°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V6 °°, Support Green | Support Hybrid
STC
Feb 28 2014, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(dudan @ Feb 28 2014, 08:23 AM) Think for a momentlah...you think Honda Malaysia so stupid want to lose future 10k over Insight customers. DRB Hicom also never thought of this? Jazz and Insight same engine. Either the rebadge of still produce for ASEAN market. Which one you think the most number of Hybrids sold in Malaysia past 5 years? This post has been edited by STC: Feb 28 2014, 01:58 PM
STC
Feb 28 2014, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(coldman86 @ Feb 28 2014, 12:40 PM) sifu sifu, i was dilemma to get a insight hybrid or jazz hybrid. any sifu can help on this. usage of the car. normal city drive. daily about 30km 1 year maybe few time outstation. and how the feedback of the car. what should i take noted and consider before buy. xie xie. One is insight made in Japan. Jazz assembled in Msia. Drive both and see which one you like. Insight looks bit grander than Jazz. I drive Insight.
STC
Feb 28 2014, 03:49 PM

QUOTE(Phc @ Feb 28 2014, 02:22 PM) They do not have the decision power. All decision are made from honda japan. 300k units of insight vs 3mil of prius sold over 10 yrs , even honda are hinting 2 years ago they will stop insight production if the sales are bad. 10k is just a tiny figure. Technically said, honda hybrid tech still have at least 10 years gap with toyota hybrid. Going by stats then Chevy or Ford should be number 1 car in Msia and Asean. Which is the best selling Hybrid in Msia? Honda or Toyota?
STC
Feb 28 2014, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(Phc @ Feb 28 2014, 07:23 PM) To be exact, top selling brand in malaysia 2013 was PERODUA with 30 % market share. Nobody care your tiny malaysian market. 10k is nothing.  They only ckd car from demand. The major demand now is B segment sedan. Vios, almera , and upcoming city. If u can sell 50k units city per year vs 5k insight per year , which will you want to ckd ? It is not my tiny Msia but our Msia unless you don't feel it that way. Did they sell 50k city in Msia or ASEAN? Why can't Msia assemble assemble or even manufacture insight here?
STC
Mar 5 2014, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Mar 5 2014, 09:17 AM) most of the workshop outside are capable to service the insight. the fuel strainer doesn't need to be service every 40k km... i change mine even at 50k km... fyi, 40k km service is not the most exp... wait till 100k km...  You really don't need to change the spark plugs at 100K. Can safely use till 150K without affecting the performance.
STC
Mar 5 2014, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(dc_hunter @ Mar 5 2014, 11:27 AM) I bought the spark plug already but i haven't change it yet... now clocking 106k km... This is the quote from NGK...Mind you! They are say miles and not kilometers. QUOTE Learning Center Share |
How Long Do Iridium Plugs Last?
September 30, 2012
A traditional IX iridium plug such as NGK ZFR6FIX-11 has an iridium Center Electrode, however the ground electrode is a traditional nickel construction. Therefore, the ground electrode will wear out first. NGK gives them a life expectancy of 40-50k miles. But they have to temper their projections as driving conditions and motor modifications differ. Typically we have found you can expect 60,000 to 80,000 miles on an unaltered motor.
NGK Laser Iridium plugs have iridium center and a Platinum ground electrodes. If installed in a regular engine, they would likely last longer than most people keep their car (barring any motor problems that can cause premature plug death). All Laser Iridium plugs are an OEM design, made for a specific engine. Some feature a special resistor or electrode design, depending on the OE requirements. In their OE application, NGK's Laser Iridium plugs typically last 80-100k miles.
STC
Mar 5 2014, 02:12 PM

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Mar 5 2014, 01:33 PM) 100k km is the last battle for Honda before the warranty expire and people will rush to service their car outside.. if they say u can change the plugs at 150k km... they loose on the gain that people still service their car in honda. Agree. The last chance to rip off. Malaysians are bad consumers. Do you know that you are not required to change everything that is mentioned in the maintenance schedule? They will say service and then will ask change filter, etc..etc..? You can just change tell no. Unless the part breakdown do to non service of relevant parts only then warranty becomes void. Changing plug is DIY.
STC
Mar 5 2014, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Mar 5 2014, 02:47 PM) I'm renewing the insurance of my 2011 honda insight....perhaps due to the termination of car production for this model, it has subsequently jacked up the sum insured to be 76k.. I think based on the market value in mudah.com, i think it worth around 60k++ only.. If market value is 60K then why insurance value at 76K? Write to them cc. Bank Negara.
STC
Mar 6 2014, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(dudan @ Mar 6 2014, 03:33 PM) mind to elaborate further here bro? btw, i love this car guys. really sad it have been discontinued.  You still can buy.
STC
Mar 17 2014, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ Mar 16 2014, 01:39 PM) Hi.. No time to read the multiple threads Need advise on whether its worth getting a second hand unit. Saw in Mudah some 2012 model going for RM65k onwards... My concern is d battery. Also noticed tht d maintenance is higher than Jazz Hybrid.. Why battery? How many people already changed the battery?
STC
Mar 17 2014, 05:04 PM

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ Mar 17 2014, 04:58 PM) I m new to hybrid cars...so no experience leh To me hybrid = batt & petrol. Hence my concern abt it. Some more 2nd hand ma...just want some reassurances Also considering Nissan Almera.. Town driving, with about RM64 I get 550KM. Battery comes with 8 years warranty. Even after 8 year the price now is only RM3900. Maybe in another two years go down somemore. Only body parts bit expensive because aluminum. Remember, reading somewhere Insight was least trouble free car among Honda. Me no regrets!. For RM65K for a 2012 car worth it unless you are heavy footed.
STC
Mar 18 2014, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(dennisbklow @ Mar 17 2014, 05:20 PM) Ok, thts some valuable info bro. Thx a million Btw is d back seat a bit tight? Not sure - I drive using the front driver's seat.  Ok Just kidding. It is a family car. My son at 5 11 not complaining. Initially, I thought the driver seat was hard compared to proton but I realized I do not suffer aches in long distance driving.
STC
Mar 19 2014, 08:56 AM

QUOTE(babycherie @ Mar 18 2014, 06:10 PM) Rm65k for 2012 honda insight ? Not rm75k for honda insight FL year 2012? I didnt say that. But it was a different person. OTOH, I have seen in motortrader the price to be around there.
STC
Mar 26 2014, 01:43 PM

QUOTE(Newgen @ Mar 25 2014, 04:53 PM) Thanks for the info. But that info kind of contradicts... Because i have read a full maintenance DETAILED report of a Honda Malaysia recommendation parts list, and the Fuel Filter to be changed every 80,000KM instead of 40,000KM. Anyhow, What I think is that, the incident could happen to any car at all. It's not just to Hybrid or to a Japanese made or to a Specific Brand. Half of Honda Technician know nuts. They are PMR or SPM failee doing the job there. How can the failure of fuel filter can cause fire? The worse case scenario is no petrol to your combustion chamber.
STC
Apr 4 2014, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 4 2014, 02:40 PM) Looks like i made a right decision by not getting Insight. RIP... Wait till the end of month. The chassis/ power train will be used for another model.
STC
Apr 7 2014, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(laith @ Apr 5 2014, 09:37 AM) Used for persona / preve / suprima hybrid? Most likely. I heard the new Honda Hybrid will be Honda City variant. In a way the Insight is actually almost Honda City in terms of size.
STC
Apr 8 2014, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(dudan @ Apr 8 2014, 10:53 AM) but IMA will not be used anymore.. new hybrid tech will be used. dual clutch. suppose to be hot selling since it is in B class. Still no problem. Jazz Hybrid is Insight in sheep's clothing.
STC
Apr 23 2014, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Apr 22 2014, 07:08 PM) Just do my 40k last Sunday. They charge me RM705... I didn't do CVT oil change because already did that earlier... Wow...why you change CVT before 40k km? The required change for replace transmission fluid is :- Normal conditions: 90,000 mi / 144,000 km / 6 years OR Severe conditions: 30,000 mi / 48,000 km / 2 years. Actually, Insight is equipped with the computer sensor for CVT change but not sure if this option is disabled for Malaysia Insight which is identical model exported to Australia and US. Anyway, I used to change and service my Proton gear box according to schedule until till failed after about 100K Km. Later, I found it wasn't even gear box problem but contact problem with the computer box. Now only change oil when I see significant changes in the colour. No problem since then. My friend never changed his Audi's transmission for almost ten years. When the gear was acting up they change the oil and it is back to normal. Don't let SC rip you off. Be a strong consumer and fight it out for unreasonable charges. NOTE: Maintenance Schedule Charts
There are two maintenance schedules, one for normal conditions and one for severe conditions. Use the "Severe Conditions" schedule if one or more of the following apply:
You mainly drive less than 5 miles (8 km) per trip or, in freezing temperatures, driving less than 10 miles (16 km) per trip. You mainly drive in extremely hot [over 90ºF (32ºC] conditions. You mainly drive with extensive idling or long periods of stop-and-go driving. You mainly drive with a roof rack, or in mountainous conditions. You mainly drive on muddy, dusty, or de-iced roads.
If you only occasionally drive under a "severe" condition, you should follow the "Normal Conditions" maintenance schedule.[SIZE=7]
STC
Apr 23 2014, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(kerelbort @ Apr 23 2014, 10:32 AM) schedule service for CTVF is every 40k come from Honda Malaysia. If u did not do it, they might revoked your warranty. If it a recommendation by your SC, like fuel injection cleaning every 35k. that you can reject as it does not come from Honda Malaysia. Your SC might reject your warranty claim but your claim still valid with Honda Malaysia. your semi synthetic oil change should last 10k km.. but honda still ask u to change every 5k and for the new service cycle of 10k km, they ask u to use fully syntetic that should last 15k km... that's just how they make money.. what to do.. wait until warranty ran out at 100k.. i ald eyeing a service workshop near my house who claimed can do hybrid as he do mostly honda car.... The key words here is "Might revoke" and "recommendation". I service after 6 months or so and my warranty is still valid despite the earlier threat to revoke. But a nice letter asking the basis and provided a detailed schedule of my driving condition they just keep quiet. Even if you don't bother to service your CVT it will still outlive the warranty period, mostly.
STC
Apr 23 2014, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(alxdc @ Apr 23 2014, 03:01 PM) The Insight's CVT transmission is confirmed by Ohkubo-san as using a start-up clutch. In this case, it ties to the necessity of proper maintenance of the gear-box. Besides the use of CVT-F, it was also highlighted that it is crucial to replace the oil once every 20,000km. http://asia.vtec.net/Reviews/2GInsight/index.htmlAlways suspicious of translated write-up. Obviously the chief engineer did not read their own Honda manufacturer manual. Whether he said change every 20K. But 20K mile or kilometer? The article also pointed out that the Insight was fitted with latest CVT which is more reliable. I leave at that.