6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

T231H
post Oct 25 2016, 12:52 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(noiseemunkee @ Oct 25 2016, 12:42 PM)
hi sifus, i was looking for fund/edu fund to invest for my kid. any recommendation of where to start looking?
if for your kids
try SSPN?
got RM6000 tax relief
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3603912/+120#entry82257347
http://www.ptptn.gov.my/web/english/savings

for others try this
http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Financial-Planning.aspx

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/school/school.svdo
T231H
post Nov 28 2016, 04:44 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 28 2016, 04:40 PM)
Affin Hwang Flexible Maturity Income Fund 6 - 3 yrs.  4.5% - 5% return pa.

Is this something good for me that is looking for a return of 4.5% per annum without the headache of hunting for FD every year?  I have no issues to lock my funds for 3 yrs.     

Please advise thanks.
what is the SC?
4.5% ~ 5% pa guaranteed like FD without the headache?

T231H
post Nov 28 2016, 04:53 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 28 2016, 04:49 PM)
No guarantee la (other than FD mana ada guarantee) but past income funds all exceed this rate.  SC is 3% but will be returned in full if you dont exit during that 3 yrs.
at that rate and with lockin period, then not for me...maybe is ok for you...you have to decide on your own if it is ok or not.....
I cannot advise thus cannot response to your query.
T231H
post Nov 28 2016, 04:53 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Nov 28 2016, 04:50 PM)
How can I assess the effect of management fees? What time of the year are they deducted, or built into NAV but when?
daily?
T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 12:52 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(cyaoping @ Dec 24 2016, 09:37 PM)
Don't think about the cost.
Focus on performance.
If the performance bad, even they give you free charge also don't get in.

Find a good performance fund in last 5 year.
Keep review at least every 3years because nothing is forever especially in Investment

Check Manulife Progress Fund, I'm the fund advisor
hmm.gif I am not sure about others...for me, there is a better winner in the Small cap segment

T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 01:44 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 01:39 AM)
Guys, CIMB Clicks charge 2.5% fee, M2u charge 3% fee. In the above comments it says banks has advisors who can advise you. I decided to go with CIMB Clicks since it's just 0.5% above FSM and is something I already use and am familiar/comfortable with. But I'm wondering, do I get any extra service or not? Doesn't seem like it.

Also, I want to ask. If I place a purchase today (25 Dec), based on which day NAV will it conduct the transaction? Is it based on last Friday, or based on next Tuesday, or something else? Is it the same case with switching?
hmm.gif since you are willing to pay 2.5% SC to CIMB CLICK......
why not ask them, from there you can see whether you can get extra service or not.... biggrin.gif
T231H
post Dec 25 2016, 01:54 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 25 2016, 01:49 AM)
You know I mean that's the thing. I am disagreeing with what is said above. I don't see any kind of "special" service buying funds on CIMB Clicks. There is no special number/hotline to call either by the looks of it.

Also, I want to ask. If I place a purchase today (25 Dec), based on which day NAV will it conduct the transaction? Is it based on last Friday, or based on next Tuesday, or something else? Is it the same case with switching?
depending on the time you placed the order and the cut off time practiced by the company.....
normally when you placed and order, the system will tell you the "Transaction Date"...that is the date that are effective.
but the actual published NAVs will be day(s) later.

Q: When will I know about the price I get?

A: Most of the unit trusts in Malaysia are priced based on "forward pricing". This means that if you transact today, you will get the fund’s value as of the closing price of the market today. However, you will know the price in two working days
The price that you could see in the website is the so-called 'indicative price'. This is usually the price of the fund two working days ago. This indicative price is NOT the actual transaction price of the fund that you are buying or selling.
Generally, the fund manager requires approximately two business days to consolidate and derive a unit price for the funds. These prices are further valued independently by the fund's trustees. Therefore, the dealing price will be made known to the public two business days after the transaction date. Once we obtained the price, an email notification will be sent to you.

This post has been edited by T231H: Dec 25 2016, 01:55 AM
T231H
post Dec 26 2016, 06:40 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 26 2016, 06:31 PM)
What extra service u have in mind?
I got no idea...you have to ask poster of post# 2429 rclxs0.gif tongue.gif
T231H
post Jan 21 2017, 12:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Jan 21 2017, 11:14 AM)
What do you guys think about CIMB-Principal Money Market Income? How does it work?
while waiting for responses,,,,
you may try read this.....
hope it can provide some added info while you wait.

http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/fund_pdf/...Income_Fund.pdf

http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/fund_pdf/...come%20Fund.pdf

T231H
post Feb 2 2017, 09:53 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Feb 2 2017, 09:48 AM)
Any idea what has been the historic return rates per annum?
use this tool?
http://www.cimb-principal.com.my/daily_uni...aspx?fundid=047

T231H
post Mar 1 2017, 09:22 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Mar 1 2017, 09:17 AM)
Yeah, i buy my own better lol
thumbsup.gif good moves...many people are do that.... thumbup.gif
T231H
post Mar 26 2017, 08:31 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Mar 26 2017, 06:45 PM)
Rhb Asian income giving negative return. Is it still good to invest?
something to ponder about....
up to you to decide.....

T231H
post Mar 29 2017, 09:46 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Zyi @ Mar 29 2017, 08:02 AM)
First time into this unit trust. Other than choosing the right trust to invest on, what else should we do after investing? Or just basically put in the money and wait it grow/lost?

Thanks sifu!
hmm.gif I hope you got the meaning of "right" there right. some people don't.

well for me, I will just wait for it to grow, not just grow, but grow in tandem at the rate that is almost similar, similar or better than it peers of similar mandate over a period of let says...1 yr,....if the results is within the same as its peers, then I will monitor it for another year, else I will monitor it in another every 6 months......
if after 2yrs it is still not as good as it peers...I will decide the dump it off....not just for its performance but maybe for its volatility that is not my cup of tea.

you can use till to check.....
http://my.morningstar.com/ap/quickrank/default.aspx

btw, are you just buying 1 or 2 funds or setting up a whole portfolio?

T231H
post Mar 31 2017, 09:48 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(chrishaiden66 @ Mar 31 2017, 09:44 PM)
does anyone would help me in proper fund investment and management
most of them list here may help....
https://www.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl#q=fund+m...ysia&*&spf=1441

try contact them
T231H
post Apr 11 2017, 07:49 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Apr 11 2017, 07:34 PM)
hi good day guys.
so i was going to ambank today for FD placement for my mom and was recomended by the bank manager to invest in "Eastspring Investments Target Income 6" instead of FD.

i have no experience in buying fund, UT, just have a few FD.
just want to learn from fellow friends here if this is not too risky since it's bond fund? last thing i want is to screw up with my mom FD smile.gif
i know the fund it's now in the 6th series and base on the previous result it's definitely better than FD return. ~5% vs ~3%

your advice, feedback is appreciated.
I googled and found this....
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/?r...ageid=1&fn=E064

and
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/do...d%206%20PHS.pdf

then from there....stated....
5 yrs locking period.
there is a initial sales charge of 3%
early termination /withdrawal will be another 3%
and a list of risk in this product....

then you can try this too....
suitability assessment questionaires...
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/do..._Individual.pdf

hmm.gif did that bank Manager explains the risks, the charges, early redemption penalty and etc, etc to you or ask you to try the suitability assessment questionaires?

This post has been edited by T231H: Apr 11 2017, 07:58 PM
T231H
post Apr 11 2017, 08:27 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Apr 11 2017, 08:21 PM)
thanks for reply, yea i did some googling and got the same info you provided.
yeap, the bank manager did mentioned about the 3% penalty if sell within the 5 years lock in.
the manager emphasized this is like once a year opportunity compare to FD options and we should consider and take this.

but 1 thing i don't quite understand is... this is a product from Prudential (eastspring investment), what are the benefit buying through the bank? vs buying from prudential?
i ask that question and the manager said buy from bank safer because a bank is a bank while prudential is an insurance company afterall.. i am not sure about this part.
why don't you are the bank manager what does it mean safer?.....does it mean your investment will not be under your name but the bank's name and the bank will hold for you?

if you want and really want it....try get from them biggrin.gif
http://www.eastspringinvestments.com.my/?r...tional&pageid=1
T231H
post Apr 11 2017, 10:01 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Apr 11 2017, 09:44 PM)
thanks for your input dude. yeah... it appears to me he is trying a bit too hard to sell this. i said so because we identified clearly we are coming for the 4.35% 5 years FD. but through out the 20mins talk, he just push down FD and end of talk also never talk about the FD which is a promotion from the bank until end of Apr.

now i need to make a decision in helping my mom with her FD, i was thinking maybe a 70:30 ratio of FD:Fund. if we were to buy bond, money market fund.. and we have no experience and llimited knowledge about fund. what is the advice for us to buy fund? i understand there will be charge to find an agent, so which agencie, bank do you guys recomend? thanks again!
hmm.gif I think 4.35% is good considering it is FD + with PIDM protected up 250k.

while waiting for responses about your intention to go into fund investment...I googled and found this....
hope it can provide some added knowledge while you wait for responses....

School
If you're a novice investor -- or you're looking to brush up on a specific investing concept -- this is the place to start. They've tailored this section to give you the investment foundation that you need. 
They believe it is important that you first acquire this knowledge, because only then would you be able to take charge of your own financial planning and be great at managing your financial wealth. 
Those of them there at Fundsupermart believe passionately that unit trusts are the best investment instruments to help achieve our long term financial goals. So here, they'll show you the basics of financial planning, tutor you on the finer points of unit trust investing, and help you make better investment decisions!   

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/school/school.svdo
T231H
post May 21 2017, 02:30 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ May 21 2017, 02:27 PM)
1. no unit trust is protected by PIDM. so nope, not protected.
2. final returns depends on the market. nobody knows what will happen 15 years ahead. worst case scenario, you lose all your money.
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

just to add more....
Private Retirement Schemes in Malaysia – Risk Factors
https://www.imoney.my/articles/prs-risk-factors
T231H
post May 21 2017, 02:33 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ May 21 2017, 02:31 PM)
Oh dear sad.gif

Are low risk/ guaranteed investments that I should be researching?
I have tried FD, but would like to explore further. I have managed to save up to RM20k for upfront principal and monthly RM1.5k top up.
hmm.gif self contribution into EPF?
T231H
post May 21 2017, 02:40 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ May 21 2017, 02:36 PM)
Yes I have taken that into account as well.
However that's pretty much a 1-way street right, I'll not see returns till retirement? laugh.gif

Anything other than FD that is low risk, but slightly better returns?
with capital protection/returns guaranteed?....
let me know if you found it....

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ May 21 2017, 02:37 PM)
bond funds. you may try exploring FSM thread.
bond funds are not capital or returns guaranteed......

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0712sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:17 AM