FSM (lowest cost overall)
Why? U already know - manipulation & insider.. i mean "feel & surf" by fund manager does have impact (ie. alpha)

2. for developed markets or huge markets, go ETFs for lower cost of entry & annual mgt fees
eg. SPY, URTH, Vanguard funds & ETFs, etc all listed in US ARCA or other exchanges.

3. if just want to focus on cost effective and passive - local KLCI has CIMBA40 covering ASEAN 40 companies + CIMBC25 China's largest 25 listed on HK exchange. Google them for details - CIMB ETF does have very detailed info for both.

wongmunkeong
post May 12 2014, 04:10 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Prodigenous Zee @ May 12 2014, 03:47 PM)
Thanks for this. Will look into it later. What is FSM's role in everything? Are they like the middleman between me and the actual investment channel? New to all this, sorry for the silly question.

I forgot to ask this in my original post: is it possible for us to buy Vanguard related funds?
FSM? think of them as corporate agent, not individual agents. go to their website and FAQ

Vanguard? sure - sign-up locally with any security firm that does US stocks
can buy Vanguard's ETF. Mutual funds.. er.. unless U are in SG or US.. tough

Another way to buy Vanguard's ETF - go SG's TOS (Think or Swim) or OX (OptionsXpress) can buy liao
third and further out option - online US account but i heard several has clamped down on MY account opening - unsure how "vicious" or tight it is.

Me - have HLeB account for foreign trading & foreign currency + OX SG account.
BTW, if i kaput suddenly - my Will has no issue to be executed in MY & SG. Cost also no big deal for SG as compared to US heheh.
Just thinking a step further which may be of interest to U.
wongmunkeong
post May 18 2014, 12:50 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ May 18 2014, 01:45 AM)
@wong:  Interesting ... "my Will has no issue to be executed in MY & SG. Cost also no big deal for SG as compared to US heheh."

I am not investment savvy. What do these two comments mean? I am also "multi-national" based and have access to Vanguard USA. Any advantage to buying through Singapore?
In a nutshell - when i die, my beneficiaries can get to my assets easily in SG
because of nearer distance & cost (VS US) +Commonwealth law (VS US),

IMHO - no point building stuff up for nothing, it is to be used * gifted (if can't use or give in time when still alive).
wongmunkeong
post Jun 9 2014, 12:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Woohooo! Let the slaughter.. erm.. i mean competition begin!
Hajime! Fight!
---
http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/06/09/...N0OQ0KD20140609

UPDATE 1-Malaysia's PM eases rules on foreign fund managers, corporate bonds
12:24am EDT
* Foreign fund managers get broad access to retail investors
* Requirement for corporate-bond ratings to end in 2017
* Foreign rating agencies to be allowed to operate
* Najib says liberalization steps in line with development goals (Recasts, adds details, fund manager quote)
By Yantoultra Ngui and Stuart Grudgings

KUALA LUMPUR, June 9 (Reuters) - Malaysia's Prime Minister Najib Razak announced steps to liberalize the country's financial sector on Monday, removing barriers faced by foreign-owned fund managers and easing ratings requirements for the corporate bond market.
Najib, speaking at an investment conference in Kuala Lumpur, said the moves were aimed at boosting investment and encouraging a "stable and inclusive" financial system as the country aims to reach developed nation status by 2020.
He said foreign firms will be allowed, effective immediately, to fully own unit-trust management companies in Malaysia - a move market players said would give foreign fund managers much broader access to the country's retail investors.
"There will be no barrier to entry for new foreign unit-trust management companies coming into Malaysia," Najib said....
..blah blah <see link for more info>

'A MASSIVE STEP'
The removal of restrictions on foreign-owned fund managers means they will now be able to market funds to retail investors in the Southeast Asian nation of 29 million people, said Gerald Ambrose, a fund manager at Aberdeen Asset Management in Kuala Lumpur.
Until now, they have only been able to sell wholesale funds to Malaysians with a net worth of more than 3 million ringgit ($935,000)
"Foreign fund managers can manage conventional unit trusts now, which is a massive step. We've been pushing for that for a long time," Ambrose said.
Najib said the new steps were integral to Malaysia's goal of developing its economy to achieve developed-world status by 2020, with a projected income per head of $15,000.
"I want to see Malaysia emerge not just with a high-income economy, but a high-quality economy," he said.
"That means building a stable and inclusive financial system, encouraging innovation, and tackling corruption. To that end, we have introduced policies and reforms to ensure our growth is not just strong, but sustainable." (Editing by Richard Borsuk)

wongmunkeong
post Aug 1 2014, 08:53 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 1 2014, 08:36 AM)
Blood bath is pouring today!
heheh - not enough blood to bathe yet lar.
2% drop nya last night (S&P) - we're back to mid-June's level only, no biggie UNLESS this kind of drop happens every 2 days for the next 20 days+. That will have some folks sh*tt*ng bricks sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 1 2014, 08:59 AM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 29 2014, 01:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Thought it'd be of interest here too + this thread/topic is pinned, easier for newbies to find.
Mods - my apologies if replicating too many times. Feel free to delete/nuke. sweat.gif

--posted on Personal Financial Management V3, It's all about managing your $$$--

Just created this on Google Sheets for my team member to "see" and play-with, for visualizing & planning her future cash flow.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13lk...dit?usp=sharing

Thus - thought it'd be useful to others too.
Please note:
1. Please make a copy to your own Google sheets in order to edit at your own private pleasure.
U won't be able to edit the version i shared.
To make a copy: File >> Make a copy

2. EPF variables - specifically tailored to Malaysia
If U do not have any such items (it's like 401K, CPF, etc), just zero-rise the variable in yellow

3. Goals 2 to 7:
If U do not have them, zero-rise them.

4. Does NOT calculate taxes on investment or trading returns.
Please factor taxes in to get the net returns pa % expected.

5. Focus on Column D, Row 14 onwards - this is the cash-related investments that will be funding your retirement and goals.
If the row's cell is NOT red, U should be ok.
Red = no more investments to fund anything from that year/row onwards

6. Anything else?
drop me a line here and i'll see if i can incorporate the idea OR clarify usage of existing.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/13lk...dit?usp=sharing
wongmunkeong
post Oct 29 2014, 02:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 29 2014, 01:50 PM)
Can I convert this google sheet to xlsx? Dont really use google sheet and wants to play around offline..
Yup, can but check formulas yar. can run

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 29 2014, 02:03 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 29 2014, 07:04 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 29 2014, 05:08 PM)
Thanks bro, I entered my data and it told me that my money will run out in 40 years time, assuming ROI of 7% and inflation of 4%. In 40 years time my years' goals cost is rm450k. rclxub.gif
By changing the ROI to 8%, my portfolio size keeps appreciating. Now need to restructure my investment to achieve that.

Btw, when I click the <File>, only <download as> is allowed but not <make a copy>. Do I need to install something?
Did U log in with your Google a/c?
If U did and U already "made a copy", that copy is your private Google Sheet already.

er.. if U've no Google a/c.. heheh- sorry ar, can't "make copy" coz make copy to where? sweat.gif

---
BTW, hint hint (and real life):
Try placing in cell G14:
Net Salary * 1/3 *12 (ie. U save 1/3 of your net salary - may be tough but do-able) +Net Bonus *1/3 (ie. U save 1/3 of your bonus - do-able)
VS
Net Salary * 5% *12 (ie. U save 1/3 of your net salary - may be tough but do-able) +Net Bonus *1/3 (ie. U save 1/3 of your bonus - do-able)
VS
Net Salary * 10% *12 (ie. U save 1/3 of your net salary - may be tough but do-able) +Net Bonus *1/3 (ie. U save 1/3 of your bonus - do-able)

See the column D when turn red - which year for all 3.
Notice a big enough difference even with 10% vs 5%?
This shows that DEFENCE is very important as well (keeping $), not just making $ (returns pa%)
With this, U can literally see the future visually (RED = must die liao, no $)

---
Other than that, one can also use the sheet to ascertain how much death insurance required.
Eg. i change the retirement year to 1 or 2 from now, simulating my death thus no more income and need to eat into cash investments' returns.
Also no more savings

Then scroll down lor to see how long family can live off current VS what i want/thought.
See the variance if any, and i can agak agak how much more death insurance i need.

Just a thought notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Oct 29 2014, 10:35 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 29 2014, 10:02 PM)
heheh - i AM a professional planner.. for myself, family, sis' family, team members laugh.gif
just not making $ out of it as it's a hobby & a kick to see people's eyes light up OR awaken tongue.gif

BTW, U may want to re-copy - i've tweaked the EPF portion to include possibility that one will stop working waaaaaaaay before getting the $ out of EPF.
Impact of employer+employee EPF contribution can be huge in such cases.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 29 2014, 10:38 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 30 2014, 09:14 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(shs11 @ Oct 30 2014, 09:03 AM)
@WongMunKeong sifu,

I am one of silent reader for this topic. smile.gif

Today I just login into forum just to say a very BIG THANK YOU to you for the spreadsheet. I always wanted to make such calculation but don't quite sure where to start and how to include the inflation cost into it. You solved my problem and "opened" my eyes biggrin.gif
No sifu here Sir/Ma'am, i'm just another worrier and problem solver sweat.gif

Thank U for your feedback.
Makes it worthwhile for me.

As an evolving work - i've again UPDATED the GOOGLE SHEET:
Added sheets to ascertain our total portfolio's returns based on our asset allocation + track investments'/trades' net profits/losses
Sheets named "Asset Allocation Planning" & "Investment / Trade Tracking" sweat.gif (being captain obvious laugh.gif )
Sample data provided for easier visualization & understanding

Again, please play with the YELLOW cells' variables

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Oct 30 2014, 12:55 PM
wongmunkeong
post Oct 30 2014, 08:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 30 2014, 05:42 PM)
Went to your reactivated blog and read thru your recent posts, thank u for the updated GooGle Sheet. I was playing around with 'what if' data to see the outcome and was fascinated that a small change in % in ROI or inflation can affect your life plan. It is a good guide for us as we live thru the coming years with actual data. Thanks again for your effort. Btw how to calculate(or what formula to use) the current value of the Portfolio size (col D) of the respective years?
Clarification:
U are looking to find "Present Value" of Column D's future portfolio? ie Column D, Row 14, 15, etc?

Simple, look at the row, say 16.
Year = say 2016
Current year = say 2014
D16 = $100,000
Inflation assumed = 4%pa

Present value = $100,000 * (1 +4%pa inflation) ^(2014-2016)
or Future Value *(1 + Inflation %pa) ^(years to regress inflation)

OR U can copy below into C16 brows.gif
=D16 *(1+$G$5)^($G$1-B16)

After that U can just copy C16 to any C14 to Cwhatever (yellow cells in Column C) to see the Present Value

Hope that helps
wongmunkeong
post Nov 6 2014, 01:53 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(bursalchemy @ Nov 6 2014, 01:48 PM)
Just a thought here, no offence.

Is it worth to invest in equity unit trust? We pay fund managers loaded fees and sales commission charge to unit trust consultant. On top of that, the fund managers invest in stock/company that already paid Directors' Fees for administer the company on behalf of shareholders. Anyone can share me their view on this?

Regards.
Good Q.
However, if i may suggest, pairing that Q with:
a. Can i do better?
b. Am i willing to take the time to learn, keep learning & manage my investments directly via stocks, bonds, ETFs, etc?

With the answer to both sets of Q, then U know where U stand.
Each person will have varying degrees of willingness, time and WANT to for (b.)
However, doesn't mean (a.) will be better if higher (b.) tongue.gif

Or take a mixture like most common-sensed folks:
eg.
Trade directly (options, stocks, forex, futures, properties)
Invest passively (via ETF or mutual funds)
OR
Invest actively/directly in local properties
Invest passively in overseas' stocks via ETF / mutual funds
OR
etc. etc.
limited time, unlimited investments/trades

wongmunkeong
post Nov 10 2014, 12:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Life_House @ Nov 10 2014, 11:58 AM)
- any recommedation of reliable unit trust / ETF ?

- are there any unit trust / ETF that are exempted from tax ? 

- what will be the impact of GST on unit trust in next years onwards ?  and how will it affect the net return for clients ?
i've looked into some reports in magazines such as from Smart Investers, but i was wondering about those figures and ranking..
Or if any one from Unit Trust / ETF line would like to PM me more details are also welcome.  thx.
IMHO - if stocks are out of your options, i would NOT suggest ETFs or mutual funds based on equities.
The underlying assets held by equity-based ETFs & mutual funds are stocks of the stock market.

Thus, that leaves U with the traditional:
1. Bonds / Bond Funds (fluctuates too but not as wild)
2. Fixed Deposit / Money Market Funds
3. ASB (if U are a bumiputera)

NOTE: Even stocks in REITs can fluctuate wildly, investments in properties too (U don't see the buy/sell price daily, thus U think it doesn't fluctuate), gold, etc.

As for GST and stuff - GST is only on the service charges / commissions
eg
if a stock transaction cost $10, GST on it will be $0.60 (6%)
if an ETF or mutual funds' service charge is $10, GST on it will be $0.60 (6%)

Tax - dependent on the vehicles' asset held & dividends or capital gains during disposal
eg.
IF U hold SG REITs, no withholding tax on dividends for individual investors
IF U hold MY REITs, 10% withholding tax on dividends
(pls correct me if i'm mistaken - long time no look liao)
IF U hold US REITs, 30% withholding tax on dividends
(pls correct me if i'm mistaken - long time no look liao)

Currently no tax for capital gains for MY, SG, US stocks (based on my findings last round in 2013)

wongmunkeong
post Nov 23 2014, 07:33 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Nov 23 2014, 05:08 AM)
i asked, and like someone replied....  Msian mkt soooooo tiny soooo little movement, hardly worth it. Just compare any local fund of a few million rm compared to typical 100 BILLIONS US$ in typical USA fund.  Worst is that here got front/back  loading and other loadings, services taxes, etc. You can just invest long term in choice of blue chips at 5%+ per trade or FD 4% and why bother with funds which also charge more? Yes, cynical, but need to think through, help!
er.. I think something was lost in translation..
a. ETFs listed in MY != ETF on MY stocks
eg1. ETFs like CIMBC50 & CIMBA40 are NOT ETFs on MY stocks (alone), also these are listed in SG as well.
eg2. ETFs like MYETF are ETFS on MY stocks

b. MY market stocks total capitalization is small (comparatively),
VS US stocks' total capitalization
thus ETFs on MY stocks are generally "not worthwhile"
"Not worthwhile" = it doesn't take much $ to own/cover major MY market stocks comparatively to bigger markets like US.

i don't think it's about front/back loading - ETFs ada back loading ka?
Somethings not too right there.

Just thinking notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 12 2015, 07:31 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Just to share:

Give Your Portfolio a Year-End Checkup

Published on Jan 6, 2015
Morningstar's director of personal finance outlines how to gauge your portfolio's viability, evaluate your allocation, troubleshoot risk factors, and more in this special Web seminar presentation.
Christine Benz (from Morningstar)

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVHq-SFfUp0
Download the slides for this presentation here: http://submissions.morningstar.com/wp-cont...ecember2014.pdf
Also attached in this post for your easy viewing.

Summary of 6 Steps in the Portfolio-Checkup Process
• Step 1: Gauge viability of current plan
• Step 2: Evaluate portfolio positioning
• Step 3: Check liquid reserves
• Step 4: Review individual holdings
• Step 5: Troubleshoot current risk factors
• Step 6: See if you can reduce investment-related taxes for 2014

Attached File(s)
Attached File  PortfolioCheckupDecember2014.pdf ( 564.29k ) Number of downloads: 22

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0356sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:56 AM