Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

T231H
post Jul 2 2017, 11:55 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Sairenji @ Jul 2 2017, 11:50 AM)
Hello & good day. I have a question regarding subsequent investment in a unit trust. Is it actually a mandatory payment on monthly basis like a car loan?

Like say, if i pick moderately conservative portfolio recommended by FSM for example, total subsequent should be RM1500. Do i have to fork out RM1500 each month without fail?
No. Not compulsory....
T231H
post Jul 24 2017, 01:03 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ Jul 24 2017, 12:55 PM)
so, how does it work actually? sorry, im new on this,,  smile.gif
try read this...
PRS PPA
https://www.google.com/search?q=prs+ppa&rlz...chrome&ie=UTF-8

how prs works
https://www.google.com.my/search?q=g&rls=co...q=how+prs+works

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/1...cheme-PRS--8865

This post has been edited by T231H: Jul 24 2017, 01:24 PM
T231H
post Aug 18 2017, 09:46 AM

5,143 posts

deleted.....oops...wrong understanding

This post has been edited by T231H: Aug 18 2017, 09:50 AM
T231H
post Aug 18 2017, 10:02 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2017, 09:48 AM)
Different platform for different situation

Phillip
- If you have RM5k to topup (during promo only), you can get funds from Phillip at 0% service charge
- A good platform to buy bond fund because if you can topup/buy RM5k worth of bond fund during promo, you won't get charge the 1% (for bond fund). and there's no quarterly platform fees.
- Less user friendly interface

FSM
- Good for those who topup in small amount (<RM5k/topup)
- Nice looking interface
- Charges you 0.05% platforms fees per quarter for bond funds which will increase over time as the value of your bond fund grow (so you are losing money every quarter) just by buying bond funds from FSM.
hmm.gif noticed these Fixed income funds got no platform fees stated....
btw,..these 0.05% per quarter will be 0.2% per year...thus 2% per 10 years.....kind of "cheaper" than buying funds with 1.75% initial sales charges biggrin.gif

T231H
post Aug 18 2017, 10:16 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2017, 10:09 AM)
Er you are forgetting that as your bond fund value increases, your quarterly payment also increase even if you didn't topup.  whistling.gif
the quantum of ROI one gets with the RR it gives in a fixed income fund outweights the 0.2% pa or platform fees
RM10000 is RM20. if your funds grow to RM20000 will be RM40

anyway, one can select those that has no platform fees

don't focus on the minute things in life that is insignificants to the overall good of life

This post has been edited by T231H: Aug 18 2017, 10:17 AM
T231H
post Aug 18 2017, 10:31 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2017, 10:22 AM)
1. Why pay for something when you can get the same thing for free? It's small but it's still money Too much money to "donate to FSM"? devil.gif
RM20 enough for my one week groceries already  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

Well it's up to a person. I already listed down the pros and cons of FSM vs Phillip. Those who feel like "donating free money" to FSM, be my guest. Those who don't feel like "donating free money" can use the alternative.

Btw, better I donate that RM20 to charity than give FSM. At least the RM20 for charity will be put to good use rather than masuk pocket of iFAST shareholders. icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif
that is how a person will gets what he seeked in life...
a perudoa car is still a car compare to a toyota car
why pay for so much more for a transport?
you want a better interface you pay more lor
you want a faster CS responses you pay more lor

well,. one choose what he/she wants in life tongue.gif

T231H
post Aug 18 2017, 11:09 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 18 2017, 11:06 AM)
Don't get me wrong. I recommed FSM MY to my friends and family but at the same time, I tell them to stay away from FSM platform fees  devil.gif
me too....but i ask my friends what he seek to have first.....

T231H
post Oct 10 2017, 08:54 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(seanlam @ Oct 10 2017, 08:46 PM)
Can purchase prs fund thru eunit trust too right?
check this out?
https://www.eunittrust.com.my/
click Getting Started/PRS/PRS FAQ
T231H
post Oct 11 2017, 08:01 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(seanlam @ Oct 11 2017, 04:48 AM)
Thanks bro~ wondering what is their service charge.
if you can't wait to get or failed to get responses here, you may try this.....

T231H
post Oct 11 2017, 04:45 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Oct 11 2017, 04:32 PM)
is this just same as FSM?
hmm.gif i would just think of it as "something like" FSM
T231H
post Oct 11 2017, 04:45 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Oct 11 2017, 04:32 PM)
is this just same as FSM?
hmm.gif i would just think of it as "something like" FSM
T231H
post Oct 23 2017, 07:13 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(mephyll @ Oct 23 2017, 03:55 PM)
Q1: Majority here purchase fund/ UT online i.e: FSM, Eunittrust?

Q2: Personally may try to open FSM account, refer back previous post, saying that there are platfrom fees, how to waive it?

Q3: other than online trade? any method to buy and sell?

Is it Funds is game rules same as ASN unfixed price fund? feel free to share the different..
A1: no idea can't speak for others....
A2: Platform fees in FSM applies to some bond funds...see attached image or here for more details about FSM platform fees....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/1...atform-Fee-8467
A3: maybe go to their office to do it directly?
A4: I guess more or less the same....

T231H
post Nov 3 2017, 10:42 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(PrincessMe2515 @ Nov 3 2017, 10:26 AM)
Hi all I am a noob  here. I was wondering ....I am risk averse but am interested interested placing money in safe options.

I am thinking between FD and also heard about cimb funds connect frnid. Cimb talked a lot about it but am worried. Is the fund a good option?
heard many times before in other threads...frnid (Floating Rate Negotiable Instrument of Deposit) is NEVER a good option...

goggled and found this
https://www.malaysia-today.net/why-would-an...ke-toxic-waste/

more on goggle...

T231H
post Nov 19 2017, 05:42 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Nov 19 2017, 05:18 PM)
hi all, how do checked kenanga growth portfolio current under this fund?

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...heetMYKNGGF.pdf

i checked link it doesnt really give all details how much holding this fund has?
hmm.gif we can only gets past holdings....
the current holding may not be exactly as published....for the status can be changed by the likings of the FM
for more details of the past published holdings...can try get the info from the closing interim or annual reports.

T231H
post Nov 19 2017, 06:05 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Nov 19 2017, 05:49 PM)
thanks T231H. Did you invest in kenanga too? it is one of the highest performing fund right now.
hmm.gif unknown to the precise definition of highest performing fund right now......

according to this.....
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...formed=topFunds

kenanga growth fund was in the 3rd position for the top highest annualised returns of 14.15....in the 10 years duration category....
(btw, this position will be frequently changed due to the constant value and dates updates)

for YTD returns...KGF had a good run of 21.46% (ranked 43 from funds available under the FSM) where else the highest is 46%
use this tool to check for more details...
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...erateTable.svdo
T231H
post Nov 19 2017, 07:22 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(demetry @ Nov 19 2017, 06:32 PM)
Thanks T231H for sharing. Mind if i ask if you have invested any UT in FSM and other potential UT under your watchlist?
yes I do invest in UTs and in FSM platform....
currently I don't have a watch list, as all of what I had wanted for my portfolio had already being bought and held over the years

Disclaimer:
This post does not constitute an investment recommendation.
No person should rely on the content and/or act on the basis of any matter contained in this post without obtaining specific professional advice.
Investment involves risk. The NAV price of a fund may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment.
Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund.
Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision.
An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

T231H
post Dec 2 2017, 09:50 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Dec 1 2017, 10:36 PM)
guys, do you hold ut for years or take profit with a goal (like reach 10%, 20% profit) in mind?

ut agent tend to ask us to sell when profit say 10 to 20%. more like business for them, more sales charge that they can gain? not to all advantage?

so hold or sell then buy again?
hmm.gif
if a fund had climbed to a certain level, I would review the valuation of that fund's coverage mandate.
example from here.....

Star Ratings For The Various Markets
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo
if still ok...I will leave it there
but "What To Do If Certain Markets Are Getting Expensive?".....this guy did it this way...
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20150402

finally, at the end of the day......
WHEN TO TAKE PROFITS?
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...e-Profits--1783

I would not simply set a goal to sell a fund when it had made (10% or 20% profit)...for
a) I would have missed more opportunity that may have come from that fund,
b) if I sold that fund, which similar area of coverage fund would I buy? would not the valuation of that similar fund that I am going to buy in be the same as the fund that I had just sold?
Don't Let The High Fund Price Deter You
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2288

Disclaimer:
This post does not constitute an investment recommendation. No person should rely on the content and/or act on the basis of any matter contained in this post without obtaining specific professional advice.
Investment involves risk. The NAV price of a fund may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund. Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision. An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

This post has been edited by T231H: Dec 2 2017, 11:01 AM
T231H
post Dec 2 2017, 11:01 AM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 2 2017, 10:53 AM)
hmm.gif  doh.gif  sweat.gif
not afraid you maybe branded as .....
thks for reminding....added in a disclaimer.... biggrin.gif
T231H
post Apr 10 2018, 10:05 AM

5,143 posts

Do You Use Your Rear-View Mirror To Invest?

A popular topic which arises frequently when we talk to investors is the notion of a “best fund” or “best market”.
Also, upon further probing, the meaning of “best” is usually simplified to some measure of historical performance over a particular period.
Anecdotal evidence suggests a healthy correlation exists between funds which appear on the “top performing funds” list and funds which are selling well, an indication that investors tend to place a lot of emphasis on a product’s track record.
Is such an investment approach akin to driving a car by looking in the rear-view mirror?

TRACK RECORD IMPORTANT, BUT CONTEXT IS EVERYTHING
DANGER OF "BUYING HIGH"
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...gust-2015--6172

T231H
post May 24 2018, 11:56 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(Chris92 @ May 24 2018, 11:13 PM)
Any comment on KAF Tactical Fund?
1 year ago, there was this write up...
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...June-2017--8423

hope it can provide you with some added info while you wait for more value added response.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0947sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:21 AM