Fund Investment Corner v3, Funds101

torres09
post Jul 15 2022, 12:52 PM

577 posts

Hi, newbie here in this section.
Anyone willing to share their total unit trust profit/lost since the start of 2022?
Thanks a million!
MUM
post Jul 15 2022, 01:03 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jul 15 2022, 12:52 PM)
Anyone willing to share their total unit trust profit/lost since the start of 2022?
Thanks a million!
While waiting for responses,... My guess are, it depends on what unit trust funds that they holds,...
Maybe can use this tool to try seek out "best performing" or "worst performing" funds ytd? (excludings public mutual funds)
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/best-...orst-performers

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 15 2022, 01:09 PM
Jitty
post Jul 16 2022, 08:50 AM

1,046 posts

Thanks a million!
heavy invested in china since 2022.
so far still negative 17.2% sad.gif
torres09
post Jul 16 2022, 09:16 AM

577 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jul 16 2022, 08:50 AM)
heavy invested in china since 2022.
so far still negative 17.2%  sad.gif
Thanks for your reply.
My drop is about same as yours. I am a long term UT investor by withdrawal from EPF. Kinda depressed to see my portfolio profit slump from 2x% to single digit since the turn of the year sad.gif
Jitty
post Jul 17 2022, 06:56 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jul 16 2022, 09:16 AM)
Thanks for your reply.
My drop is about same as yours. I am a long term UT investor by withdrawal from EPF. Kinda depressed to see my portfolio profit slump from 2x% to single digit since the turn of the year sad.gif
I use to have the same feeling as you too.

it feels suck. but it will get over it. Keep DCA.

Rmb to use your non-emergency fund to invest.

don't time the market. Prioritize Time In the market.
torres09
post Jul 17 2022, 08:59 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(Jitty @ Jul 17 2022, 06:56 PM)
I use to have the same feeling as you too.

it feels suck. but it will get over it. Keep DCA.

Rmb to use your non-emergency fund to invest.

don't time the market. Prioritize Time In the market.
Yeah, hope the market recover.
Thinking to diversify to other investments since now only UT and FD (and some small amount in share market). Gotta learn more about finance and investment.

Nope not using any emergency funds. Thanks for sharing smile.gif

This post has been edited by torres09: Jul 17 2022, 09:00 PM
vinctham91
post Jul 18 2022, 01:20 AM

61 posts

new here and interested to invest in index like S&P 500, but not sure which platform is user friendly and low fee, would like to get recommendation from senpai here, thank you
Jwkhor
post Jul 18 2022, 03:04 AM

55 posts

Thanks a million!
Misery loves company. Down about 18%ytd and about 25% overall
MUM
post Jul 18 2022, 06:05 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(vinctham91 @ Jul 18 2022, 01:20 AM)
new here and interested to invest in index like S&P 500, but not sure which platform is user friendly and low fee, would like to get recommendation from senpai here, thank you
Recently some platforms got mentioned in this thread,...
Ex: post 1361,
[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4744515/+1360

More in that thread too,.. Can post Yr question there too to hv more chances of getting more valuable information
Jitty
post Jul 19 2022, 03:01 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jul 17 2022, 08:59 PM)
Yeah, hope the market recover.
Thinking to diversify to other investments since now only UT and FD (and some small amount in share market). Gotta learn more about finance and investment.

Nope not using any emergency funds. Thanks for sharing smile.gif
yeah bro.
Crypto market is recovering. biggrin.gif
immobile
post Jul 23 2022, 05:01 PM

660 posts

Hi there sifus, anyone heard of CP Global fund? it's singapore based asset management. Would like to hear some insight or opinions about it if anyone ventured into it before. tqtq
MUM
post Jul 23 2022, 05:22 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(immobile @ Jul 23 2022, 05:01 PM)
Hi there sifus, anyone heard of CP Global fund? it's singapore based asset management. Would like to hear some insight or opinions about it if anyone ventured into it before. tqtq
rebeka, wish you could assist.

If rebeka did not response, you can try PM rebeka
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 24 2022, 01:00 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(immobile @ Jul 23 2022, 05:01 PM)
It's a Singapore based hedge fund. Not really advertise in Malaysia n Singapore coz they are not allowed to. It's a more niche offering for sophisticated investor. We can talk more in PM if u have any specific questions.
rebeka
post Jul 26 2022, 09:28 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 23 2022, 05:22 PM)
rebeka, wish you could assist.

If rebeka did not response, you can try PM rebeka
Thanks MUM...

Pls PM for your queries , my family members have been investing since inception ( more than 25 years ago )
goolie
post Aug 16 2022, 08:56 PM

795 posts

Any local fund that invest in glove stock like TopGlove, Supermax, Kossan, Hartalega? Please recommend.
frankzane
post Sep 3 2022, 08:00 AM

664 posts

Hi, would like to get some advice here. In my early days of investment, I bought all sorts of 'Asia' funds. eg. China fund, Far East fund, Asia Pac fund, Asia fund not knowing the diversification principles.

Now that I want to consolidate my 'Asia' funds. Most of these funds would consist players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.

So my question is does the weightage of these equities in each of the fund matters? Because now there are many overlaps (having the same companies in every fund) that I wanted to dispose some of the funds, but not knowing which to choose.

Any advice is appreciated.
MUM
post Sep 3 2022, 08:32 AM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 3 2022, 08:00 AM)
Hi, would like to get some advice here. In my early days of investment, I bought all sorts of 'Asia' funds. eg. China fund, Far East fund, Asia Pac fund, Asia fund not knowing the diversification principles.

Now that I want to consolidate my 'Asia' funds. Most of these funds would consist players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.

So my question is does the weightage of these equities in each of the fund matters? Because now there are many overlaps (having the same companies in every fund) that I wanted to dispose some of the funds, but not knowing which to choose.  

Any advice is appreciated.
hope my maths and my thinking is ok....

if your portfolio has that 3 funds but they consisted of 30% of your port
that means IF you have RM100k in investment and out of that RM100k, RM30k (30%) are in that 3 funds

if each of the 3 funds has same 25% allocations into Tech stock that consisted of the same players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.
that means just 25% of that RM30k or just RM7.5k is into Tech stock that consisted of players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.

7.5k out of 100k is just 7.5% of your portfolio is into Tech stock which would consist players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.
are you still not OK with this 7.5% allocation?

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 3 2022, 08:37 AM
frankzane
post Sep 4 2022, 06:08 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 3 2022, 08:32 AM)
hope my maths and my thinking is ok....

if your portfolio has that 3 funds but they consisted of 30% of your port
that means IF you have RM100k in investment and out of that RM100k, RM30k (30%) are in that 3 funds

if each of the 3 funds has same 25% allocations into Tech stock that consisted of the same players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.
that means just 25% of that RM30k or just RM7.5k is into Tech stock that consisted of players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.

7.5k out of 100k is just 7.5% of your portfolio is into Tech stock which would consist players like Alibaba, Tencent, Taiwan Semiconductor, Meituan, Nvidia, Google, etc.
are you still not OK with this 7.5% allocation?
Yes, your maths was right. But I was thinking to dispose some of the funds that has overlaps. Assuming each fund has different weightage for each companies, which fund should best be kept?
MUM
post Sep 4 2022, 06:18 PM

14,909 posts

QUOTE(frankzane @ Sep 4 2022, 06:08 PM)
Yes, your maths was right. But I was thinking to dispose some of the funds that has overlaps. Assuming each fund has different weightage for each companies, which fund should best be kept?
from my earlier example,
if you really think that it is too much to have 7.5% of your total port into tech sector
you can try reduce it,....
(may not be correct as this is just a usual non qualified suggestion.)
if you liked, you can perhaps base them on the "worst" performing funds out of the 3 funds you are having.
maybe perhaps compared them side by side against similar duration period,...ex: 3mths, 6mths, 1yr, 3 yrs and 5 yrs.?
MUM
post Sep 10 2022, 09:23 AM

14,909 posts

i just read this just now,...

thus just a cautious note to all unit trust funds promoters or seller of any kind of CIS products.

your buyer can sue you for "deceiving/tricking", just not sure of the exact details presented that lead the buyer into buying it.

Lelaki itu didakwa menipu Datin Seri Alauyah Jaafar, 58, dengan memperdayakan mangsa dalam pelaburan PIOF (Public Mutual) dengan pulangan tinggi sehingga mendorong mangsa menyerahkan wang RM150,000 melalui cek ke akaun syarikat tertuduh.
https://www.astroawani.com/berita-malaysia/...elaburan-380235

https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/bus...54366fd031ff2ac

this PIOF is just an example of this current case,...if the buyer wins the case,...then more funds from other fund houses can be next.

The man allegedly deceived Datin Seri Alauyah Jaafar, 58, by tricking the victim into a unit trust investment promising high returns, which prompted the victim to hand over a RM150,000 cheque made to the account of the accused's company.
The offence was believed to have been committed at a restaurant in a shopping centre at 7pm on April 25, 2017, (refer to the image for the performance then,...)

anyone got "insider" information to share abt the "tricking" case?

This post has been edited by MUM: Sep 10 2022, 10:11 AM

169 Pages « < 161 162 163 164 165 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:44 AM