°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid

STC
post Feb 7 2013, 03:48 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Feb 7 2013, 10:56 AM)
i still service every 5k tho. just that the time that took me to reach 5k is very long since i did not use the car for half a year. I just kept quiet and the service advisor didnt say anything lol.
Don't let SC to rip off your money. Go with the maintenance schedule per manufacturer book. When in dispute just drag them to the consumer tribunal. BTW, I am still covered under warranty and service every 6 months or 10K whichever comes first. Unless if I exceed 50% driving above 32Celcius or heavy traffic then I service every 5000K.
STC
post Oct 31 2013, 08:55 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Oct 29 2013, 04:31 PM)
haha..which SC allows such flexibility?
Insights were made in Japan and their manual clearly stated that the service is every 10 or 12km (can't remember) unless driven under sever condition. Severe condition means 50% of journey under traffic jam or above 35 celcius. My car hardly touches 4000km in 6 months and not in traffic.

Armed myself with the official manual and spoke to the SC and they agreed with 5000km or 6 months. I think we all should petition to Ministry of trade for the rip off by our car industry.
STC
post Nov 26 2013, 02:49 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Nov 26 2013, 02:45 PM)
40K is time for CVT fluid changes..... no worries mate. just make sure u do the CVT service.

I'm planning to do my CVT service in 35K. so at 40k wont hurt that much wink.gif
My SC changed fluid at 20K. No warning also change.
STC
post Nov 27 2013, 11:19 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Nov 27 2013, 10:37 AM)
Has anyone changed their 12v battery and rubber wipers?
Can recommend which brand/shop to get it besides buying from Honda?
My car is almost 3 years old and i think my windscreen wipers are starting to worn out..the 12v battery is still strong during the electric testing when I have sent my car for service but i'm just thinking shall i just replace it since it is almost 3 years old
Changed mine at 25KM. Still good but SC said change and I changed without thinking paid RM120!!!!! Better to get outside. The new one was noisy and they changed again the next service. Battery still strong after 27 months.

This post has been edited by STC: Nov 27 2013, 11:19 AM
STC
post Nov 27 2013, 04:18 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Nov 27 2013, 03:58 PM)
it is good to change it earlier. but if every 20k change.. i koyak lor..
my SC oso ask to change at 20k... but recommended every 40k
The rule is simple. If your driving condition falls under "severe" then change every 20K. Severe means driving above 35 celcius temperature or 50% of your journey false under heavy traffic. So you stick to your schedule and if Honda dispute warranty claim take them to court.

This 5K service business all started with Proton to make quick money. Tell me what kind of engine oil cannot last a mere 5000Km. But our consumer protection body all tutup mata. Same oil used in hotter country all 10Km or 6 month but here half so taht make quick money.
STC
post Nov 28 2013, 09:25 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(babysmile @ Nov 28 2013, 08:17 AM)
n00b123

which Person in charge and which Honda SC mentioned can opt 10K after first 3 years using Fully-Synthetic engine oil ? Think owners so "smart" to follow this rules which doesn't applied to anything from the warranty book ?

The Honda SC all have different approaches and the most important they want is the money only.
I agree. The important thing you should do is to write to SC company requesting why and how 5000km oil changes affects warranty. Refer to your insight manufacturer warranty which was issued by the company which made the car. Honda Malaysia did not make your insight. In the manual it is clearly stated 3000 miles for severe and 6000 miles for normal.

In Malaysia the temperature difference is rather narrow, i.e. that is around 23C to 33C. You don't need anything lower than 20W oil and in fact it is better to use 20W -40 for stable temperature like in KL. The oil viscosity is more stable and good for the engine.

My old proton with 300K mileage was recently sent to change the piston rings and the mechanics was impressed with the piston which showed no wear and tear. The only thing that needed to be changed was the piston rings. I have always been using the Shell Helix (yellow) every 10K or depends on the driving condition and I may change at 5K if necessary.

Time to stop the myth and being a sucker. Always write to them instead of talking. As a consumer without a choice for warranty claim, they are obligated to reply to your queries .

See link to about the oil change myth.

Oilchange Myth

This post has been edited by STC: Nov 28 2013, 09:27 AM
STC
post Jan 20 2014, 05:11 PM

69 posts

So good news or bad?
STC
post Jan 21 2014, 06:25 PM

69 posts

if there is a lot part share with jazz hybrid local then the impact is not that big...

if not, then mean less ppl will buy the car due to high price or honda dont want bring in anymore. then this make the local market dont want to create OEM spare part and force us to use import part from honda japan that is very expensive...
While everyone is concentrating on import duty, the EEV exemption escaped us. Under EEV I believe Inssight falls under B segment and the fuel economy entitles it to claim some exemption. I am not sure how much because the details weren't mentioned there. Looking at another way Honda belongs to DRB Hicom and so too Proton. Dyed will be interested in money and hybrid local assembled would make DRB Hicom the market leader. in fact this so much good news for Mr Syed.
STC
post Jan 24 2014, 04:07 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jan 24 2014, 02:44 PM)
yes..i also think so..
my one both spoiled around 30k km

and everytime go back sc do service (every 5k or 3 months), they say they do so many inspection but no one find out the absorber already leaking...
it was spot when i do tyre rotation outside from SC. the tyre shop ppl told me then only know this problem.
worst case is went back SC, they give 100 reasons that is normal and that is anti rust oil.

at the end i go other SC at muar instead of melaka one, they straight help me claim both of it (my case was both also leak at the same time)

same to my cobra alarm system, until now it unsolved. Muar SC at least got help me debug and send the whole unit back to cobra but it was show ok at there but somehow not working in my car. at the end, i disconnect the alarm module.
Thanks. I will complain about my shock absorber just to make sure they check them. When you have serious issues always write officailly to your service center and Honda about the complains. Usually, you wont have any problem. Don't worry so much about the 5K warranty. It is contrary to the manufacturers requirement and can be disputed.
STC
post Feb 4 2014, 05:02 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ahcheap @ Feb 4 2014, 04:09 PM)
Hi anywhere in JB tat I can change my windscreen? Non original one, I didn't buy windscreen insurance ...
You can claim insurance but lose your NCB. Calculate and see whether worth it. BTW, 40kM service over RM1000?????? Why??? I just saw it on the website.
STC
post Feb 5 2014, 10:51 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Feb 5 2014, 09:32 AM)
the most expensive thing in 40k service is the fuel strainer and its bracket.. not sure why it's there... but it's there....
Fuel restrainer??? Cant even find that in the Honda Japan manufacturer recommended maintenance schedule. Time to get some info from insightcentral.

Compared with Singapore recommended schedule which is every 10K. Here we all kena potong.

My Webpage

Compared here with Msia.

My Webpage click the spreadsheet for more detail.

And Shell recommended oil change.

My Webpage

All over the world the recommended oil change is 12KM or 1 year but in Malaysia 5K or 3 months.

Shell oil looks better than Honda oil. Morever, other countried got the option to demand the type of oil used and many choose Mobile. That's the problem with regulatory bodies with Kangkung mentality.

This post has been edited by STC: Feb 5 2014, 10:54 AM
STC
post Feb 5 2014, 10:53 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Feb 5 2014, 10:49 AM)
wait till you reach 100k km...  tongue.gif
I use only about 1K one month. More like 800KM. so can wait for 10 years. Also check about the rear suspension and my trusted mechanic told me the similar type can be bought from outside for less than RM200. The only problem is that the Insight body is aluminum and therefor the suspension steel joint can corrode the joint. The recommendation is to use a plastic dielectric to prevent contact.

This post has been edited by STC: Feb 5 2014, 10:57 AM
STC
post Feb 11 2014, 09:33 AM

69 posts

Maybe Insight is going to be CKD. Which forum are you referring to?

This post has been edited by STC: Feb 11 2014, 09:34 AM
STC
post Feb 19 2014, 09:34 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Feb 19 2014, 09:06 AM)
wow...sorry to hear that.
join honda insight malaysia in facebook. hope members there can help.
Something is very wrong with your car. How can original spare tyres go missing? What's the mileage?
STC
post Feb 19 2014, 10:39 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(alxdc @ Feb 19 2014, 10:06 AM)
not me

its his car
threepagi Posted Yesterday, 06:51 PM
  hi guyz, im new owner of used insight..
blame me due to lack of knowledge during pruchase used car..so im facing few problems. went to honda and they said it going to take a week to just check my system with payment of 250, just would like to get 2nd opinion:

Problems faced:
1) alarm blikning like 9times after locking the car
2) spare tyre cant be use, diff size, anybody know wer to find a spare tyre
3) electronic features : auto stop not functioning, cruise, cant b use, auto light not function,
4) no usb cable

if any of my new friends here got resources to help pls do so, i check again if there's more problems to be found..
Sorry. Quote the wrong message.
STC
post Feb 20 2014, 09:53 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 20 2014, 09:04 AM)
I got this little problem where my Aircon in Auto mode, set to say 25 or 26C, usually the fan speed is low say one or two notch only. But since yesterday, it seems to spin higher like 3-4 notches.

Normally even if set to 23C or cooler, the fan speed will reduce after the car has been cooled suffiently.

Is it some problem with the sensor?
The auto mode got its own mind. Usually, it depends on the external/internal temperature prior to the air cond turned on. Start the car around 6 am and see if it is acting erratic.

BTW, my interior light not working. Just 29 months and 31500KM this things happen. You guys notice a little corrosion near the fuel nozzle? CBU also got QS problem?

STC
post Feb 20 2014, 02:00 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Feb 20 2014, 01:45 PM)
After temp sensors detect that the cabin has reached the pre-set temperature, Auto mode will set low fan differently depending whether Eco button is on or off. If Eco mode is turned on, it will be lowest notch else it could be 3-4 level. I noticed that too after my car serviced. The eco button was turned off by the mechanics servicing the vehicle.
The eco mode is turned off so that the can fully charge the battery when they deliver the car to you.
STC
post Feb 21 2014, 11:14 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(threepagi @ Feb 20 2014, 09:12 PM)
thanks ..milage 36xxx....
Very low for so many things go wrong. Was it serviced by Honda SC?
STC
post Feb 27 2014, 05:26 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Feb 27 2014, 04:05 PM)
maintenance is already high.. hohohoho..

second hand value.. no second hand value for hybrid car to start with...
Maintenenance is not high if you ignore the stupid schedule. Why change restrainer at 40km? Change engine oil every 5K?!. They recover the price by adding more service. Once they give free maintenace for 3 or 5 years they will change the interval to 10K. Tipu tipu geng.
STC
post Feb 27 2014, 06:36 PM

69 posts

Battery price will go lower than the current 4K. The jazz is using identical engine as insight. Engine parts not going to go up. Only body parts but even that it may come down as more parts are available. I wouldn't be surprise if they continue insight in the ASEAN market and possibly drb hi com may take the lead.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0772sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:49 AM