> learn welding

TSmyva
post Nov 22 2012, 12:40 AM, updated 13y ago

18 posts

hi ,

I want to know and learn steel welding in penang mainalnd.

is it a short course , or i can get small fire and cutting equipment and learn myself ?
just normal steeel bar/block and pipe weld .

not some industrial / sea things .

i very interested this.

This post has been edited by myva: Nov 22 2012, 12:40 AM
C.B.S
post Nov 22 2012, 12:53 AM

u want to get some sort of cert or what? i mean what purpose..
if just to learn for DIY, go part time at welding shop la..
can learn & get some cash bro

if u go those gomen course u'll get less learning, but more wasting time
TSmyva
post Nov 22 2012, 01:13 AM

18 posts

i want direct learn DIY , part time learn abit hard , my place wleding is my ex shop neighbour ,

they not stupid hire me , they hire 50 year old single man and bangla only....

they dowan people become competitor lol....

i think want buy the fire , and cutter la , learn myself can a
C.B.S
post Nov 22 2012, 01:19 AM

sure can.. dah nama pun DIY

better for u not to try the oxy-acet first.. it's space & cost consuming.
just research a bit on arc welding/SMAW..
go buy a grinder & a mini/hand held welding set one, & u are good to go

This post has been edited by C.B.S: Nov 22 2012, 01:20 AM
TSmyva
post Nov 22 2012, 01:40 AM

18 posts

i have zero knowledge can learn myself or not?

C.B.S
post Nov 22 2012, 01:49 AM

sure can la.. see youtube
SMAW is the easiest & simplest type of method
TSmyva
post Nov 22 2012, 01:51 AM

18 posts

: )
EarendurFefalas
post Nov 22 2012, 12:07 PM

155 posts

welding +10 manliness
dkk
post Nov 22 2012, 03:50 PM

11,400 posts

I'm thinking the same thing. But in KL instead of Penang. Been watching quite a few of those youtube videos. Does not look that hard. But I have some remaining questions.

I see C.B.S says SMAW, but anyone have more detailed recommendations on the equipment? Where to get, what to get, approximately how much it will cost (simple set for beginnner).

Can get 2nd hand. Where. Is it advisable, or would a newbie be better off buying new (since they cannot evaluate if the equipment is good or defective).

TSmyva
post Nov 22 2012, 07:45 PM

18 posts

but welding come with risk ,to health ,

i now also takut want do

This post has been edited by myva: Nov 22 2012, 07:48 PM
C.B.S
post Nov 22 2012, 09:45 PM

i use this brand. local made
http://www.wim.com.my/webpages/wimproducts...=Stick%20(SMAW)
used mildly for DIY, 5-6 yrs ady.. no issue since day one. cost me ard rm500
other than that, u'll need grinder, gloves & face mask. rm200+

if getting a 2nd hand, better to ask what purpose it used prev-ly.. if used in welding shop, better not.. if for maintenance, diy etc i think no prob..

for me, ironworks are easier than woodworks. Potong & weld here n there, shape it & u'll get a strong everlasting product.
bone_me
post Nov 23 2012, 08:49 AM

43 posts

my advice;

when u weld a vertical joint, start from top to bottom, not bottom to top. many places u see people weld bottom to top, result look like melted candles.
deanunited07
post Nov 23 2012, 02:13 PM

191 posts

U want to bukak bisnes pagar ka?

my advice,

A lot of practice and

After u done ur practice,pls take panadol b4 u go to sleep,if not...next day u will 'cry' a lot.

Been there done that
xixo_12
post Nov 23 2012, 07:27 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(deanunited07 @ Nov 23 2012, 02:13 PM)
U want to bukak bisnes pagar ka?

my advice,

A lot of practice and

After u done ur practice,pls take panadol b4 u go to sleep,if not...next day u will 'cry' a lot.

Been there done that
Lol.. cry for 2days.. seriouslypain..
hyperyouth_firepower
post Nov 24 2012, 07:58 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

TS, I would seriously suggest you to take part time enrollment. Get yourself certified.

Welding is serious business. Our government's vocational scheme, SKM (Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia), as far as I recall, is still widely recognized. Even if you take part time, 2 years is all you need to get a LEVEL 3 certification (which is pretty darn good, enough to apply to work with major weldsmen).

Level 4 and Level 5 is mainly for high-risk welding (like underwater welding, etc).

But i really would suggest, even if its basic, get a level 1 certification from any places that does SKM certification level 1.
TSmyva
post Nov 24 2012, 09:17 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Nov 24 2012, 07:58 PM)
TS, I would seriously suggest you to take part time enrollment. Get yourself certified.

Welding is serious business. Our government's vocational scheme, SKM (Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia), as far as I recall, is still widely recognized. Even if you take part time, 2 years is all you need to get a LEVEL 3 certification (which is pretty darn good, enough to apply to work with major weldsmen).

Level 4 and Level 5 is mainly for high-risk welding (like underwater welding, etc).

But i really would suggest, even if its basic, get a level 1 certification from any places that does SKM certification level 1.
how much the cost to enroll , i interested , just basic certification.........

punkLOL
post Nov 24 2012, 11:05 PM

59 posts

CIDB ada.
Not sure the training is good at cidb or not but i know they offered welding course.

http://www.cidb.gov.my/cidbweb/index.php?lang=en

Let say u change ur mind not going training or course but want to DIY,
just make sure u practice safety first.
Always wear safety glass, glove.
deanunited07
post Nov 25 2012, 08:38 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(bone_me @ Nov 23 2012, 08:49 AM)
my advice;

when u weld a vertical joint, start from top to bottom, not bottom to top. many places u see people weld bottom to top, result look like melted candles.
Seriously bro? I find it much easier to weld from bottom to top when doin vertical...
hyperyouth_firepower
post Nov 25 2012, 06:13 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(myva @ Nov 24 2012, 10:17 PM)
how much the cost to enroll ,  i interested , just basic certification.........
depends on where you are... i am not sure how to help. io'll try though.
yeapsan
post Nov 26 2012, 05:51 PM

24 posts

enroll to course is basic understanding and also how to operate with safety.
To do good welding all u need is practice, and practice makes perfects!! I seen alot ppl with those cert recognise by government weld sucks than those indons without cert.

3 Pages  1 2 3 >

0.0197sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:47 PM